Reviews of Riad Youssef

42 Bis Derb Bni Ich Talâa Sghira, Medina, Fes El Bali, 30000 Fez, Morocco

#114 of 157 hotels in Fez

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 18

  • September 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Sofia Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner could invest in basic necessities. New towel,secure Electrical switches. Secure toilet seat. Basic fire and safety alarms. Rooms could be kept ventilated even if not occupied.

    Friendly and family like welcome. Head of staff goes a long way to help and ensure everything is in place.

  • January 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Aziza Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very helpful staff ,location Inside the médina but once You enter the riad it Is verry quite and peaceful.verry good cuisine .would recommend it to other people .

  • December 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Royal Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    late breakfast hour first day.

    We booked Riad Youssef through internet. Our first trip to Morocco and our third Riad this holiday. We had arrived at the railway station and called the Riad about taxi fares and let them speak to our taxi driver to be sure we'd reach the place. A big relieve that the lady who answered the phone spoke English very well. The welcome was very friendly, with tea and a clear explanation in English on how to fill our form. This is the first form we filled correct, when entering Morocco you receive a stamp with a number in your passport and this number should be qouted on the hotel/riad registry form. We were told to have breakfast at 09:00 which we found quite late to start our day, but.. when we came down in the morning at 08:50 other people had already finished their breakfast. My husband and i received our coffee promptly, the girls had to wait for their tea for more than 20 minutes. If one states to be down for breakfast at 09:00, it should be ready immediaetly one should think. The bext day however, breakfast was ready at the hour we had asked because we had to leave to the airport on time. The manager called out taxi to confirm the pick up. All in all, this riad is a nice place. Direct acces to the Medina, Carrfour, Palace and Sibl gardens in walking distance. Quiet sleep. Hot water available too ! Little overprized compared to the other 2 riad's we stayed.

  • July 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Royal Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was cool but in need of attention. Needed lights and a touch of paint.

    Amazing historical Riad, stunning renovation of over 1000 year old building in Medina. Bedrooms and mezzanine were stunning.

  • July 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Sofia Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very hot during our stay ( June ) the air con could have been more efficient

    Lovy staff and manager ( Maha ) nothing was toouch trouble and the home cooking was a real taste of Morocco.

  • March 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Aziza Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi (although i personally didnt have time to use it), the price of the evening dinner, and the condition of the indoor pool (although again i personally wasnt interested in using it)

    I liked the staff, the breakfast in the morning, and the views from the rooftop.

  • March 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aziza Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very nice and helpful stuff, clean, very nice and beautiful inside

  • January 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Sofia Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful and well located.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • November 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was rather estranged to our needs and not hospitable at all. The final price was higher than the one agreed on in preceding email communication. The place feels cold due to the energy-saving bulbs used everywhere. The shower was dripping the whole time we stayed. The bath has an opening to the room and privacy is not the same anymore.

    The location is ok

  • October 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning didn't work - cooling fan replacement stopped working after 2 hours and wouldn't restart - no further attempts were made to fix it and the lady in charge who was going to call a repair man had a day off without telling us or making other arrangements with the staff Bathroom wasn't properly prepared for arrival - should have been cleaner and there was no soap - shower head bracket didn't hold the shower head Dirty table cloth at breakfast Breakfast was minimal - limp luke warm 'crepe' - coffee was ok Staff weren't very cheerful or welcoming

  • September 11, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building is exhausted (way past tired), requires plenty work done. Metal bar sticking out of bed frame- H&S hazard. Not safe for children and staff feign ignorance. So even on a tight budget, try elsewhere first.

    Go for it if you're on a tight budgets i.e students or backpackers or like us, last minute booking.

  • May 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    we loved everything

    Such a lovely building, with great details we felt like royalty. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location was ideal in the old city (Medina) which we loved, we didn't have to take a taxi to the panoramic view, you can walk it in half an hour from the hotel.

  • April 21, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On the first two nights we stayed in suites which were excellent. The second two nights in very small rooms with very old towels and the bathrooms were wet and mould ridden.

    location was excellent and the staff especially Maha could not be faulted.

  • April 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As a young couple, having a crib in our room was a little unnerving and the wifi was only in the common area. However, neither of these things really had any affect on our lovely stay.

    This Riad was absolutely gorgeous. Despite the fact that it was located in the middle of the medina, it was very quiet.

  • January 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Pool was too cold for the kids. Parking just outside Bab Baljoud overcharges tourists, pay no more than 20dh per day (24hrs!)

    Very beautifull quiet place, fine rooms, breakfast, towels etc. Very friendly staff. Cold in Dec. But there were local electric & gas heaters.

  • June 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cleanliness, I found a towel with blood on. Unacceptable

    It's average

  • April 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Too many stairs.

    Good location, close to a gate, easy to locate once you are out.parking was close.

  • February 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Beautiful building Attentive staff

There is also 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: