Reviews of Petit Karmela

7 Derb El Ferranne, Azbezt, Medina, Medina, 40000 Marrakesh, Morocco

#242 of 802 hotels in Marrakesh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 51 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 20

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not accurate to room prices

    We paid for Petite Karmela and we stayed at the luxery (>150 euro) version Karmela - without explication. The room and restroom was huge, several lovely patios.

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The stay at the Riad Karmela couldn't have been any better. The Riad itself is great, the rooms are all designed individually but each one looks pleasing on the eye. Even the court yard and surrounding area of the Riad is nice and eating on the rooftop caps of an excellent stay. The staff were very friendly and polite when approached and they go above and beyond to help with any of your enquiries. The Riad is situated in a great place and finding your way to local Museums, Cafe's, Restaurants and the famous Jemaa el Fna square couldn't be any easier and if you can't find your way once again staff on hand will help. Thoroughly enjoyed staying there and would recommend anyone travelling to Marrakech to look up the Riad Karmela, you won't be disappointed.

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location could have been a bit closer to the main square area, as it was hard at first remembering where the riad was as it is through many alleys and local side streets which were worrying at first. Maybe a tv set would have been good to have as sometimes you jut wanted to sit back and relax. Don't know maybe it was just the room we were in?

    The staff at the Riad were very friendly. From the outside you all you see is a big red wall, but as you enter through the gate and into the lobby it will open your eyes making you think you are in a mini palace! It all looks so amazing with an open roof over the front reception area where you can relax in front of a small water pond and with turtles walking about freely. The rooms are fairly spacious with clean beds and a big bathroom area. Breakfast was served daily from 8-10am with fresh orange juices or coffee/tea and also croissants and fruits at your disposal. The staff made you feel welcomed and the owner Joel was a very nice fella, showed us how to get by, what to expect and any issues to see him.

  • May 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was ok

    Staff was polite and helpful. Location is good and we managed to find the riad on our own (we had already had some experience of navigating through this area in Marrakech). The room we had booked was not ready and we received better one at no additional cost.

  • April 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scratchy bedspreads and the fixed price chef's choice dinner - the chicken tagine was fine, just not special after 10 days of seeing/having chicken tagine on our tour!

    The riad was simply lovely and breakfasts were terrific. The owners and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. We were there for only 2 days but would have been delighted to have been able to stay longer.

  • December 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in the bathroom wasn't great.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Upon arrival they gave us mint tea & biscuits and sat down with a map & showed us all the useful spots & gave directions on how to get to the main areas such as the souks, sqaure, etc. The Riad is only a short walk from souks & the square yet once inside the Riad you wouldn't hear any noise from outside. I also loved the roof top garden, it was lovely to be able to lie out in the sun after a day spent walking the Medina.

  • November 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is really hard to find but it's not the riads fault. It's the medina. Towels could have been changed everyday.

    Staff was really nice, even if it is late night they are there to serve. It has a really nice terrace.

  • June 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely gorgeous riad, friendly staff, great breakfast. No complaints.

  • April 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed and cover

    The food is good

  • December 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    The location and the very friendly staff.

  • November 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were fantastic and really helpful.

  • October 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Peace and quiet, there is an atmosphere that is hard to define, we had sun downers on the roof every evening, and Mustafa the waiter was a treat.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • July 21, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish we could've got a room at Karmela next door as it was even lovelier! Unfortunately, it was booked up. Nonetheless, I enjoyed my stay and would happily book there again.

    Quaint, quiet accommodation for the authentic traditional Marrakech living experience. The room was very cosy with a good layout. It was very cost effect compared with staying in a hotel. Staff were extremely helpful.

  • July 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited privacy in our room (Rachid) which was on the ground floor with a loose fitting door and curtains.

    While we were booked into the Petit Karmela, we actually stayed in the main Riad as the other one was empty. I guess this made life easier for the staff. Still - no complaints, Riad Karmela is a lovely place to stay and the staff were exemplary.

  • April 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The riad karmella is absolutely beautiful and the staff fantastic. We could not have asked for more. We would not hesitate to return and I would definitely recommend to others.

  • March 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Riad is beautifull. Because breakfast (which is very good) is served in riad Karmela across the street it s very quiet aswell. Staff is very friendly. Nice mint tea. Location good, 10 min from main square.Would go back to this riad next time

  • October 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tv or fridge

  • May 20, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Staff are brilliant

  • March 22, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    The staff were great at looking after our group and that included two friends staying at a different riad. The breakfast was great.

  • February 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The welcome and hospitality was excellent.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: