Reviews of Hotel Il Platano 3 stars

Via Sardegna snc, 08020 San Teodoro, Italy

#7 of 20 hotels in San Teodoro

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 299 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 51

  • September 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much that we didn't like about this place!

    1. The room was cleaned every day 2. the pizzas in the restaurant are amazing! 3. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help, they even kindly made a few us a couple of restaurant bookings throughout our stay

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a bit of walk to the beach, but there is a very efficient bus service.

    We stayed at Hotel Il Platano for our Honeymoon. The staff were lovely, the room was clean and a good size, the facilities (especially the pool) were great and it's all situated just a short walk from town. We had a really lovely stay!

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stephanos needs to invest in a new CD, as by the end of the week we knew every word of every song sitting by the pool! Wifi was fine around the pool and reception but was rarely working in our room.

    This isn't so much of a review-more of a thank you. On arrival we were greeted by a smiling and polite Peira, and shown to our room. A spacious room with air conditioning and a fridge, everything you need for a short break. The rooms were made every morning impeccably by Stefania with fresh towels every day. The pool is great, and although it is next to a main road the noise was not bad at all. Situated just outside the main town, it is only around 5 minutes to walk into San Teodoro and around 15 minutes to walk to the beach. Every morning we were greeted at breakfast by the wonderful staff, there is a range of cold meats and pastries, but being English, we stuck to sausage, egg and bacon! The kitchen staff are happy to do you eggs however you like them at no extra cost. Fresh coffee is always available, as is toast etc. The hotel restaurant is lovely, great menu, great service, really recommend eating here. We did twice over our weeks stay. I say this honestly, I have never stayed in any hotel, anywhere in the world, where the staff have been as friendly, polite and helpful as this. Nothing was any trouble at all, and they generally couldn't do enough for us. By the end of the week my girlfriend and I viewed them more as friends than staff! Piera, Morena, Davide, Stephanos and Stephania, thankyou for making our stay so pleasant!

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi wasn't either working or was super slow in our room. However, in the common facilities it worked perfectly. Also, 20-30min walk to the beach.

    Nice hotel with a pool and with a location next to some nice restaurants. Rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfast one of the best in our 4-week Italy trip.

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way overpriced for what was on offer. Not that close to beach. Average room. Not worth £125/night. Look around for better deals. Hotel staff not the most helpful (language barrier) but friendly.

    Fairly clean. Hotel swimming pool. Reasonable continental breakfast.

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi in the reception & pool is super fast. In the rooms it's acceptable. Just that there was no iron available to iron my friends clothes. We were had to hand out items in & was charged 25euro for 7 pieces which is a bit excessive I think

    We couldn't have asked for a better stay!!! The whole place was renovated this year. The rooms are super cute & the pool is really lovely. The staff were amazing- especially Morena, Davide, Pierra. Nothing was too much for them & full of great information & ready to help at all times. It's very close to town. We had a car but still the walk would have literally been 10 minutes & there's lots of shops/restraunt/bars along the way. There is also a massive supermarket at the end of the road (2 min walk). Free breakfast to start your day. After spending DAYS researching affordable accommodation in San Teodoro I couldn't believe it when this place became available last minute. Love love loved it :)

  • July 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    Beautiful hotel with very friendly/helpful staff. In particular Morena, Piera and Davide were always attentive and friendly. The hotel was kept very clean, our room was cleaned daily with clean towels daily (lovely lady cleaned our room, sorry we didn't get her name). We could walk to the main town where there were markets every night and occasionally live music. We were close to a well equipped supermarket. Buses were good for different towns and beaches. Stunning island.

  • June 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was a little small in the room and location on main road but overall nothing to complain about.

    Hotel room over looked the pool. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Room clean and comfortable.

  • September 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Il Platano has a good location, close to San Teodoro town centre and some very nice beaches. Rooms are comfortable, clean and ours had a nice balcony looking over the pool. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, particularly Morena was lovely to us. We enjoyed the pool every day and many times it was all to ourselves, my child loved it.Would definitely come back in our next visit to Sardinia.

  • September 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, although don't speak much English. The hotel is only a 10 min walk from the centre and beach bus just 5 mins away. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, nice pool and rooms

  • September 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the location was good for walking into town, the hotel is only just set back from a main road which makes it a bit noisy with traffic - hence we didn't use the pool but drove to various beaches. Wifi is free but only really works well when you are in or near the reception area. Breakfast is fine but could do with a bit more variation as after three or four days it is a bit dull.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Short walk (10 mins max) into San Teodoro which has lots of good restaurants, bars and market stalls every evening when the main roads are closed to traffic. Walk to the town beaches is a bit further but do-able. A car will give you access to better beaches in Capo Coda Cavallo etc. Nice swimming pool/pool area and loungers - though we didn't actually use them. Outside breakfast area is nice even though it is near the road.

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Wi Fi struggles a bit in the room but works fine in the reception and pool area.

    Cleanliness of the rooms and all areas of the Hotel, free car parking and free wi fi, fresh towels and bedding every day. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to help you. The pool and pool area, loungers etc is lovely and really clean. Overall I would recommend this hotel especially for the helpfull staff although a car is essential to explore the many beautiful beaches in the area.

  • September 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was setved from 8 till 9.30. As a check-out is till 11 could be nice if breakfast would last longer like till 10 or 10.30 Wifi connection not so good.

    The balcony was amazing and the room was very clean. I really enjoyed all the small traditional Italian details the room had - sewings on the blanket, mirror decor etc. Very nice place to stay!

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was not so great, very little choice and sometimes the croissants were very hard. But don't let this stop you from staying here. We often just got breakfast elsewhere as the room price was reasonable enough. On the plus side the coffee was great!

    Had a really great stay at hotel il platano. The room was great! Clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and always helpful. The pool area is great.

  • August 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far too expensive. The room was tiny for four people. To charge 193 Euros for one night is outrageous. Not value for money.

    The excellent breakfast, friendly staff, lovely pool.

  • August 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very clean,staff very helpful and friendly.It had a real family feeling about it! The restaurant food was excellent. Nice stroll into the town.Would certainly stay there again.

  • August 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Very friendly, clean, comfortable, excellent location 10min walk to the centre of town, 15min walk to the beach, good value foe money I feel it is perfectly priced. We dislike large hotels so this small hotel was perfect for us and our 2 girls who are 7&9. I would not recommend it for British families who what their children to mix with other kids. Most of the time our girls were in the pool on their own which is fine for us best they play so well together. The restaurant is fantastic I've seen other reviews saying negative things about it, we found it to be one of the best in the entire area! Have the beef on the spit with the Rosemary potatoes! The hotel is a 20 min drive from the airport port so your holiday can start very quickly after landing we opted for luxury and got a taxi both ways which cost €70 each way but there is a great much more affordable bus which drops/collects you 5min walk from the hotel. There is also a great beach bus you can get to save you walking in the midday heat to the beach.

  • July 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was pretty hard and squeaky and the toilet taps had to be turned off as the toilet continued to fill up. Also shower went cold quite often.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely quiet pool, good value for money place. Place is pretty small so only about 8 rooms so it never gets crowded but the breakfast and staff were great and it's within walking distance of San Trodoro so you can head out in the evening to go to the night markets or the other restaurants (although food at the hotel was fab!). I would recommend hiring a car so you can make the most of the island.

  • June 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    We had a brilliant stay at this hotel!Although the staff spoke very little English they were friendly and welcoming and offered us a drink on our arrival which was a lovely gesture. The pool and breakfast was good too.

  • October 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very unflexible stuff, even thou the hotel was empty the staff was not accomodating. Too bad, will not come back.

  • September 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes the shower was cold! But if u tell them they fix the problem

    Location, breakfast, staff, parking

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing every effort made to help you have a great holiday

    Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms free wifi great restaurant

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were amazing and friendly made the whole stay perfect!

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a 24hr reception.

    The staff, the pool and the food/drink.

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Welcoming , relaxing ambient and really great and lovely staff. Excellent place to stay !! Really clean and quite. Wish to be there again!!

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Shower cubicle quite small so better is larger

    Air conditioning, wi-fi

  • October 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom window could have a better curtain to give more privacy.

    The room , very comfortable bed

  • October 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was lovely with air con and pool.But what stood out was the hotel restraunt, food was amazing

  • September 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    next to the main road, but rooms are quite though

    nice pool area

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Value for money, very friendly staff lovely hotel -love it here

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only downside is no iron, but that's minimal. The place was brilliant.

    Everything, the staff were absolutely fantastic!

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad bed , not value for money and address mentioned points to a different propety

    closer to beach and city centre

  • August 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed not so good. small room regarding the price...

    beautiful hotel. kind service. amazing breakfast with fruits from the hotel garden

  • August 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendliness of staff Cleanliness of hotel and room Quality of decor

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Value for money, too expensive for what it is (too far from the beach for the price paid)

    That I was in Sardinia

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old matresses, ac above child's bed, room infested with ants

    Pool, friendly staff, pizzeria, nice terrace, very clean

  • August 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Good breakfast and nice facilities

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    noisy position of the hotel.

  • July 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    smoking room - AC smells WiFi not working in our room

  • July 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor breakfast nothing warm not even toast!

    This hotel was immaculate

  • June 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are a but humid especially the one on the first floor

    great staff

  • June 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi a bit slow ,improved last few days

    Great pool,restaurant with good food,good location,very friendly staff

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • October 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing stood out to dislike

    Back for a second year in a row, great staff, good location in walking distance for everything Sun and Bass can't fault this hotel would/will come back again.

  • October 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Bring a travel iron - Back hurt from bed on longer sleeps - During the day the only thing to eat are the same 2-3 types of pre-made cheese/ham sandwich from reception. If you want to eat ANYTHING in daytime have to buy from supermarket next door or go into town, which can be a bit of a walk if you just want a snack - Food and Drink everywhere in the area (not hotel fault) is expensive for what you get.

    - (mostly) Nice and peaceful during the day being a little way out of centre - Very friendly, happy, helpful staff - Maid goes into room even if you wake late. which is helpful - Very clean in all areas - Good pool and atmosphere - Breakfast not that bad, plenty of choice, although we only made breakfast once :-) - WIFI routers in every room, so free WIFI very good once remembered the password - Safe in each room - Good Air Con - Very chilled hotel, this is a place to relax; not much to do other than enjoy the sun and pool during the day (or go to beach) and chilled music at night.

  • September 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We only had a very short stay in Sardinia and the staff at the hotel made us feel very welcome and were always happy to help with tips and recommendations. It has a proper family run feel to it and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel also has a great restaurant and we were able to also order food and drinks (including fantastic Aperol Spritz cocktails) to the pool. The pool was really lovely and quiet and really gets the sun. Overall, I would drink felt recommend this hotel if you are choosing to stay in this area. We didn't hire a car and managed to get to the beaches on foot or by bus, but it would probably be better to have a car to explore the area a bit further.

  • September 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are very friendly, just a 10 minute stroll into San Teodoro centre and 20 minute walk to La Cinta beach (gorgeous beach but can get busy - budoni is 20 minute by car and quieter). The pool is very good and the rooms are nicely decorated and very clean.

  • July 26, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    restaurant - I can't recommend it at all. Overpriced, and no quality at all, meat - beef, pork, was hard, no salt. Carbonara - only pasta with bacon - no sauce at all. Breakfast - biscuits, croissants, cakes, toasts, some ham and chees. If you want your room to be cleaned you have to leave the room after 10.30am

    hotel, the room was after refurbishment - was comfortable, AC, balcony, parking - no problem. Staff English not bad.

  • July 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpfull staff, nice location not to far from the center of San Teodoro which is full of life at night with bars and restaurant. Very good value for money! Will be back!

  • June 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room number 1 is facing the swimming pool - it is lovely, but might be noisy if there are other guest there

    Lovely hotel with fantastic staff - very friendly with good English skills, always smiley and helpful. Free wifi throughout the hotel and pool, free parking and breakfast. Lovely receptionist made us a fantastic cappuccino (they make hot drinks themselves - it's included in the price) Rooms spacious, clean, design is nice, big modern bathroom. Our room was 5 metres from a pool, which was very convenient. Behind the double door is a private patio. Very nice feel around this hotel - cosy and friendly. Would definitely recommend and come back.

  • October 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Staff, breakfast, location, room, router in room, big balcony and again great staff

  • August 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast should have more diversity. Despite that, for italian hotels it's not bad.

    The room was very cozy and the staff was friendly.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: