Reviews of Temenos

Viale Giulio Emanuele Rizzo 22, 96100 Syracuse, Italy

#2 of 121 B&Bs and inns in Syracuse

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 378 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 66

  • November 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet room, beautiful garden, easy parking, delicious breakfast! If you have a car, it's perfect. Thanks to Peppe and Martina, they are very nice and friendly.

  • November 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lets call it big villa. living in heaven, surrounding by garden with lovely palm trees. b.fast delicious, and the family running the villa were beautiful specially to Peppe . definite we go again. Tks Peppe for giving us for what we paid. big well done

  • November 13, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This B&B is really nice located: We've had easy access to everything + warm welcome from owners + a quiet restful night (which in big cities can be difficult) + comfortable clean room + delicious breakfast + pet friendly + parking! We would surely return!

  • November 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A beautiful property that is perfectly maintained. Wonderful hosts who were very helpful with maps and suggestions. Quiet and an easy drive to the sites.

  • October 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you don´t have a car it´s a bit of a walk from the city center. Public transport only works until 8:30 pm. However, the B&B is closely located archeological park.

    The B&B is new and tastefully designed. All areas are kept very clean. The terrace and the garden are perfect for relaxing after a long day. The owners were always helpfull and could answer all my questions.

  • October 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect place!

    Warm service, lovely breakfast and gorgeous room with terrace overlooking the sea. Good location for siteseeing, but nice and quiet! Great value as well.

  • October 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a bit of a trip to eat out at night, if you don't want to take the car.

    Such a friendly welcome from the family owners. Pepe and Marina really make you feel at home. They are born hosts. Any problem ,they deal with. Breakfast is divine. very comfortable room. We had a view down to the sea, with a spacious outdoor patio. There is nothing wrong with this as a B&B. If you want to go out in the evening, Pepe will order a cab no problem, and the restaurants in Ortigia are numerous and, in our experience, very good. Highly recommended.

  • October 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the place, the garden, the room and most of all the couple Peppe and his wife are so gentle and helpful. If I visit Siracusa again definite go again. B,fast well done. I definite give 10 stars

  • October 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staffs are very helpful. They gave us many useful informations and room is clean and quiet. If I have chance to travel to Syracuse again, I will definitely choose it again.

  • September 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mosquitos!

    Location in a quiet residential area. Very helpful young owners. Comfortable Bedroom but rather lacking in soul. Excellent bathroom. Lovely patio area and garden. Very nice breakfast with home made pastries etc.

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are quite critical people but it would be impossible to find fault here. Thank you Pepe and Martins!

    Our hosts were a lovely family who set extremely high standards. They could not have done more to make us more welcome or comfortable. Our only regret was that we had booked for only one night!

  • September 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was brilliant.

    Exceptional friendly service from owners. Nothing too much trouble. Brilliant location - peaceful but not too far from main attractions.

  • September 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only that we had to leave to fly home!!

    Pepe & Martina have a beautiful home and they welcome you as friends; the room was immaculately clean, spacious and tastefully decorated; the genuine interest they take in their guests was a real pleasure to behold. Breakfast was the best in Sicily and I hope when they read this that they might share the recipe for Pepe's mothers lemon cake :)

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and quiet location , modern and very clean home with a beautiful garden , delicious breakfast . Very nice and friendly hosts . It was a pleasure .

  • August 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls/doors are not quite sound proof, but maybe we are too sensitive there. The rest war perfect.

    Very nice people, located very close to the archeological park. Beautiful setting, good breakfast. Thank you!

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is new and overlooking the archaeological site. Parking space and quiet during the night A super friendly couple is running the B&B. They were providing great hints for our visit including a lovely place for dinner One of the best places we were staying in Sicily 10 out of 10

  • August 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Great place. Pepe was a great host and told us were to eat dinner in town. The location was amazing, my favorite of all the cities I visited on Sicily.

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice and extremely friendly B&B run by a charming couple. Very clean, everything is new, comfortable beds and pillows. Owners are very helpful and caring.

  • July 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is slightly out of town, so getting to old-town on foot requires quite a bit of walking. But it is just behind archeological sites and in very peaceful area.

    The landlord is fantastic guy, who told the whole story of the house and made it feel like you're staying at your friends place. It is also freshly restructured so rooms are perfectly clean and brand new, and there's very cosy garden to spend an evening with a glass of wine.

  • July 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect and worthy for the price. nothing can complain. The breakfast is excellent. The location is easy to find and really close to the park. The host is nice and easy to communicate. If next time when I come here, i will choose here again definitely!

  • July 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely couple runs this family-owned guest house in Syracuse. All rooms have patios that look out onto the most amazing garden of flowers, palms, and gigantic cactus. It is incredibly restful to sit outside and watch the wind rustle through the garden, the only one I have ever seen in Italy that look lush.

  • July 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in room very dim.

    Parking on site. Rooms opened onto tranquil , tropical garden. Pepe and his wife were always available and helpful. Other B&B 's asked us to choose a specific time for breakfast . Here there was a 2 hour window for a very nice buffet. Excellent , modern shower. Within walking distance of the Greek Theater.

  • July 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are anything but sound-proof.

    Private parking behind gate. Quiet location and very close to ancient theatre. Good breakfast, good price / quality ratio. Clean and modern.

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Favourite parts were sitting out in the garden and the breakfast! Location was great for us, we enjoyed walking into the city (easy to bus/taxi/drive if needed though). Brilliant hosts, really welcoming with great advice. Really enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • June 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the location away from crowds but accessible by bus. Lovely garden and bay outlook. Felt very welcome and cared for. Easy to get to and to park the car. Highly recommend .

  • June 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don't have a car then it may be distant to the city centre (on the positive side it is near the archaeological site). The sound isolation between rooms could be better but was not an issue as other guests were not noisy.

    Great B&B with nice view over the city. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good Wi-Fi. Wonderful breakfast. Friendly hospitable couple running the B&B. Parking was literally 5 meters from the room. Good value for money.

  • June 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was wonderful. I admit I like screens to keep out mosquitoes but one seldom finds these anywhere in Italy. (And when we were there there were no mosquitos yet.) Also, as in all of Sicily, sidewalks are absent close to the home, so walking into the town or to Ortigia is somewhat challenging even though close by. Not a factor for most people as, unlike my husband, they do not mind driving.

    Unusually nice, luxurious and sophisticated but warm and personal. For instance, the outdoor sitting area is surrounded by plants which produce white flowers, fragrant in the evening. His mother designed the garden, and she is the one who bakes the Sicilian cakes for breakfast. (And breakfast is fabulous, with cheese, croissants, yogurts, ham, breads, fruit. Orange juice is squeezed for each guest individually just as coffee is made to order.) During our stay another (also foreign) guest developed a medical problem, and our hostess made an appointment for the same morning with their own doctor. Our host left work to take him to the appointment to make sure there was no language problem. Things like this one cannot buy.

  • May 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying longer.

    Beautiful quiet setting run by a lovely couple who make you feel at home, immediately. Walking distance to main sites and only a short drive or taxi to old town. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • May 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This modern, very clean home with lovely gardens and ample parking is conveniently located in a quiet residential area near the archeological park. The friendly young couple who own the B&B can't do enough for you. The breakfast was excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice and mamma's home-made marmalade.

  • May 12, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was very good and the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful! The bed was very comfortable and the garden lovely with lots of palmtrees and cactusses.

  • May 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything is great for me. It is a beautiful and comfortable property just located besides the Greek Archaeology Park. Martina and Peppe are very nice and helpful host.

  • May 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe nothing could have been better. Seriously, congratulations.

    Both owners are really nice people, they received us with a smile in their face and gave us tips on what to do/visit in the area. The place is lovely and so are the rooms, which are perfectly clean and tidy. Besides, the breakfast was amazing, specially the home made cakes. I would definitely come back.

  • May 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with a bit more lighting in the rooms - near the bed for reading and over the desk

    A beautiful peaceful haven of tranquillity in a residential area at the back of the town. There is a long hedge of jasmine which was in flower during our stay which had the most wonderful scent. The young couple who run the B&B are extremely welcoming and friendly making sure you get the best our of your stay with plenty of information about what and when to visit nearby.

  • April 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful residential home recently converted into high-end, comfortable B&B. Spacious room with lovely bathroom. Hosts Martina and Pepe could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Because the B&B is a few minutes outside of Ortygia, where most of the attractions are, it is most convenient for those with a car, as well as those who prefer quiet at night and crisp ocean breezes in the morning. Breakfast was delicious.

  • April 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really loved everything about this B&B. The location is great, it's just on the top of/outside of the Greek Archaeology Park. Ortigia is also a couple of kilometers away. I went to all the sightseeing sites by feet, very convenient. The B&B is modernly decorated located in a beautiful garden, where one could take a good rest to have a bird view of the sea and the Park. The breakfast was also great to start a good day. Last but not least, Martina and Peppe are very nice host (thank you). Martina knows a lot about the historical sites, and it was enjoyable talking with her. Peppe kindly picked me up at the train station. It was a great stay in Siracusa. Hope to come back again.

  • April 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real complaints. Would have liked a brighter light in the room to read - but most modern designed buildings seem to have low lighting.

    Well located, just above the archeological park, in a beautifully designed modern villa type building, lovely garden and distant sea view over the bay. Well equipped and designed bedrooms, excellent breakfast, parking on site, a quiet area of the city and the young couple who own/manage the place are delightful.

  • April 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is very close to the archeological site, not many restaurants around. However, this is not a big problem if you have a car because downtown Syracusa is just a five minutes drive

    The structure has been recently renovated and it is very comfortable. There is a small garden and our young son enjoyed to stay outside. The view on Syracusa is spectacular and the breakfast is delicious (homemade jam and cakes).

  • April 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hear the people in the room next to ours through the communicating door.

    Warm and genuine welcome. Martina's expert knowledge of archeology and the local sites. Quiet neighbourhood but close to the centre and sights. The home made citrus cakes and jams - delicious !

  • April 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have traveled a lot throughout Italy and this B&B ranks in the top 5%. The owners really understand "hospitality." The little extras like fresh orange juice, home made cakes, the cactus garden and especially the conversation with Martina and Pepe make Temenos stand out from the rest. Stay an extra night. You won't regret it.

  • November 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. Beautiful owners. Welcoming& so helpful. Location fabulous directly behing the Greek theater. Bus available from there to Ortigia.

  • November 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Giuseppe and Martina are excellent hosts, they made us feel welcome and provided us many tips in to discover the surroundings. The B&B has the best view in town, itàs very quite and relaxing, BTW we have evaluated a bit less the position because it is 3km away for Ortigia ( we like walking os it's not a big challenge), however it was really close to the archaeological center and as we had the car it was really close easy to get away without driving through the city center, therefore for us it was excellent. Have a great holiday Giuseppe and Martina!! You deserve it! :-)

  • November 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Superb setting, hospitable hosts, free parking on site, excellent directions given, very quiet location away from town centre (five minutes drive away),

  • November 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet and beautiful location overlooking the Greek archeological park, Ortygia and the Mediterranean. Immaculate and well equipped room. Super breakfast. Very helpful and friendly hosts. Free secure onsite parking. Close to a bus that takes you quickly and for very little money to Ortygia.

  • October 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic in all the ways! We really enjoyed our stay there.... Very clean and relaxing place with beautiful garden and easy parking and the Greek theatre just at your feet :). Martina and Beppe couldn't be more welcoming and helpful! We want to go back ...now ! :)

  • October 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was on a beautiful property about 2 miles from the center of town. This allowed for a peaceful pleasant atmosphere, but an easy trip in for shopping, sights, food,etc. The owners were friendly and made every effort to make your stay enjoyable.

  • October 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Modern purpose built facility in an old garden in delightful area. Each room with own access from a verandah. Good breakfast in dedicated space. Stay here outside the city for easy parking.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Temenos is very well situated in a quiet area yet close enough to the sites but far from Ortygia. But the atmosphere and the added bonus of Martina's knowledge of Greek and Roman history was really unique service.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be more varied and include not only sweet things. For instance cheese,ham,eggs. Coffee could also be stronger.

    Beautiful house. Kindness of hosts. Great cakes.

  • September 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hosts are really nice! They recommended us the best restaurant we had in Sicily. It`s place for locals mainly (in Ortigia). Hosts very friendly and nice! Definately would recommend Temenos to everybody visiting Syracusa.

  • September 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very clean, very nice staff Martina and Pepe were very helpful, excellent standard of cleanliness and in a fantastic location near Teatro Greco. Some home made food for breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Leaving Temenos !

    Excellent, everything - Martina and Beppe could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The B&B is brand new, clean and tastefully decorated. The garden area is very pleasant. Quiet and peaceful location but near to the centre. Breakfast - very good, particularly if you have sweet tooth!

  • September 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I missed salty food, like salami, oliva oil or cheese. Sweets were very good.

    Very clean, nice and new house, wide room and quiet place close to the theatre and 5 min driving to ortigia. The hosts were a very kind couple and helpful with the advise.

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls & noisy guests. 25 minute walk to nearest decent restaurant.

    Easy parking

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Helpfull staff. Private parking.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to keep the mosquitos at bay when sitting outside. Hazard with the Island I'm afraid

    High quality stay

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Driveway a little difficult for a larger car.

    Very welcoming and helpful hosts providing a comfortable place to stay whilst exploring the area.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly

  • August 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say.

    Kindness of the owners, great breakfast, beautiful garden and confort.

  • August 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful, cozy and charming place, but more beautiful the young couple in the B&B

  • July 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and excellent service. Helped with restaurant suggestions and sightseeing information.

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Very nice Hotel. perfect Location within walking distance from the greek theatre. Very nice owner. Very warm welcome.

  • June 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Patio and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, friendly and welcoming.

  • April 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful owner. Beautiful garden, comfy room, delicious breakfast, good location

  • March 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    excellent location, very friendly hosts, the place is magically beautiful!

  • October 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our host and hostess were the most gracious and helpful couple!! Our room was exquisite as was the view. Highly recommended!!

  • October 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In addition to it's being a nice, clean, comfortable place, the location near the greek theater can't be better.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Temenos Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: