Reviews of Grand Hyatt Playa del Carmen Resort 5 stars

1a. Avenida esquina Calle 26, Colonia Centro, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#8 of 168 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 913 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanfront
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great ambiance in a perfect location. Pleasant outdoor/indoor surroundings combining hip modern architecture and ancient Mayan styles right on a beautiful sandy beach with fun town just around the corner from the front entrance. Clean comfortable rooms with ocean view and Cozumel in distance. All the great people to take care of you very kind and smiley, extremely helpful and professional.

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Hyatt Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The value for the money. You can find out other hotel in Cancun with better facilities and services for 50% less price such as Westin

    The location of this Hotel is in the middle of Playa del Carmen and close to 5th Ave - walking distance

  • January 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had one of the swim up pool rooms which is more expensive than the other rooms but on the bottom floor with view at a wall and no connection to the main pool. Basically just connecting 10 rooms which each other giving weird moments of random people swimming by stealing your privacy... we changed rooms (which was a drama) then it was ok

  • January 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Hotel is located in neighborhood of a daily beach club, which start its music in the afternoon and finishes at about 8:00 p.m. A lot of hotel rooms there has to be loud from that club. Beach was very busy at this time of the year (26.12 - 05.1.), probably because of high season.

    Overall staff and its services. Very helpful, polite. Cleanliness excellent, room equipment very good. Breakfast offer in a restaurant was great.

  • January 4, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Club Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed there for new year which meant there were lots of relatively noisy night time events leading up to New Year's Eve, plus there is a day club attached to the hotel meaning the afternoons on the beach weren't particularly peaceful. New year itself was a very noisy affair which many attended. If you do have young children that would be affected by a rock band playing outside your window until 2am this may not be the hotel for you over this period. After new year the evenings at least were quiet.

    Staff were great, beds were amazing, location was good too.

  • January 3, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Partial Oceanview
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There's a club next door with thumping music all day and night. For us, this really ruined our trip. We were there to totally relax, catch up on sleep and bliss out so this was a problem. Food got very dull very fast. Our partial ocean view room took partial to a new low. You had to stand in the very corner, bend over the railing and then you *might* see a sliver of water.

    The resort was really nice. Beautiful view from lobby. Hotel staff was great. Kids loved the kids club and Hashtag. Water sports right nearby. Location is right in the city which is very convenient.

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1- My reservation (booked 6 months in advance) was canceled 15 days before arriving without any previous contact. After 2 days discussing I got another reservation with a downgrade in my room from ocean to garden view. The hotel staff could be more friendly solving the issue which was solved thanks to booking.com; 2- Noise. There is a beach club just "inside" the hotel. All the rooms on the left are extremely noisy; 3- The personal in the pool blocks the chairs to the guests that give them the better “propina”; 4- A friend booked a pool room, but the pool is not private and its shared with other rooms. He found a condom in his pool in the first day.

    1- Breakfast is great, much better than other similar hotels with a fair price USD25; 2- Excelent kids club; 3- New year´s eve dinner was impeccable.

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Club King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are traveling with our 9 and 11 year old. There is club adjoining the property which plays loud music all day long. Also, for NYE it's very loud in every room due to live concert by the pool. All super fun but not so if you are travelling with little people. Ear plugs a must.

    The breakfast selection was delicious. They have a mix of traditional, continental, buffet and a la carte options. The facilities are beyond amazing. Yoga classes in the spa are exquisite. Location is superb. Walking distance into town. Staff are super friendly. The Hyatt club staff is outstanding.

  • December 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanview
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was pleasantly surprised that the location was so awesome! This resort was amazing! The staff was the best that I have encountered in Mexico in my several stays. They really care! The concierges were so helpful. The spa is like being in another peaceful world. The rooms, food and facilities including the work out were top notch. I am coming back again! The Grill served high end food. The Cocina more casual, but delicious too. The wait service impeccable! You will not be disappointed at the views and your relaxing environment.

  • December 17, 2016

    • Couple
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a swim-up room but we were never able to use it because the water was freezing. literally. The hotel should consider heating these pools during the winter months OR letting the guests know that they won't be able to use it. I could have booked an oceanfront room had I known that.

    I loved the beach area and the multiple pool areas. They were never crowded. Loved the service, the food at the restaurants and the room.

  • December 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Partial Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More fitness classes and improved facilities Too much construction work during the day The sushi was not good

    The bed was very comfortable The patio was very nice The toilet tree items were good The shower was very nice

  • December 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing about his hotel that I didn't like.

    This place was a dream. The hotel is beautiful, clean and amazingly decorated. The staff is gracious, helpful and it's almost like they read your mind. They were so welcoming and we're always trying to give us exactly what we wanted. It was everything I could have wanted out of a vacation.

  • December 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a few days music from the hotel club and club nearby was too loud with no chance to have any rest during the entire day.

    Stylish, modern, clean hotel. Nice pools. Very good restaurant.

  • December 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View King
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the beach club next door every day was loud. Didn't bother me too much, but it might do some holiday makers...

    Staff were excellent, they couldn't do enough for us. Faculties were clean, well maintained and the design overall was beautiful. Possibly one of the best hotel experiences we have had. Book!

  • December 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A special note, there is private exclusive club on the Hyatt property on the north side…Loud music and lots of activity so be aware. That venue is secluded to its own area and other than the music beat is a non-issue.

    This hotel is absolutely perfect as far as location goes…the wonderful beach and Caribbean setting is just amazing. Just out the front entrance you are on the streets of Playa del Carmen with many vendors and food foo selections…tours etc. The staff are very attentive and I strongly recommend the Grand Club level…Room location is ok….but no real need to stay in your room at a place like this. Great food selection right on site. The pool staff “Angel” and “Marcielo” were great and took great care of us poolside. We had Ocean Front Executive suite which was wonderful…we spent very little time in the room….next time will most likely book a Club level garden view.

  • November 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff of the hotel is quite unhelpful and slow. I arrived at the hotel at 1pm on the day I was supposed to check in and they said I would have to wait until 3pm but that they would try to prioritise me and give me access to the room before then. However, they ended up giving me the key at 5pm saying that the room needed cleaning. I am pretty sure they didn't exactly need 4 hrs to do that. The service was generally very. One day I needed some extra towels and they only got round to bringing over 1 hour after I requested them. This hotel claims to be a 5-star one but saying it is a 4-star hotel would be closer to the truth.

    The location of the hotel is really good and convenient

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had Swim-up room , meaning a semi-privat pool in the room ,its was great , just the water were a bit too cold .

    In our 3 weeks vacation to Mexico Grand Hyatt was the 5th hotel we staid in, and by far was the best! the design of the hotel is outstanding, the swimming pools are extraordinary (see picture) , perfect private beach , and breakfast was so so tasty the room is designed to give you all the comfort you can think of, the bed , the amazing bathroom , the digital control of the lights and much more

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no lobby to the hotel, the front desk is located outside which is a little weird.

    Awsome rooms, beautiful pool, best beach in playa del carmen, great service, great location by the city center.

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 11 nights

    They have a "dayclub" the Coralina next door but within their boundaries and this was very noisy during the dsay which was POK-But at throwing out time-7pm-there was always a lot of noise and drunks. At least 3 times during our stay an ambulance had to be called Too many corporate events there as well-We had to vacate the pool area one day at 4pm and then the signature restaurant was taken over one night

    The service and general feel of the hotel was great

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We reserved a room with a king bed and got a room with 2 queen beds instead. The hotel upgraded our room from ocean view to ocean front at no extra cost though so that made up for it.

    Excellent overall service especially at the luxurious hotel spa. Breakfast was extraordinary with a huge variety. We had a great experience.

  • October 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ocean view is actually a partial ocean view. The grand club doesn't give the option for breakfast near the pool.

    The luxury, pools, room interior

  • October 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Club King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Grill was sub-par. Housekeeping services need improvement as does the service on the beach.

    Beautiful hotel. La Cocina was great as was the Club Lounge. Very clean overall.

  • October 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Gardenview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is and adjoining bar at the hotel, playing music from 11am to 7pm, which was makes it very annoying for families like ours when trying to enjoy the hotel amenities. The staff didn't do much efforts in trying to attend our complaints. We were also charged 25USD a day for service, which we were surprised to learn is to cover for water and coffee in the rooms...

  • October 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All of the bathroom doors, two entrances, shower, and toilet, do not fully close, so there is a bit of a privacy issue. The music was a bit loud until into the evening. Fortunately, our room wasn't too close to it and it didn't bother me but I could see how it could if we were closer to the beach. I was aware of this prior to booking and asked for a room away from it. You have to remember it is Cancun/Playa del Carmen and not Hawaii.

    The hotel had great WiFi coverage, the beds were very comfortable. The shower was large and had 3 different type of heads. Plenty of closet space and had modern amenities. The prices for the mini bar were reasonable for this type of hotel. Location from 5th Avenue shopping was very convenient. They even had bicycles that you could use.

  • October 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You had to stand in the corner of your balcony to get a view of the ocean from the partial ocean view room. If you look outside while standing inside the room all you can see is other apartments.

    The breakfast buffet was great and had lots of options.

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that when I purchased the hotel through Bookings I detailed that we were 5 adults in 2 rooms. When I got to the hotel they said I had to pay an extra fee for 1 of the adults... $35 per day +taxes. Thought it was not fair because I did specify that we were 5 from the beginning.

    Love the location. The service . Great place. Hopefully We will be back.

  • September 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Hyatt King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we arrived after the check-in time of 3 pm we waited almost an hour for our room. We were tired and hungry. Reception is the first place you see and it sets the tone for the rest of the stay. Unfortunately, it was very disappointing.

    Dinner at The Grill was fabulous. The staff was excellent. The valet service was also excellent. If it wasn't for the check in, I would have given the service a top score.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The huge minus points for us compared to other Grand Hyatts and similar hotels were that despite paying a premium for the room, there was an extra mandatory charge of £20 per day for service, and an optional £30 per day charge to use the lap pool and sauna, as only the gym was free. Also, despite the hotel not being full, there was a charge of £110 per day to use the canopy beds, despite most of them going unused for the whole week. This struck us as overly money-grabbing and we have never known this sort of elite nonsense in other top class hotels. It made us feel cheated because the website mentioned all of those facilities as if they were free to use, and this was part of our decision to stay there. And the breakfast became boring after a week, as they didn't even serve salad to go with the cold meats or cheeses, and the choice was nowhere as comprehensive as at other hotels we've visited.

    The location is great, on a nice sandy beach and very close to the 5th Avenue. The hotel architecture is also wow, and you get amazing breezes sitting in the cafe or bar areas.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better, sometimes the quality was a little lacking

    We stayed 5 nights and being our first time in Mexico did not know what to expect. The complex is stunning and great location rooms good size and the staff freindly and willing to help. Would definitely return.

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was incredible! Thouroughly spoiled and pampered by the staff who are fantastic. The rooms are HUGE. The facilities are perfect and everything is spotlessly clean. The location is unbeatable - right on the beach and also close to all the shops and nightlife.

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy disco belonging to the hotel at 1st line of the beach, being the attraction of noisy, drunk youth.

    Variety and quality of the breakfast, offering mexican and international options

  • August 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Garden View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the view from the open corridors is of the old nesr hotel, not attractive view. Other than that the hotel is highly recommended. We'll certainly be back

    Very welcoming and helping staff. Great location near the 5th av. Very nice swiming pools.

  • August 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The temperature of the rooms was freezing, such that one of us got sick. In addition, the door of the pool restrooms got stucked and my girlfriend has been locked in for 45 minutes.

    Design and location were amazing.

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Seaview rooms are only partially seaview so not amazing if you are going for the view. you should get the ocean front suite. Also hotel rooms interior could be slightly better done up, seems a bit overly minimilastic hence Bare. Finally the worst thing was that some of the beds poolside were not part of the hotel basic facilities but rather you had to pay $150 more for them. That feels a bit cheap for an otherwise excellent hotel.

    Hotel location and overall facilities are excellent. The concierge and the tour desks were super helful in arranging trips around the island. Further they went out of their way to help us when we accidentally forgot our ipad in the rental car which we rented from the counter at the hotel.

  • August 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cabanas for hire on the beach and pool side were very steep. The booking web site should be not prevent me from booking a queen swim up room with children under 12, should have just popped up with a warning, caused so much time and headache for me that I didn't need on my vacation.

    The airy lobby looking all the way down to the beach, swim up room, the double queen room. The family are very impressed and happy with our stay there. The concierge were so helpful with dinner recommendations and making reservations for us.

  • July 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Hyatt King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    They bring you a check for every separate little thing you order. It makes you have to tip them every time. The "Hotel Extras" salesman is a great guy and seller, but his trips aren't the best. Beware of his sweet talk. I recommend renting a car and exploring what you can on your own. But still the best trip ever.

    The hotel is so beautiful, you can see the ocean as soon as you enter the hotel. Breakfast was amazing. Fresh juices and omelette station. They have a grill by the pool every afternoon with hotdogs and hamburgers. Delicious. Staff was so kind and helpful, they helped my boyfriend surprise me with a romantic dinner by the beach and it was incredible <3

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Swim-Up King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Everything was perfect!

    Everything was spectacular and so much attention to detail. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed.

  • July 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Partial Oceanview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That it was time to go.... I can't wait to return!

    The staff is beyond attentive. Housekeeping was phenomenal. Kids loved to find their stuffed animals all over the headboard...too fun! Food was outstanding. We didn't have to ask for anything...everything was provided before we knew we needed it. Far exceeded our expectations!!

  • July 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool service should come around more often asking guests if they need a drink or food Housekeeping did a great job but forgot to relplace coffe and sugar each day You should be allowed to smoke on balconies

    In the beauty salon the two girls working there were great for hair dos and makeup

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel architecture is amazing. Most comfortable bed and pillow. Location was perfect, accommodations very nice. Pools and lounge chairs great. Staff very nice. 'Grand floor' preference nice with separate lounge area with breakfast and happy hour. Personal concierge to make arrangements. SPA is GORGEOUS.

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a couple of issues with the plunge pool, but with a quick call the engineers were there to fix it

    Service was impeccable! From the front desk to the spa to the restaurants. Everyone was attentive and genuinely wanted you to have great time. We even got upgraded from our standard room to a plunge pool room

  • June 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have had a few more American/ australian options, no bacon, or suchlike sides like avocado, mushrooms, tomatoes, no bircher muslei, more cereal options

    Location and facilities oustanding, a beautiful resort

  • June 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not upgrade to ocean view rooms. Get ocean front if you have deep pocket to burn. Our ocean view room is basically hotel view. Yes you can see the ocean but mostly hotel bar and their garden. Their beach is chaotic. Good thing is you can play water sports rather easily. Not bad if you are looking for an activity oriented stay but if you are not it's a little bit too noisy. Another con is that the room door is like an open-back headphone you can hear everything happen in the hall way exactly which is very annoying when you already went to sleep and then there are a group of people chatting on their way back.

    The hardware of the hotel is good. Very nicely designed.

  • May 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Hyatt King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't criticize...I collapsed into bed after a day of cavern diving. The shower was hot, the bed was soft and the room service was prompt.

    This hotel is architecturally stunning with sweeping vistas. I booked it as a stop-over on my way down the coast. I was sorry I didn't have more time to enjoy the lovely facilities.

  • May 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was told to be kingsize and ended up being a queen. there isn't much pool area, the cabanas must be paid for and are quite expensive.

    we received a bottle of wine for our anniversary. there is an exclusive adult pool. service was impecable. Right next to Coralina the new and hip beach day club.

  • May 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service is mediocre. I asked for ice and at a different time, for towels. We never got any of the two items.

    Beautiful facilities. And great location.

  • May 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we asked for late check out, we were given until 2pm and on the day we were urged to get out by 1pm; stressful

    great location, infrastructure, staff, restaurants, pool area, gym, rooms

  • May 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Coralina Beach Club at the beach, located within the Grand Hyatt but not part of it, plays music the whole day, sometimes very loud, which makes relaxing at the beach sometimes challeging, especially if one has a week of holiday and always hears the same bumbum. The rooms are a bit small, although very modern. There is no possibility to take a drink at the hotel bar after 23.30hs

    The location is superb, the service at the beach is excellent. The design of the hotel is very modern and beautiful. The staff is very friendly.

  • May 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hyatt restaurants highly over rated and priced. We did not eat there. The drink prices and quality of drinks were over priced $72 for 2 drinks. Had a few drops of cheap tequila. I thought tequila came from Mexico. Hyatt not a place to go to eat or drink.

    Liked layout of facility. Very open. Everything flowed. Pools were great. Staff was superb. Maid service was exception.

  • April 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Gardenview
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise level from the hotels own pool bar music, but especially from the day club next to the hotel was so loud that it was not possible to enjoy the ocean or get the Caribbean feeling. In fact that alone will prevent us from staying at this property again

    Great new facility

  • April 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Appalling noise from nearby clubs Not worth paying more for a sea view - exactly the same as a partial sea view which all of the rooms have! Would know because we booked both. Hype man screaming into a mic till past 3/4am Room was so noisy it may have well been a club Didn't bothere us in the day but it was horrendous at night Staff aren't the best, accidentally charged us twice for our total stay, had to loop the manager in to actually get anything done

    Beautifully designed hotel Brand new Good breakfast Nice infinity pools Lots of activities for kids if you're a family

  • April 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gorgeous resort! Prime location in Playa. Service was exceptional in every area, from front desk, concierge, food and beverage and pool staff. Rivals any Four Seasons or Ritz.

  • April 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Partial Oceanview
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The resort is new and very well maintained! The pool and beach are gorgeous, with extra attentive staff all hours of the day. The resort sits at the top of an incline and is only a 2 block walk to the Avenue to shop. The restaurants at the resort are great! The coffee bar is awesome - where in the states can you get a huge coffee with shots of espresso & delicious pastries for $5?! Lunches at the pool are awesome - go up to choose, fill a plate at the Grill. Dinner was impeccable there! We liked having the day club as part of the resort. The music was great - not super loud (as others have complained) and different DJs spinning during the day. There were no people out of hand during our stay, which included St Patrick's Day. Our room was right above the club and we sat on our deck to listen to the music before dinner - shuts down early - "day" club .

  • April 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Partial Oceanview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The noise from outside.

    The staff was very well trained and very attentive, especially Erick Alvarez ( the bellboy), and Karen (from La Cocina). The food was delicious in all restaurants.

  • April 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool and beach access is great but the ocean view room was not worth the extra dollars - unless you are in the premium suites don't bother. Also the constant weddings and functions are so loud and intrusive.

  • April 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanview
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This location isn't for everyone. The beach was very populated and a loud, day club is located on the property. The electronic dance music starts at noon and it gets progressively more obnoxious throughout the day. Be sure to book a room on the quiet side of the building unless EDM is your thing. Note that beach is a public beach and many locals set up umbrellas immediately in front of the beach chairs. If you're looking for a quiet, secluded vacation then this property is NOT for you. However, if you like a lively, fun place then this place is great. BTW many families with young kids were present.

    Absolutely gorgeous property. Loved the openness. I liked how close it's located to 5th avenue. The rooms are spacious.

  • April 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Gardenview
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Despite the nice set up the "daylight club" in this hotel destroys value proposition. Loud music and overcrowded beach. Even if the club is not part of the hotel it is located in the same building and adjacent to the pool side. No excuse for Hyatt to be not responsible

    Very nice hotel, recent style. very polite and helpful staff, great breakfast. Well located in the proximity of Playa del Carmen central

  • March 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hyatt Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dj bar on the beach plays loud music all afternoon!!! It is the place for young people , impossible relaxing!! expensive drinks by the beach and wine list at restaurants Price room showed on web is not , in additional must add another 26% for tax , service , and whatever , too much ! It should be including on room price to be correct !!!

    Rooms spot on ! Restaurant are good for beach resorts Location Beach waiters service !!

  • March 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to get sun lounges , loud music from 725am until exhaustion sets in , too many kids in the Grand Club. Need to give adults a break from what is more a kids club than a place for a quiet drink.

    The rooms , the location to the beach and the town and shopping and restaurants is great

  • March 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanfront
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was excellent. Everyone had a smile and I genuinely felt they were ready to help with any request I had. The food was fresh and delicious. The hotel itself is a unique design and with the location right in the beach what else can you ask for?

  • March 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Employees were very friendly and very helpful. There are plenty of chairs and a beautiful beach. You don't need to carry money or credit cards, they will charge everything to your room.

  • March 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Oceanview King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the choice of Breakfast should change for 6 fays having the same options wasnt that great! but the food quality is very good!

    Hotel is great, staff always very helpfull!

  • March 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Huge negative is the day beach club that is part of the hotel, but run by external owners. They play music REALLY loud from 11am to 7pm and the hotel is not able to control the noise level despite continuous complaints from several guests. Please consider this if you are traveling with children or are an older couple who will find this an even bigger inconvenience. Especially the ocean front rooms (great view but expensive) will be extremely noisy.

    - Fabulous location, just one block from fifth avenue and all the restaurants and shops. - Beautiful hotel with all the amenities you could wish for. - Right on the beach with clear water and white sand. - Great gym and spa. - Good food in restaurants and also choice of coffee, sushi and breakfast bar for a light breakfast or snack.

  • March 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The constant loud music from the Coralina's club next door totally ruined any sense of peaceful beach relaxation. I would be reluctant to rebook at this hotel because of that noise.

    Friendly efficient staff..beach location great, except for... see next

  • February 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Hyatt King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Payment form (mexican pesos), ridiculous resort fee (what is the main payment for?), tips, tips and more tips. To be well treated, you have to pay extra.

    Location, facilities, breakfast, bedroom

  • February 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with 2 Queen Beds Oceanfront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing I would change here is the music from the club next to the pool which goes from early afternoon to early evening. The place was packed, so lots of guests loved this. I prefer the sound of waves or my own music with headphones, but this is just personal preference.

    The views of the water here are stunning. Great beach and pools. Rooms clean. They helped coordinate a birthday celebration including balloons and cake in our room upon arrival. Very friendly and professional staff. Great location near 5th Ave.

  • February 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Oceanview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The day club that is now part of the hotel detracted from the entire experience. The noise level was horrendous so loud that we had to leave the resort on a daily basis to get away from the noise.

    The resort was fantastic, the staff and food great.

  • February 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Grand Hyatt King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a late check out and they told us that we can stayed one more hour, 20 minutes later we received a call from front desk telling us that there were an accident on the way to the airport, so we should leave earlier to get on time to take the plane. We asked to two different taxi drivers and they told us there were no accident at all that day. Of course the hotel guys told us that so we have to go earlier.

    Beautiful architecture!!!

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud obnoxious heavy bass music from the beachfront bar next door.

    This is the loveliest hotel I've ever seen. The rooms are huge. The beds are comfortable. The views are outstanding. Everything about the hotel is 5 star.

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Hyatt - Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is truly amazing. The facilities are incredible! The rooms are spacious with a nice view. You can even have rooms with a shared private pool. The location is perfect! If you come with friends there is a really good day club just right next to hotel. The food is good as well. Finally service wise all the staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • January 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    not bad, but I couldn't use the swimming pools because they were sooo cold. I checked every day but always cold. I rarely saw anyone in the pools. Also, we are used to having a hot tub available without going to a spa. Missed that at your property!

    Great rooms, beautiful beach and super nice staff!

  • January 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    4 items misterioulsy disappeared. 2 sunglasses , 1 sunglasse cover and a t-shit- the tshirt I am 100 % sure it was in the room yet it disappeared and no one never knew. I have been in a lot of hotels and this never happened before...

    Beautiful hotel

  • January 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet was expensive but with so many options nearby we only ate there once.

    A great location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We plan to return and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Playa del Carmen is much more enjoyable than Cancun.

  • January 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe King Room with Partial View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in took ages, They overcharge for NY period but terribly the hotel is understaffed. For NY dinner 3 waiters on 200 people dinner. At beach 2 waiters on whole beach. Rooms not made up until 7pm almost every night. You can feel and smell the humidity in rooms, its very present and strong. Concierge useless, they cant help with anything we asked. Beach is public so DON'T SYAT HERE on CHRISTMAS, NEW YEAR, SCHOOL HOLIDAY as you have literally hundreds of people in front of you lying on the beach with umbrellas etc. Your view is useless. This is the worst service i have ever seen and experienced. The stuff is doing their best but the Hotel is just running them into the ground as they are terribly understaffed. They should be ashamed to call themselves Grand Hyatt. Breakfast very basic, same every day. Food not very tasty, Basically stay here only if you must

    The stuff on beach friendly, very impressive open plan lobby.

  • December 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise at the beach from a leased nightclub blaring music. We understand the hotel is working to resolve this problem and we expect the Hyatt will get this taken care of.

    The hotel is spectacular. The staff is uniformly helpful, friendly and cheerful.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hyatt Playa del Carmen Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: