Reviews of Rest Full Homestay

39 Passara Road, 90090 Ella, Sri Lanka

#16 of 219 hotels in Ella

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 34

  • February 4, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't really understand before getting there that it was up on a hill very close to the forest. It was a bit though going up there with a suitcase after being on the train from Kandy for 6 hours. But it's still easy to access. It takes maybe 5-10 min to walk down to the main road and 10-15 min up. It can be good to bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper since you live close to nature and it's squirrels and monkeys.

    It was a clean, newly built homestay with good wifi, hot water and a lovely hostess. The breakfast was really amazing with a mix of homemade daal curry, fresh fruit, omelette, hoppers etc. It changed every morning and is quite a lot, you won't leave hungry. We got to borrow an adapter since ours didn't work. Ella is a nice little village, don't hesitate to hire a tuk-tuk for a ride in the surroundings if you're not a hiker.

  • January 18, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing!

    This was a great little place to stay in Ella. Really close to the main strip of restaurants and bars. The owner is such a lovely lady. Brings your breakfast to your patio area in the morning and all fresh homemade Sri Lankan food. The room was nice, comfortable bed and we really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you!

  • January 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dampness - however it could be only during the rainy season. The shower doesn't drain properly so the water stays there all the time. Also since it's so close to the Main Street it can be noisy in the evenings. We heard music from the bars every evening....again could be only during xmas and new year period.

    The owners are very nice and friendly. The 2 cottages that they rent are in their garden. If you are looking for a decent place close to the Main Street then I would recommend this. The views are not exactly amazing and also if you travell like us in December the cottages can be a bit damp. Sri Lankan breakfast is delicious.

  • December 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything about this place, we didn't get to try dinner but heard it was very good.

    This was one of our favourite places in Sri Lanka. We got such a warm welcome by the host to their tropical paradise. You can sit on the terrace and watch the wildlife in front of you. Nice and clean bungalow in an excellent location for Ella town. The breakfast was also excellent and plentiful.

  • December 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly owners, yummy breakfasts (and a dinner), close to the centre, close to a swimming pool next door that you can pay to use, you feel like you're in a jungle not in Ella at this place but 2 minute walk and you're at the restaurants and bars. Comfortable bed, clean room, nice patio. Definitely recommend.

  • December 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    This is a well run place with a really helpfull family. The place is really tranquil. They listened to the feedback and wifi is working properly. The breakfast is lavish and their dinner very tasteful. The dogs are friendly as well.

  • December 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was just great, the family is very nice, room and beds were large, clean and comfortable. We had the best breakfest here in Sri Lanka. The location out of the main road and almost in the "jungle" was perfect and very quite. You could hear only sounds of birds what we've appreciated. We would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • September 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice family who runs the place. It is comfortable and very restful. Breakfast and dinner are excellent and copieus. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • August 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi fi was poor and the property was at the top of a 200 metre dirt track and very steep so if your an older couple beware. But don't let the above put you off. The place and family are superb.

    Family were so friendly. Breakfast was brilliant and different every day. We also asked the family to cook us dinner and they did and it was so good. It was set in a beautiful location and well worth the stay. Highly recommended.

  • August 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - In the Jungle with very nice view and out of the city stress - spacious and very clean cottage - Mosquito nets over the two comfy beds - VVery tasty breakfast with smart and professional touch - Extremely friendly host family - Private terasse - short walk to city with nice restaurants - Host picked us by his Tuktuk at bottom of the mountain - Unfortunately we spent only one night. if we would go back to Sri Lanka, we will spend at least 50% of our trip there. - We enjoyed the passion fruit back in Dubai which we received fresh from the host when we checked out. - Kids enjoyed playing in the Jungle very much,,, just a few steps behind the cottage.

  • March 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows are not mosquito-sealed (there are mosquito nets for the beds). The green surroundings hide all the typical Ella sights. Not all that easily accessible (steep hill, last 50m dirt path not even a tuk-tuk can drive on).

    Nice quiet location in the middle of trees. No particular view, but cosy. New cottage with good and very clean bathroom. Nice private terrace with table and chairs. Three queen-sized beds provide plenty of space. Excellent breakfast with both Sri Lankan and western items. Nice host family, speaks only little English.

  • March 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful little cottage tucked away in the woods. Peaceful, clean, comfortable. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts. The food is amazing - delicious Sri Lankan breakfast and definitely ask them to make you dinner! We had an amazing fish curry with several vegetarian curries, rice and curds and honey for pudding.

  • March 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staying is not suitable for five adults, for 3 adults + children it could be ok.

    The owner is a very kind lady, she is very helpful. The place is nice and quiet, without noise of traffic but full of nature noise and that was relaxing for us. The staying is clean. Breakfests are very rich and delicious.

  • January 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the end og a small dirtroad we found this perfect cottage with a Nice terrasse surrounded by flowers and fruit trees. The owner and family made the stay very comfortable, we had delicious and huge breakfast (even hot chocolate for the kids). Our kids fell totally in love with their 2 dogs. We find it the best place we have been in Sri Lanka.

  • January 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts Udya and his wife Tussitha are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The included breakfast is delicious and plentiful. The room was clean, and we had the best warm shower! The optional evening curry dinner was really good too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the cottage.

  • January 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit too pricy for not having mountain view but everything else was just perfect and the hosts so kindly and friendly from the heart😊

    Very good food for breakfast and dinner(optionally) and very much😄 The most comfortable bed and much space also very quiet but still close to everything!

  • December 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Great location set in a beautifull garden, very quiet but only a 10 minutes walk to city centre. It was really clean and the family was very helpfull. Great value for the money. We stayed for two days and could easily stayed here a few more.

  • December 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I would mention is that there are dogs at the property who can be a bit protective of the property however once they got to know us they were super friendly.

    Fantastic place!! Amazing breakfast, perfect accommodation ( we had a whole separate annex to ourselves) great location and hosts where so friendly. Very very highly recomended! We wanted a homely feel over the Christmas period and that is what we got, they even went to the effort of putting up some Christmas decorations. Beautiful place!

  • November 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot recommend this family and their place enough. With only this one room they focus only on you and to make sure that youre having a good time. Lovely place in the jungle, still only five min walk from town, lovely food, - I can go on and on, but I will simply go back one day instead :)

  • February 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit smelly

    Very good dinner and breakfast, nice veranda

  • January 31, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow wifi.

    Fantastic family!!! Service and help in general was superb. European breakfast with a touch of Sri Lanka was a great experience.

  • January 30, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit overpriced

    Wonderful staff and good location to the Main Street. Although not much of a view

  • January 15, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double beds are relatively small.

    Very friendly hosts. Even tough we were leaving at 5am, they made a us a take-away breakfast!

  • January 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely owner who runs the homestay. Absolutely peaceful location sourrounded by green garden. 5 minute walk to Ella center. Great breakfast.

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady was very nice and helpful. Great breakfast! Laundry service for good Price. Lovely yard in Front of the House.

  • December 27, 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location and absolutely delicious breakfast! Good value for money.

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super clean and super friendly owners. Breakfast was amazing, highly recommend.

  • September 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food The large beds The room terrace The location The hosts

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access road was difficult for a car.

    Very friendly hosts and very nice facility.

  • August 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice environment Reasonable price Friendly owners Tasty breakfast Cleanliness

  • August 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all good!

    Gorceous location, nice family

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor wifi connection.

    Very welcoming family. Excellent breakfast (best we had in sri lanka). Good location.

  • March 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Best breakfast we've had in Sri Lanka, very good price, nice surrounding

  • January 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    family friendly and helpful staff, excellent place, excellent food, excellent value for money

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Rest Full Homestay Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: