Reviews of Riad Les 5 Soeurs

250 Derb El Kadi - Bab Aïlen, Medina, 40000 Marrakesh, Morocco

#691 of 798 hotels in Marrakesh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 6 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 11

  • June 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Purple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly further from the square than anticipated

    Staff Food Rooms Cleanliness

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • November 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet for all of our stay meant planning our days become difficult, although be unplugged for a week has its own rewards. The quote in the advert about a hot tub is a bit of an oversell, there are 2 standard riad type mini pools. As they had no internet the card machine for payment wouldn't work so ended up pulling out batches of 2k mad from the atm, additional charges on top, might annoy others but the friendliness of staff made up for it. Out of their control.

    The staff were very helpful with arranging everything from food to taxis to tours, they offered advise about the going rates for things such as taxis and tips. The room (Rouge) was very clean with a very big bath. Breakfasts were timing and filling with amazing oj. Book a 15 euro taxi with the riad one-way at a least. Thanks Abdel and Youssef.

  • July 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Riad very nice, cozy and clean. Staff really kind. Excellent food. Family atmosphere. Thank to Abdel for all the explanations and advices and to Youssef for his really friendly, kind and helpful presence and especially for his amazing smile :) Rossella & Elena

  • May 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very happy with the location - easy walking distance to the main square and the souqs but if you want to stay right in the heart of the souqs then bear in mind that this place is a 15 minute but interesting walk away. The flip side is that the location is easily accessible by taxi and you don't have to drag your bags through miles of crowded streets to find your Riad. It also means that it is really lovely and quiet at all times. Personally loved the location.

    Great service, very friendly and helpful staff and wonderful food. Dinner was vast and delicious (easily as good, and usually better, than all the other food we ate during our trip). The Riad is split between two courtyards each with a little pool and a rooftop terrace. We stayed in the grey room - comfy bed, lots of space and a good shower. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff Youssef and Abdul were endlessly helpful and kind. When we visited the card machine broke just as we tried to settle up. Due to daily bank limits we weren't able to withdraw enough cash to fully settle up before our flight left which usually would be very awkward (hotels like to be paid before you leave...). But Abdul and Youssef were extremely calm, told us not to worry, to enjoy our last evening and that they would find a solution. In the end we did a bank transfer to the owner's account when we got back home. Kind, trusting, honest people. As reviewers have said elsewhere it is like being part of a family. Highly recommended. Also Marrakech is beautiful and the people friendly and welcoming. What's not to like? Hope to return again sometime.

  • April 22, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A real authentic experience, felt like being at home with a family, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms were very lovingly equipped. While some rooms are quite small the is plenty of public space where you can stay. Also there is so much to do in Marrakesh that you probably won't stay much in the Riad anyway.

  • March 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The location is a little bit of a shock when you get there. It's in a family district and if you haven't read up on the city, you will be shocked by the poverty and maybe be scared by the people. But we were a mother and daughter that travelled together and after the first day, we felt safer then we do in the UK. We walked back and fourth to the Jamaa El Fnaa square late at night with no trouble. This was helped by Abdel, who gave us a map to get back and talked it through with us. He also gave us a phone because my mother felt particularly scared. The electrics went off in the bathroom a couple times but it was nothing that couldn't be fixed easily. The Wifi was a little bit of a problem because it is only available in certain areas of the riad.

    The staff, Yousef & Abdel, were attentive and there was nothing they wouldn't do. Very helpful. The cook, Khadija, is amazing and the breakfast was always tasty and finger licking. We had dinner one night and that was the best we had in Morocco. If you stay here then definitely try dinner here one night, you will not regret it.

  • January 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our stay in Le Riad les 5 soeurs was really great. Staff came to pick up and brought us to the Riad. Food (morning and evening) was really good. They gave us explanations on what to visit, prices that we should paid for excursion,... and also small food shops to try. I would greatly recommend !

  • January 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were four of us - we rented 2 rooms at Riad Les 5 Soeurs for three nights. The accommodations are clean, comfortable, and though the Riad is not large, there is a surprising feeling of privacy throughout the building. The staff are attentive and kindly offer assitance with sightseeing or interests particular to ones plans. We found the food offered at the Riad terrific. This is definitely an accommodation in the Medina worth considering - we would not hesitate a return stay in Marrakesh at the Les 5...

  • November 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The riad is wonderfull, great location, the staff very kind and the food excellent. I will go back!

  • April 4, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wonderfully kept premise in a great location. An absolute oasis of calm. Great breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • February 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very helpful friendly staff, nothing too much always willing to assist. food was very good fresh and innovative.

There is also 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Guests also reviewed these properties: