Reviews of Dar Al Andalous

14, Derb Bennani, Douh-Batha, Medina, 30000 Fez, Morocco

#114 of 157 hotels in Fez

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 23 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 12

  • October 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not 5* accommodation but who wants that anyway? It is an authentic and wonderful experience of genuine Fes hospitality. It was easily the best place we stayed on our Moroccan road trip.

    The management and staff are the best in Fes. We stayed in two other Riads before this one and there was no comparison. The location is perfect, really close to parking. The boss can't do enough for his guests. Everything we requested was provided without complaint. Genuine compassion, excellent food and a very beautiful Riad.

  • March 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Anything that isn't right - they sort out immediately.

    This was my second visit to Dar AlAndalous. I fell in love with Fes many years ago and have stayed in all the top riads - but this is my favourite. A beautifully restored Fassi riad in a safe location run by the very hospitable Kadiri family. Everything here is perfect. Food, service, views. And very good value for money. I will be back again.

  • September 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a family house not a hotel. We felt as if somebody was doing us a favor when staying there rather than actual paying customers at a hotel. The price for the room was very expensive for what it actually offers. Mohammed, the owner, never thought about what we wanted, but instead the only thing he was interested in was trying to sell us different things such as eating there, which was a fixed menu of what they had eaten that day and was ridiculously expensive for what he offered. He pressured us all the time to eat there even after we said we would like to eat out. He discouraged our plans all the time with excuses just in order for us to do things he recommended. I had to discuss with him for 20 minutes that I wanted to pay with a credit card having to stand for excuses about why I did not want to pay cash. He said it was better for him if I paid cash, instead of actually accept what the customer wanted. Same thing with the taxi. The service was not very good, as they never replaced the toilet paper, we had to ask for shampoo every day and the towels were never changed. And the worst thing is hat we were the only customers staying there the first two days! Two guests arrived when we were leaving

    The house is nice and well located. Hassan, the house porter was very helpful and always there when needed.

  • June 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most outstanding was Mohammad the owner who couldn't help us enough, even arranged an escort to my spa treatment and back to the Dar. Beautiful home cooked food.

  • October 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price is high for what it is!

    Friendly and helpful staff and decoration of the accomodation.

  • May 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location Staff and management Fresh air in rooms Clean Great food

  • May 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location and character.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • September 20, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great place to stay: a beautiful old building, very friendly and welcoming staff, excellent dinner (best food that we ate in Morocco), large rooms and suites. The location of Dar Al Andalous on the edge of the medina is perfect for taxi access. Highly recommended.

  • July 20, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything great.

    This beautiful Dar situated very convenient to the medina and other sites was without fault. Beautiful rooms, spacious and with wonderful hosts and staff. Madame's food was delicious and our 2 day stay was just too brief.

  • May 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air-conditioning didn't work so it was rather warm at night.

    Convenient location in medina of Fez but close to transport & other facilities. Wonderfully renovated old riad with stunning wooden doors & 5m high ceilings, very good meals, friendly service from owner, very quiet & relaxed.

  • May 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This riad is beautiful; with intricate carvings and decoration it feels very authentic. The staff is incredibly helpful and the food was THE best food we ate in Morocco. We were upgraded a few days before our arrival to the Menzeh suite and it was divine! The riad was also in a good location for getting into the souks as well as catching a taxi. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling in Fez.

  • April 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi wasn't the best in the rooms Breakfast every morning got smaller and smaller and smaller... Some of the trips excursions and services provided by Riad were quite overpriced because Mohammed the owner just calls up acquaintances of his to meet guest needs Dinner expensive even by european standards

    Conveniently located near Bab Bajoud one of the main entrances to the medina Family that owns the Riad was very pleasant and very nice and helpful. Son kindly dropped off us at train station. Clean place, well kept rooms, good service

There is also 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: