Reviews of Princeps Boutique Hotel 3 stars

Piazza Dell'Esquilino 29, Rione Monti, 00185 Rome, Italy

#11 of 890 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1545 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms overlooking the Piazza were extremely noisy because of perpetual cars or sirens and didn't allow for a proper night' sleep. Perhaps double glazed windows might help. Was upset that the price dropped by almost £100 and so felt that I overpaid and ripped off!!

    Excellent breakfast, central location from the train station (high speed trains to and from FCO) and all major tourist landmarks.

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic breakfast and very cozy and comfortable room. The bed was very spacious and comfortable and the bathroom big and had everything. It was extremely close at the city center and with two metro stations within a small distance. Simply amazing!

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was great. Bed was comfy. 24 hour availability of coffee and tea (the varities were awesome). I woke up with basilica maggiore by my window. Staffs were friendly and very accommodating.

  • January 5, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative is I believe there are apartments on the floor above the hotel. The first night there was a lot of what sounded like running and falling down (kids playing?). The second night someone was playing the piano for quite a while - fortunately they were pretty good so not unpleasant to listen to. All the positives more than made up for the noise.

    Great location. We bought the Roma Pass/0mnia Card and their hop on hop off bus has a stop (#9) just a block from the hotel. The train station and closest metro is just 5 minutes away. The free breakfast is very good and you get free juices, soda and water in your mini bar. Also, free coffee, tea, water and hot chocolate available all day long. The staff is very helpfull. She called and booked our tickets for the Borghese museum - you have to call to use the Roma pass so saved us $$$s. They also arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport. The ride cost 50 euro but we thought well worth it for the convenience and speed to the hotel. The room was very modern, clean and comfy. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • January 4, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inconsistent water temperature in shower. Drops between hot and cold regularly. Rooms were not as spacious as shown in photos.

    Overall, we had a great stay! Breakfast and coffee was amazing! Service and staff were amazing! Even gave us a bottle of wine because we were on our honeymoon! Great location too!!!

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The care products are however very limited considering the price per night. There was also quite a lot of dust under the bed. The young woman in charge for the breakfast was extremely rude and would refuse to fill up the bread or orange jus even when breakfast time wasn't over yet.

    The Hotel is really nice and the rooms are tastefully decorated. The staff at the reception was also very friendly and helpful and would give their best to suit your needs.

  • December 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The method of late night entry when concierge had gone could have been pointed out.

    Room was spacious with view over church square yet quiet within. Breakfast was excellent with divine coffee, delicious croissants and good hot scrambled egg.

  • December 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    check out time at 10, a bit too early, better to be 11 at least

    clean, like spotless clean. good breakfast and free tea and coffee through out day. great location. professional staff

  • December 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All monuments within 15 to 20 mins walking distance. 10 mins away from termini station. Very good breakfast. Nicely decorated and on one floor. Could not ask for more :)

  • December 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Had a small problem with the TV, but the problem was fixed promptly and with little fuss.

    The breakfasts were first rate with many options for people as dietary challenged as me. Also free tea and coffee throughout the day was great. Good location, across from the imposing Santa Maria Magiorre Basilica, close to train station(s) and a comfortable walk to many of the top attractions.

  • December 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only issue was a smell from the drains in bathroom. We mentioned it to the front desk and they organised a plumber to repair the issue before we returned back to the room in the evening which then made our stay perfect!

    Loved the location to the train station, this was a recently renovated hotel inside a large beautiful old building so having the photos on the booking.com site helped us locate the correct doorway. Very clean comfortable room with good facilities. Friendly helpful staff. Nice breakfast and really appreciated the coffee machine available at any time in common room. There is a good lift.

  • December 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! It was amazing

    Staff friendly and recommended lots of nice places to visit. Room super clean and bed comfy. Brilliant location, within walking distance of everything. Will definitely be returning!

  • December 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, towels could've been fluffier!! That's being ultra fussy!!

    Location was ideal. Staff were very friendly and professional. Room very comfortable and clean. Free complimentary mini bar on arrival nice touch. Breakfast very nice. Would definitely stay here again if I came to Rome!!

  • December 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was city view room and could not keep window open as traffic is 24/7 Housekeepes were way too loud in the mornings, not only when moving furnitures next door when cleaning but also loud giggle and very loud conversations in a hall way

    Clean contemporary room Very friendly staff Location Breakfast room ( private booths available )

  • December 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything.

    Handy location, smart decor, great breakfast and free drinks was a bonus. They also left something for my husband for his birthday, which was lovely. Unfortunately we only had hand luggage on our flight so were unable to take it home with us!

  • December 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Specifically Nataly. She made returning back to our hotel as if we were returning home. The room was modern and very clean. The stay included breakfast, and it was good with lots of choices. You could get cappuccinos, espresso, still or bubbly water hot or cold etc in the lobby area whenever you wanted at no charge. The location was perfect. It was an easy walk to termini station 5 minutes may be. We walked to all major attractions. However we did take the subway to the Vatican City. When we return we will definitely be going back to this hotel we won't bother looking for something else. We enjoyed our experience at Princeps better than all the hotels we stayed at in Italy. It felt more personal and as if they cared we were there. They took the time to chat with us and answered any questions we had. If your questioning staying here just commit already you won't be disappointed.

  • December 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower went hot/cold so you had to be quick! Can't be helped in a building that size I suppose.

    The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite. The room was very clean and modern. Great that they don't charge for international calls.

  • December 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room like a studio, low quality towels, cold floors and no ice machine. Although, it's a nice updated modern design room, I had better experience for similar properties.

    Close by city centre

  • November 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. The room was a bit small but very well decorated and organised.

    A great small hotel. Excellent reception and general staff. A really great breakfast to start the day and a very nice location in Rome. I love its minimal design.

  • November 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Night staff somewhat less cheerful/helpful than day staff.

    Hotel is in excellent location, near Termini and most major sights. There are a wide variety of good restaurants within walking distance. Our room was spotlessly clean and very quiet. Bathroom also excellent, with great shower and heated towel rack. Breakfast is excellent, and we really liked that free coffee, tea and drinking water are available 24/7. Free WiFi was fast. Hotel day-staff were very helpful. Highly recommended for those who like smaller boutique hotels.

  • November 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough drawer space for two. Room overheated at night.

    Attractive well located property. Comfortable modern room and well designed bathroom. Good breakfast and complimentary coffee. 24-hr desk, luggage storage, excellent staff. Perfetto!

  • November 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no music or movie chanels in English on TV.

    The location was great, it was very easy to get everywhere. The hotel was very close to the Termini station. The breakfast was fantastic with wide range of opportunities. We loved that the hotel was very clean and recently renovated.

  • November 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is not easy to find the hotel because it is located on the 4th floor of a building and it has only a tiny signboard at the front door of the building. The elevator is old and tiny and is shaky. The shower is very small and is almost like a capsule. The glasses of the shower is badly sealed, where water leak and make wet floor after shower. One thing I find unacceptable is the no service after check out by the male front desk and his unique attitude. We came back for our luggage a few hours after checked out. When we asked if we can have our luggage, I was in awe to received an only answer saying that " the door (store luggage) is open" which implied we get our luggage without any help or guidance. This was so unprofessional. Anyone could have taken my luggage earlier with the same way. Yet, I like the other 2 female front desk. They are absolutely different and are helpful and has great sense of humor.

    comfortable bed, good location

  • November 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entrance is a bit rough. Didn't find the neighborhood enchanting but confess I didn't explore much either.

    Accommodations were lovely, as was the staff. Breakfast choices were abundant and addressed all dietary needs. Cappuccino machine was a huge hit!

  • November 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better.

    I was traveling with my husband. We found the room and bathroom exceptionally small although nice. We were traveling Italy for 2 weeks so had one large and small suitcase each. Needless to say we had absolutely no walking room, we were constantly avoiding a suitcase because it was so small. The weather was perfect but the heat was on in the building which just made the room very stuffy and hot. We asked to have the AC on in our room instead of the heat (the thermostat was locked on heat). They said 5 rooms were controlled at once and not only one could be adjusted. We live in Florida and definitely didn't want heat on in 65-70 degree weather. They turned the heat off in our room somehow but we still couldn't sleep with the windows open unfortunately because of the location. Although the location is great for getting around, it's very noisey with cars and mopeds always honking-even throughout the night. Breakfast was nothing to remark about. My husband ate it daily while I waited until we headed out to grab something. The minibar was nice in that you were aloud to drink every item in it once without being changed. It included 2 waters, 2 sodas, and 2 juices. Considering water is not drinkable from the faucets we found this nice.

  • November 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had to take care not to hit head when entering through the small door to the street outside the opening hours of big door.

    Good breakfast, quiet room despite the location. Small room but everything included. Helpful staff. Fresh and new hotel.

  • October 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some residual sound from the noise of the streets and inner hallways.

    EVERYTHING!!...the staff was SUPERB!!! Knew and answered all possible questions - gave extensive directions - recommended GREAT restaurants - and made us feel welcomed, comfortable, and informed. Breakfast was wonderful.

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay wasn't long enough!!!

    Beautiful and elegant hotel in a vibrant area! Although it was bustling and full of life outside it was peaceful and calm inside the hotel. Visually stunning, knowledge pleasant staff, excellent breakfast and perfect location!!!

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Close to most attractions. Very private location, not heavily sign posted as a hotel. Breakfast was lovely. Free calls were a welcome addition when travelling.

  • October 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noise from the busy road below, as we were in a corner suite

    Great location, close to Termini station (Train & Bus) 10-15 mins walk to many attractions (e.g. Trevi/Colosseum/Spanish Steps) Very friendly and helpful staff Free international calls Free soft drinks (limited) Comfortable bed

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked it very much.

    Was the best Hotel very new very clean.very good service.free phone to us.and free bar in the room very good brekfast.I will go back for sure.oh snd walking distance to main attractions.

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The was not anything we didn't like, the Hotel greatly exceeded our expectations.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and suggested a great area to eat where we found 2 lovely trattoria's and where to avoid eating (I.e tourist restaurants) we were also able to check in at 11 am. The hotel also feels like you are staying in a secret location as the entrance is very discreet! We will definitely stay here next time we visit Rome and will be recommending it to anyone who asks!

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was supposed to have a view over the city, instead it had a view to a small backyard. The room was small and minimalistic with no atmosphere. Check-out time was 10 o'clock. Coffee at breakfast was from an automat instead of real Italian espresso and cappuccino.

    Good wi-fi. Breakfast selection a bit over standard for Italy including muesli and eggs. Consistently modern interior (if you like that)

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the start of our holiday we spent three nights at Princeps, and again for the final two nights of our trip. We couldn’t wait to return! The hotel is discreetly tucked away on the fourth floor of a noble old apartment building. When you arrive, look closely for the hotel sign which consists of a small brass plaque near the door bells; we walked past it several times before we spotted the entrance. The Princeps is immaculate. The lobby area, the breakfast room, and our room were all spotlessly clean and smart. Don’t be fooled by what appears to be the small breakfast room, the spread of food rivals much larger hotels and was delicious. A definite highlight. Our room was one of the two junior suites, with a king-sized bed and view towards the beautiful Basilica Papale di Santa Maria Maggiore. The comfortable bed, air conditioning and peace and quiet allowed us a very good night’s sleep. As a boutique hotel, Princeps runs on a small team of helpful and friendly staff, providing all the essentials with no frills, striking an ideal balance. The hotel’s location suited us perfectly. It is a very short walk from the main railway station, with the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain about 10 minutes away. We can’t recommend this hotel highly enough. It was perfect.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tissues in the room. No teaspoon for the tea and very sparse shower gel provided but otherwise very good. Difficult to find the entrance!! Bit pricey!!

    Very modern room. Good Continental breakfast. Very clean and in a good location for walking to the major sites.Staff fabulous and very helpful in sorting our check in for our flight home.

  • September 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entire hotel is located on 4th floor. Elevator is small for a group but reliable.

    Excellent staff Attentive, helpful, and willing to help in any way to make your stay an excellent experience. Breakfast was very good also.

  • September 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We paid extra for a city view room but honestly, the view wasn't all that amazing, we were at the side of the hotel looking over a busy street. I'm not sure what I expected, but I don't think it was worth paying extra for.

    The breakfast exceeded expectations, I expected just a few pastries and tea/coffee but there was a selection of eggs, bacon, cereal, little cakes, fruit, various juices, a selection of teas and a coffee machine. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. The location was excellent, it was right next to the beautiful Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore. Only a 15 minute walk from Termini and a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum. There was also a tour bus stop over the road which was convenient. The room was quiet, modern, clean, tidy and the bed was always made by the time we returned from breakfast! I can't think of any fault with this hotel and I would definitely return.

  • September 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Great small hotel in a perfect location to explore Rome. It was our first trip to the city and we loved it. The hotel was very clean, quiet and finished to a high standard. It was the perfect place to stay and relax after our busy days exploring the wonderful city of Rome. The staff were excellent, really helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • September 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a dream hotel. We got a beautiful and super clean room with a good size bathroom and space for our luggage. Every morning we enjoyed our breakfast with an excellent choice of food. We stayed in the hotel for four days, and when we were back in the evening after a long day of walking in the heat, very comfortable beds were waiting for us. The location is an excellent one - close to the Termini Station (just 10 min walk down Via Cavour) and facing the quiet piazza with the grand Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore. Also, it took us only 15 minutes to go down Via Cavour to Colosseum or The Palatini Hill or The Capitoline Museum. It was nice to make international calls for free: we traveled a lot in Europe, but none hotel offered such a fantastic feature. The personnel is absolutely amazing. Our heartfelt thank you to Nataly (she speaks a lot of foreign languages). All our inquiries and requests were addressed immediately. The hotel is really a boutique one - it occupies only one floor, so no surprise, it was sold out when we tried to make a reservation for a night when we returned to Rome to our flight back home. On the top of all, we enjoyed a very modern, elegant, and stylish interior design. Every day, the stay at this hotel gave us a fantastic feeling of goodness and tranquility. It is a very high standard place in all relationship. You feel cherished. You feel home.

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was s little noise from the occupants living above.

    Fabulous breakfast! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms wee very modern and tastefully furnished.

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Great, central location. Small and friendly. Comfortable and spotlessly clean. Excellent 'help-yourself' coffee machine, even serving strong, good-flavoured decaf!

  • September 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom door had a problem in locking in the first room but that was it for what I didn't like

    I liked the friendly staff and the rooms were very clean and the breakfast was simple but very tasty. Coffee available all day.

  • September 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly nothing!

    - central location. 10 minute walk to the colosseum, opposite all hop on hop off bus stops, walking distance to trevi, spanish steps etc - very clean - very friendly professional staff with great english - good breakfast options - strong wifi throughout - rooms are quiet - very comfy bed

  • September 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving!

    The Hotel is perfectly situated for seeing Rome and is a tranquil oasis from the hustle and bustle. We loved everything about it. The view from our room was great too. The air conditioning in each room worked well and we loved being inconspicuous on the 4th floor. Breakfast was excellent as were all the facillities on offer. The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The pale/white clean colour scheme was spot on and the beds were extremely comfortable. All round excellent hotel at very good price.

  • September 7, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could have been better

    First rate property and a nore than attentive and helpful staff. Safe, super clean, very comfortable and ideally located to everything.

  • September 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping found my debit card immediately after we had left and used it but the charged was denied.

    Small, private hotel, not loud, very unpretentious but very luxurious, great location. Would visit again

  • September 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent greeting on arrival with plenty of help and information. Immaculately clean and everything we had hoped for. Great location to visit all of Romes main attractions. Will definitely book again next time in Rome.

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing!

    Spacious modern rooms. Contemporary styling. Fabulous breakfast. Friendly staff. walking distance to wonderful restaurants and easy transportation connections

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can only say good things about this hotel and its staff. Everything was brilliant and very well taken care off. Specially the staff who helped us check in and also find the way through the local restaurant in the night.

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was an electricity issue one night that caused the lights to come on several times throughout the night. Like living at Luna Park!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Suggestions for meals were faultless

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can't see out from no where in the building rooms so small you can walk around bed and suitcases such a beautiful building from the outside disappointment from the inside..

    Staff very helpful

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed sheets could be more high-quality.

    1. very strategetic location, being close to Termini station(5 min walking distance) but comparatively quiet. Right next a beautiful Basilica. It's within walking distance to most attractions in Roma center. You can walk to Termini Metro station, take line A, then 5 stops to Vatican museum. 2. Great staffs, esp. gorgeous Natalie. 3. Lots of nice touches, incl.complimentary mini-bar(cola,sparkling water,OJ,snacks), unlimited free int'l phone calls at room, free coffee/tea/water/candies all day long, free luggage deposit service after check-out, many multilingual HD channels, English/Chinese/Arabic/French/Italian etc. Book this one!

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Location, view from our room, breakfast, free drinks (non alcoholic), large comfy bed, room cleaning every day ( even when we didn't ask for it ) and the friendly wonderful staff.

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many tourists around in the area.

    The staff were very kind and helpful. The location of the hotel inside the courtyard is intriguing. The views from the rooms are nice.

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just 1 member of staff let the whole experience down. We were told we had to pay an extra 20% for our 10 year old daughter which we were not aware of when booking. This staff member then decided to call us an unlicensed taxi when we were leaving. Luckily I was aware of this scam and we had her order a licensed taxi which is about 40% cheaper.

    Fantastic location. Excellent rooms. Excellent breakfast. What's not to like.

  • August 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing amazing hotel! We had a beautiful corner room. Loved that it was a smaller hotel. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast. Everything was clean and new. Would definitely stay again!!

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - really not much to complain about, depending on the position of the room, you might have some slight noise from the street, but nothing to keep you up at night

    - rooms are nicely decorated and clean - the staff is very friendly and always ready to help. a real pleasure to be welcomed like this. - location is excellent, most of the important attractions are within 15 mins walking distance - breakfast is varied and good Overall would definitely choose the place again if visiting Rome.

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was excellent, hotel is on the 4th floor of an apartment block and is decorated in a very modern style. Great view across piazza to Santa Maria Maggorie

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly well situated to all the main attractions as well as walking distance from the train station. Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful modern rooms. Only stayed one night but it was great!

  • August 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was only opened in 2015 so looked lovely and fresh. White corridors kept everything bright. They have 20 rooms available. You could help yourself to coffee or water etc from their coffee machine. They gave you the first lot of drinks from the fridge in your room plus you could make free Landline phone calls to overseas, fantastic. You were able to borrow an ironing board and iron. Breakfast was nice and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Great location to the Termini station and Colesseum area.

  • August 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff were great, they were very willing to help us make the most of our stay in Rome. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of Rome's major attractions and the Roma Termini train station The room was lovely, it was very clean and modern.

  • August 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awful smell of sewerage coming from our bathroom from time to time. When I spoke to receptionist she said there was a problem with drainage.

    Good variety at breakfast. Lovely decor and comfortable beds.

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee from the breakfast coffee machine is not the best. Also the only English TV channels are 2 news channels, which is not uncommon.

    We particularly liked the location as it is within walking distance of most main attractions. Also appreciated the friendliness of the staff, who went out off their way to be helpful. Also like the very comfortable bed with high quality linen. Free internet a big plus.

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms lovely. All staff excellent. Breakfast great. Perfect location. Close to metro and Central station.We left to join a coach tour and on check out we were invited to drop in for coffee if we were in the neighborhood. Highly recommended

  • July 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely clean and comfortable hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location for visiting the main sights - many are walkable and good public transport links to others. Plenty of choice for breakfast.

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the fourth floor of a building with very few facilities such as a proper lobby.

    Elegant boutique hotel in a fantastic location. Handy to train station and lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Very helpful staff.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location. Very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly. We have booked Princeps again on our return to Rome in two weeks.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent boutique hotel in good location close to Termini station and walking distance to The Forum and Colosseum. Excellent staff, room very comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Hot tea/coffee available free throughout the day as was telephone calls. Could not fault our stay at the Princeps and would definitely recommend if looking for private and exclusive accommodation in Rome.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very nice mid price range Hotel, excellent facilities (including strong wifi), superb breakfast, very comfortable rooms and well situated to the main rail station and Rome's main sightseeing and shopping.

  • July 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel,rooms are clean and great air con. Breakfast is wonderful and really sets you up for the day. The location is perfect and within walking distance of the central train station and all the sights. Thank you for a great stay 😀

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spotless large room for 3 of us, really well sound insulated. Nice staff , good location . Breakfast lovely , not massive hot selection but great bread and pastries , loved the help yourself coffee

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the liveliest of areas but plenty of connections to other areas via buses. Although was near to the colosseum.

    Big comfy bed, spacious room and breakfast was plentiful. We were given a bottle of wine on arrival as we are on our honeymoon which was nice. Also coffee/ tea / water available anytime at reception area. Our soft drinks from the mini bar were also free. Overall was a nice stay.

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff went out of their way to help us from extra linen, drinks and directions/recommendations. The view from our room was amazing and hotel location meant we could walk to all major tourist sites.Restaurants around the corner were delicious.

  • July 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - near perfect.

    Breakfast was brilliant, beds were very comfortable, room great size, modern & clean & location was perfect. Staff very friendly & helpful with suggestions & directions of attractions& local restaurants. Wifi worked well & very quiet rooms. Could not fault the hotel at all

  • July 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you arrive on Sundays, it could be a little bit hard to find as the ENTRANCE DOOR is closed. and there is not a lot of signs as the hotel is on the 4th floor of a regular building. but do not consider this as a negative point.

    Loved the bedroom. As a single bedroom it was a little small but the single bed SO BIG and so comfortable... AMERICAN FULL SIZE... Super clean and nice overall hotel. Nice building! Walking distance down CAVOUR from Roma TERMINI. Directly opposite Basilica Santa Maria Maggiori. Piazza d'Esquilino. Free coffee machine after breakfast available until 23hs.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Princeps Boutique Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: