Reviews of Beachfront Hotel La Palapa - Adults Only 3 stars

Avenida Morelos 231B, 77310 Holbox Island, Mexico

#9 of 54 hotels in Holbox Island

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 557 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 14, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi a bit slow when everybody is connected, mostly in the evenings. Enough for emails, WhatsApp, etc., but not for heavy downloads or intensive use.

    Excellent location, next to the village life (main share where all restaurants and shops are is just 1 block away) but far enough to avoid noise. Next to the pier to watch sunset. Really beachfront, with excellent views. The beach is one of the best there, as it doesn't get seaweed. Great restaurant for breakfast, on the beach, in front of the sea. Nice rooms, rustic but comfortable.

  • January 12, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast included, they often ran out of food on the menu. Advertised a spa, but never open, no spa treatments offered. Nothing happened in the evening, empty bar and restaurant. Lack of atmosphere.

    Comfy bed and beachfront bedrooms

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of smoking Europeans on the island, and unfortunately in hotel and on the beach.

    Beautiful hotel, great location! Easy to walk to little town center. Beach is white and water is blue! And Mojito's are the bomb!

  • December 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard beds, not enough places to put things in the room, there is only one shelf in the corner of the room for clothes, no night stands, no shelving or storage around the sink in the bathroom. It would be fine for a couple of nights, but not ideal for a longer stay. They use a shell for a shower head, looks great, but not a great shower, though there was always hot water. Noisy at night, which is shocking since the town is so quiet during the day. Lots of partying going on all night long, mostly you hear the thump thump thump of music. Maybe it was just because it was Christmas week. Not sure. They need some kind of music ordinance in the town. Money is also a problem, show up with lots of Mexican pesos. If not, the exchange rates in town and from restaurant to restaurant and the hotel vary. Some places charge you a huge surcharge to use a credit card. LIke the hotel restaurant would charge you a 10% surcharge for using a card or give you a terrible exchange rate for USD, like 25% below the actual rate. ATM machines are filled on Tuesday and typically run out in a day or two. We still loved Holbox, it is a special place and we will probably return.

    Location was great, views were great. Very nice beach area with comfortable lounge chairs and drink service. It never seems crowded in Holbox. And the hotel always had enough loungers at the beach. In general people are very nice there. The food in the town is of a high quality.

  • December 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything

    This property is perfect...Has a great beach and is right near the main square, but far enough away to avoid the noise. The top floor rooms are great...Amazing ocean views with huge windows that roll open and a personal hammock. The perfect place to relax and unwind.

  • December 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints!

    Incredible breakfast! Great service and friendly. The ocean was amazing, the view from our room was beautiful. Loved the sand all around the property.

  • December 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room offered was far worse than the one depicted in the "sample photo". Also, that room is adjacent to an open air restaurant, where patrons scream and shout and sing and get drunk for several hours a day. When we complained about the room, Dante, at the front desk, claimed that the photo on the web site was just from a "different viewpoint", and that, in any case, "they all do it" (ie, all owners show an enticing photo and then offer a very inferior room). When we complained about the noise from the restaurant, he said that the hotel was not to blame as the problem originated outside of the hotel's grounds. What has happened here is that the owner decided to add a few crappy rooms to the hotel, while leaving only the flattering photos of other rooms on his website. The new rooms, rather than close to the water, are in the back of the hotel, right next to a boisterous restaurant, and a street with happily screaming kids - one is still charged as if in some boutique hotel. Dante at the front desk is outrageous. Before any complaint about anything my wife asked for a bucket to wash our bathing suits. Dante explained to her that she could do it while showering, and that, in any case, the local laundromat was quite cheap and she should take the bathing suits there - that person is completely, totally unsuitable for his line of work (there was another young girl at the reception that was extremely polite and helpful, but she had no name tag on her....). Other disappointments include a ridiculous "restaurant", with very few choices at shameful prices, and a foul smell at the hotel's beach. The photos uploaded show the room just before we left (please ignore the mess) - I took all pictures with my back against the wall and the lens at its widest (24mm zoom). Also shown is the badly worn gas tube in the kitchen ("if it leaked we would smell it" was the reply on this one).

    The property is located close to the sea, and admits adults only.

  • December 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish one could get bloody Mary's at the restaurant / bar in the morning! They couldn't accomadate us for a bloody with breakfast!

    Excellent staff... so nice! Always available.

  • November 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some family members thought the beds were too hard but I thought they were fine. I liked everything.

    The setting of a hotel in the sand on the beach couldn't have been more appealing. The staff was always gracious and helpful and rapidly responsive to any questions you had. There are hammocks as well as lounge chairs on the beach so it was a totally relaxing experience. The fisherman share the beach and to watch them go about their daily lives was interesting. The sunsets were spectacular while we were there. It was close to town so you could walk there easily.

  • November 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am not sure there could have been anything better.

    This hotel is located right on the beach - all rooms face the beach and the sea Very convenient to walk to the little town for a multitude of restaurant choices

  • October 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen room with 2 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds weren't the nicest, but for some reason it didn't bother me too bad.

    The location and price can't be beat. So casual and there is a good restaurant next door. The palm trees created shade in the morning which prevented total sun exposure while laying out (up to the individual if this is a good or bad thing). The smoothies were also very good.

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only downside was the lighting by the mirror was extremely poor so i couldn't apply make up the entire time i stayed there.

    The most perfect location! The beach was right at our footstep. The hammocks on the beach were a highlight, as well as the chill space up on the rooftop! I'm surprised there weren't more people up there! The bed was comfortable and staff were friendly.

  • September 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best location right on the beach. Beautiful views and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Ana and Angie at the reception desk are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast at their restaurant is delicious and inexpensive. Would definitely stay here again

  • September 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower and wash basin use a shell instead of tap or shower head. Novel and pretty but not practical. The washbasin water-supply was hit and miss when it did work it was barely a trickle not adequate for washing hands after using the toilet. On site 'handyman' said that it was fine and couldn't do anything to improve it. Then when using shower very hot water came from both hot and cold tap!!!! The plumbing needs sorting out.

    complementary water that was refilled for free. view from room and roof terrace was fab. breakfast choice was good.

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning is off during the day even in summer.

    Amazing location and very well maintained. The staff are extremely helpful, the food is delicious and the rooms are super comfortable. The little tubs of water outside the room entrance to clean you feet before going in are an excellent way to ensure that the room stays clean.

  • September 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful sheltered beachfront and balcony overlooking the ocean. Comfy beds and perfect location right in town (but quiet!). I can't wait to come back.

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The setting was just perfect. Right on the beach with perfect decor. Food was really good also. Staff was all very nice and helpful. Special thanks for Angie, who works at the reception, went way beyond to help us out.

  • August 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Acces to the sea is not very beautiful compared to the other hotels nearby and the beach space is limited. Italian staff is fine but have to work a bit with friendliness

    The location, the strutture, the view from our room and the hammocks Very close to the main road

  • August 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could have been a bit cleanier, but it's right on the beach so can be hard to keep immaculate clean.

    The hotel beach is amazing. Nice hammocks and beach chairs speareded throughout the beach. Room was very spacious, with a big, good bed.

  • August 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms are a little dated the staff at the restaurant was really bad. They could not get simple orders right during the 4 days we were there

    great location the beach is really clean there are plenty of chairs and they are comfortable the food was really good

  • August 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi a little flakey at times - but that is probably more to do with Hotbox than the hotel itself

    Great location - near to the centre of town but right on the beach Charming rustic design Lovely beach bar. Secluded roof terrace Fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble I'll be back !

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - While the shower heads are cute (made out of a sea shelf), they're not the most convenient for long hair. - The bags of sand/concrete that help protect the beach from erosion are not the most visually attractive.

    - The breakfast is not included but is huge and excellent for about $10. - The hostess is very friendly and helped us organize our activities and visits. - The hotel is close to town but still right on the beach.

  • August 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a lot of algae and sandbags on the beachfront which made it less appealing in comparison to the other hotels beachfronts.

    The property was kept very tidy and the staff were very helpful and responsive even during the booking process and over email. The hotel is very well located in relation to the town, just a few minutes walk and you're by the main square and restaurants!

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shell showers waste a lot of water - H&C taps lot labelled either, so spent an age experimenting to get the temperature right

    Incredibly obliging staff

  • July 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We tried breakfast and weren't too amazed by it, had expected more. Didn't get to try dinner though the guacamole was very good, as were the drinks.

    Excellent location, right by the center yet right on the beach at walking distance from any good restaurant around. Very friendly people, extremely clean rooms, comfortable bed and room, sea view, amazing roof top, etc

  • July 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room switch was annoying. What we booked on Booking.com was different than the room we got. Not nearly as good. Third-floor ocean front view room shown in photos; received 2d floor part ocean view room, smaller in size.

    Local on-beach restaurant options close-by

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not much to not like. Maybe the mosquitoes at night. But the hotel and the staff have no control over that.

    Make sure to book your transfer from the airport and a whale shark snorkel through the hotel. Amazing experience. We were even late for the first ferry to the island and the hotel got a fisherman to pick us up in his boat to bring us over

  • July 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have used a fridge in rooms for some cold drinks (water/beer). Also didn't realize that we were not allowed to listen to music in the rooms (although no one complained or asked us to stop) so we did have some on (not loud). Prices in the hotel beach bar/restaurant were quite a bit higher than most other places we tried, but those were very close by so not a big deal to venture out for lunch etc.

    Great atmosphere/decor and amesome location. Lots of room at the beach

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen room with 2 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect: cozy room with impressive view, friendly and gentle staff, delicious food, the island is beatiful! We loved our stay and want come back soon!!

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A ceiling fan in the room would have been good. More fans in the restaurant would have helped with the mosquitos.

    Bed was really comfortable. Loved the private beach area. Excellent food and very nice atmosphere at the beach restaurant. The white table cloths and candies on the tables were a nice change from other more casual dining on the island and loved the quiet, relaxing music.

  • June 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, the only tiny negative I can think of is the pillows were kind of hard and lumpy?

    We loved our stay at La Palapa, the grounds and beach were so beautiful and well maintained. All the staff, especially the reception were super friendly and helpful. The room was really cute with lots of attention to detail. All the light fixtures were so pretty. We had a king bed balcony room and really enjoyed hanging out in the hammock on the balcony. Also the roof top was a huge bonus, I didn't think we'd spend time up there because the beach was so gorgeous but we were up there a lot, it has such a great view and no one else really used it. We borrowed wine glasses from the restaurant and drank wine up there one night at sunset, just beautiful! The hotel was a great location, close to the main square but super quiet. We would definitely stay here again.

  • June 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I liked the Eco concept of the hotel, a lot of attention have been paid to the detail, very friendly staff from the girls at the reception to the guys at the bar, affordable, feels like being on a private beach, no TV in the room.

  • June 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed here for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier with this decision. The staff we so friendly and welcoming, the hotel has a beautiful beachfront area in a very central location, whilst still feeling private. We made the most of everything the hotel had to offer from transfers, whale shark trips and spa treatments and they were all excellent and good value for money. We'll definitely be returning - I just wish we didn't have to leave in the first place!

  • June 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant at the hotel. Pancakes were very dry and eggs over cooked. When your first meal is bad it makes you not want to risk eating there again.

    Great value. Good location. Clean. Staff friendly. Guacamole was very good

  • June 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we got room #5 and the ocean view was blocked by the bar/restaurant.

    Great oceanfront hotel, very rustic, great spa services for $65 (1 hour), good drinks (and gacamole) services. Located right next to our favorite restaurant "Las Panchas". Great value for your money at this hotel.

  • May 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach side restaurant is a little expensive, and on the slow side but the single shot espressos are very good.

    The room was spacious and comfortable, the balcony was fantastic with a lovely hammock to relax in. The bathroom had nice touches with using the shells for taps. The location right on the beach was top notch. The top deck was a great place to watch the sunset.

  • May 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen room with 2 beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be nice if they could bring in a little more white sand to the beach. The sea shells were a little hard to walk on at the waters edge.

    The girls at reception were great. Always smiling and helpful.

  • May 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massively overpriced! The room was nothing special at all and decor was not befitting of the reviews it's received or rating level. We were in a 2x queen room with 3 people and paid an extra $30US a night for the 3rd person - only got an extra towel and bottle of water! The payment system between the restaurant and hotel is ridiculous. Wifi is terrible! We stayed elsewhere on the island too and no problems. The staff told us it was an island-wide problem which is just not true. We booked as a special treat before we went home and were disappointed and felt ripped off. The location is the only redeeming factor but if we came back we'd stay elsewhere for sure!

    The location right on the beach and close to town is fantastic! Food in the restaurant was pretty good too. Great showers!

  • May 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach beds were all in the shade, it is extremely hot there so maybe it's a good idea but was hard to find a good spot as very busy when we were there. The drinks at the beach club are quite expensive, so we used to buy beer from the local shop and even though you are a paid resident at the hotel, you can only drink it in your room which I thought was a bit strict!

    The location of the hotel was excellent, easy walk in to town compared to some of the other hotels. Monica on reception was extremely helpful and made our visit much easier! The bedrooms were lovely and we loved the shower being a shell - very stylish.

  • May 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen room with 2 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could be a bit more modern for this price but really it doesn't matter.. You're always at the beach or on your hammock at your porch..

    Best of all locations. Closest one to the beach-yiu open your eyes and you see the water. You can just stay at the hotel beachfront forever. Hammocks, shade from the trees, a bar that you don't have to pay right in time. Close to center of the town also. We booked 3 nights and ended up staying 6. This place is magical.

  • April 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were great. Location was unbeatable Restaurant attached is great too. Separately owned from the hotel and new in the last 6 months apparently

  • March 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our "ocean view" room was located behind the restaurant on the 2nd floor, just opposite the back door of the kitchen. So the view was partially (mostly) blocked, and the apparently poor design of the restaurant required the staff to enter/exit the back door constantly. After choosing this hotel because I could have a beach view balcony with the sound of the waves, I was very disappointed that if the restaurant was open (it's open early for breakfast, and until 10pm), all we could hear was kitchen noise - dishes knocking together, stainless steel dropping on the floor, wait staff chatter, the door slamming over and over. The way the buildings sit, noise travels and echos directly off the rooms behind the restaurant building. The ocean sounds were completely drowned out. Sitting on the balcony at night, trying to have a pleasant evening with the ocean noise was not possible. After 2 of our 7 nights there, I asked for a different room, but they didn't have one available even tho other rooms had become empty. They did speak to the restaurant, but the only thing that changed that night was instead of hanging around right beneath our balcony after the shift was over, the staff went inside the open rear of the restaurant and chatted and drank until I'd had enough and told them to go home at 11:30pm. Another complaint did quite them down, but no matter how hard someone tries, there will be kitchen noise if the kitchen is open. The only good night was our last night, when the power was out all over town so the kitchen closed. With only candle light and no kitchen open, the night was just what I'd been hoping for. Too bad that's the only way it happened and it was the only good night there. Without more of a guarantee, I'd never go back there in spite of the beautiful site.

    Location and property were beautiful, and very well kept. The property and beach were immaculate. View was great, if in the right room - but not from ours. We booked a full view room, but that's not what we got.

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the king balcony room we had was not as pictured on their website. It was half the size and not airy and white as in the photos. I got used to it but if l had one of the white rooms in the newer building I would have been totally happy.

    The beach location with shady ares to sit and lounge, the location close to town and our balcony with great beach view.

  • February 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not great - ran out of bacon , however the girl waiter was very nice . Improve on the food

    The view and the sense of being in a tropical place

  • February 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen room with 2 beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything. Location=perfect. Facilities were 100% beautiful, even after lots of rain. Rooms and public areas were very clean. Staff was friendly and attentive.

  • January 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast isn't great and there is no fridge in the roooms but apart from that I'd advise you to stay here. You won't regret it. There is sometimes noise from the town and locals but this is Mexico so to be expected.

    A truly beach located, sea view and relaxing hotel. Amazing balconies with hammocks. Great value for the location. Newly opened Italian restaurant is amongst the best around.

  • January 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful beach island hotel. Staff were so nice & also helpful; beach and room accomodation & comfort perfect; located right on the beach; 1 minute from town center but quiet area; good breakfast. Would recommend to friends & family.

  • January 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The neighbors were a little bit noisy. There was sometimes loud music and we were woken by it almost every morning. But that's the only bad thing we can find :)

    Super location near everything in Centro. It was definitely a room with a view!!! It was nice to hear the waves in your room and to relax in front of the beach. Holbox is a very nice place, one of our favorite in Mexico.

  • December 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot water from the shower did not work very well. Restaurant needs to improve, a bit expensive, you can eat better and cheaper out of the hotel.

    Amazing place to stay at Holbox, beautiful, clean, in the beach and cheaper than other similar options in the island. I will come back!

  • December 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Directly beside the hotel the fishermen/locals have a small palapa. They leave their waste (coconuts, bottles) sometimes there. So it might be not as "pretty" as usual when going in a hotel zone. The restaurant/beach bar just started when we have been there, so there is space for improvement.

    Service, location and rooms on 2nd floor with seaview are great. The most beautiful beach is three hundert meters in the north with a sandbank that you can walk till a point where flamingos are living. Hotel is really close to the center and nice restaurants as well. The whole place is very natural, meaning there are fisher boats, a lot of pelicans and a bit of seaweed. The terrace is marvellous, but not used at all.

  • November 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A beautiful place on the beach. The palapa has a feeling of being quite small but also secure and lively. The rooms open sights and sounds of the coastline where the sun rises and sets and you can see the octopus and lobster boats far off on the reef. Lovely staff, comfortable beach, short walk to numerous shops and restaurants, tours.

  • September 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If there was anything we were busy relaxing :)

    View from our beautiful balcony. Room was decorated really nicely with seashells and the bed was large and comfy. The beach was just amazing! Staff was always helpful and friendly as well as the staff who works in the on site restaurant. Great hotel we would love to return!

  • September 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel food was not that great

    I loved the location it was close to the beach . The mosquitoes were little bothersome but did not affect my trip . It was quaint and I loved that it did not feel like it was full of tourists . I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a relaxing vacation

  • August 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The french staff were unhelpful and inhospitable. The food was just terrible in the restaurant/snack bar, half the menu was unavailable. The AC was insufficient to cool the room, so we did a lot of sweating. Our standards are not extremely high, especially for a snack and cocktail on the beach, but we sent back food, coffee and drinks (a never for us)

    The beach location and bed were nice.

  • August 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was big, but quite basic and not very good value for money. It felt like the staff on the front desk were doing you a favour by helping you and every simple request seemed problematic. On check-in, they hadn't checked whether we had paid our deposit before we arrived so this delayed check-in and was not a very good welcome to their service. For the price, you expect facilities to be included but everything seemed to be extra (breakfast, bikes etc). Breakfast was expensive and, despite the view, not very good and poor value.

    Amazing location - right on the beach and there were some wonderful sunsets we could see from our room. The hotel is very near the town and best restaurants in Holbox.

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The staff at Hotel La Palapa was so kind and attentive. Everyone always had a smile and their face. We loved hanging by the beach and talking to the staff that works in the restaurant! If you are ever so lucky to stay in Holbox, stay and Hotel La Palapa!

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothjng

    The hotel was great! The staff was amazing, super friendly and ever so helpful. Very positive atmosphere! We had a fantastic time at La Palapa! :D

  • July 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    their need to have us send them a 20% guarantee payment for the reservation. Had problem sending pymt thru PayPal. Never received.

    Loved the rustic tropical decor. Needs a swimming pool and an evening bar.

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at breakfast was a bit on the slow side but the bowls of fruit salad were amazing as was the view. If you are going on a trip after breakfast allow for extra time.

    The hotel is right on the beach and we stayed in a room overlooking the beach which was well worth it for the extra money paid. The rooms are so nicely presented and are kept nice and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very close to the centre of town and near all the bars and restaurants which is handy.

  • June 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Balcony Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue I had is that the bar/restaurant closes at 7pm. I would have enjoyed the ability to stay on the beach after sunset and enjoy a drink.

    I absolutely loved my stay at La Palapa. The staff was incredible, especially Rodrigo, and they helped with anything I needed. I liked my room so much, I didn't want to leave it in the mornings. I have a very relaxing time and can't wait to come back.

  • April 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not a dislike - but we would have enjoyed more variety and more local food choices on the menu at the restaurant. Everything was delicious, service was great but more options, especially at dinner, would be nice.

    location, anti-resort feel and quaintness of the hotel, onsite restaurant AND wonderful, friendly staff- front desk staff, Monica & Dino, ever cheerful and helpful; at breakfast Dulce is pleasant and attentive; AND throughout the day - breakfast, lunch, beachside drinks, snacks and dinner, Rodrigo - kind, witty, smart, professional - managed our requests with care and personal attention seldom seen in today's hotel environment.

  • March 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved the room - it was large, comfortable, overlooking the beach and palm trees. The staff was very helpful. The decoration was tasteful and we appreciated the ecological awareness and respect they fostered.

  • March 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant wasn't great, but there are lots of other options nearby for eating out. Our reservation did not include breakfast so we enjoyed Le Jardin most days for a good coffee and French breakfast.

    We loved the sea view spacious room, the easy wifi, and the positive, attentive staff.

  • March 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were unable to pay our bill by credit card (not a problem with our cards) and had to use all our limited cash. There were few places to put things down in the room. The bedside "tables" were tiny semi crescent shelves.

    Loved the location right in the center of town, yet on the beach. Beautiful building with neat abstract art pieces in the bedroom and in the bathroom conch shells for shower head and sink faucet spout. Hammocks on the balcony were delightful.

  • February 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing unless the beach had a lot of sea grass - but don't think this is normally the case.

    Usually I don't care to much about that but the staff - BUT everyone working here was so nice! The hotel is really pretty, nice rooms, and a very good location!

  • January 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'organic' shampoo will leave your hair in dreads, so bring your own. The first night, there were 2 small bottles of water. They were not renewed the second night - why? No matter what you booked, they will charge you in pesos. Be prepared to state your own reasonable exchange rate. They seemed flexible when I did that. The central top floor room ('deluxe') is under a roof patio where a small child will be tempted to do the Fred-Astaire at 7:00 a.m. - which I did not find very artistic.

    The building is breathtaking Holbox architecture. The top floor has mostly a view on the palm trees, but with a breeze. The lower floor is straight on the ocean, but with beach chairs. In the hot season, top floor. Winter, bottom floor.

  • January 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Amazing place!!I would like to return back soon. Helpful staff, super breakfast, great location. 10+

  • December 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's location and the friendly staff

  • December 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and cooperative staff. Thanks Dante for your assistance. Nice to have the beach bar for breakfast and evening sunset.

  • November 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We recommend to have a small pool maybe at the roof and the jacuzzi to have it open :)

    That it was very peaceful and staff was very nice!

  • November 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant only serves breakfast and lunch no dinner

    Nice beach and big apartments

  • November 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Amazing location. Beautiful rooms

  • October 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent!

  • September 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect vacation. Friendly staff, quiet environment, clean room.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price of excursions

    Everything

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Beachfront Hotel La Palapa - Adults Only Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: