Reviews of Hans Brinker Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, Amsterdam City Center, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#321 of 396 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 702 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's an underground bar until 4am in the hostel. The breakfast is good. They allow you to leave the suitcase in a room if you don't want to carry it the day you do the check in or check out

  • January 12, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very comfy bunk beds without stairs to jump up, old and very noisy lockers. And insall some more hangers, please..

    Decent hostel, easy to reach and in strategic location, good breakfatst included.

  • January 11, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was loud at night because of the bar, and the bathroom wasn't super clean.

    I got what I paid for, a clean bed and a place to stay in the heart of the city. The breakfast was amazing and the staff was really helpful. They provided lockers to put belongings in and clean linens for the night which was great! IF you're for a place to stay up socialising with other guests there is a bar/club in the hostel (not super helpful if you're early to bed like me, but it sounded like fun).

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit cold in the room (3-bed dorm, mid December), but really warm blankets compensate, so it's only a problem when you need to get up and go, or after a shower.

    Nice bar, really friendly and helpfull personell, quite good location, bike rent across the street (a must in Amsterdam, IMO)

  • January 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel is really loud as people party lot and then come to the rooms very late. If you want to sleep choose another hostel. You can hear everything that happens in the hallways to the room. Also the common areas could have been cleaner. There were people passing out and vomiting in the bar area. Our bathroom also smelled really bad which was not nice.

    The location was really good, within walking distance from all the main sights in Amsterdam. Also the rooms were ok very basic but nice that the room had bathroom in it. The staff was friendly and the bar downstairs was nice and big with plenty of space. I also liked the breakfast that was included in the price.

  • January 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lockers in the room could easily be pulled open- even when locked. I did not trust leaving any valuables.

    Location is good, but it is clearly a party hostel. Good place for partygoers, bad place for those seeking a good, quiet rest.

  • January 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed here for one night: 31/12-01/01, the hotel organized special party for 50€/person without any choice: if you want to stay for this night - you have to pay 50€, even if you have another plan. Party was boring, wine was bad and quite cheap, food wasn't so tasty, only mandarins were quite good. Breakfast is standard but the variety of food is poor

    Location is quite good, 10-min by foot to Dam Square, there are enough public parking places

  • January 6, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was supposed to be in 4 beds dorm and I ended up in a 6 beds one. The forniture was old and did not have enough sockets for everyone (maybe one).

    I liked having a big bar right into the hostel!

  • January 3, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was not nice at all.

    During the day is very clean and nice. Nevertheless during the evening everyone goes a bit crazy, so common bathrooms downstairs have vomit everywhere. I guess it's the Amsterdam craziness. The bedrooms are clean and so are the shared bathrooms.

  • January 3, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't sleep at all, noise of drunk people, others vomiting all night, about the cleaning... there's no cleaning at all, see the bathroom of the reception which was like this yesterday evening and was also this morning when I took the picture

    Nothing

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WIfi was very weak. It was intermittently available. There were group of noisy drunk college students, who were banging my door in the middle of night. Wish the receptionist asked them to behave.

    Breakfast was value for money, would've liked Scrambled eggs as an option with boiled eggs. Bed was very comfortable, had good sleep on all the nights of my stay.

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You always have to ask to open the door. And the first feeling was like we came to a student dorm somewhere in the Eastern Europe

    It was cheap, we had our own bathroom for 4 bed room. The breakfast was excellent. We were staying at the 3rd floor, so we didn't hear the parties downstairs. But if you are a party person, it is exactly for you!

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You get what you pay for....very good price for 3 nights did include breakfast but would suggest getting to it early as very busy. Very nice stay and staff are helpful. Throughly enjoyed our Christmas stay

  • January 2, 2017

    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have booked a single bed at Hans Brinker for €27 for the new year's eve. One day after my booking was confirmed by them and 2 days before the new year, they've sent a general e-mail to all guests staying there on the new year's eve and asked for an additional compulsory payment of €50 for the new year party that they'll be organizing. Otherwise the reservations would be cancelled the e-mail said. I of course wasn't coming to Amsterdam to celebrate the new year at the basement of the hostel. So practically they've simply tripled the price one day after my confirmation and two days before the new year. Since after the confirmation I've agreed with my friends to meet with them in Amsterdam, I couldn't cancel the trip. So from my experience this is an unethical establishment trying to rip the tourists off. They also required this extra €50 to be paid in cash and didn't provided an invoices although I asked for one.

  • January 1, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff wasn't helpful. the afternoon staff was very Rude, very noisy and cant even closed the door because of noise. Noise until 3-4 Am, Very expensive for this Hotel hostel. if you want meet peoples avoid this place you can find cheaper, better and closer from the city center. This hostel it's just a Cash Machine.

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillow was the worst ever! My pillowcase was dirty so i asked for another one. The second one was also not completely clean. The pillow itself was literally yellow and super lumpy. The toilet and shower are in the dorm which is good on the one hand cause you share only with 5 people and you don't have to walk to the bathroom. On the other hand though the floor is always wet from the shower and thus the floor of the room also gets wet footprints etc. The locker is very narrow. A suitcase fits in there only if it is quite small. Also there is only one lamp in the room. No individual lamps for each bed. This is so bad for when you get back late and there are people sleeping, so we ended up switching on the light of the bathroom and leaving the door open and using the flash in order not to annoy the others. The window doesn't open completely so let's just say that our room didn't smell nice most of the time. There is no ladder for the upper bed.

    The location is really good. 3 mins walking from Leidseplein, less than 10 mins walking from Museumplein and about 20 mins walking from city center, which is doable. Also there is a tram station 5 mins away with connection to central station. If you arrive at the airport there is a bus going to Museumplein and from there you can walk to the hostel. The breakfast is also pretty good. It has pretty much everything. There is a quite big queue though but this is not much of problem. I also liked that you can play beer pong there. They also bring new towels every day. There is also a room to leave your luggage for free if you want to walk around after the check out (which is at 10am). At the reception they are very helpful.

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very Long check-in/ check out lines (~30-45 min of waiting)

    Rooms were clean, relatively spacious Breakfast was rather delicious Staff was helpful Location was fairly good

  • December 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not very clean.

    Hostel situated near most popular museums and not far from the city centre, it's relatively cheap and staff was friendly

  • December 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bunkbeds don't have stairs, which makes it difficult for someone with short legs to go on the top bed. There's not a common kitchen for those on a budget.

    The place is very close to the best attractions in the city. The common area/bar is cool.

  • December 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were put in a room infested with bed bugs. The hostel offered no apologies. Breakfast is bland. Didn't get a chance to grab coffee and exactly at 10:03, everything was collected. Staff refused to give a cup for coffee even though explained that there had been so many people and the line was very long.

    nothing

  • December 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The key for the locker was broken. So I had my room changed. But also it tured out the new locker of the new room had been broken as well. The outfit at the head of the pillow was also broken. I had to use another one that was far away from the pilow. There was no space to put towels and clothes in the showerroom.

    WiFi is fast. Drinks are cheap. Then communal space is spacious.

  • December 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room lockers were mediocre but it's ok, though. There aren't any chairs to sit and table to put anything in the room.

    Nice staff and great location ( almost 800m to go I Amsterdam sign and Van Gogh Museum by walking), wonderful breakfast

  • December 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was smelly due to poor ventilation. The bunk beds had no steps, and so someone sleeping on the upper bed would struggle to get up there. The breakfast was very good, although the kitchen staff were not the friendliest.

    The hostel is located near a bus stop, and so it was easily accessible from Amsterdam Centraal, and easy to move around the city. The room was very clean, and I was provided with clean linen, pillow, and comforter. Breakfast was very good. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient. Restaurant had a good, affordable menu

  • December 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed we were given had bed bugs. Three of us ended up with bites. The most severe one of us had about 50 bites on her arms and ankles. The staff changed a room for us for the second night but the hostel offered nothing in apology.

  • December 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff wasn't particularly nice upon check-in.

    Really good location in the centre of Amsterdam, breakfast included in the price, wifi worked fine in all areas. This hostel wasn't anything "extra" but considering the location it was good value for the money I paid.

  • December 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is small and rudimentary, and the room is small as well. It's okay, but I will not advice you to say for a long holiday... But it's still fine.

    Near , pub / bar / night club, so really well placed. I did my last night there just for a party in Amsterdam and my advice is to use this hotel as a night shot. You will find a bed, warm water even at 5 am, and a included breakfast. And it's clean !

  • December 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason, the WiFi was not working well on my laptop, but that may have been due the laptop itself, rather than the network.

    Public transport tickets were available at the hotel itself, and the breakfast was free and made well. The location itself is ideal for the 2-day traveller. The room was very clean and the staff friendly. Oh and there was also a free tour available everyday!

  • December 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hostel for travellers. Not that expensive. I only need to have a place for the night, that's it. Breadfast is average, but there was enought pancake and bread, and milk. So I would say I was quite satisfied. And the location is quite good, very close to the bars. It takes 10 mins maybe to get to center station by tram.

  • December 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Each room has there own bathroom was very clean When I got there I was able to check in early such a relief, littually across the road is a decent bike rental perfect to see everything

  • December 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi signal is often missing or bad (especially into the rooms).

    I booked a bed in a 4 bed dorm but I was alone into the room. Lucky me :)) lovely terrace and outside space to enjoy the joints

  • November 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of any negatives really as I was only there for 2 nights although I did wonder how you are supposed to get onto top bunk bed with no ladder. Accident waiting to happen there :( Be better to fit ladders to beds :)

    The Location was Ideal for me as I needed somewhere to stay that was close to The Melkweg for a concert and the hostel turned out to be just a 5 minute walk away from it and to bars and eating places of Leidseplein. Good bar in the hostel too, a lot cheaper than outside prices. Good help yourself breakfast too. Friendly staff. I would definitely stay again. Lucky to have room to myself as out of season.

  • November 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower. Lack of the bath telephone.

    The position that is it, everyday cleaning, you pay for what u get. 20 euro per night are a good price for the facilities of this hostel!

  • November 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very Uncomfortable bed. The dorms are male female mixed. For many people it could be very disturbing. I would suggest do separate dorms for male and female as well.

    Location is great. Near the Leidsplein.

  • November 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and the bathroom doesn't have a window or a machine to vhange the air. So it smells awful, full of humidity and there is no soap at least. The people of the hostel was not really helpful or kind. I f i had to visit again amsterdam, for sure I'm not going to book there again.

    The breakfast was very good with a variety of things to eat. Also, the bar and the club was the best thing about this hostel. The location is extremely good because it's too close to everything you have to see in the centre of Amsterdam. I would recommend only if you are 5-6 people and you want to save money.

  • November 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, service & breakfast. Amount paid in comparison with overall services we received and it's location (city Centre, easily accessible etc) is the lowest and hence always will recommend in future to anybody weather bachelor or family, to go for it.

  • November 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unstable bed and shower system was not comfortable. Noisy at midnight. Seems that hostel need to control drunken people being like kids.

    WIFI worked in dorm room. This was super great. Location is also another strong advantage. Good for a budget traveller.

  • November 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    smell pot everywhere, dirty elevators and walls, super small beds, smelly room from sewage pipes,shower water getting all around bathroom

    breakfast was good, location is awesome, happy hour at the bar is awesome

  • November 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was fairly average, and you have to wait in a long line so a poor set up overall. The floor of the bathroom became completely wet whenever anyone took a shower - so bring flip flops and fortunately there was only the two of us!

    We went in low season (November) so my friend and me had a six bed dorm to ourselves with private bathroom! So that was pretty luxurious for a hostel, and it was fairly convenient to get to most places - especially the pub-crawl in Leidesplad.

  • November 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Discusting smelly bathrooms - The shower was awfull, hardly any water coming out and it took ages to warm up. - Most staff was grumpy and too distracted chating or doing other stuff to actually work. - Noisy - Lockers in the rooms don't work properly I could go on, but you get the picture.

    - One (yes, one) member of the staff was very friendly and helpful. - Great breakfast!

  • November 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bunk beds but no ladder, dirty bedding gross bathrooms rooms were way too hot and basement club super loud could hear it from the 3rd floor

    Quite good location

  • November 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    well there is a club in the basement so you can hear the music until 4 or 5 in the rooms. also people kept knocking on our door which was weird because we were all asleep in the room. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest and the check in check out was a bit strange.

    the breakfast is nice and the location is great

  • November 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The yellow 'hotel' lights on the building lit up the room even with closed curtains. Thicker curtains for those rooms would be better. Beds weren't uncomfortable but could have been better.

    Well organised, friendly staff with a good vibe, good facilities and nice bar.

  • November 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty with a mould covered bathroom ceiling - there is no ventilation in the bathroom and it remained steamy throughout the day even when no one was in the room using the bathroom. This really is a health hazard - see the photo I have also posted. The bunk beds had no ladder so were difficult to get into & the pillows were lumpy and very uncomfortable.

    The location was central and close to many of the attractions. The hostel felt secure as the staff controlled people entering the hostel.

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small toilet. not much furniture in the bedrooms and the lockers (or wardrobes) are very small and old.

    Good value for money, breakfast worths it, good wifi and perfect atmosphere if you go with friends.

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and especially the bathrooms are tremendously dirty. The sink was moldy and smelly, the floor looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in weeks.

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor Wi-Fi; not the same room that it was shown when booked; not possible to open windows (very uncomfortable to stay without fresh air);

    Location; staff; value for money

  • November 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check out time could have been a bit later, but apart from that it was good.

    Rooms were basic but for the price you cant complain and the bathroom was in the room, that was an automatic win. The bar in the lobby was a good way to meet other travelers/holidaymakers and also 5-6pm is happy hour, cant say no to cheap beer! 😆

  • November 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here on a busy weekend because we didn't find a place anywhere else in Amsterdam. We would have done better to sleep in the streets. The bed and bathrooms were dirty. The 'hotel' proudly advertises its indifference to guests. And its noisy. Didn't feel very safe. The wi fi wouldn't connect most of the time. Its the worst hostel I have stayed in. AVOID.

    Are you kidding me?

  • November 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were not that clean , room service was not good daily clean towels were not available

    Location was in the center of amstersam Very good price for the rooms

  • October 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My friends has a lot of bites all over her arms which she got while staying here. It looks like bed bugs! Also the wifi is spotty and only worked for one out of four of us.

  • October 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside noise,and the hotel sign is too bright at night it gets through the window.

    The location is very close to shops and restaurants, there is a bar in the ground floor and a club in the basement.

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that made my roommate and me feel a bit awkward was almost transparent wall in the shower and toilet.

    The location of the Hotel exceeded all our expectations. Two steps to the so famous inscroption "I am amsterdam" and other tourist attractions. The hotel perfectly respond to the tourists' needs: comfortable, clean and modest. Unassuming tourists will be highly satisfied for sure.

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet its open dont have a pasword and for that reason the conexion not was good

    The hotel have a good location, the people are so friendly and the breakfast was so good, the bar its ok the room are so clean i Recommend this hostel.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that I had to ask for the receipt after the paying and the receptionist didn't give detalied info

    The breakfast was good, as the bathroom in the room. The hostel is really close to the city center and well conected

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bad smell coming from the plumbing in the toilet in my room and in the toilet downstairs. Even tho everything was clean, it could use some refurbished in the toilets, adding a lid to the toilet or something to put the toiletries while taking a shower and some stairs for the bunk beads.

    The location is great and the facilities as well, there was a pub and a night club with 2 dancing poles on it.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The majority of the guests were teenagers. Low water pressure from the shower and not enough space in the bathroom. Having to make the bed - "Here are your blanket and sheets".

    Complete breakfast. Good location. In-house disco dance floor.

  • October 16, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some people in the next room we're "singing" the nyan cat for 20min at 5am, I was so impressed by the time it lasted I didnt even felt like complaining about it. My roommates sleep through it like babies.

    The breakfast was surprisingly good. They didnt lived to their reputation for having the worst service/place.. It was all fine, super central. Outstanding relation quality/money.

  • October 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the smoke alarm didn't work and someone had obviously been smoking in the room No own kitchen - you can't cook yourself or warm something up, or use a fridge .... but; you have breakfast there

    Very nice staff, very helpful Elevator to the 4th floor - not every hostel has one ... definitly a bonus Good Location - get off at the Rijksmuseum of bus 197 from the airport and walk from there about 10 minutes (with luggage) .... just under the museum, than straight on and kerkestreet is then a crossing, where you see the hostel on the left hand side Lots of shops round the corner that do food shopping and just a few minutes to have a choice of gread restaurants and pubs Definitly have to taste the burgers you get round the corner, they are awesome

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the showers could have been better but not a massive problem still hot and worked ,

    The staff was really helpful at time we left our phone chargers at home and the reception staff helped us out when they could , bedrooms were fine , breakfast and food was good too , good atmosphere at this hostel and would stay again no problem thanks Hans brinker for a great weekend

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid 80 euros for one night in a dirty, loud, downrun facility which dare to call itself "a hotel"!!! The room look even worse than a jail cell! You cannot properly sleep in the bed because it is so narrow so only a small child van sleep in it comfortably!!! Even 20 euros for staying at this place is an impertinance!!! It is a complete cheat and so we feel! Look for anything else but not this place!

    Nothing. The WORST hotel We have EVER stayed at!!!!!!!

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not very friendly in general. The show poor flexibility for our check in. We arrived pretty early and though it was understandable they had not rooms available at the time. We came back around the check - in time (15 min before) and still we could not check in. We came back 10 min after and there was people already checking - in. The reception personnel was not that friendly.

    The hostel value is great, the location can't be better, the breakfast included is great, good quality and variety. The room was clean and comfortable

  • October 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows not comfortable, constant noise from some engine near the room day and night. Reception was very basic. Could have one small towel. No amenities.

    Breakfast was good. Change bath towel in second day. Great location.

  • September 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst Bed, Pillow and blanket Worst room environment and feels so dull and sleepy Worst as it was sunny weather and it feels hot, no central air condition At reception the girl was not welcoming and feels like i am going to live free in this hostel. If you want to open the door of your hostel room, you need an art to learn how to open with the key. If you fail in first 3 attempts then better not try and ask reception to help you.

    Location is good

  • September 28, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is perfect to accomodate large, noisy, unrespectful groups. Beds are just too old and creaky. Staff was nice and helpful, though, tried hard to solve the problem with those out of control guests.

  • September 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, if it's possible to make check in at 11:00 - it'll be amazing. Pay attention that check out is at 10 am.

    It's really cheap place to spent a night in Amsterdam. For sure you can find place there when it's overbooked all around the city!

  • September 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lockers in the rooms are old and made of metal. If you come back late or get up early it's impossible to get to your stuff without waking everyone else up. No plug by bed to charge stuff overnight. No aircon - was boiling so only got about an hours sleep per night. Most of the reception staff were inattentive and seemed like they couldn't be bothered.

    Location is good. Breakfast was not bad for the money.

  • September 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had hardly any ventilation so it felt like a boiler room and we just couldnt sleep. Staff was very unintelligent as they make us stand in line for the check in and then give a form to fill and then you are supposed to come back in the line after filling the form. This could be much simpler.

  • September 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I chose this hostel instead of other hostels I could have paid 10 euros less for, because the pictures on the booking.com website looked amazing. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY. Toilet + Bathroom reeked of pee, 3 bunkbeds were stuffed in a really tiny room and it was all just ugly. I would never go to a 6 person room again!

  • January 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mau isolamento sonoro. Ruídos e vozes fortes do corredor e do exterior.

    Ambiente informal, perfeito para jovens.

  • January 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds, when you have to sleep in the top it is very complicated to hike in and to get down too.

    The Wi-Fi and the bar.

  • January 15, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was especially good.

  • January 15, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More vegan options

    The beds are very comfy, and the heating was great.

  • January 15, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bunks of my room didn't have ladders

    Great location, staff very friendly I would stay once again there

  • January 14, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Snobby unhelpful staff

    Nice bar area

  • January 13, 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilate

    Atmosphere

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hans Brinker Hostel Traveler Photo Gallery