Reviews of La Plage Noire Resort

Strada Provinciale 81 km 1, 07037 Sorso, Italy

#10 of 10 hotels in Sorso

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    3.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 42

  • September 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The buffet at breakfast/lunch 12€/dinner 16€ is average. The hot food is often cold and dry. Service is not good value for money. Staff seem stressed and not very customer friendly. It is a tourist resort but very few staff speak English hence communication can be frustrated for both customers and staff. You need a car to visit near by cities. Transfer to airports are far and expensive. Alghero airport seems to be the closest by airport. If you fly from Olbia be prepared to commute for at least 4 hours using Sassari train station and taxis. Transfer cost from Olbia is approximately 60€ each way. This is a family resort and can be noisy with crying kids, young families, not too bad if you can put up with it. TV box in the room is old and do not always work. WIFI is only available in the bar & restaurant area and is slow connection.

    The beach is good, the water is clean. Contrary to other reviews, access to the beach is free. Maybe cause I was there in low season, late September. The apartments are ok and good value for money. Gym facilities are basic but ok. There is outdoor football/basketball/tennis court. I did not use them but seem ok. The resort is in a rural location and away from clubs and crown noise. There is a good restaurant near by, 5mins walk. Good food, bit expensive. There is a mini supermarket, 5mins walk, it is convinient if you want o buy snacks, cigs, fruit. Hotel complex has good plantation and has good ambience but is still work in progress. This resort is 3 star and good for relaxing vacation, avoid peak season.

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our accommodation was on a scruffy untidy area (R1 Room 2).All the gardens were like ploughed fields and covered with weeds with hardly a blade of grass anywhere. Our bed was ok but the ensuite was so small I had to put my feet in the shower tray to sit on the toilet. Not 4 star accommodation.

    Breakfast was a fiasco..food kept running out ..staff didn't seem to care..one member of staff was eating her breakfast while checking in residents to the restaurant. The scrambled eggs were awful and tables did not get made up in time for the numbers in the restaurant. Not a nice breakfast experience.

  • September 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very unhelpful and rude. Way to over priced for what it was. Room was discusting. Our window was broken and a dirty matress was left on our patio upon arrival? Poor location luckily we had a car. Would not recommend this place

    The scenery

  • September 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice swimming pool, hotel with private Beach with beds, free parking, its big resort with constant animations activities, loud music, and games, which can be a little bit tiring for those who want to relax, but it's just a small minus, in general nice place for good value.

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Where do I start? The first room we were offered overlooked the service and bins area.(106) The second room R1 Room 2..at first sight the garden area for the whole area looked like a weed strewn ploughing competition. The room was ok ish but the walls were paper thin and everything that happened in the adjoining rooms could be heard clearly including the use of the toilets. Our ensuite was so small that I had to sit on the toilet with my feet in the shower tray. (photographs already supplied to your complaints department) Breakfast was a joke to get 600 or so through in 1 1/2 hours with too few staff who seemed like they didn't want to be there.On 2 days the woman checking people in to breakfast was actually eating hers! As a seasoned traveller this is the worst hotel/resort I have ever been in.

    The exit gate!!

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You had to pay €16 for dinner which is a buffet. I feel like this is pretty steep to pay especially where there is no near restaurants (we didn't have a car). Also you pay €16 and don't get ANY drinks included, you still have to pay for water!??

    The breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of food. The staff made the holiday with their entertainment throughout the day and evening.

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was absolutely shocking. We booked in a hurry as needed 3 days before loving onto the west coast. The hotel is falling apart. The rickety staircase was dangerous. The air con didn't work. The bedroom patio door would not lock so our children were not safe during the night. To cap it all off nobody in the hotel spoke a single word of English not even the basics. It was truly very poor. The only saving grace was the lovely village of Castlesardo just a few km's north. This is in the rough guide as 1 of 17 things not to miss and that's what we follow generally and it was fantastic. This hotel ? Just check out trip advisor. As I say we were pushed and needed 3 nights. We should have just slept in our hire car. Awful place. Oh and it's B&B too but the breakfast ??? I'm leaving it there.

    Nothing.

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we arrived they weren't expecting us and had no room left. we were not the only one as a lot of people were already waiting for 4 hours! they also gave us finally a key to a room, but when we entered the room was still occupied. Finally we had a room in the hotel in front of the animation, which was so loud that it looked like they played in our room! as we had to get up very early to catch our plane, we didn't get any sleep and breakfast was only from 8. I paid for it but couldn't get nothing to eat or to drink before leaving. really bad service

  • July 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    - wifi in the lobby was horrible - for 5 out of 11 days was not working at all and hotel wasnt able to fix it - food was average (we booked just the room with no board, but tried the lunch the first day; for 12€/person you got selection of hamburger and fried fish, plus you had to pay for the drinks extra; so nothing special and quite expensive) - the second day of our stay 70 teenagers (some kind of summer camp) moved into the hotel, and our room was in the midst of them - I dont have to explain how "pleasant" that was (noise till 2.30 am and from 8pm), fortunately hotel found a solution and moved us to the other (and better) room. The new room very much improved our experience, with the original room our rating would be 5/10

    - good location, nice beach (even though for true beach experts the beach could be wider and whiter - the beach sand is partially black...hence the hotel name "Plage Noir") - sunbeds on the beach free for the hotel guests, we always found some available event when we came at 11am - good animation program (well, we didnt participate, but the animators were really friendly and tried hard) - friendly staff/manager, able to solve our big problem - nice pool, but not many kids attractions

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is very poor and to strict in timing. At 9 am it is hard to find anything on the buffet. Rooms were not that clean.

    Very nice location, super beaches to hike and to start a nice journey. Nice area and beautiful garden, swimming pool.

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There where several of the training equipment that did not work. Bad cleaning around the pool area. 👎🏻breakfast. Obs. Car is a must in this area, nothing to do around.

    Ok pool, near the beach

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was not polite. Did not even try to help us. When we arrived we did not received any information about the "resort" facilities. Poor quality on customer service. Wi fi not working the last day what caused us to arrive late to the airport toleave the rent car. Ended up paying one extra day of rental car. Personeel at the reception did not make any effort on giving us a solution. Not a place to stay if you go only for a few days. Too far away from all points in the Island. Very dissapointed as the value we payed for the service it does not get the customer what you expect.

  • August 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel management is not organized, chaotic administration Long queues Quality of the rooms No useable wifi

    Beach, pool The organized parties Restaurant

  • August 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) It says free wifi in all sites, but it is not. It works only in reception and if it is used by more than 3 people it is mostly not usable at all. Worst internet ever. 2) Our double room contained two beds merged to one. They were not stable and always were separating when in use 3) they never clean eating room windows - terrible. 4) worst beach ever - covered in some black sawdust both - beach itself and water. Disgusting. 5) Staff... Most of them don't speak English at all. You have to wait ages at reception to get their attention and then they don't do their job efficiently. 6) room service. If You are at home when they come, they will bang your door until You open. Sometimes they come at 12:00, sometimes at 16:00... Unpredictable. They don't speak English too

    Breakfast, pool, air conditioning, beautiful surrounding area

  • August 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Location (car is needed, unless you have intend to stay at the resort all the time), WiFi on reception only (and regularly unreachable), Nothing to do in resort after 11 pm.. no LATE bar.. no music... mainly sweet breakfast (no veg at all), ridiculous ques at reception desk,, resort isn't offering any kind of transport (except possibility to rent a bicycle or water bicycle)

    Friendly staff Resort is OKAY-ish Pool

  • August 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 15 nights

    very poor internet only at the reception desk, loudly during the evenings and nights, you could get the beach only by stairs what is hard with stroller

    Very nice resort, beautiful swimming pool, good animations, close to the beach, nice and helpfull staff,

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Garbage collection was not too good in the area.

    Close to a kite surf spot. Short distance to the sea. Pleasant area. People working there were all friendly.

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast simple, always the same and cold, but great coffe and croissants. A bit stinky bathroom, no cleaning and supplies during your stay.

    Good location just on the beach and not in crowded area of the island. Very fine swimming pool, beach with black sand but ok and just in the resort area - wonderful! Clima ok, stuff helpful, great animations and very kind people there. For this money very well :)

  • July 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Beach is very small, lots of stones, black beach. No room service for self-catering travellers (we stayed 8 days, they said, every 7 days when we arrived) No mall or city center to walk nearby. Hardly any restaurants in the area. One good restaurant next to the hotel (no pedestrian walkway to go there!). So many children groups for swimming exercises and sports. Half of the facility (swimming pool, beach, restaurant, ...) is reserved for them!! (They are very loud!) Very loud music by the animation team (from 10-12 and 16-14 o'clock// peaceful the rest of the day!)

    Good price! Hardly German tourists, but lots of italians and spanish. You have everything you need when you travel around and do not want to stay in the hotel for a week. Beware: you can hardly reach anything when you don't have a vehicle!!

  • July 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very clean, but the smell of mold coming from the bathroom is quite bad! Our air conditioning wasn't working very well...lots of noise and it was licking on top of our son's bed...

    The location was perfect for people wanting to discover the northern part of Sardinia. The swimming pool is great and the staff is very friendly :)! The breakfast was simple, but enough and the dinner was very good!

  • July 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff spoke English and was very helpful but we had to ask for everything so communication was rather poor; we found out in the last day that our room(apartment) was being cleaned every week, still nobody came to clean it while we were there. Also some impoliteness here and there. Wireless connection for Internet = almost NON-existent We had 2 of each meal in a 7 day stay. Breakfast was full of pastry and not so many fruits/veggies. The meals in general were a bit static.

    Close to the beach, The atmosphere was great , parties and entertainment every evening. It was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • July 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed "self-catering" as the reviews for the food at the hotel weren't great. I had to laugh at the "kitchenette" in the room. It was a cupboard with a small sink and 2 hob electric oven inside it. Other than 4 x plates,cutlery and cups and the odd sauce pan that was the extent of the items to cater for 4 people. No kettle, can opener or corkscrew. Don't get me started on the lack of Air-con at 35c all week. We tried to get it fixed but they couldn't so just left it unfixed?? The toilet leaked as well. Also there was no hotel info in English... why not?

    Friendly staff albeit that most of them didn't speak any English. The grounds were well maintained along with the lovely pool and beach. Location was also great for exploring the northern coast. The lack of catering on site forced us to explore and find some fantastic places to see and have a meal.

  • July 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Atencion del personal, las fotos que ofrecen en internet del estudio no es lo que nos encontramos cuando llegamos. Estabamos un poco alejadas de la zona principal. El wifi solo llega en la zona de recepcion. Arañas en las habitaciones y en el comedor

    Piscina y las actividades de animacion.

  • August 21, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible

    The hotel like very very old, and bad quality of breakfast

  • July 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Triple Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room, kitchen outside, no table, no chair, TV not working, ...

    Nothing was good, except the island of Sardegna.

  • September 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food selection was wide but the offered the same every day

    it had sunbeds on the premises, close to other great beaches

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad and limited internet connection.

  • August 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wi-fi available anywhere except at the reception desk, but even there it was very poor.

  • August 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    pure wifi conection loud music late at night

    everything

  • July 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Many ants in the room, in the bad. Sticky air a little bit. The same breakfast allday, no vegetables.

    the pool

  • July 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had by a mistake booked a smoking

    Horrible service

  • July 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very dirty. Simple furniture.

    Animations.

  • June 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    WIFI was not working, breakfast was poor, no cleaning service in the apartments

    nice environment, nice pool, good animation service

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • October 3, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    need some reconstruction, wifi worked only in lobby

    we were there in law season and there was no guests in the hotel, but it's located directly on the beach, pool is big but the water was cold, breakfast quite good.

  • September 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Music in the evening was horrible,hardly could sleep The hotel didn't look tidy,lots of broken stuff and rubbish in some places. Wifi only near reception Bit particular good breakfasts

    This hotel has the best staff we've seen so far. Very helpful,friendly and polite

  • September 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inefficient staff, providing none of the required info, nor making any efforts to solve issues Atmosphere is gloomy and rooms not confortable + the place in general is not well maintained Details : - One of the major lacking info is : in studio rooms, cleaning is made once a week ... When we came back to the hotel, it was so nice to find out we had to go all the way to reception to beg for toilet paper ! Because of course there is no phone in the room (we saw so many customers lining up to complain, that mgt is quite right to prevent customers from calling...) - The room is located away from main building with direct view on an unmaintained "garden", with broken firefight device, pipes running in the open air. Already dreadful, but bier cans and used tissues not being removed for all the days we spent there was a plus (I will definitely post photos online to confirm) The kitchen is NOT a kitchen, it is a derelict cupboard outside the room, which you cannot even close anymore. There were even broken parts from the kitchen laying on the "terrace" floor Shower is very small with a textile curtain that will thus stick to you. TV is a small antiquity Ok there was no Wifi in our room, but it was not worlking from the reception either. This was for 110€ a night (100€ + 5€ per person for access to pool & "activities"). No breakfast included which was great as we spent as litlle time as we could in this place. Check out is before 10am.

    This hotel has othing positive in general, and particularly not for this price range

  • August 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Music unnecessarily loud both daytime and night time Difficult to sleep Breakfast was a bun fight - always out of food, cutlery, plates etc and limited choice available

    Beach location ,good value for money

  • July 28, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Communication between staff is non existent - do not expect that a complaint gets actioned! Dead sea bird on beach not removed for several days. Pool cleaning starts at the time guests arrive to the pool after breakfast - how about cleaning earlier ? Kitchenette without refrigerator in some rooms. Not possible to buy food and drinks on resort unless on half or full board. "Animation" (i.e. activities) represent a mandatory charge AND are a joke in terms of quality. Must have car to get away from resort!

    View from pool area

  • October 5, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Insects in a room, noisy aircondition next to balcony, breakfest poor

  • August 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Breakfast WiFi Beach

    Location Pool

  • August 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Location Pool and the Beach Staff and the atmosphere

  • August 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Everything else. Edpecially the total lack of service and hospitality. I recommend you strongly never stay there.

    The pool the view

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse La Plage Noire Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: