Reviews of Marina Beach Residence 2 stars

4 rue Auguste Page, Baie des citrons, 98000 Noumea, New Caledonia

#7 of 13 hotels in Noumea

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 92 hotel reviews

8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 42

  • October 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely bed, electric blind & great air conditioning. Free wifi ( better than more upmarket hotel which claimed to provide free wifi but provided measly amount). It would be preferable if upstairs guests didn't clatter-around in heals. The tiled foors make noise an issue.

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lousy mattress Mean with supplies Cooking gear terrible

    Nice people Two receptionists, Elizabet and Patricia , extra nice Cleaner and handyman also nice Good location

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 30 nights

    The mattress could be more hard.TV programs could be more in English,almost everything in French.Sometimes you can catch the film in English,but not so much.Another things is OK and nothing more to expect from budget hotel.

    For Noumea it's the best hotel if you don't want luxury.Very close to the beach and bars (restaurants) on shore.So good enough location.Staff on the reception speaking English very well,except staff who makes cleaning and another.No one English word.The most nice person Elizabeth,who works on the reception.WFi is not free,only if you stay the hole month.So,if you want something not so expensive,then Marina Beach is the best place in Noumea.On this island is everything very expensive.I'm staying here already second month and i'm fine :-) Very quiet hotel and in the night nobody disturb you.Take the room 19 it's next to the reception.If i need to come here again,i prefer to stay the same hotel.

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 29 nights

    people accessing motel 2am 3am 4am 5 am noise guests drunk people entering leaving entering leaving all night thursday friday saterday nights if you want peace and quiet don't stay near front door it was bad

    location close to everything

  • July 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would recommend some better cutlery, no knives in the kitchen and no cooking utensils. A cutting board would be good and a small pot for cooking. Also there was not enough toilet paper, so I ended up buying more myself and I ran out of soap on the last day and found some extra in my bag. The corridor was very noisy late at night with people coming in and slamming the entrance door with noisy shoes on the concrete floor, which woke me on several occasions. Bed was noisy when I moved over in the night too.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Warm room. Love the blinds. All the facilities were in good condition. Easy to use this space. Really pleased to have the safe. Great shower, basin and mirror. Great price. Excellent location and handy to buses. Wifi was awesome. Thank you so much.

  • June 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 11 nights

    You had to park your hire car in one of the nearby (narrow) streets, and spots were sometimes hard to find. The room was serviced only once during our 11-night stay.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location good - right at the north end of the Baie des Citrons with the beach practically right opposite. There were many restaurants and bars nearby, and it was only a 10-minute walk to the shopping centre at Port Plaisance. A small shop selling the basics was barely two minutes walk away. The room was simply furnished, but at 8,000 francs per night, was good value in comparison to the prices charged at other hotels.

  • June 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 29 nights

    Foam mattress, not firm enough. Can't sit up in bed against the wall to read or watch TV without the bed running away.

    Excellent location. Cooking facilities. WiFi.

  • April 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lack of cooking utensils, cleaning materials (tea towels, sponge. detergent) and crockery. Room was never serviced (Rubbish disposed of nor toilet paper replaced. A lot of internal noise at night.

    Wonderful staff. Location. Security good.

  • February 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been good to have some dish soap and a dish brush for dishes

    Location great. Close to beach and other tourist attractions also a short walk from the markets. Clean apartments that look good with beautiful interior design. Art work looked beautiful. Reasonable price. Very helpful staff.

  • February 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 15 nights

    none

    Staff and Houskeeper are profesional and kindly and friendly. Location is 5 minutes to walk to Lemon (Citoron) beach. Room with kichen is clern and useful.

  • January 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location to good beach & amazing coral reef. Away from the tourist resorts. The staff were very hospitable, friendly & extremely helpful. I would stay again!

  • December 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much of a view, phones in the room would be good, and Jr would also be good if the room was cleaned and sheets changed at least every 2 or 3 days.

    Good location, helpful and friendly staff, I like having a kitchenette and being able to cook, the room had character

  • September 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no servicing done .No clean towels or anything like that.We had to find the receptionist to get some toilet paper.Having some pots and plates ect. ,there was no dish washing detergent or dish cloth or teatowel,ect. It was a bit poor service

  • July 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was quite hard, although we got used to it after the first couple of nights.

    We loved our stay at Marina Beach Hotel. Walking distance to Baie de Citrons, Anse Vata Beach, supermarket and glass bottom boat to Duck Island. The kitchenette was great for us as we cooked our own meals each night and were able to store food in the big fridge.

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Noisy Missing kitchen utensils Not serviced in the 10 days we were there Wifi poor, kept dropping signal

    Close to a good beach Walking distance to the central city (30 mins) Close to restaurants Close to a good corner store Good shower

  • June 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We expected basic facilities as advertised but expected more self catering equipment as it was one of the reasons we chose this place. There was one pan; no pots or lids, no cutting board, two glasses but no cups or mugs, no detergent or scrubbers or cloths, the only knives were two steak knives, and no tea towel. We booked for 11 nights and were given 1 toilet roll and two small soaps. We bought more. there was a wardrobe and a bedside table, a place to put one suitcase a table and two chairs and a plate glass table on a block of wood that served as a desk. No views

    location was near bus stop and beaches and restaurants. A good supermarket was located in nearby Port Plaisance and a store was just around the corner. This place is clean. Staff are helpful. Roadside parking is ok

  • May 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 30 nights

    The location is superb. Close to the Port de Plaisance with all kinds of shops. Baie des Citrons is a quiet, beautiful beach area. In the weekend some nightlife. Also close to Anse Vata. The staff is very friendly and helpful !!!

  • April 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rubbish bin in kitchenette had not been emptied from last guest. Toilet roll was half used on check-in and when it ran out during week's stay no spare roll available and was told I needed to purchase toilet paper. Minor irritation but miserly for a hotel.

    Welcoming staff. Clean room (mostly). Decent shower. V good location.

  • March 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room isnt cleaned on a daily basis.everithing else is good

    The facilities are renovated and its good to stay there.A supermarket is at Port Plaisance so you can shop. Bus 10 is going firectly to place des cocotiers

  • March 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nowhere to sit outside the room except the front steps. No garden, tables, - no-where to talk to others and sit and relax outside. I arrived late after shops had closed and there was no coffee, tea, milk etc. It would have been nice after such a long day. So I boiled some water and drank that.

    The people were very kind and patient and friendly. Patricia, M.J. and Elizabeth. Close to the beach and cafes at Baie De Citrons. Literally 2 mins walk. There was a great little Vietnamese corner store with fresh food cooked daily as well for take out of the fridge or warmer. Also fresh fruit and all other grocery items. The air con was a blessing as I was there in the hot wet season. TV was perfect with lots of French. Shower was great, sheets were cotton.

  • January 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bed, bad pillows, electrical system won't handle cookstove and other appliances use at the same time. When you cook, no TV or aircon. Not many kitchen utensils, we brought ours.

    Good Location, good price, helpful staff, excellent shower.

  • December 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bed was comfy. Self service apartment. Nice and cozy. Air Conditioned.

  • September 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing really

    1 block from baie des citrons

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Rooms not cleaned in the 9 days we stayed there.We had to ask for a broom to sweep floor.

    Location

  • May 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kind and helpful staff members and there willingness to help

  • January 26, 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely and helpful staff, only 3 mins away from lemon bay

  • January 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no pool

    very central

  • January 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Would be great if some cleaning utensils were provided for the kitchenette

    Location was excellent, clean and lovely room

  • November 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No soap on arrival. had to ask for toilet paper

    The staff were nice and obliging

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving!!

    Fantastic location and excellent value for money. Highly recommend.

  • June 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very near to Plage des Citrons and Anse Vata. Beautiful beaches, spectacular sunsets. Great restaurants.

  • May 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sewerage smells a constant companion in our rooms.

    Bed was good. Quiet.

  • May 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent help from reception with things to do and speaking with local tour guides.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • March 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of comfortable seating in which to relax. Chair designs might be quirky and look good in photos but not suitable for sitting on for any length of time after a meal.

    Location - short walking distance to supermarket, beach, cafés and also bus stops for travel to town centre. Not expensive so you get what you pay for - no frills but clean and, apart from one noisy night which can happen anywhere, quiet. Kitchen cooking equipment and utensils adequate for stir fries etc, not gourmet meals. Staff pleasant and friendly. Public areas well looked after.

  • January 4, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing provided in the way of milk, tea, coffee, salt, dishwash liquid, tea towel etc. Would have liked spare towels as they were used for both showering and the beach and were only changed once.

    We spent 11 nights. Lovely staff. Very handy to Baie des Citrons especially after you find the walkway shortcut. Very comfortable room with efficient, quiet air conditioning. Two single beds pushed together, table and two chairs, large shower room. It was great to have the adequate kitchen as it meant we could eat breakfast and lunch at home and avoid the high restaurant prices. Carparking space outside often full but always managed to find a space not far away.

  • September 27, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed was two singles pushed together which would separate. Though kitchenette supplied, only cooking utensil was one saucepan with no lid - no frying pan, no egg flip or tongs or cutting board or wooden spoons etc. All we could do was boil some eggs.

    Friendly staff, great location, clean apartment

  • September 6, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stays under 7 days don't qualify for room service, meaning the room was getting quite dirty by the end! A load of washing cost 500XCP and another 500 for the dryer but the washing machine didn't dissolve the powder properly leaving it all over my clothes. The staff didn't speak any English. Luckily my girlfriend spoke enough French to get by. But the staff didn't add up the days of our stay correctly and tried to kick us out a day early! We had to provide the paperwork to prove otherwise.

    Well-presented, clean and in a perfect location to both walk into to town or head along to the beaches.

  • July 28, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Club
    • Stayed 18 nights

    - Very limited cutlery and plates - Near to no cooking utensils provided - No shower curtain or door (leads to a very wet and slippery bathroom floor)

    - Very friendly, considerate staff. - Basic facilities supplied (electric stove, fridge, shower) - Comfortable bedding - Roller shutters

  • April 4, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building work is still ongoing

    Privacy of the rooms Location to beach Facilities

  • January 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No brochures for sites to visit in Noumea

    Friendly staff

  • July 3, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful and friendly people

  • June 19, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the fact that the studio was fully equipped with kitchen and lovely bathroom and so close to the Baie de Citron

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Marina Beach Residence Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: