Reviews of Hotel Hidalgo 3 stars

Madero 11 poniente Colonia Centro, 76000 Querétaro, Mexico

#68 of 99 hotels in Querétaro

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 74

  • December 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy. If you are a light sleeper, don´t bother with this hotel. Also, I was forced to pay with cash since their bank wasn´t accepting foreign credit cards during Christmas week! I had to walk a long distance to my bank branch to withdraw funds. One receptionist suggested it was my card, so I went to a café one block from the hotel, and paid with my MasterCard without problems. I showed the receptionist my credit card receipt and told her to contact her bank. Considering their rates, credit card payment should be a given for Mexicans and foreigners alike, any week of the year.

    Beautiful architecture. Comfortable room. Great location. Good restaurant. Nice staff.

  • November 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While it is not the fault of the hotel, the temperatures were cold when I was in Queretaro - thus the room was very cold. I asked for extra blankets for the second night, and received an extra blanket. Too cold for me!

    The location of this hotel was superb - with gardens and public walking areas all around. Plenty of restaurants nearby and arts and crafts kiosks out in the evenings.

  • November 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need complete upgrade including lighting and bathrooms. If goal is to cater to international tourist. ( English ) It would be helpful if front desk / reception was more informed and could provide information on such things as bus service to destinations out side of Queretero .... Schedules, approximate cost.of ticket etc.

    Food service and courtyard Generally clean thought Good location.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - very nice place.

    This hotel is extremely charming. It is half a block away from the main square in the historic center. Location could not be better. The room was very comfortable.

  • September 26, 2016

    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Someone to help take baggage up to the room would've been helpful, since I know elevators aren't really possible in such an old and beautiful building.

    Everything was amazing. Great service, great view of Jardin Zenea, great and patient staff. And of course, the hotel was beautiful. I loved everything about the time that I spent in this hotel, as I had to shuffle in between another hotel for my job.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I personally didn't mind, but if you are looking for a large luxurious room, this is not it. But everything else makes up for it.

    The food is very good, with nice live music in the dining room. The location is great. The ambiance is really nice. The staff are wonderful.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spend a little more ($7.50 a current exchange rates) and get a room with two double or king beds. These these tend to be much larger and brighter and better located that the basic double room.

    Historic hotel with lots of character. Good value for money.

  • July 20, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    While I wished there were a gym on-site, Julio's Gym is a few blocks away for workout opportunities.

    It's a beautiful old hotel with Spanish colonial arches and historic significance, centrally located near the Jardin Zenea in Queretaro. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful.

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately only 1 person who should be manager there not a waiter speaks English

    Amazing location, helpful staff, good food in restaurant, superb climate, love music from time to time and if you like birds which live in wines on the tweet all day.

  • June 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need new furniture even if they want a rustic environment.

    I like the property location, is excellent! The common facilities are beautiful and the food is very good.

  • May 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No exterior windows.

    Loved its location, cleanliness, free water, nightly live music from restaurant below. Big rooms. TV. Yes, upstairs, quieter rooms have no exterior window, but have hall windows. Staff so nice and helpful.

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt sorry for the the people of wedding party we have to interrupt every time we wanted to go to the street or to our room.

    The location is the best

  • January 18, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the hotel, but I didn't sleep well there for a few reasons: there's a window in the room with mottled glass with no curtains so it lets in the light from the patio. Also, there's noise from the patio as mentioned in several other reviews. It was also very cold at night.

    The location was excellent. It's in a beautiful area. I liked having a desk in the room.

  • January 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little noisy, in that other residents can be heard in the echo vaulted hallways. Patio area is also a restaurant so this too can be noisy.

    Old Colonial House with a history, beautifully appointed. Location to historic centre. Had a restaurant. Big room.

  • January 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room #6 is quite noisy (you hear the staff a lot during the night and morning) It didn't have a coffee machine nor water kettle (would have been nice)

    The price The location of the hotel The service of the people in the hotel and restaurant next door.

  • January 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saturday night, January 1st in a good-sized city which has all-night events downtown is not a fair time to judge a hotel stay. The noise was quite unbelievable but, miraculously, we did get quite a bit of sleep!

    the old-fasioned ambience. The staff tried hard to please.

  • January 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bad experiences but rooms are very basic.

    The location and resturant which had some of the better food we experienced. It was very relaxing eating in the lovely courtyard.

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were uncomfortable, the hotel is historic and old which gives to its charm but the hotel could afford to buy more comfortable beds for their guests.

    The location is perfect, it's on arguably the most beautiful street in Querétaro. The interior courtyard with the fountain were amazing and I loved how there was always music playing.

  • October 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room didn't have any window but it's not unusual for this kind of building around an patio. Also there were just 2 electric plugs, so charging electronics can be slightly challenging. Very basic but good value.

    Very friendly staff, great location and setting in a beautiful colonial building. Good hot water and the shower actually closes with a door! You are also provided with a desk and chair. Also i was very surprised at the lack of noise once you close your room door. A water fountain is near the stairs.

  • September 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit hard and "crooked".

    The location can't be better. The restaurant was always full, which speaks of the quality of the food.

  • June 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Totally wrong Standard Room description. Rooms are without Wardrobe/Closet !!! Size of room was 9 m² not 15 m² as described and only one small bad 1,60m bed insted 2 double beds. All rooms inside the building are without windows and have mold on the walls ( we have checked 5 rooms) ! :-(

    Location

  • May 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small and had no window. Then being said, the staff offered us another room 2 days later. We did choose to move to another hotel, but continued to go to the hidalgo every morning for breakfast.

    The restaurant, wait staff, and meals were wonderful. Location couldn't have been better.

  • May 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed here 3 times over the last year and each time was a pleasant experience. This is a good value; sure you can find elegance elsewhere but for the basics , well I like this place

  • January 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Can be loud, especially if your room is near the kitchen on the first level. - We were originally given keys/checked into an occupied room. - No hand towels provided. - No safes in rooms.

    - Fantastic location near Jardin Zenea, especially during NYE since the plaza there is a hub of music, food, and a public fireworks display. - Courtyard restaurant (La Llave) was good. - Excellent historic charm

  • October 24, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very small and need to be renewed

    Good location

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No ventilation in our room.

    Excellent breakfast.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was very hot without window other wise hotel very good.

    Loved the decor and the restaurant

  • August 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff. Good restaurant. Wonderful location. Great for those who want to experience colonial charm.

  • August 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms. Smell from sewage system.

    Nice staff. Good value. Restaurant is good.

  • August 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the patio comes directly in.

    The location and ambiance are superb.Another pre is the nice restaurant in the patio.

  • April 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great people, and service. Older building, small rooms priced accordingly

  • January 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The staff was great

  • January 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place

  • November 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small I ground floor. At night and early morning you could hear the workers taking down and setting up the dining area.

    Location

  • October 20, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stairs, no elevator, the noise at night

    the location

  • September 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    only place to sit was the bed - very small room

  • August 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room and bathroom

    Location

  • July 29, 2015

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Definitely pay a little more to get a "balcony" room with a king size bed. Nice view out onto the street but it can be noisy.

  • May 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Helpfull staff, great location, quiet colonial hotel, good food in restaurant.

  • March 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, theme architecture and the mood.

  • February 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    this is a no nonsense hotel

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • June 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room and the bathroom were both oppressively small. I felt like I was in a walk in closet. I think the hotel advertises that they have air conditioning, but my room did not. It did have a ceiling fan with only one speed, which was high and noisy.

    The location is very good. The courtyard of the hotel is beautiful, and it has a restaurant which was good (and of course convenient). The room was clean and the bathroom was fine. I am a single traveler, budget-conscious traveler who would recommend this hotel to others with similar needs.

  • April 28, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    We had some disagreement when we were paying because they were charging us a different rate from what we booked. The problem was the picture in the booking site which is not what they intend to sell, so instead of two beds it should only be one. It's good the manager accepted their mistake so he agreed on a reduced rate. Except for this, it was a beautiful experience.

    Perfect location, centrally located .

  • February 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The glass on the pictures on the walls had some kind of grime on them which looked liked they'd been overlooked by the house-keeping department.

    Great location for exploring el Centro. Comfortable bed, quiet room off one of the inner corridors , great shower with lots of hot water. TV with lots of channels that had Spanish sub-titles to assist with practice. Wifi worked well. Helpful front desk clerk.

  • February 26, 2014

    • Family

    Very close to Centro was very friendly reception staff of the 100-year-old hotel was very clean, but again, if you visit this city hotel will be used hidalgo.

  • January 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an old hotel and some of the maintenance could be better attended to but you are not paying 4 or 5 star prices. We have found the one bed rooms to be quite small and dark so if you want more space and light, pay for a two bed room.

    Centrally located hotel within easy walking distance of all the major sites and close to the restaurants and coffee shops.

  • December 10, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I checked in with two Spanish-speaking Mexican friends. I used mx pesos to pay for the rooms in full (the price that the desk clerk said I owed). I found on my return home that they charged more pesos on my credit card because I supposedly didn't pay the correct amount. I should have insisted on a receipt! When I left the hotel the desk clerk told me that everything was fine. It wasn'T. One of my Mexican friends called them from Guadalajara but they were intransigent. I will never book another hotel with my credit card.

  • October 16, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The smaller rooms don't have windows, so only source of air is from the door. The walls are in need of a paint job.

    Well located. Facilities in room are good.

  • September 8, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Most rooms don't have windows - but this is part of the traditional building.

    Couldn't be more central. Charming atmosphere with an old courtyard. Even though I had booked a triple for me alone (this being the only room left on booking.com), the staff kindly offered me a single for a lower rate! Plus they let me pick the room. Wifi worked well too. Breakfast was excellent - great fruit platter and fresh grapefruit juice.

  • June 14, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Dark, little light - only one outlet in room - skipped room service one day - events at restaurant were loud or awkward to walk around to get to room

    - Helpful staff - good bed - clean rooms - good location

  • May 23, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable. Parking is problematic. Tone down the music a bit or play classical guitar,string music or something a bit more relaxing.

    Location, location,location. Staff, is very friendly, food service is excellent,clean,the building itself is beautiful, just needs a bit more professional restoration like seals on windows and doors.

  • March 15, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Front desk staff was a bit snobby and not helpful, seemed to resent that I had made my reservation with booking.com, but great location made up for any flaws in service

    Location was great, beautiful courtyard,

  • February 12, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    My stay was for a Saturday night. Unfortunately the courtyard was loud until quite late. At some point other guesta came out and yelled at the crowd to be quiet because children couldn't sleep. If noise is an issue, this is not a good hotel for you.

    My room at the Hotel Hidalgo was immaculately clean and had all the basic amenities. No extras, but that is what I expected for the price. The staff was wonderful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • February 10, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Loved the historic aspect, indoor courtyard and restaurant, balcony with bird's eye view of street life. Wonderful street theatre and proximity to main squares and historic venues.

  • January 23, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some rooms on the first floor were a bit noisy. The hotel could do with some more maintenance - painting and minor repairs.

    Great location and good value for the money.

  • January 11, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Tiny rooms with no windows. Low quality towels and linen. Not worth the 50usd, but you wont find anything cheaper and decent in Quertaro. Enjoy the beautiful downtown

    Nice place, unbeatable location! Staff very helpful.

  • January 7, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very clean rooms. Lots of space to store clothing and items. Nothing luxurious but everything was very comfortable and well-maintained. Definitely a wonderful place to stay right in the heart of historic Queretaro.

  • June 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    IT COVERED ALLMY NEEDS

  • May 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kinda old, no window, no charme, no hot water, non working toilet, no internet connection in the room, dirty towels.....

    Area around the hotel

  • February 22, 2014

    • Couple

    Central location, excellent service by very helpful staff at front desk. Beautiful courtyard. Laid back.

  • February 21, 2014

    • Group

    A little noisy when cleaning the patio at night

    Location, architecture, inside court with rooms on its side, possibility of breakfast and good dinner

  • February 13, 2014

    • Couple

    Location

  • February 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lack of room decor.

    Location. Antique building

  • December 25, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    THE room had no. window, iT was dark and closed.

    Good location, friendly people etc

  • October 10, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Hard Beds Noisy location internet spotty

    Location Value Restaurant

  • September 17, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Very nice atmosphere and friendly staff. We asked for a room in the back as recommended by others and found it very quiet.

  • July 16, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The room was as it had been described. The staff was very courteous and informative.

  • July 11, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Poor ventilation in the room.

    The location is very close to everything. But it was not too noisy.

  • May 2, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The cell like room with no air con. Way too hot.

    The atmosphere and the location

  • April 17, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The bed is very hard,

    Located in historical center. Beautifuil place Thera are a lot of place near. Contact with the past

  • April 9, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was way too small and my feet were sticking out of the bed. I changed to hotel Gran Queretaro after a day.

    The location was excellent.

  • March 11, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is perfect and the hotel has a nice courtyard with a good restaurant. It is comfortable.

  • February 13, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Street noise-which disappeared fairly early.

    Restored historic hotel near the city center, parks, shopping, etc.

  • February 5, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was cramped.

    Location..courtyard

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Hotel Hidalgo Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: