Reviews of Hotel Gabbiano 3 stars

Via Luppa 24 - Località Acquafredda, 85041 Maratea, Italy

#6 of 16 hotels in Maratea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 645 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a huge disappointment: practically only some bad quality sweet pastry, bad quality sweet "juice" (more like soda), and nothing warm, no eggs or even toast. The breakfast waiters were also a bit rude. I guess though its still worth to stay in this hotel for this price, it has more good points than bad.

    We stopped here for 1night during a trip on the amalfi coast. In the low season (end of september) the hotel was peaceful and quiet, which just added to the perfect secluded location with the stunning practically private beach the guests have access to. The scenery is beautiful and the water is way more amazing than in italy usually, as it has pebbles or rocks instead of dark sand. The staff was friendly and helpful, from our balcony we had an amazing view of the beach, the room was small but comfy and very clean.

  • 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Onsite restaurant menu wasn't that great and the food wasn't very good either. Rooms are outdated

    Great location right on the beautiful beach, outside peak season so didn't have to pay for beach chairs and umbrellas, excellent pool, great view from the restaurant

  • 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like!

    Everything! Especially when you think there is no where else to drive, maybe into someone else's backyard......keep driving, there is an oasis!

  • 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal is poor in the room.

    Location is simply amazing! The hotel corner of the beach is unique. That is the reason to stay. Staff is very nice! Even being an hotel mainly with Italian guests we felt very welcome. Pool area is very good!

  • 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the road that leads to the hotel is easily missed, the navigator wasn't even able to pick it up, very well hidden and not well signed you must turn at the little "hotel gabbiano" sign with the small arrow (very easily missed) even though it doesn't seem like a road, it is! the location was interesting and unique but the roads were extremely tight, moreso than usual in italy (imagine that!) parking was awful, finding a spot was one thing which the staff was happy to help out with, but again extremely tight the staff weren't always friendly, helpful but they seemed bothered be weary of the cost of the beach chairs! (more than we expected)

    the room was extremely comfortable, large, more than ample air conditioning with its own control room included safe and refrigerator beautiful view from our balcony the beach was nice, clear water but pebbles were bothersome the pool was incredible, clean, spacious and remarkable view the food at the restaurant was good, costly but good the breakfast was decent, a good selection overall, my party and i were happy with this property and i would recommend it for a short stay

  • 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra charge for beach. It's wired when the hotel has it's own beach & you have to pay extra for using it.

    Hotel is located just by the sea. Nice restaurant for dinner. Every day you have your own table for breakfast & dinner time. Personal is friendly.

  • 17 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Mosquitoes on the beach

    Perfect localisation, direct on the beach (we can hear the waves). Very good breakfast, very nice and helpfull staff. Wi-fi was free, parking without problem

  • 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The view from our room ,the choice at breakfast in fact everything about the hotel was excellent ,we would definitely recommend this place to our friends.

  • 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the hotel room was full of old furniture which smells was annoying.... Management need to think of this problem.

    Sea site was beautiful. Perfect for relaxing.

  • 27 November 2015

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb service - we got delayed but someone stayed up to check us in at 2am! All staff were friendly and happy to help and let us practice our Italian on them.

  • 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - very good location, the hotel is on the beach, amazing view from rooms - very helpful, friendly and nice stuff - every day fresh fish in restaurant

  • 15 October 2015

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal has not good treat to clients. Old building and furniture. The breakfast was not nice and there was a cake in bad conditions ( descomposed)

    The situation of the hotel is perfect but thats it.

  • 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very isolated and it is necessary to drive to go anywhere.

    Had a room with a fantastic view overlooking the sea. Good swimming pool. Helpful staff

  • 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Stayed overnight on the way to Calabria. As soon as we arrived, kids had a blast on the beach. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, food and service was good.

  • 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could use an upgrade / refurbishment as the decor seems relatively old. The showers are very small.

    The hotel is in an amazing location having its own private beach and outdoor swimming pool. The Food and Service in the Restaurant was excellent.

  • 11 August 2015

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the owner/general manager does not talk to you or will see you standing, except when it is party time. Than she push or pull you to the dancing floor you have to rent the umbrella and deckchairs for € 20 pro day Quiet away from Maratea (25 min)

    Although the staf speaks very little english they try to serve at their best. Smile and helpffullness is rule one for them. Dinner (on the terrace) is fantastic so you have no arguments to leave the space in the evening Near the beach and also a great swimming pool

  • 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    had to pay for wifi and hotel beach chairs

    Location! Private beach for hotel. Delicious, varied and generous breakfast. Quiet. Hotel was very well run. Managers really on top of everything. Good, not great, restaurant. Friendly staff. Great pool, beautiful surroundings. Away from the miles of sun beds that are often the curse of the coast.

  • 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel was very empty. Restaurant was nice good food but too far to go to try any alternative.

    Once you are there it is great on lovely big beach. But the weather not great when we were there so decided to more on after one night. If you are wanting total beach getaway and eating whole time at the hotel place to go.

  • 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't working and so no credit card payments were available. Bathroom a bit small, not enough sockets in the room

    The only hotel with a private beach in Maratea, spacious parking, wonderful restaurant, thoughtful staff

  • 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not realize we got breakfast with our stay so we didn't eat it until the last day. Typical Italian breakfast. The food for dinner was not good. Do not waste your money dining there. Much better food in town. The beach area is all rock. Bring water shoes or suffer.

    Beautiful location. Fantastic pool. Unbelievable views.

  • 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very nice private beach, clean rooms. Very good breakfast. Just loved it

  • 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    00000000

    Everything

  • 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Panorama splendido e suggestivo!!

  • 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Location

  • 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are poor. Wi-fi doesn't work. Breakfast is mediocre.

    Location right on the sea.

  • 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sabrina at the front desk was very friendly and super helpful. The restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. Overall, a wonderful stay!

  • 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We're given upgrade without even requesting & room was about fab with AMAZING sea view..

  • 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge extra for the beach facilities (umbrella etc)

    Location

  • 16 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant only opened at 8pm.

    Nice pool. Lovely location. Great breakfast

  • 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eccezzionale dalla vista a colazione cena e mare. Awesome view,sea, breakfast, dinner and staff

  • 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed longer.

    Very attractive property and location. Private beach is beautiful. Excellent amenities.

  • 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in one of the most beautiful areas right on the beach with magnificent views!!!

  • 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very, very helpfull. Everybody are clearly interested in giving the guests a good experience. Beautiful location.

  • 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was disappointing. Food was below average.

    Good for swimming and lovely views.

  • 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the best places near Maratea, nice beach, high recommended

  • 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bit dated but clean

    Lovely location

  • 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was excellent and hotel was clean and staff friendly even though we couldn't speak much Italian they were very helpful.

  • 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For umbrella 20€ per day on Gabbiano own hotel beach :(. W-Lan 5€ per day. Musty hotel rooms

    Food a la cart good, beach nice.

  • 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, very peaceful, nice restaurant and swimming facilities

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 16 October 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel rooms were small and somewhat dated. We were just there less than a week ago and while the hotel was virtually empty when we asked if there was a free upgrade available we were refused. While the location on the beach is wonderful it is quite a way to any other restaurants, about eight km..

    The location on the beach was terrific and the breakfast was very good. The young woman on the front desk was very friendly and very helpful and she often went out of her way to help us. The dining room staff were also very good. Overall, and considering the room and dining room prices, it was a good value for the price.

  • 30 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Good beach and pool Warm sea Friendly staff (except one who shall remain nameless but was involved in the wedding plans) Lovely balcony with sea view

  • 12 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no free wi-fi

    Very nice place with amazing view. directly on the beach. Very good breakfast, big choise and very nice people from service. I spent very nice time there. Restaurant is directly on the beach, so you can enjoy view a lot during dinner and breakfast

  • 27 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    You can agree to pay internet access but if you have many devices that need to be connected to the network, you have to pay for each!! You will be said that one device at time but it doesn´t work. Then if you are traveling with a family of 6, or you don´t use internet at all of you must consider an very high extra charge. The driveway to the hotel is very abandoned, one could think to having taking the wrong route. You must have a car. If you want to go even to Maratea you will need it (10 Km away but about 25 min)

    The pool, the beach, The service

  • 5 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    the room did not match the description of the room booked on the booking.com website. We were given an awful room on the ground floor with a path immediately outside and no double aspect window which didn't accord with what I had booked but we were helpfully moved to a better room (albeit single aspect window) and whilst still not the room I had booked was acceptable.

    location, food, pool, helpful staff

  • 11 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work. Rooms in need of a facelift. Breakfast needs a wider choice of food. But I'd stay here again.....

    We stayed for one night as a stopover en route to somewhere else. Super place! Loved the beach and the balcony - went to sleep listening to the sea. The evening meal was good.

  • 12 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    There was'nt any foodmarket near and it's better to have a car to the nearest town.

    Peaceful and quiet place for resting and taking sun. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there in April and there was only few customers, just what we needed. Views are just lovely.

  • 24 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • 21 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Fantastic staff, fantastic service nit to mention location and tranquility ..a must if travelling South.

  • 5 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel with private beach and Bella visita.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Gabbiano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: