Reviews of Alkmaarse Bed And Breakfast

Luttik Oudorp 18, 1811 MX Alkmaar, Netherlands

#5 of 6 B&Bs and inns in Alkmaar

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 324 B&B reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 36

  • August 30, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed in the apartment is awful. It is more like a bunk bed for kids, only the bottom bunk is a bit wider. It was uncomfortably short for me (metal bars at the feet), but it was unbearable for my partner, who is a tall man. We had to take the mattresses from the beds and sleep on the living room floor.

    The cafe across the street has a lovely terrace and great breakfast/lunch.

  • July 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our apartment faced the side of the road, so you could hear the cars very well. And since the windows don't have curtains on, the street light is very visible in the room. Was a bit anxious that I wouldn't be able to fall asleep, but the tiredness of a walking day did its magic. Shower gel would be a nice touch.

    The host is flexible and super friendly.

  • June 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dessert/soup spoons, draining board, casserole dishes for small oven. Main oven was unusable, and unsafe as gas had not been tested. When asking for help it was dealt with very quickly. Shower needing refurbished

    Bed was very comfortable. Good location. Layout of flat

  • June 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed was terrible. Thin foam mattress and not big enough for 2 people. Bathroom was through one of the bedrooms - extremely inconvenient. Decoration is very tired - feels run down; not like the pictures. A lot of kitchen equipment was missing.

    Convenient location, reasonable size of apartment. We could park our bikes inside.

  • May 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.

    The property was advertised as B+B but we actually had the run of a sitting room and kitchen as well. The location was excellent and the hosts very happy to do all they could to make us comfortable.

  • May 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible! This place is awful! Dirty, smells horrible, cold. We had to put a jumper on as it was really cold during the night. Very unfriendly staff! Definitely NO!!!

    Nothing!

  • April 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was OK but the shower in the room has no closing door or curtain. The toilet, although private, is in the corridor outside the room which is not very comfortable when needed at night.

    The Location is fantastic, very near the famous cheese market. Everything of interest was near by, not more than 5-10 minutes walk. Breakfast was OK.

  • August 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The two boxes ofouse poison that we found in apartment No sink in bathroom Terrace dangerous for children and adults The owner avoided you Neglected place

    Location spot on. Alkmaar is a beautiful place. The B and B was right by the canal and close to town centre.

  • August 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a sort of garage as an apartment where the bedrooms and the two bathrooms had no windows at all. Moreover we had been rudely accused to have caused the interruption of elettricity we suffered most probably due to an improper power system. The staff entered the apartment without knocking at the door and using other keys. The following morning we had the unpleasant surprise of water dripping from all over the ceiling and had to argue when we informed them we intended to leave the acccomodation as they asked full payment although the apartment was not serviceable. We finally agreed to pay the first night only and staresti in a wonderful 4* hotel in Alkmaar for about the same price.

  • July 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were holes in the walls of some of the hotel rooms, that opened out into the hallway so we felt a bit exposed. Also, in the room I stayed in there was no door to the shower! It just opened into the main sleeping quarters. Lastly, the manager was either very stressed or just naturally...sketchy. He practically threw us out of our rooms early to accommodate other guests (and this was three hours prior to check-out time. He basically asked us to pack up and leave.)

    Loved that it was on the river right near the center of town.

  • May 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked two rooms for two couples and there was no indication on the reservation that we would be sharing a bathroom, but that was the case. Our rooms were on the third floor, with a very steep stairway. I would not recommend it for the elderly or anyone with a lot of luggage. The bed was okay but the linens were awful and the towel was so stiff and scratchy that we elected not to shower there. There is no close by parking. We parked across the canal and took a short free ferry to the B&B.

    Location for seeing the cheese market or old town is perfect. Jacob checked us in and was very helpful on where to go and what to see.

  • February 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in apartment 4, which was warm and quiet, so excellent for a good night sleep :).

  • September 22, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suggest coming without car as parking is some distance away

    The location is perfect

  • September 1, 2016

    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the simplicity. its not 5* bur don't worry!

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Very nice flat with the upper floor to our selves.

  • July 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cosy B&B in a historic building with lots of charm. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • May 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough hot water for showers.

    Breakfast was great. Location was perfect. Loved the funky decor and the creatively arranged accommodations.

  • April 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Plywood curtain

    Owner very informative and helpful. Free wifi, sitting room cooking facilities available if required.

  • October 16, 2015

    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very nice owner,and beautiful big comfy place and exellent location in the city centre

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    - loud - cars riding through the street - unconfortable bed

    - very friendly personnel - close to city center - freaky furnishing

  • September 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not ensuite

    Communal lounge and facilities really good. Great views of canal.

  • August 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Edwin made us very welcome. Great location. Secure storage for our bikes too. Lovely breakfast. Really helpful staff. Well recommended.

  • July 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not like to share the toilet and bathroom with other people. The parking was a problem too.

    The location was excellent.

  • June 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean, very friendly service and unique decorative character

  • May 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite cold during the night and beds / matraces are highly uncomfortable.

    Great location, interesting vintage equipment.

  • April 28, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were even able to hire bikes from Edwin.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • June 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Because it is so different and interesting, you don't get all the things you might expect. Like a wardrobe in the bedroom, or a sink in the bathroom in our case. But still well worth a visit.

    A really different, interesting set-up in an excellent location

  • June 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quaint and friendly environment that gives you the ability to interact with other guests in friendly environment. Great location on the canal of the town.

  • May 11, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you are disabled, choose something else. I'm disabled, I loved it!

    The rooms are all different and very personal. Everything might not be as expected, but when you reflect a little you find it much better. You are in the middle of the history of Alkmaar. The staff is extremely friendly.

  • March 28, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom..no wash basin.No hand towels.Mirror too high.Needs new shower screen. Sleeping area..Very steep stair/ladder access to very low ceilinged bedroom. Two ladies,each 153cm....heads touched ceiling !

    warm and comfortable living area.Pleasant staff.Well fitted kitchen.

  • March 26, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Family

    I was expecting a view over the canel, instead room 6 has no view at the back. Lots of steep stairs up to room 6, smell of food in the room. Parking is not easy.

    Friendly staff

  • March 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - No free parking place in the nearest surroundings, it is necessary to cross the channel by a ferryboat. Not comfortable with many pieces of luggage like in our case; - Shared bathroom outside the room which was not mentioned in the description.

    - Friendly and helpful staff; - Good and sufficient breakfast; - Nice and attractive location in the ancient city centre.

  • March 20, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    stairs to first room

    helpful owners changed room as first unsuitable for disabled travellers space/facilities in apartments clean location central

  • January 1, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Should be careful with warm water. It is coming from small tank, so you can empty the tank easily, and loose hot water. However maybe this problem is specific only for me, because of high consumption of hot water.

    Price, staff, location

  • April 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great atmosfare Great location Great living room with citchen next to my toon

  • November 26, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm welcome and the very nice staff. Alkmaar was also beautifull with all seasonlights.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: