Reviews of Valkarana Relais di Campagna 4 stars

Loc. Lu Lioni/Lago Del Liscia, 07030 Sant Antonio Di Gallura, Italy

#1 of 4 hotels in Sant Antonio Di Gallura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 156 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We especially liked the location, away from it all and our spacious room and bathroom. The food in the restaurant was stunning. Staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 - It's very early Sept and this place is dead. Not more than six couples in residence and all of them except us were far north of 50 and Brits. Felt like a retirement home. 2 - Restaurant. I use this term loosely. - Service: slow. slow. Like Fawlty Towers. - The menu was far too adventurous for a place that clearly would not have the capability to deliver 10 different starter, 10 different mains; varying from fish, seafood, wild boar and lamb. - both our dishes (we luckily had a substantial lunch) were microwaved to life and regrettably probably didn't taste much better in their first existence. I removed two basil leaves hastily placed on the top of my dish to note that the pane frattau was cold - the lamb sauce was hot but the bread damp and cold. My bf's wild boar pasta dish was tasteless but microwaved to piping hot. There were no pizzas - so no safer options. It's so sad as food in Sardinia is wonderful; this is our third trip to the island and we've eaten better at beach bars in Sardinia or hospital canteens in the UK. 3 - Service. We arrived at reception to find the owner/manager's toddler running around screaming at the top of its voice. Ok, we are in Sardinia and we just hoped this was an aberration. Whilst we waited for the child to be attended to etc., we read the multitudinous hotel rules all over reception: - no drinks or eating in your room, the terraces, patio etc; - food or drinks from outside stored in your room fridge would be charged; - no taking food or drinks from the restaurant to your room etc etc. We found these rules, so poignantly displayed, very unwelcoming and rather bizarre in a hotel that ought to be doing everything possible to attract custom given its near empty occupancy.

    When we read the reviews of this hotel we really wonder what on earth these folk are talking about - if only their reviews had any objective truth..! Here's a fair and honest review. Positives. 1 - the location is indeed remote with a very lacklustre lake in view (see our pics of the actual view from the restaurant)...less than impressive. The roads to the location are extraordinarily windy so bear this in mind, it would mean a rather difficult arrival/departure in the dark. It's also a backwater rather than the desired remote oasis that ppl have said. It's a shame because the mountains in the interior are quite stunning and filled us with such hope for the hotels location.... 2 - the bedroom was large (big bed, very clean and an OK shower - on the small side). 3 - house wine was €10 for a litre and €5 for 1/2 litre

  • 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect if you are looking for a place to calm down or to be somedays off from the world. The place is completely remote you don't even have access to a cell phone network. The rooms are nicely arrange and some of the rooms offer a nice view over the artificial lake. The personnel is very friendly and they have always time for you. The restaurant is great, the quality of the food is really 4-star worth.

  • 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little limited but I understand that isn't unusual for Sardinia. I don't think the tv worked but we didn't want to watch it anyway. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, which is what we wanted, but does mean you can just 'pop' anywhere if you fancy a snack etc

    The perfect place to escape and relax - so tranquil and peaceful - we did sometimes find ourselves whispering due to how quiet it was, but soon got used to it! The setting by the lake is gorgeous and the pool perfect. The rooms are simple but do the job and are very clean. The staff were lovely and food all home cooked and delicious.

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps more information about the boat trips on the lake.

    This was a beautiful peaceful hotel in a stunning location. Definitely not an activity holiday but a lovely peaceful retreat, the food was excellent and the owner Salvatore charming and informative.

  • 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WLAN connection not so good but OK in this quiet place you don't need to much Internet.

    Everything, so quiet, clean and amazing place. The room was so lovely, breakfast super we had por person 2capucchinos and it s a very beautiful place. We can recommend this fantastic place 100% for people they wanna relax near a lovely lake.

  • 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the prohibition of consumption of any meal and drinks on the terrace.

    The location of this hotel is suitable for everybody who likes recreation in nature and in the garden with swimming pool. There is also wide range of tasty food for lunch and dinner.

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great kitchen, great service, very friendly welcoming people. Beautiful location. Would be great if there were facilities for visitors on the lake, like a canoe, and other things to use the surrounding landscape.

  • 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    nothing!! everything was def 10/10

    Staff were very helpful, and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.My boyfriend had his luggage lost at the airport in England so he didn't have his suitcase for 2 days!! The front desk guy, went out of his way to find out when the suitcase would get there, was quicker than the e mail from easyjet!! This was our 2nd trip here, as is a very quiet ,beautiful location to stay.Definatly need a car, although we only went out twice as the food, staff and the pool was just too nice!

  • 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather in May was unsettled this year, and it was cold at night, but owner changed the setting on the air conditioning into a heater in our room. The shower needed to be larger.

    We've stayed here a number of times now. It is the BEST hotel which is not by the sea. Not too large and busy, although we have not been In high season, Beautiful location by a lake in a remote and peaceful place. Lovely large private rooms with Sardinian furnishings in a garden overlooking the lake and pool. Enthusiastic and fun owner, nothing is too much trouble. Excellent food.

  • 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillow No coffee making facilities in room Tv out of order but not intending to watch it anyway

    Free suite upgrade very nice with lake view Great pool Good food Lake views amazing

  • 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No internet in the rooms. Fresh vegetables not in breakfast (though general thing in Italy).

    Nice restaurant. The lamb was especially delicious. Tranquil environment. The garden was also very nice. Ideal for discovering the Costa Smeralda area if you don't like the crowds. Car is essential though for this place.

  • 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative was that the bed was very hard indeed and you only get one pillow each - but to be fair we never got round to asking for more.

    This hotel is in a stunning location overlooking lake Liscia. It is so quiet - all you can hear are the cicadas / crickets. The restaurant was very nice and you eat on a lovely terrace overlooking the lake. The pool is nice, if a little chilly, with comfortable loungers. The room was very spacious, light and airy, with good, easily adjustable air conditioning.

  • 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is quite remote, so your eating options nearby are quite limited. The hotel restuarant does great pizza but the rest of the menu just slightly misses the mark, it is slighlty trying to hard maybe. They have a slightly odd policy about no eating or drinking in your room, on your terrace or by the pool, which was a little sad. It would have been nice to enjoy a drink on our terrace in the evening or by the pool. The bed and pillows were really hard!

    Excellent pool, good breakfast, freindly staff. Very spacious room (if a little empty). A great starting point for exploring the north of Sardinia.

  • 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing do dislike.

    We liked everything. From the location to the rooms. The staff is very friendly and the food is amazing. A big plus is also the lack of cellphone signal, helps with the relaxation. The hotel has wifi if you need to contact anyone and tell them how great the hotel is :)

  • 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, even a few days before end-season-shutdown. Great, remote location, great ambiance.

  • 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty but too hard

    Lovely breakfast and food good in the restaurant. Very friendly, charming staff

  • 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither wifi nor cellular connection worked

    Spacious rooms, caring staff

  • 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    very nice location, pleasant staff

  • 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent food superb staff

  • 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet free but patchy, recommend you have transport to stay here.

    Nice, quiet, spectacular location, excellent staff, clean.

  • 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    an hours drive from somewhere else you would want to be

    cleanliness, staff, comfort, food, pool, value

  • 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safe didn't work

    Very quiet and peaceful surroundings next to lake Liscia, good restaurant with fair prices, nice pool

  • 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just perfect

  • 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place. Amazing personnel.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 27 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The threat of a surcharge if any drinks not bought from the hotel were found in the fridge - first time we had encountered this in any hotel, let alone Sardinia. A little over-enthusiastic with swimming pool water treatment. Probably not an issue unless swimming multiple lengths when eyes begin to sting.

    Views over the Galluran countryside and the Lago di Liscia (actually a reservoir, so expect a drawdown rim in late summer). Comfortable accommodation, great Sardinian menu, very friendly staff, good swimming pool Well positioned for visits to Nuraghic sites and to the north east coast. Given the positives, the niggles are merely minor irritations.

  • 18 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi not available in rooms, only near reception/bar area if that sort of thing bothers you. No mobile phone reception (not their fault obviously) as down in a valley. Not too easy to find initially, but once you knew how to get through the local village it was no problem. It is signposted, but they are easily missed.

    The food was first rate - honestly the best meals I have ever had, seafood/fish/meat cooked to perfection, a limited vegetarian selection but good. which was good.No naff trattoria this - this place would rate 5 stars in the UK, and the cost was very reasonable too! It also had a pizzeria, of best quality. The staff spoke good English and other languages and were so helpful. The location was super (by lake) with beautiful views. Very quiet indeed. The hotel a delight. Some walking around lake edge possible (take walking boots). Swimming pool unheated but fine location. Definitely need a car, but Olbia airport only about 40 mins. away. Some days the hotel organised an interesting boat trip to lake including walk to nearby 4000 year old olive tree . We would love to go back there. good base for driving trips to coast and lovely small towns etc.

  • 16 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Set in woodland with stunning lake views the hotel is clean, comfortable and well appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. The kitchen is excellent and the dining experience a joy. No hesitation in recommending this hotel most highly

  • 11 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wow, what a setting! Views over the lake, tucked away in the hills, couldn't be a more perfect location. Staff are amazingly helpful, rooms are lovely and pool is perfect! Restaurant pizzas are amazing and the breakfast is superb..so much choice. Definately recommend

  • 11 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no mobile connection possible, location was too far away from tourist places of interest (nearest town was 25 min drive), GPS needed for finding the hotel(using the coordinates) and for sightseeing

    very friendly welcome and nice staff, good breakfast with wonderful view, great pizza's

  • 4 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is quite lost in the middle of nowhere on a very small road (ie takes 30-40mn drive to costa smeralda) Breakfast is very basic, especiallly for the sweet part (cheap canned fruit salad, orange juice, basic pastries, low variety of fresh fruit), good variety of bacon, vegetables, cheese etc. otherwise

    The hotel is extremly calm with a beautiful view over the lake from every room Super nice swimming pool area Hotel staff is very helpful and give great advices

  • 9 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had lovely time in here! Really enjoyed the dinner in the balcony-fantastic view and very helpful staff! Thank you everything !!!

  • 7 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful nature, great staff, comfy rooms, brilliant restaurant, wild life ( wild boars, owls, lizards :) )

  • 3 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hard place to find

    Cool and quiet place to be. Expectcular breakfast, view, and pool.

  • 27 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room smelled a bit like mildew.

    Wonderful location, beautiful view; excellent food; friendly and helpful staff.

  • 14 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff. Beautiful views of lake. Spacious rooms.

  • 27 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was a bit poor in my opinion

    The place was just stunning, relaxing and completely integrated with the landscape

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: