Reviews of Hotel Henry's House 4 stars

Via del Castello Maniace, 68, Ortigia, 96100 Syracuse, Italy

#3 of 43 hotels in Syracuse

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 647 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • December 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall state of maintenance (wiring, window shutters). Cramped rooms

    The breakfast was great, the location excellent, and the atmosphere truly boutique

  • December 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Such a lovely, unique, place to stay. Beautiful location overlooking the sea (and a short walk into the centre), lovely rooms, excellent breakfast. Staff were absolutely outstanding in their friendliness and helpfulness. We stayed only three days but would happily have stayed much longer.

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is dark and feels like it needs a good steam clean. A few less cooked items at breakfast in preference for more fresh items - like fruit - would be good. Our room (Seaview, No 311) was very small and nearly everything creaked - from the door into the room, to the wardrobe, chairs and old pieces of furniture.

    The location, at the southern end of Ortigia, is good and the view over the bay is nice.

  • October 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bathroom, though adequate, was some way from 'state-of-the-art'; and the bed was not over-large.

    The staff have thought carefully about how to make guests' stays enjoyable. They were considerate and helpful at all times. The house is wonderfully situated, and the views over the water from the terrace and the solarium on the roof are a delight. While it has a lift, the building is more 'historic' than 'luxurious', but that way it fits into its setting in the old city.

  • October 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Full length mirror would be nice. Lighting is an issue everywhere in Italian hotels. I like good strong reading lamps.

    It's really like a family. The staff went over and above to respond to our needs. Thank you to Francesco, Laura and Federica and all the staff.

  • October 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was rather small and missed place to put/store things. The bath- and sink stopper were not working. The bathroom had a little bit a smell and was rather dark. Common parts not that clean...

    Breakfast was great! The staff very friendly and helpful and all were speaking very well English. The location is great. The hotel cosy decorated. The bedroom big enough with a good bed. Bedroom and bathroom were clean.

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly, competent staff. We arrived flustered, they helped with parking amd even gave us free beers to help us relax. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the hotel has nice patios with a great view of the water.

  • September 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - complaining about this property would just be poor form.

    Absolutely everything about Henry's House was wonderful; staff, rooms and facilities were unbeatable. And the breakfast is the best we've seen in multiple trips to Italy. Nowhere better.

  • September 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Breakfast is delicious with different treats every morning - a huge selection and great coffee. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Great terrace to sit and have drinks and now there is a bar attached where you can have drinks with substantial snacks for around 10 euro.

  • September 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly, and extremely helpful. The hotel is in a great location. This was one of the best holiday hotels that I have been to, and we'll go again.

  • September 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have a later standard checkout time.

    The hotel is well situated in a tastefully renovated old building on the island of Ortigia, the oldest part of Siracusa. One side of the building overlooks the huge natural harbor, above a long boardwalk. There are many terraces where guests can have breakfast, sit in the sun through the afternoon, or enjoy an evening drink watching the sun set over the harbor. The hotel staff members were all friendly and incredibly helpful in lots of ways, making great restaurant recommendations and reservations, assisting us with parking, and accommodating a special request. One felt as if they treated their guests as friends rather than as clients. Our room was spacious, had very high ceilings with exposed beams and a large french window overlooking the bay. It was distinctively decorated; I suspect that no two rooms are the same. The shower in our room was the best shower I have ever had in Europe--in frequent trips over the past 40 years. The breakfast was also probably the best I have had at any hotel anywhere--not the usual generic ham/cheese/bread/overcooked scrambled eggs/limp bacon. There were lots of homemade savory pies, several unusual cheeses, fresh fruit, cold cuts, delicious sandwiches, caprese salad,croissants and lots of tarts and cakes...numerous fruit juices, made to order coffees and teas... plus other things I have no doubt forgotten.

  • September 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plumbing smelled a bit damp. But everything was clean and in working order.

    Francesco was a great host! The location is excellent and we enjoyed a sunset aperitif every night on the terrace as well as great breakfasts!

  • September 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything is great. Really appreciated the typical furniture ant the house's decoration. The breakfast was the best we had in Sicily, a lot of choice of local food, everything was fresh and good. Plus, the lovely and calm terrace where we could have breakfast had a view to the see.

  • August 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mínor details in the bathroom would need a touch up: door to fix... Shower to restyle

    Staff is simply perfect... Always smiling and helpfull. They will help you in anything you need. (don't even need to worry about parking your own car) Location is great. Overall the building is beautiful, charming and very "sicilian". PS. Don't miss the solarium: beautiful and peaceful.

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was great but the bedroom was slightly outdated and although it's charming, a more comfortable bed would be highly appreciated but that's just a minor detail.

    Extremely welcoming staff, beautiful setting and relaxing hotel. Great value for your money! Probably one of my favorite hotel this trip.

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to come home!

    Ideal location, great character, very friendly staff, Breakfast was delicious. Romms were clean, not huge - but that wasnt a problem. A 500m walk to find some local swimming was very welcome.

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite honestly, the only downside was the bare bones mattress. But that was a problem all over Sicily except for the American-owned hotel in Giardini Naxos.

    This is an awesome hotel. The staff could not have been more kind or helpful. The location in Ortigia is incredible. We were anxious as we pulled up in our rental car because we couldn't figure out where it was going to go. But the staff members rushed out and took care of the car immediately. Then they hustled us off to the terrace for a glass of almond milk while they emptied the car and took our bags to the room. The front desk gave us fantastic suggestions for restaurants. The breakfast had a lot of variety. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in this incredible city.

  • August 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom were small and the furnishings abysmal. The grout in the bathroom tile looked dirty. The furnishings throughout were an eyesore. Some might call the decor charming, but it is a poorly curated mish-mash of styles and materials. The furnishings look like they were grandma's rejects or picked up from the side of the road. The paint finishes and artwork look as though they were done by the high school art class.

    The service was above and beyond--responsive, caring and attentive. The outdoor spaces were quite lovely though the seat cushions were worn and falling off the chairs. The breakfast was varied and excellent. While the service is stellar, it did not make up for what the property lacked and I would not return.

  • July 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No curtains in room which made it impossible to sleep in :(

    Very friendly & helpful staff, especially with recommendations for top eating spots. Great location & multiple rooftop terraces to enjoy sunset & water views. Really cute hotel.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is in a quiet location, great decor, with lots of nooks and crannies in the hotel to have a coffee or glass of wine while taking in the views on the water. Walk 2-3 blocks and you're in the heart of Ortigia with its plazas, restaurants, shops. Hotel Henry is the perfect spot from which to explore the area.

  • July 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem was that we only stayed 1 night! Wish we could have stayed for much longer!

    The homemade breakfast was incredible. We stayed here the night that I asked my partner to marry me. We booked a suite with a private balcony to celebrate. The staff were so helpful and kind. They genuinely were happy and excited to share such an experience with us, and nothing was too much of a problem to make it a very special evening. First class, beautiful hotel.

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast looks good and there were lots of choices to eat. But thet don't have the taste. Staff looks friendly but we couldn't feel real hospitality and warmness.

    Location is good. Just walking distance to the everything. If you have car they manage the parking area so it's so comfortable because it's too difficult to find a park in Siracusa.

  • July 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help-finding car spaces when there were none, facilitating our drinks and snacks on the terrace. The terrace is a beautiful spot for breakfast and relaxing or people watching with a tranquil view of the water

  • July 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't have stayed longer.

    The location is fantastic. A great base to explore the sights and culture of Syracuse. Located in Ortigia, which is a small island that is the historical centre of the city of Syracuse, Sicily. The island, also known as Città Vecchia, contains many historical landmarks. It is also slightly off the beaten path, away from the tourist crowds, which makes it a gem of a place to stay. Massimo, our host, was very charming and welcoming. In addition to his colleague, Fernando, the two were very helpful in giving us a tour of the hotel, ensured we felt at home, and gave us a personalized guide of what to see and what to eat in town. The customer service went over and beyond expectations. Parking was easy and convenient with their assistance (and at no charge). The hotel is very charming with its rustic medieval decor. It's clean, located on the sea with a wonderful sea side terrace, and offers breakfast featuring a variety of home cooked Sicilian dishes. We would definitely stay here again!

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite difficult to find with sat nav due to very narrow streets, one way and pedestrianised streets. However we called hotel and one of the guys came no found us. Thank you

    Fantastic breakfast so much choice and able to enjoy on terrace.

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was thoughtfully decorated and had a lot of character. It had an excellent view, was comfortable, and was good for a romantic getaway. The staff members at the desk were extremely helpful, finding a place for us to have our laundry done during a holiday weekend, helping us choose a restaurant and secure last-minute reservations, and giving us directions on multiple occasions. The breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed the view from the patio. This stay was one of the highlights of our two week trip to Sicily.

  • June 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom looked a little tired, but not a problem.

    The hotel had real character, was quirky and unusual. The location in Ortigia was perfect. We loved all the artwork, ceramics and antique furniture. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

  • June 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No pool!

    Amazing location! Incredibly friendly and helpful owners. They even parked our car for us on arrival. The hotel was charming with fabulous sea views. Wish we could have stayed longer....

  • June 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price is quite high but in the end totally worth the experience.

    Perfect getaway (a magical place)! Great location. Lovely staff. Amazing view (sea view room higly recommended).

  • June 21, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room (ventilation unit or similar switching on and off during the whole night).

    Nice breakfast on the sea-view terrace. Nice, particular room design. Perfect central location.

  • May 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from street and other bedrooms. Tiny shower room. Breakfast generous but amateur.

    Great location, original and quirky, charming helpful staff. Great views from sea-view rooms and upper terrace. If you want something really different and original this is for you but the sacrifice is modernity and comfort.

  • May 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Henry's House was a dream. From the concierge service of Francesco and the rest of the staff to the artwork, delicious food, and beautifully appointed rooms we cannot praise this hotel enough. We were extremely impressed with the personal service. The staff took the time to address our questions and requests for recommendations and they never disappointed. We felt like we had the insider Ortigian knowledge of where to go and where to eat. Charming, charming, charming. We'll be back.

  • May 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room were in, 102, was completely overpriced , the bathroom rundown, the doors squeeking, and when we asked at least for a discount , they just refused without any comment!

  • May 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I should have booked earlier, sea view rooms are limited. But our room was very nice, just a little noisy, we were tired so it didn't matter. Hard to find so best to check the satellite view and be able to recognize where to turn in town. One didn't even appear to be a street so we missed it twice and it was tough to get back because of one way streets. If we'd prepared it would have been fine.

    The staff was first rate. Francisco and Michele were unbelievably pleasant and helpful. They gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and what we could do to get the most of our limited time there. There is a great terrace to sit on and view the sea and relax. Towels were pristine and the bath towels were larger than most. There were extra pillows in the room. Great location.

  • May 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a hotel with quirky charm and character. The staff are exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to ensure our every need was catered for. The spread at breakfast was wonderful and changed each day and my need for gluten free items well cared for. Watching the sun go down with a book and glass of wine in hand was the perfect end to the day.

  • May 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was a perfect 17th Century building! It was a great experience!

    The homemade breakfast was terrific! The owners and staff could not of been nicer. Yay Francesco!

  • May 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms is equipped at a minimalist level. The price per night is too high for this type of room.

    Very friendly atmosphere. Very helpful and polite personal.

  • April 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding it in our hire car. In the end we parked about a mile away and walked - then we retraced our route and handed the car keys to the man of the house, who parked the car nearby.

    Most of all it was the character of the place; a former kindergarten with a warren of rooms, some overlooking the sea, and with a nice (shared) balcony to sit out on. Staff were very helpful especially about parking my car. Breakfast also very good. And it is situated at the southern end of historic Ortygia in Syracuse.

  • April 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather was a bit cool later in the evening on the uppermost terrace. Had to move to the indoor lounge to finish our bottle of wine.

    Friendly staff. Lots of outdoor seating for breakfast or evening glasses of wine (bring your own). Easy to walk to everything in Ortigia.

  • April 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The whole experience was great made even better by wonderfully helpful and friendly staff. And the quirky and fascinating decoration we also loved.

  • April 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the general ambience was wonderful. Location superb Friendly and informative staff lovely breakfast Ortigia and the surrounding area is fascinating

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Chairs in lounge too soft if you have a bad back.

    Excellent location, beautiful view with terraces to sit outside, within walking distance of places of interest. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast with variations each day. Has a lift for those who do not like climbing stairs.

  • March 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing! The only reason I marked down facilities is that some people might feel there should be a dining room (why, when great restaurants were recommended and booked for us every evening?) or a pool or greater conformity of decor. For us it was perfect. I hope to find everything exactly the same should I ever be lucky enough to return.

    Everything! Where this hotel really scores is on the excellence of their service. Everyone we met seemed to take personal pride in looking after the guests and making our stay as enjoyable as possible. And it was done in a spirit of genuine interest and friendliness as opposed to 'just doing one's job'. Then there was the quirky individuality of the rooms... And the multi levelled sun terrace full of flowers and statues... And then there were the breakfasts (for us, on the terrace most days) And the view...

  • January 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon was not heating, and it was december!! They couldn't fix it so they brought two small heaters. When we paid, they did a gave us a meaningful discount :-)

    Wonderful facilities and location. Staff and owners courtesy and readiness to help. The room was really beautiful, and commas areas excellent.

  • January 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful and make our whole visit a delight including arranging a restaurant booking for New Year's Eve at very short notice.

  • January 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a lift but also a lot of fairly steep internal stairs; anyone with mobility issues should probably mention this in booking.

    The staff were very helpful indeed. Getting a car to the hotel through the one-way system on Ortigia is tricky until you know the place, and our first attempt failed. The staff took us back to where we left the car and guided us in. Very nice breakfasts with wide variety. Room full of character and very comfortable. Wonderful location as long as you don't try to drive around with sea-view terrace.

  • January 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The perfect location to explore Ortegia in combination with a great breakfast served with a smile, friendly staff giving a taste of the rich history and philosophy of 3000 years of civilisation. Lovely house, splendid views. In short; a place to come back soon!

  • December 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything.

    Extremely helpful staff. Massima, Stefania and Francesco were all great! Excellent recommendations for things to do and where to eat. Extremely comfortable accommodations with terraces/patios to sit at and relax. Great location to see the town. I would recommend it highly to everyone.

  • December 7, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking , but we were aware of this prior to travelling

    Superb location Very clean, comfortable , friendly welcoming staff This hotel in the summer would be amazing We will be returning

  • November 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door to our room was difficult to open and impossible to shut at night. Curtains would have been welcome as room only had net curtains.

    Location and quirky rustic 'artie' and cleverly designed hotel which us a historic building and therefore subjected to stringent building constraints.

  • November 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely the best location on the island of Ortigia in Siracusa, Italy. Beautiful views of the harbor from our private balcony. Incredible breakfast with fresh breads and made to order eggs.

  • November 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location could not be better, bang in the heart of the old town, guests are treated like friends, the charm of the old house and the trendy decoration are a unique combination, breakfast buffet very special and home cooked, terrace with view of the harbor the most romantic spot imaginable.

  • October 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window seal leaked, and rain came into the room, and wet the floor. it took a couple of hours for them to clean up the water.

    The breakfast had an excellent choice. The outside courtyard was a great spot to watch the sunset with a pre dinner drink

  • October 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way too expensive. Terrible plumbing. Beds/couches very uncomfortable. Lock on my room broken (staff know but don't fix it). "Ocean view" actually looks onto hotel staircase. Painting of masterbating woman in my room was horrifying.

    Nothing. Do not stay here. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • October 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bed was a bit hard but we still slept ok. Our biggest problem was the bathroom which was very pokey and the shower was tiny! But overall the room was quirky and fitting the relaxing charm of Henry's House.

    Very shabby chic! Helpful staff, pleasant ambience and well located for Ortigia sights and restaurants

  • October 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    * Very helpful staff - provided recommendations on sights to see, restaurants and onward travel to Ragusa by train * Good wifi connectivity * Great breakfast buffet and evening wine/apperitifs

  • October 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    what a highlight from the location to the helpful staff to the eclectic and interesting decor. Aperitifs on the balcony at sunset great fun. Nothing was too much trouble and all the recommendations spot on. You must stay here.

  • October 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is a maze with a variety of internal and external staircases, but that's what you sometimes face when staying in a structure in a historic district. Our balcony faced the street, not the water.

    Located on historic Ortygia Island, it provides a convenient base for a walking tour. Breakfast on 2nd floor terrace overlooking harbor was delightful. Owners compensated for absence of public parking by lending us their resident pass so we could park about 75 meters away. All staff members made the effort to be helpful. Room was quiet.

  • October 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved that it was a bit quirky furniture and art wise and I think we had one of the better rooms in that we overlooked the water which was beautiful. Staff were so accommodating and breakfast on the terrace each morning was wonderful.

  • October 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredibly friendly and enthusiastic staff; nothing was too much trouble. Eclectic style throughout. Excellent location at tip of Ortygia island ( but be aware of traffic access issues if travelling by car)

  • October 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs are there but added to the character of the hotel.

    The staff were very helpful and the rooms very nicely decorated with beautiful taste. Painting just fabulous! Great quirky place to stay good breakfast and drinks on the terrace in the evening was beautiful looking at the ocean.

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stefania, Massimo, Francesco and all the staff were so helpful and kind. The hotel's in the best location on Ortygia, the terrace for breakfast looking out on to the bay is amazing. Excellent place, superb value.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to do with hotel but parking is tough in Ortega they have spaces/pass but are limited. They do their bestto help you and will even come to your car to guide you back

    Staff really friendly with honest tipsand excellent directions. There was a nice feeling as if you were a welcome guest in a good friends house. Lovely quirky design coupled with a laid back feel meant this was perhaps my best every experience in a hotel.We have stayed in plusher more attentive places but they lacked any warmth that we experienced here

  • September 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room no 205 had small shower cubicle with weak water pressure. No shelves or drawers for longer stays.

    Excellent central location. Delightful owners and staff who were able to give us recommendations and advice. We were made to feel as if we were welcome guests in their house. Hotel decor a bit quirky and eclectic however we really enjoyed breakfast and sundowners on the delightful private terrace.

  • September 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Husband is very tall and bumped his head a few times.

    Good location and get to enjoy all sites of Ortigia at leisure. Attentive staff and very good breakfast.

  • September 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed a little noisy and not as comfortable as other hotels.

    Location (but best to arrive before lunch to get parking and miss the crowds of people), staff were great and the terraces overlooking the sea.

  • September 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were rather hard. Everything else was terrific!

    Loved this charming old fashioned home turned into the hotel. Location is perfect and the views from the terraces are wonderful. Staff could not have been more welcoming.

  • September 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ground floor room dark and unsatisfactory. Breakfast ordinary. Poor quality fruit and muesli.

    Excellent terrace and lounge where we mixed with other guests. Our room ground floor facing street was dark and not private. We would have preferred balcony room facing water.

  • August 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was one of the best hotel experiences we have hade. We appreciate personal service and engagement and we definitely got that at Henry's house. It is a wonderful, beautiful old house with charming rooms (but very steep stairs...). Amazing breakfast with homemade pastries among other things. We really would like to recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a hotel experience with service, kindness, professionalism, good food in a nice location.

  • August 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed in! The staff were incredible going the extra mile for us, the breakfast was fabulous and the actual hotel itself was full of charm. I'd give this hotel 11 out of 10 if I could!

  • August 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of our favorite stops in Sicily. The nicest and most helpful staff. Our room had a fantastic view. I particularly enjoyed myself as a minimalist in a Rocco environment, isn't that what travel is for, to change your environment? The best part was the family and staff were so gracious that it had the comfort of home.

  • August 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A lot of very late street noise - but earplugs fixed that.

    Location is great. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best I've had anywhere. The terrace overlooking the bay was the perfect spot to enjoy an aperitif before going out to dinner. Loved it! Will return next year.

  • August 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing. We only regret that we did not book several more days with them.

    Every single aspect! the brothers are beyond helpful, kind and charming, too.

  • August 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some noise from the pedestrian seaside street.

    Great location Free parking Free wifi Staff super kind and friendly Amazing terraces Amazing breakfast on the terrace

  • August 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A perfect little hotel, a real shame that we only stayed for one night, since we were on our way to somewhere else. The decoration is incredibly charming, with a few touches from Italian folk. The room was fabulous and incredibly clean. The staff, super friendly and helpful - we asked too many questions and they answered with care and always recommending the best off-the-beaten-track spots to get a real experience of Ortigia. Another incredible feature is breakfast, with home-made delicacies from the region and delicious stuff, that you can have outside in the terrace whilst taking in the most stunning view of Ortigia Harbour. 100% recommendable.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: