Reviews of La Villa del Re - Adults Only 5 stars

Loc. Su Cannisoni, 09040 Castiadas, Italy

#1 of 16 hotels in Castiadas

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 190 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 47

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly lack lustre attitude from one or two at reception Unnecessary girl singer performing to backing track at dinner The audience didn't respond and she was dispirited. Avoided dinner in restaurant thereafter

    The bed was very comfortable The service from staff perfect

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A great place to relax. Idyllic location, comfortable bright and airy room. Fabulous restaurants and first class staff. Simply the best if you're looking for a chilled beach holiday with miles of sandy beach and clear turquoise sea, with the added bonus of wonderful food and wine just a few steps from the beach! We stayed 14 days, with a hire car for three days to see more of the island. I was worried we might get bored. In fact, we didn't want come home!

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is a 5 star rating although having stayed in other 5 star properties particularly in Ireland for eg the hotel Europe this hotel does not compare on just some small minor details such as there is no spa facility available to guests,choice of restaurant is just one for such a large property.! and the cleaning of the rooms at 6 in the evening I found a little bizzar as this is normally the time you would be getting ready to go out for dinner, our room overlooked someones back garden, and i just thought for the money you are paying this I found a little dissappointing, otherwise a fabalous property, however I dont think you get value for your money @ over €400 a night.!

    Fabalous hotel, right on the beach... ideal if you just want to relax and unwind, the location sells this property, decor is just amazing and the staff are super professional...

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel location is fabulous, literally on the best beach with turqoise blue sea. Amazing pool and views. We were most impressed by the staff. So friendly, happy and very professional. We would return because of how well we were looked after. Thank you Villa del Re!!!

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No gym. Generally caters to a much older clientele. A small thing, for the price one would expect a double vanity in the bathroom.

    Everything was amazing.

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Room Change and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There really isn't anything there, if you don't want to eat each meal at the hotel then you really have to have a car/ use taxis. The Sky tv didn't work and it took a couple of days to fix (we were there for 4, first world problems I know!). Some reviews we read before booking mentioned that the hotel has free bicycles to use - one of the staff told us bikes were available there and when we tried to hire, we were told they were not and that they would have to be hired (at a cost) from nearby Costa Rei - so they aren't onsite at all; staff are misinformed. The rooms were really small for the money, lovely but very small. It's a lovely hotel - still finding it's feet a little bit I would say, seems a little pompous at times, lack of atmosphere during dinner and live music but all in all, it is lovely. Just couldn't help think you should get more for the money, it's very expensive.

    Without being asked they provided some snacks for us as we were checked in so late - that was a lovely start. We loved in no particular order: the shower, having the balcony, the 5pm cake club, the pool, the proximity to the beach, the staff were so absolutely friendly especially the valet, pool attendants and the bar staff. Breakfast was lovely with a good variety of choice. The restaurant served lovely dinners, pricey but nice. Decent wifi. Live music each night is a nice touch. No children policy is great! The grounds are lovely, they tend to them everyday so you know it's a well looked after place. Beautiful hotel and perfect for doing nothing and you're fine if you don't want anything to do for a few days!

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Room Change and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The gym would not prevent

    If u're looking for paradise- here it is. The best service we have ever had. Thanks Marina, Alessandro and the whole team. The restaurant - 5 !

  • July 6, 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location isn't great. We are runners and it wasn't possible to run as the hotel is on a big road. Also you have to drive if you leave the hotel and there are really no towns nearby worth going to

    Gorgeous hotel, beach was beautiful, very relaxing, staff in restaurant and tv pool were great and also the guy that parks the cars and deals with luggage - all fantastic. The front desk staff were the least friendly! Afternoon tea was really good

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been better information displayed, a pool menu and alternative items available for breakfast other than those on the buffet for example. The buffet breakfast was a bit limited, although great if cakes and pastries are your thing at that time.We were unaware there were other things available until the day we left.

    The service was outstanding, all the staff were polite and helpful, the room, a junior suite was fabulous, the complimentary afternoon tea was a bonus, and there were other little surprise treats such as chopped fruit round the pool and on the beach. The infinity pool was brilliant, the sun beds were the most comfortable I have ever lain on, with the fluffiest beach towels.We arrived late at night to find a complimentary supper of ham and cheese in our room. We felt special, and very relaxed.

  • June 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no option to order a very basic lunch while on the beach or around the pool,although we could order drinks that were very good. We understand the hotel doesn't want everyone arriving for dinner at the same time but found it strange and annoying that we had to book in for dinner and if we hadn't booked we couldn't eat,sometimes there was no availability until 9pm and could only book on the day. We didn't see the point of the voucher given to us once we had booked dinner to use as our pass into dinner...our room number should be enough? We thought the pool bar/ lunch area could be utilised better perhaps run as a cocktail bar in the evening as it's very near the sea and a nice area to sit in the evening. For a generally excellent hotel there were a few things happening that shouldn't have been an issue. We would however love to go back again sometime and hope these small issues are somehow ironed out.

    Breakfast selection excellent Bed exceptionally comfortable Staff very friendly and helpful Lunch very good and relaxed atmosphere ,beach and pool very nice A Quiet and relaxing holiday .

  • June 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have a greater variety on their menus if you are staying for some time or change their menu regularly

    Staff are fantastic looking after our every need - probably the best most attentive hotel staff you will find - beach and food is first class - ideal for a quiet getaway

  • June 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Area is too isolated. Barely anything to explore outside the location. Few staff members are slow to respond due to the property being newly-opened. We had one bad dinner service due to some confusion. Breakfast is good but not outstanding.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and amazing beach. Amazing decor. Unique look. Very quiet due to being adults only. Great lunch and dinner service.

  • May 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel would be perfect if it had spa facilities which is the only relaxing thing missing. No other complaints or recommendations.

    The service was excellent. The best I have experienced in Europe. All the staff are very helpful and go the extra mile to help. The quality of food and variety was superb. The hotel and its surroundings are impeccable and well maintained.

  • October 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find (in a way also an adventure!)

    Peace and quiet, beautiful location Astonishing views of ocean from room Nice food and wines, great service

  • October 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our only advice to guests is that having your own transport offers you all the flexibly you'd ever need for a truly great stay with the added freedom to explore this wonderful part of Sardinia.

    Impeccable service and assistance in every way. Super attentive and friendly staff and management, you'll not be left wanting for anything but more time to extend your stay. Great food and drink options with too many gratis touches to mention. Thank you to the VDR team.

  • October 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It really is a place you really really want to go to as the only way to get there is by car...once there though, it is fabulous

    Rooms are gorgeous, views to die for

  • September 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think our room was really small, especially for the superior prize we paid. I could see that the other rooms with sea view next to us were bigger... imagine a really small room where you barely have 20 cms between the side of the bed and the room...

    I loved the location, the food, the beach... It is just perfect for a couple who wants to relax. I could go jogging in the mornings, go for walks. I also liked the staff, very polite. The food was good in the pool bar and in the restaurant as well. It is really really nice.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the hotel lends itself to a quiet, relaxing stay. Having direct access to beautiful beach is fantastic. The staff are extremely pleasant and attentive.

  • September 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were quite small and for what they cost you would have expected larger rooms with a bigger bathroom and bath. The breakfast in the hotel wasn't the best they had no toast machine so you had to ask for toast and by the time it took for it too arrive you had already finished your breakfast. I think this hotel also has some staffing issues, not many of the staff speak good enough English so it's difficult to communicate with them, however there was a few good ones that spoke perfect English. You can tell it's a new hotel with the staff, I would also advise for anybody staying here to book a car! The transfers that the hotel provides are ridiculously expensive it seems to me that the standard rate for a 5 min 3 km transfer to a resteraunt and back is 40 euros. And they do not advise you of this they just give you this transfer when you ask to book a taxi so we was a little surprised when we received the bill. I also think that the hotel should build a spa it's missing this and the one they suggest is ok but again the taxi there and back is 70 euros.

    We loved the decor of the hotel and the pool and beach was brilliant. The food was very good in the hotel also for lunch and dinner. Maid service and laundry service also very good.

  • September 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were made to feel like garbage because we had our young daughter with us. Apparently the fine print says "this hotel welcomes guests over the age of ten". We weren't the first or only to make this critical mistake but we did pay dearly for our error. So we were allowed to stay but under the condition that we kept our 3yr old daughter locked in a small cage by day and only brought her out under the cover of darkness or in our suitcase. On the first day I was publicly flogged in the pool area for being so stupid as to have dared bring my child to a beach hotel in Italy in August.

    The beach is awesome but anyone can use it. You don't need to stay in this pretentious dump to get to the beach.

  • September 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of both gym and spa (not advertised but truly missing for such a luxurious hotel)

    Real boutique-feeling hotel Infinity pool Friendliness of staff Great food.

  • August 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything

    Spectacular location off the beaten path. Very quiet and beautiful beach. Top notch staff. Excellent food and service. An hour from airport.

  • July 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am pleased to say that we could not find a fault.We have booked again for next year,like most of the other guests,and can't wait to go back.

    Standards impeccable from rooms to staff.Wonderful location and superb beach.Romantic,discerning and welcoming.

  • July 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Slightly lacking in communication at times regarding whats available. We saw people having afternoon tea one day and hadn't seen this advertised anywhere in the brochure, seemed a shame to miss this. Another time we booked a kayaking trip for 80EURO with a local company and the hotel then informed us we'd been selected for the use of their own kayaks for free which seemed odd, again these are not advertised and not sure why they wouldn't be available to everyone.The food is quite average and the portions are very small for the price you pay (which wouldn't matter if it was very tasty)

    The beach is stunning, the beds comfortable and the staff v friendly throughout the hotel. Great to be able to have drinks delivered to the beach and we loved the 'treat' (ice cream/fruit/granita) brought out around 6pm everyday. The hotel is modern and clean. Loved having use of the bikes to pop to the shops. We arrived late on the first night and they rustled up a selection of meats/cheeses and breads for us even though the kitchen was closed. On the last night we were brought a complimentary bottle of prosecco. A great hotel with nice touches.

  • July 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very small. The market fish is overpriced.

    Wonderful staff. Food is reasonably priced, and good Italian food. Great pool and beach. Relaxing.

  • June 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel location, parking garage for your car, pool, room with sea view, beach, staff, staff, staff. Everything was just perfect! So relaxing! And ones again: great staff!

  • June 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Taxi fares to the local towns are very expensive

    The food is exquisite. The service is excellent, the staff cannot do enough for you. The rooms are beatiful. Kayaking, horseriding and free bicycles.

  • May 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WIFI need upgrading, found it difficult to down load files for work, due to restriction.

    Fantastic room quality, service will a smile, Unbelievable setting against the sea, it can be windy around the pool area, but in general it is a fantastic Hotel, and I would return in the future.

  • October 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The team was fantastic !!

  • October 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is in the middle of nowhere

    Beach was fantastic

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we stayed longer.

    Everything!

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little on the expensive side

    Great food and service

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving...

    Absolutely everything.

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fitness facility, no coffee or tea making facility on room, smaller rooms

    Location, beach, dining, service

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It was perfect in every way.

  • August 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location excellent. Dinners Superb!

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Room Change and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not allowed to bring food to beach.

    Personal genuine staff, very receptive to all requests.

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Beach, food, WiFi, service

  • July 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No gym

    We loved the beautiful spot The beautiful pool The beautiful beach Sardinia and Costa Rei is spectacular

  • October 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had to leave.

    Best beach Hotel ever seen!

  • October 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only staying 4 days!

    Everything!

  • September 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not top the restaurant

    The hôtel and the beach

  • September 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They could use more staff around the pool when more people were accommodated.

    Attention to small details, friendly staff, peaceful location.

  • July 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More entertainment would be a plus for the place, but apart of that everything was perfect.

    Stuff, facilities, beach, service, food- everything!

  • June 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were small

    Service was excellent. Rooms were very clean and lines always fresh. Pool and beach were also quite nice

  • June 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lack of information on the area

    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff and wonderful island

  • June 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service on breakfast some days is messy.

    Quite and beautiful place, good service on the beach.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: