Reviews of Palapas del Sol 4 stars

Playa Norte Paseo Kuka, 77310 Holbox Island, Mexico

#7 of 53 hotels in Holbox Island

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 481 hotel reviews

9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 20, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is very quiet and the beach opposite the hotel is the best on the island. Walking to town is only 10 minutes or you can rent a bike. The hotel is super clean and looks even better than the pictures. Staff super helpful and friendly. Great selection of fruits and eggs for breakfast. Ceviche for lunch delicious. Paradise for us! Definitely will came back.

  • January 11, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not everyone spoke conversational English but were always good to get someone who did.

    Booked last minute as had problems with originally booked accomodation. Staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful generally. We arrived sick with food poisoning and they facilitated a quick check in, gave us tablets which helped and were very kind. Location is very good, walk straight on to the beach. Facilities generally quiet. Very family friendly. The Bungalow rooms are lovely, very clean and well maintained and spacious. We stayed for 5 nights. Upgraded into one of the front facing large studio rooms for latter of that and loved the room.

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the village.

    Location just in front of the beach. Great breakfast Lovely design. Lots of TV channels if the day is not god to go out.

  • December 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The owner was around, she saw us several times but never greeted/acknowledged us, which we found a bit strange - Wifi didn't work well - They charged my card without letting me know. We wanted to pay in cash but it was already charged.

    I think this is the hotel with the very best location in Holbox, the beach is just amazing and it is not so big as the other ones, which makes it feel cozier and cool. - Ultra comfy bed - Very nice breakfast, super tasty - Huge room with a hammock inside - Staff was nice, one day they went to the beach and offered us complementary drinks

  • November 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Suite Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shuttle at Cancun was delayed and I tried more than 5 times in 30 minutes to call the hotel but didn't got a response. The superior Suite was without any equipment and not even finished. We could not un pack out suitcases case there were no place to put out stuff. the second Level was under construction and we had the whole day bothering construction noice and even at the beach. The Pump of the Pool was directly at the room and also pretty noisy. Stuff was ok but also not really nice.

    Actually not a lot

  • November 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hotel, located at a 15 minutes walk from the center. The beach is the most beautiful one on the island. The staff is really helpful. The meals are amazingly good and not expensive, we did not even try to eat elsewhere. A bungalow was in construction but the noise was not annoying at all and they offered us diner to apologize. We would definitely come back here if we came back to Holbox.

  • October 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hospitality at Palapas del Sol is top class, in a very natural and warm way. Marty, Edie and the team, including the amazing cooks all contribute to this warm atmosphere. It is located right on the beach with a cool bar area in the sand, so nice. On our last morning, there was a torrential downpour of rain and we could not get a buggy taxi to come and take us to meet our boat, but Marty so kindly stepped in and found an inventive way to get us, another couple and all our luggage to the port for the boat - he went above and beyond our expectations! We came away from our stay feeling so refreshed, relaxed and well-nourished! :-) will definitely go back!

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing i could ask for are more sockets in the bedroom.

    Super nice and relaxing hotel, super nice beach, good food and cocktails. Team is friendly and very welcoming!

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitos, nothing anyone could do about it. Shower, water came out of shower( short shower curtain) loud AC.

    Very helpful friendly stuff. Excellent location. Clean rooms. Great bar service:)

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Accomodation is well spread out, giving privacy and space. Great sunbeds and beach huts. Friendly staff, good food and service. Highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I love to walk, but If you don't want to walk the 15-20 minutes to town, you will need to take a 40 peso taxi back and forth each time (especially at night when it's pitch black). The staff smiled and did their jobs, but I didn't get much more than that. I think the language barrier had a lot to do with it.

    Very nice made to order breakfasts with fresh fruits, juice and coffee. Pool was always clean and grounds were raked every day. The room was spacious with much appreciated a/c and a ceiling fan. Lovely grounds and the property is located on the nicest part of the beach.

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Palapas del Sol is an amazing place I will return a thousand times! Great location, amazing food, and the best is definitely the staff and their kindness, willingness to grant their guests every wish!

  • September 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palapa Penthouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very unfriendly, unhelpful staff, we didn't feel welcome at all. No smile or 'good morning' was replied, also after one week. At the Penthouse suite the door could not even be closed or locked, there was no lock or key, dogs could walk into the room anytime. A/C was just in the bedroom, all other areas were not airconditionned as mentioned in the room description. Also no wifi in the room. Not enough value for a very pricey room.

    excellent food, great beach and pool

  • September 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It isn't cheap and it's like 25min walk to the center with restaurants etc. On the bright side, you can see an amazing sky during your walk.

    I loved it! Very easy and comfy atmosfere, located literally at the beach, which by the way is really beautiful!!! The staff was helpful and pite. The place is amazing, a little piece og Heaven on Earth! I would have stayed there for a month if I could

  • September 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to not like, amazing place.

    The location of this hotel is amazing, only a few moments from the beach, and a short walk into the centre of town. Beautiful apartments, and fantastic food served by lovely staff. Just like paradise !

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet was working on and off.

    Location was just great, right on the beach. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was a killer!

  • August 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were a bit high for me, we did not have anywhere to hang our clothes, and a chair inside the room would have been great

    The food the location the service the place were really great, it is worth every cent👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

  • July 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Palapas del Sol is a relaxing, comfortable, and beautiful spot to stay for nature and beach lovers. The staff is dedicated (especially Martin) to helping you in any way they can including booking drivers and tours such as kayaking through the mangroves and a trip to bird island and a cold water lagoon to swim in with a local captain named Manolo who has a fleet of boats ready to go. If the 15 minute walk to town is too long for you on a hot afternoon, the staff will call you a golf cart taxi. The bar and hotel are right across from a stunning beach. You can grab a cold beer and fresh guacamole and feel the gentle gulf breezes cool you off. The a/c works great and the pool is centrally located and easy to dip into for a quick cool down. Loved the included breakfast of fresh fruit plate and juice, and a choice of Mexican egg dishes or fluffy pancakes. The mosquitos are highly active at dusk and dawn so make sure to bring repellent. A wonderful spot to unwind.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Scorpion in room, bugs in bathroom & on walls, geckos (4) on ceiling and walls. Dogs barking. no locks on doors, wi-fi out more than on. we left after only 4 days could not stand to stay any longer.

    Food was good.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traffic is busy several times a day between the hotel and the beach. Bring your bug spray on Holbox!

    Great food, nice rooms, great staff, fabulous location.

  • July 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mosquitos and the smell of the bedsheets

    The beach is just in front of you and its amazing, you can spend all day without shoes, and go from your room to the beach. No many tourist there. Edi, the guy in the bar/restaurant is super nice.

  • July 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioner in restaurant for night so one can escape mosquitos and other biting insects would have been nice

    Excellent food in restuarant. Beach is very pretty and makes it an enjoyable walk to town

  • July 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was under construction... They are expanding, so there was a untidy.

    Amazing location. Very friendly staff! They were very helpful and gladly made vegan food for us 🌱😉 and helped us arrange responsible tourism.

  • June 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio Superior with Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs comfortable chairs in room. Staff should wear uniforms. Staff could be more attentive. They seemed to do the basics but did not go beyond what was minimum required. Holbox as a whole should address the mosquito problem. In town we saw to many homes with containers of standing water and boxes of beer bottles full of water, along with standing water in yards. It was our 4th visit to Holbox (we live in Merida) it was a great visit and a great hotel.

    Great full breakfast. Great palapas on the beach, clean beach, comfortable loungers and hammocks. Great balcony on the second floor suite. Big room, with beautiful view. Nicely decorated. Staff was pleasant. Perfect location on beautiful beach.

  • June 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    dogs barking at 4 AM, lots of construction noise, less personal, Palapas del Sol doubled in size since our last stay 12 months ago

    great breakfast good location

  • June 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we liked that it was a small hotel with not too many units- not alot of people beds were great pool was lovely staff was friendly and helpful always beach was amazing

  • June 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Superior with Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was outstanding and the vacinity to the beach made it a breeze! We enjoyed the covered cabanas on the beach. The mornings were a delight with great breakfast! We will return one day!

  • June 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sincerely we can't find anything wrong. We have had just a bad smell coming from the bathroom for a couple of days, but nothing major.

    We liked everything! Our superior room was excellent with a great position in front of the sea. The beach of the hotel was probably the best of the island. The staff was very nice and supportive.

  • May 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I noticed they were under constuction. While the construction did not at all interfere with our stay (no noise, no inconvenience), I'd be concerned that getting too big might influence the character of the place.

    Everything. Beautiful place, friendly and helpful staff. Did was delicious and fresh. Quiet. Relaxing. Just what the dr ordered!

  • May 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like to have some hooks for the towels.

    All was uncomplicated and nice. I had not the Feeling to be in a Hotel more like in a private house. The beach was clean and the sun lounger comfortable.

  • April 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    more shade on the beach would be great, as it's a bit like a "run for shade sunbeds" even before breakfast, if the hotel is well booked

    relaxed but still very professional atmosphere, incredible cocktails and mango-lime-juices, very friendly and helpful staff (special thanks to Edy & Martin)

  • April 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant at night and lunch time was empty and so far back from everything. It didn't look like a good place to eat for a romantic night so we went elsewhere. The staff didn't go out of there way to make us feel welcomed and for the price we paid...this was important to me but maybe they were having a bad day. We were only there for one night. And there was construction during the time we were there so it was a little noisy near our room.

    I really liked that the hotel was right in front of the most beautiful beach area and very calm place as well. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The beach was very clean compare to other areas right next to it where a lot of algae was still left there. So thank god for that. Breakfast was absolutely delicious!

  • March 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    King Matress old.... Very curved inward No fridge. No coffee maker. No p-trap in bathroom sink plumbing and therefore very stinky Easy fix. Not enough outdoor furniture on deck that is comfortable and movable Needs cushions

    Best staff ever. Best location on island. Best beach Best guacamole Our room was upgraded to the best one " la rosa". Beautiful !!!

  • March 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This was the best beach vacation I have ever had. It was not only the island of Holbox, but the unbelievable staff and accomodations at Palapa del Sol. They were accomodating in every way. It was clean, beautiful, great service, always with a smile. I didn't ever way to leave!!! I would highly recommend this fabulous place.

  • March 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    This is the most incredible picturesque setting. The staff headed by manager Martin was so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Rooms and beds were very comfortable, and the beach bar with outdoor seating completed the package for us. The staff here really care about the guest experience, this combination with the views and hotel itself really set Palapas del Sol apart from the rest for us. We went for our honeymoon and were not disappointed. Can't wait to go back!

  • March 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The construction next door was annoying and the golf carts sputtering along the beach road between the hotel and beach take away from what could be a very tranquil and perfect little hotel. Soon the construction will be over and hopefully the community will take care of moving the road to the back.

    The attention to detail and personal care of the guests was above and beyond anything I have experienced at any other hotel. The staff are wonderful and the restaurant is excellent.

  • March 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough sunbeds, hot water only enough for one shower, King Suite quite small. Kept awake one night by Hotel dog barking, but it was kept in when we asked Managment. If you are a like a good night sleep suggest you request this on check in.

    Great Location, fabulous breakfast-quality of food and service.

  • March 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid for ocean view/front and were very disappointed with the tiny view through the trees and other palapas. Every thing else we didn't like was through no fault of palapa del sol. The weather turned chilly, the seaweed was terrible and the mosquitoes were relentless! We were only able to swim in the ocean once during our week stay.

    Loved the island. All the roads were sand and transportation was by golf cart, bicycle of motorbike. Loved the beach walks. The food was very good for the most part. Staff at palace del sol were all great. Martin took very good care of us. The town was an easy walk and had many great restaurants and shops. There were no high pressure vendors anywhere. None on the beach or even in the shops. You could shop without the pressure. So nice for Mexico.

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    if I have to find an improvement, that would be the little water on the floor in the toilet , however they are fixing it!

    Basically everything ... Position is great, forget your shoes for the whole stay !

  • February 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What's not to like? I guess the only thing better would have been to have the place to ourselves, and we could have stayed with them longer.

    PDS has a thoughtful, kind, service oriented staff. This is the place to relax and just BE- the perfect chill environment The ability to listen to the ocean on property is key for us, and even with the property being fully booked, it never felt too crowded or too loud.( Type A's and partygoers may want to be in the more populated, lively town center or west side). As a professional Massage Therapist, I can also recommend the Mayan Massage! Oh, and the food??? Fresh and delish. Good vibes abound...

  • February 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we had to leave.

    Everything was simply amazing. Martin and the entire staff were nothing short of fabulous. From the incredible food to the beautiful beach, our gorgeous room to the furry friends roaming the grounds - it was everything we had hoped for and more. Simply the best!

  • February 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of a thing.

    This is my favorite place in the world! The staff is amazing! So kind, so helpful and accommodating. The place is just breathtaking. If you made it here you know what I'm talking about. I have been here three times this year and I can't wait to come back.

  • February 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs are extremely kind and helpful ! I lost my phone before leaving, they tried their best to help me to find it ! food is much good compared with other restaurants in the area. The room is big, comfortable and cute with the special decoration. I love it !

  • February 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower. Water was inconsistent. Noisy at times.

    Welcome was friendly. Food fantastic. Beach bar tons of fun and great service. Perfect for kids to play safely.

  • February 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palapa Penthouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we were there it was unseasonably windy and cold and the room didn't have heat. But this is an unfair criticism because it wasn't weather anyone could have anticipated, and the staff gave us extra blankets and did everything possible to make up for the crummy few days of weather. And after three days of bad weather, we had two days of absolute paradise.

    Beautiful accommodations. The owner and staff were just amazing - made us feel like the most important thing was our comfort and happiness.

  • February 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was construction behind the property, which was quite disturbing. But nothing they could do anything about.

    great location and breakfast is lovely.

  • February 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction noise!!!! We were not warned that there was a major undertaking of the building and construction of a new resort right next door, listening to hammering, a power planer (EXTREMELY NOISEY, and all day long!), hammer drills, etc.... As well as the construction of improvements at Palapas del Sol. The only concern resort wise for the facilities would be for individuals who had mobility issues staying in the upper palapa rooms as the top steps are extremely steep. Our comfort level was a bit less than expected and we were slightly disappointed. We were one of the older palapa rooms and in the evenings you could hear the bats squeeking and a couple times you would swear they were in your room. Also there was tiny bugs in the bathrooms. When the winds blew the room was quite noisy and having ear plugs is a necessity for the light sleeper

    The staff first and foremost are extremely hard working and friendly to make your experience at Palapas del Sol as nice as possible, from the breakfast to dinner service to the towel animals in our rooms. The breakfasts that were included were fantastic, and by far is above the expectations for a continental breakfast. The wifi here is one of the best that we experience on our trip to Mexico this year (we stayed at 3 different hotels and it was the fastest and most consistent) They are extremely accomadating and willing to help you set up massages, tours, bike rentals, etc. If you manage to get one of the newer rooms at the hotel, you would most likely be more content with the room than the older rooms....

  • January 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was just awful... No "We are happy you stay with us", no smile during the five days. When we left they didn't even asked how our stay was. It was just unbelievable how grumpy the woman behind the reception was, who we think is the boss there. That made our trip really not nice! Or the other way around, it would have been amazing ;) They even lost something in the laundry and didn't apologize and first wanted us to pay for the laundry anyway! The food tastes good but first there could be a menu for breakfast and the menu could be bigger. (We couldn't see eggs anymore after that time there). When we were there, it looked like they were building Palapas del Sol 2, so it was loud during the day because of construction work. We think they should have stopped while having breakfast. (It's impossible to relax when somebody is hammering on stones next to you) Also here no apologies or anything like it.

    Architecture and interior is beautifully made. The hotel is located on the last stretch of the beach, which was also the cleanest part in terms of alge as, also it was "calmer" there / less tourists. It could have been a beautiful stay but the devil is in the details...

  • January 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service in the restaurant was a bit slow, sometimes very slow.

    Very friendly personal, nice rooms and great breakfast and lunch. More local feeling than most other hotels on this otherwise very un-authentic but beautiful island. Fifteen minutes walk from the city which is welcome if you want to get away from the tourist crowds, but still be able to walk to the restaurants.

  • January 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach access was amazing and they did a great job of clearing the sea grass. The hotel is isolated enough that you have quiet, but close enough to town to walk or take a golf cart!

  • January 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They are building a new hotel just next to Palapas and it was noicy, but we got a generous disscount, thank you!

    Location, rooms, food and staff! Real and genuin, loved it!

  • January 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Superior with Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from a nearby construction site.

    Great location right on the beach, within walking distance from the town but far enough from it. Great staff who is always there to solve any problem.

  • January 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My "sea view" was strained to see. (Second photo)There was more of a construction view.(first photo) No hot water for shower. Bathroom smelled. Restaraunt would've been nicer on the beach. Lots of ants and a cockroach the size of my big toe. There was no iPod dock that was in description.

    The beds were soooo comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was big. Pool nice. Great facilities at the beach. I didn't smell stinky chemical laundry detergent for the sheets like many places I've been to in Mexico.

  • December 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That We couldn't stay longer !

    This was our second time at palapas del sol The place is beautiful, the staff is great and they go out of their way to make us comfortable . The beach is the best in Holbox

  • December 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The amazing staff, beautiful beach, delicious breakfast and food, nice bungalow. The fact that they made it up to us because there was construction works during our stay.

  • December 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    service is sometime very slow at restaurant - need to ask where the meals are because either we waited more than 45 minutes or they never came

    the room, the breakfast, the beach lounge beds and the authentic look of the hotel

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor WiFi all the time and continuous construction noise made relaxing difficult.

    We enjoyed the hard working and friendly staff. The enjoyed our meals at restaurant.

  • November 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the evening before our depatement we announced to go to the 09:00 ferry. They suggested to leave the hotel at 08:30 with the taxi. We were ready at breakfast at 08:00, the omlette arrived at 08:40, the taxi at 08:45. This became an unnecessary hurry.

    Idyllic, at the Beach, small, authentic, beautiful room

  • November 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not all the rooms have actual views of the beach and I think the staff could have been a bit more forthcoming about this when I contacted them before I made my reservation. Nevertheless, the beach is a stone throw away, and it was a lovely stay anyways.

    Palapas del Sol was wonderful. The beach there is fantastic, the staff very helpful, and the rooms are very tastefully decorated and simple yes lovely.

  • November 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole staff was extremely friendly and always ready to help. I stayed in Palapas del Sol during the low season, and Samuel and Estela always did their best to make me feel at home and took really good care of me. The food is delicious (you should try the fish ceviche!) and made with fresh produce. Highly recommended!

  • October 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very good!

    Fantastic hotel !!! Great staff, it felt like a family. The food was amazing! Martin the manager is the a coolest guy. Lovely rooms, very clean with comfortable king size bed. we didnt wanna leave...

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    High heat and humidity Mosquitoes that made being out a misery at times. Limited menu....town was a taxi ride away.

    Charm of the bungalow. Pleasantness of staff Cleanliness

  • September 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We loved this place! My boyfriend and I had booked 6 nights in August and loved it so much we ended up staying for 11 nights. We couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel, the staff, and the location. The honesty bar is a great touch and gives it a really homely feel, the breakfasts and all the food is fantastic and really fresh, and the staff are just wonderful, Martin made our whole trip unforgettable! It's right on the beach, the rooms are decorated in a simple, rustic style and the location is perfect - close enough to town but still feels private. We will definitely be back for more and highly recommend Palapas del Sol and Holbox!

  • August 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the only reason i put a non smiley face in comfort is because one has to deal with constructions in certain rooms ( martin very kindly moved us -he was very understanding and accomodating!) the constructions are not even from the hotel itself so it is not in their control but one has to be warned it can be very aggravating if located in the wrong room.. also we happened to have a lot of mosquitos during our stay in holbox - bad luck as it does not seem to be a permanent issue there- but there are no mosquito nets to protect the beds at night which can be a problem - and wifi did not work in the second room but in the first one - but worked most of the time in the restaurant area -

    the staff is amazing - its like home- everyone is very kind and helpful- Martin the manager was very very professional , helpful and nice the entire time we were there. the location is perfect- a bit remote from town but close enough still to go out for dinner on bikes etc.... the habitations are great- comfortable- nicely decorated-very clean etc I would go back in a heartbeat- loved the place !

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a little maintenance problem with the shower but they repair it in 1 day, the mosquitoes is not their problem but install a bed cover could be a great improvement

    Amazing place and hospitality, the staff service is great, also they gave us a lot of tips and information to enjoy all amenities from the island.

  • August 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    PARADISE! Incredible staff who all go out of their way to make your vacation the best vacation EVER! The rooms are beautiful, bright, clean and so comfy! (I am extremely picky when it comes to bed linens and towels and I was extremely satisfied) Located in a quiet but convenient area right on the beach which is key for breezes and comfort all day. The town is a quick leisurely stroll away with restaurants galore (our favorites: Viva Zapata and Los Peleones) We have nothing but wonderful memories and only wish we were still in Holbox.

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lovely bungalows lacked places to hang your clothes. We had only 4 hooks in our room for the two of us. There is no closet, not a big deal, but lots of hooks would be helpful.I used the balcony for the damp or wet stuff. Our A/c was a bit cantankerous. Would shut off on its own and due to the high ceilings was hard to get the room cool again (it was July and very hot). Hot water was available for a few minutes in the shower- did not really need this- but in the winter one might! Also wished we had a way to rinse our sandy feet before coming up the steps to our room. The pool was lovely but be aware- in the summer can be full of children.

    Location was perfect for us- away from town- 20 minute walk or a $3 taxi ride put us closer to the water on a very clean and private beach. I loved our beach! The staff was amazing! very friendly and attentive to your every need. The wifi was surprisingly good, esp in the restaurant area. The food was really good.

  • July 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was very loud contruction for new bungalows and rooms and for a hotel right next door. It started in the morning (not too early) and ended around sunset. Our room had no sea view as it was in the back of the property, which was fine for us since we only stayed 2 nights.

    Beautiful beach in front of the hotel. Excellent food. The rooms are nice and the decoration is very cute. The personnel is extremely nice and they helped arrange a wonderful full whaleshark tour.

  • July 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Suite with Watch Tower - Oceanfront
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wi-fi wasn't great when I was there but I really didn't need it

    The beautiful grounds and amazing hosts that made sure my stay was great. This is the place to get away

  • July 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was incredibly hospitable and friendly. The rooms were so beautifully decorated and comfortable, and we were right on the beach. The island is absolutely magical!

  • June 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent. Please do not change a thing.

    Quiet and relaxing. This is the place to go if you truly want to get away from it all. I can't say enought about Martin, Estella, and all of the good people here. They are constantly working to assure everything is perfect! We will return!!!

  • June 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We spent a week there with our 2 little boys the place was absolutely beautiful and the staff was wonderful We are looking forward to going back and would highly recommend palapa Del Sol

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tranquility, wonderfully relaxed ambience. Fabulous Palmas room with AC and quirky individual decor ...palms create shade over the pool for a very welcome respite from the Mexican sun!! Lying on the Cabanas watching the friendly lizards while away the day. Being hypnotised by the amazing endless sea views, in so many beautiful tones of greens and blues. White soft sand between your toes, and coconut trees rustling their leaves in the warm breeze. Swinging in the hammocks on our balcony and on the beach sipping margaritas and watching the sun set while Pelicans fly by. Just perfect!

  • May 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was not always friendly. When we arrived the room was not ready, which was not a problem for us, but we had to find out ourselves when it was ready. The staff was ok, but not friendly as elsewhere in Mexico.

    The hotel is beautifull, a perfect place to relax, has all the needed facilities and respect for environment

  • May 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Suite Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like a hard bed and these were a little too hard.

    Wifi: For parents of little ones, we set up a baby monitor on an app between our two phones. The wifi enabled us to enjoy the pool and all the lounge options during her nap. At night, we were able to have adult dinners (gasp!) and enjoy after dinner swims.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palapas del Sol Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: