Reviews of Espressohotel Milano Darsena 3 stars

Via Conca del Naviglio 20, Milan City Centre, 20123 Milan, Italy

#342 of 420 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a quadruple booking.. our room consisted of two double beds pushed together for a family of 4... Will not be back...

    Games and food at reception area was great...

  • 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bed, we had booked a double but the bed was not much bigger than single. I did check with reception that it was a double room which they insisted it was. On one of the days the maid only left 1 set of towels & 1 cup so they obviously thought it was a single. Again, the receptionist insisted it was a double.

    The breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice

  • 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed is not made for two, it was impossible to sleep. The heater was too strong even when we closed it.

    The location is good and the price is quite low

  • 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting the double bed to be wider, it was a very tight squeeze for myself, my 3 year old, and wife to get a comfortable night's sleep.

    Perfect location, walking distance to the main shopping streets in Milan and also Duomo. Breakfast is adequate. Friendly reception staff.

  • 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Had everything required for a pleasant stay, the breakfast was enough for a good start to the day and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. With everything within walking distance, would highly recommend!

  • 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the new management, they seem to have chosen the budget tourist hotel business model, whereas the hotel would need a little investment now. But beds are still good, everything is clean and staff are friendly and helpful. Shame it is not possible to park in the courtyard, anymore.

    We always choose this hotel for its very central location. Just 10 minutes walk to Piazza Duomo or S. Ambrogio or the Science Museum, which are among the main tourist attractions in Milano. There are several tram, bus and metro stops near by, so it's also easy to get around by public transport. Hotel is in a quiet street, which in noisy Milano is also a plus.

  • 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    though you can walk to city centre ~15min to Duomo doesn't look like safe area to walk in dark; graffiti on walls. Taxi fare ~€30-35 from Milano Centrale station. Bed linen is sheets only, no heating in rooms; you have to ask for blankets. Very light curtain easily allows light in. Has 2 small lifts (barely fits 2 people).

    Had quadruple room which is what we wanted. Offered breakfast but would have liked option without breakfast. They have selection of cereals, milks, yoghurt, pastries, breads, fruits,hot drinks. Daily housekeeping, limited toiletries.

  • 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The correct name on the outside of hotel. The old name is still there! The tiny elevator and the tiny room. Bed and pillow was very firm.

    The breakfasts. Quiet room. Air conditioning control in room.

  • 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe or bathrobes as indicated. Curtains inadequate for sleeping . Shutter on window could not be moved. Door key failed often. Hotel information / facilities embellished

    Excellent location walk to centre and naviglio canals.

  • 28 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a constant clicking noise all night coming from the air con which kept me wide awake for some time. I had to turn off the air con in order to sleep which meant a very stuffy room

    The room I couldn't fault and breakfast was good. The highest mark I gave to location

  • 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small and very old. Needs to be renewed. Breakfast was very bad. Almost nothing on the buffet

    The stuff was very nice and helpful. The process of checking in and out was very quick and efficient. The hotel and the room are very very clean. .

  • 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought a little expensive when I saw what was in the room - only room enough for bed and open cupboard with small bathroom - but have not stayed in Milan previously so cannot compare.

    Comfy bed and I had a great view. Staff were friendly. Close to somewhere to eat, Metro and walk to Milan central.

  • 10 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the room for 4 as stated in the website but the size of the room can only accommodate 3 adults.

    Quiet location, 5 minutes walk to tram stop and restaurants. Breakfast was adequate.

  • 31 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed here several times before and the latest owners have done nothing to update the hotel, which is now looking shabby and over-priced for what you get...

    Great location for a night out in the Navigli and secure parking available.

  • 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff offered my colleague and me to share a room despite having booked two single rooms. We asked if this would reduce the price, but this was not possible. We did not agree to share the room and the staff was really making us feel taht this was a problem (our problem) and talked in Italian for a long time befor finally giving us the two rooms we had booked.

  • 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furniture was broken, but since I travelled with friends, that did not bother me

    Great location, very helpfull staff, quite nice breakfast, pretty view on the Duomo from the 7th floor

  • 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was veryy cold, no heating inside also very wet after having shower.

  • 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly people good breakfast near center good for quick stay

  • 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels smells bad

    Cheap and center of the location

  • 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a super luxurious hotel but a good place anyways.

    Price Bed Breakfast Staff Location

  • 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position. Small room. Friendly staff

  • 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny and broken shower

  • 31 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    medium breakfast

    friendly and helpful staff perfect location for my needs

  • 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was good. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was small, but comfortable and well laid out for a short stay.

  • 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quiet. Great buffet breakfast.

  • 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    none

    staff at reception very helpful

  • 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of bathrooms

  • 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pictures do not reflect the actual size of the bed and the room. It´s really tricky. Never had a such a bad breakfast in Italy.

  • 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it doesnt have safty box and mini bar and room service

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing coffee and lovely staff! Felt safe and well taken care of. The location is very good, close to the buzzy Navigli rivers. Would come back.

  • 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    room was big, clean and comfortable.

  • 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no carage

    location

  • 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better furnished rooms

    In Reality the Rooms where bad.

  • 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bedside light. One miserable plastic cup. No fridge.

    Average

  • 12 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor for the value we paid

  • 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast

    Friendly Staff

  • 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best hotel by far... great breakfast, clean rooms, big tv screen.. everything u need while staying in.

  • 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In all my life, I never went in a hotel room which had no tv and location is not central

    The hotel was very clean and stuff very friendly

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 28 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    I wish there had been free wi-fi. The shower was strange and was difficult to use and to keep the bathroom dry.

    LOVED the parking in the back. The breakfast was quite abundant.

  • 24 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Minor issue and barely even a complaint but the elevators are tiny and slow

    Location is perfect for Navigli and you are also close enough to walk to Duomo area in 15-20 minutes...

  • 22 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room 103 is right above a busy street; noisy people leaving / arriving late at night and rubbish trucks made a lot of noise. Would have liked to keep windows open, but it was too noisy. Although quite near to Duomo, it is still a long walk as well as to Metro.

    Front desk / reception very friendly, helpful and professional. Very clean and tidy - professional. Breakfast was very pleasant, sufficient seating as well. Although air-con was not working, front desk explained and offered accommodation at one of the other hotels in the Idea group - very thoughtful. Quite near to places. I will book with Idea Hotels again.

  • 21 June 2014

    • Business trip
    • Group

    "Free wifi" - it's just the name of wifi network You have to pay 7eur for 1 hour or about 20 for all day. Not recomanded for business trips.

    Hotel has a good location.

  • 19 June 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1 the blanket was very dirty with stain and spot like blood ..... 2 the room and shower is very small 3 Air conditioning not worked in my room! i could'nt sleep util very tired

    free autoparking nice breakfast

  • 8 June 2014

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The auir conditioning did not work. They told me that they would give me a different room but they didn't. They disabled my key card every day, so every evening I was obliged to wait in line at reception to reactivate the card. The cleaning lady banged on all the doors every morning to wake everybody up.

  • 4 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Disappointed that WiFi was an additional cost option, when bar down the street offers free WiFi. Breakfast was below average.

    Clean, comfortable, good value for money.

  • 3 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was terribly hot inside the rooms- AC did not work in the hotel and they said it will be fixed only within a week or so. Water in shower were not warm enough. Worst of all- No free WIFI!! WIFI is 12 euro for 24 hours. they dont have free WIFI even in loby. In addition, not much space to move around in your room

    location was nice. convenient and close to center. Thotel was very clean. Nice staff

  • 1 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need to pay for internet and the aircon of the room is hot.

    Located in a peaceful area and not far from Duomo, 15-20 minutes easy walk. And there are good restaurants nearby.

  • 1 June 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The street isn't pretty but that's all

    The location is excellent if you are wanting to visit all of the tourist sights. We did everything on foot though it is easy to catch a tram. Not the prettiest of locations but the hotel was very nice inside. Would stay there again due to the location. 10 min walk from Dumo!

  • 27 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The air conditioning was worthless. We ran it the whole time and some of us barely slept because it was so hot in the room. We opened the windows when it cooled down outside, which meant it was comfortable by about 3:00 AM or so... We were told the air conditioning would only take the temperature down to 23C, but it didn't even get close to 23C... The breakfast was also not that great - the cakes were stale, the eggs were runny and disappeared as soon as new eggs were brought out, and the bacon was all fat. Also, there was quite a lot of paint peeling on the ceiling in the bathroom (like hanging down about 2 inches).

    We got a great recommendation for an excellent restaurant right around the corner. The beds were really firm and quite comfortable (if the room temperature had been lower, I'm sure we would have all enjoyed the comfort of the room much more).

  • 26 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Hot hot hot rooms! There is absolutely no airflow through this hotel! We were miserably hot and sweat all night long! Also, the shower is only 21" wide. Horrible design. Staff not helpful.

    Breakfast

  • 22 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Again, wifi wasnt free, this one eas 12 euros per day. Not fair, in these days what harm can do a free wifi even in the lobby room at least.

    This hotel I guess is the same people that Idea malpensa airport, its really great, breakfast is amazong you get everything, its close to supermarkets and not far away from metro station and the Duomo. I'll recommed it.

  • 16 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was SUPER SMALL. We had to jump over our luggage to get to the bed or bathroom. No space around the bed at all. The location is not very good, we walked from the train station for like 20 mins. Nothing is located nearby. It takes around 40 mins to get to Duomo on feet, and around 30 mins to Navigli. Nothing is close, not even restaurants.

    We came 2 hrs before check in time, but were given a room. Breakfast was good, a lot of choices, good juices and coffee.

  • 16 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is very small, you can not actually walk inside of it. The private parking lot is very expensive.

    The location is great... Very close to everywhere, the staff is nice. Breakfast is good.

  • 11 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was small - just big enough for a double bed - but adequate for a couple of nights.

    location was very good, quiet, but short walk to duomo and tourist areas. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was good, well organised and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Bathroom was clean. I would recommend and return if I was returning to Milan.

  • 7 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most of the staff in the front desk is unfriendly and unhelpful. They seem to get upset when you "have the nerve" to ask them for information. Also, the rooms, as so many others have stated, are just too small. The closet space for two people is so inadequate you have to keep most of your stuff in your suitcases; they don't even have hooks on the walls to compensate for the lack of space. No a/c when you need it.

    The location is great, walking distance to the city center and to "il naviglio." Close to some nice restaurants. Good breakfast. And it's not expensive.

  • 7 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could explain how the key cards work on arrival.

    At first the location doesn't look promising, however it is perfectly situated between the city centre and trendy, bohemian shops and cafés, all within walking distance. The breakfast is amazing.

  • 5 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall, I was fine with the breakfast and servise. But there could be more vegetable, variety of food and, specially, more space. People were standing a line before they got their table. Eggs tasted like from some powder :) Thanks!

    staff behaviour, location - quiet and close to the city centre.

  • 2 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The woman at reception was so rude that we wanted to walk away, but it was raining heavily and we didn't. They also charged us more than stated in our reservation with all taxes.

    Central location. Relatively quiet at night.

  • 1 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    14 parking spots for 100+ rooms and they were all full when we arrived. The nearby street parking is 2 euro per hour. Ouch! I guess it's to be expected in the center of Milan but if you have a car, you might want to consider staying somewhere else. The internet is also expensive. 7 euro per hour or 12 euro per day.

    Comfortable bed, large shower, quiet, well maintained, great breakfast selection, an elevator, near the center and the canals. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • 29 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the rooms are very small , too much crowded for the breakfast, the internet is not free

    the rooms at the high floors (6th and 7th ) with the view over san lorenzo and duomo

  • 28 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    - They said we don't need a reservation for parking space. But when we arrived, the parking spaces were fully occupied. They told us to park in the street, so we had to circle around the hotel several times to find the space but failed. And then, they gave us the private parking garage. We wasted too much time to park the car at night. - Also, we are 4 people, but they always put the towels for 3 people. - room is too small - No cups and no electric pot

    Location, breakfast

  • 26 April 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    service, staff not particularily friendly and happy to assist, poor quality of bed linen, broken TV, smelly toilet, double room very small for 2 people, though pretty ok only for one night stay

    walking distance to the Cathedral / Duomo

  • 23 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being charged a fairly exorbitant rate to use the WiFi, something that you would really expect for free.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, room was comfortable but a little small. Breakfast was ok.

  • 14 April 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and pillow was very hard (and I like a firmer mattress) and the shower drain smelled.

    The shower is great, lots of hot water! The room was clean and the hotel was well situated for our business purposes.

  • 14 April 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no space enough to have breakfast in the mornings. Bathroom was not very clean, impossible to regulate room's temperature, internet conexion was not working, night shift for the reception was not helpful or kind.

    Location is perfect to visit Fuorisalone

  • 13 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heating/air conditioning unit was broken and was only functioning on full heat (even though it was spring and warm outside). This made the room miserable and I did not sleep all night because it was like a sauna in the room. When I arrived and called the front desk to ask how to turn the heat off, they simply informed me that every unit in the hotel was broken and that the heat couldnt be shut off. They didn't even apologize. Keeping the window open to get air was impossible because the street was so loud. Will not stay here again.

  • 13 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Air conditioning units don't seem to work, tiny elevators and WIFI not consistent. Some of the bedrooms are also very small. Breakfast can be very busy at peak times.

    Fantastic quiet location with easy straight walk into central Milan and Piazza Duomo. Good selection of nearby bars and restaurants. Good selection at buffet breakfast.

  • 13 April 2014

    • Business trip
    • Group

    the city tax never told about that, wi fi very expensive, the air condition was not working & the worse is the noise inside & out side the hotel

    friendly staff, the location is clos to the centre, breakfast ok

  • 9 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - price of Internet. 7 Euro for first hour, and 17 Euro for 1 day access is definitely too much, especially when in most of hotels you can use internet in lobby for free

    - location - brekfest

  • 28 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very uncomfortable bed. under the bed i find used paper and small plastic bottle,everything was clean besides that

    The location is the best! 5 minutes from grande canal and porta ticinese and park so u can run, relax and have great time at the local bars and romantic avenue's of canal. And also close to the center (20-30 by foot) Besides small things is very good hotel for money you pay and the breakfast is very good

  • 18 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was'nt free internet, just for 12 EURO/Day. And this is very expensive. Receptionist ladies were unfriendly, and not helpful. Hotel was far from the attractions.

    Rich breakfast, clean rooms, good price.

  • 15 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Location was great..close to subway and walkable to many attractions. The breakfast was fresh and well tended. The rooms were clean and staff accommodating.

  • 15 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    blanket was covered with two sheets instead of a normal cover and that was very uncomfortable . pillows were quite hard .

    Good central location , nice breakfast , friendly staff

  • 14 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was very expensive. Lifts frequently malfunctioning. A couple of rude staff but on the whole they were quite nice.

    A short walk to the city centre, rooms were quite large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.

  • 12 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. Small rooms (especially bath) 2. Expensive Wi-Fi (12 euro for one day)

    1. Nice location (10 min to Duomo Cathedral) 2. Excellent breakfast every day Awesome hotel for cheap&comfotrable trip

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: