Reviews of The Flying Pig Downtown

Nieuwendijk 100, Amsterdam City Center, 1012 MR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#109 of 394 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1012 hostel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 5, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 32-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My pillowcase was heavily soiled with what appeared to be mascara smudges and bodily oils. Additionally, the bunk bed rails surrounding the base of each mattress were coated with dust and crumbs. The dormitory door slams shut. It was very loud and disturbing, especially, with others coming in and out all night long.

    The ladies at the check-in desk greeted me with genuine smiles. The included breakfast featured a variety of items.

  • December 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queensize bed in 14 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price I paid for 3 nights was amazing considering everywhere else was booked for the weekend. The staff were extremely helpful and the showers were the most ideal I have experienced in my month of solo travel.

  • December 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, is what I expect from an old property very well located in the old continent!. That the room could have been bigger, is an empty commentary, cause the bed was good and clean, and that is what matters when I travel! Just going to rest and sleep in the room

    Loved the breakfast! So complete! Such variety to choose from! The happy and young atmosphere downstairs, with good music!

  • December 25, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was good, but just not for me. Impossible to sleep, too much party!!! Sad that I was on business trip. I had to leave both nights and pay for a hotel...

  • December 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hmmm breakfast being at breakfast time, as it's too early for me. however if any food is left over it is available for free throughout the day to make toast or sandwiches.

    The warm welcome, understanding of the weary traveller, somewhere to store your stuff and chill out, Friendly staff hung out with travellers, which in turn made it a friendlier place as groups formed very easily. A kitchen that you could cook in, a chill out place without smoke if you needed a break, dining table, sofa and tv.... how civilized can you get!

  • December 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bathroom was super wet. It probably wouldn't be a problem in summer, but because it's winter, having water all over the bathroom floor wasn't ideal. You also had op hold the shower head, which made washing hair and face etc really hard. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm with a private bathroom, but ended up using the shared shower facilities because they were dryer and heaps easier :)

    The hostel is located in the best position, you literally couldn't get any closer to all the action Amsterdam has to offer. It's a very cosy hostel, and the staff are incredibly friendly. Breakfast is awesome and the common areas are all really cute and have an awesome vibe! Fairly clean and well set out :)

  • December 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smoking room is too small and frequently crowed.

    Localization is perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Dorms are comfy and clean. The bar is very nice, with good beers and affordable prices.

  • December 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were awesome, really friendly, funny and helpful. Loved having the pool table and the 24 hour smoke room with a back porch and a bar with reasonably priced food and drink. Plus free breakfast every morning!!!

  • December 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 14-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a very busy and noisy hostel Sometimes the toilets were out of toilet paper, and sometimes dirty The area of hotel is not so clean My room was in basement and there is windows to the outside (the windows open to the corridor)

    The location was great The stuff was friendly The breakfast was fair, not good not bad

  • December 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 16-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much, usual hostel downsides (showers can be busy at times etc.) Much better than most hostels, though.

    Comfy beds, great atmosphere and wonderful guests and staff. Never once felt lonely here, the bar and smoking area are always full of friendly people. Location was amazing too.

  • December 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 16-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cons: none

    Pros: Really friendly and helpful staff, relaxed cool atmosphere in the bar / smoking area, much cheaper drink prices compared to all the local bars. it just a cool fun holiday. I'm hoping il be able to visit again at some stage and will be staying at the flying pig for sure. :) Id recommend to anyone who's visiting Amsterdam for a few days to book in at the flying pig and you will have a great time!

  • December 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One very precarious set of stairs heading down to the bottom floor almost made my trip to Amsterdam the last I ever took!

    Facilities were supremely keen, the bar was very cool, and there was always something going on. I was impressed with breakfast, considering the price of the room (different breads, cereals, juices, tea and coffee). Incredible location, very close to the train station, and right in the thick of things, especially for shopping.

  • December 2, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No cozy sofa to chill... only place this is smoke room or a stuffy living room in the basement that was not at all clean Only bar stools are available and have stayed in better places for a cheaper price

    Decent stay and good for partying

  • November 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 6 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be more optional, to have something more to choice, not only the eggs.

    Hostel location ir perfect. Everything you need is around. Only 5 min from central station. Staff as well.

  • November 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queensize bed in 16 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing major that affected my stay. They need a better playlist in the smoke room or at least switch it out every now and then, i twas weird listening to aqua with a bunch of guys while we smoked hahah Check in took about 20 minutes while i waited at the smoke room where they directed me (this did not bother me at all , made friends while i waited)

    The staff: friendly and easy going, yet helpful and very professional , gave me directions and helped me with all i needed, Francisco was specially helpful to me, gave me suggestions on what to see and where to go around the city and general information on facilities of the hotel. Breakfast: Breakfast is good for the price , it is rather basic, with few selection however very good for a hostel and at this rate. Bar: the place has a bar that opens from 11 am until 3:00am , inexpensive drinks and some food and the service was very good and prompt. Smoke room: This is to me the main area, where all souls gather from all over the world, most people are very welcoming and open and very friendly to share and talk to, it is very comfy with a terrace , it gets really packed on weekends, loved that room, spend more time there than in my actual room. The location: right on Nieuwendijk , in the middle of downtown action , it is perfect landing point to check all areas of the city, it is 7 minutes from the central station which is very convenient , a lot of restaurants, stores, bars , coffee shops and a lot more,it is a safe location not that i felt unsafe in Amsterdam, perfect location. The room: The beds were clean and comfy, they clean rooms and bathrooms everyday , the rooms are very spacious and clean, and i personally liked having that sink there to wash my face in the morning, each bed also has it's own lock box to place all your stuff , a power outlet and reading light. The Hostal itself: Loved every minute i spend in it while on my week long first visit to Amsterdam, It has pool table, bathrooms are big and clean, the whole decor is very busy to me and i love it, always something to look at, everything seems to fit perfectly, they have a calendar of events, they are always having DJs, live music , beer pong tournaments etc, not a dull moment in this place.

  • November 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bad smell in the dormitory. I think it is because of the carpet that sucks the smelly feet smell :)

    Comfortable bed,the crew was warm,great location.

  • November 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 32-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive for a hostel.

    Overall generally quite happy with this hostel. Nothing fancy just hostel conditions. Not ideal long term but for 2 nights for a couple of friends it was fine.

  • November 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything in the hostel, but if you are looking for a quiet private place you should look elsewhere

    This hostel is perfect if you want a cheap accommodation and great location, right in the center of Amsterdam. The staff is great, there is a smoking room and it feels like there is always a party in the hostel.

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real issues. It's a hostel so you'll still be sharing rooms with strangers and such, but from what I've experienced this is about as good as hostels can get.

    Great location, close to downtown although you will want to walk a little bit to get away from all the tourist shops. Smoking room is nice, free wifi works alright. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy. Staff is extremely helpful and enthusiastic.

  • October 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast only started at 08.30 which was too late for me. I think this is unusually late for places I've stayed - perhaps it is normal for Amsterdam though.

    Staff were really nice.

  • October 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 18 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sink water was ice cold and there was no way of making it warmer. We were in a huge room --- there were at least twenty other people and not a lot of room for bags.

    The staff was super friendly and helped recommend some great nightlife. The location was awesome! The hostel is nearby Dam Square and lots of great restaurants.

  • October 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 16-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't toilet paper all the day. Was really noise until 3a.m I couldn't sleep even whit earplugs. When I go to an hostel is to sleep. There was a lot of people sick in the floors was horrible.

    Well situated

  • October 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, very nice and clean place, perfect value for money compared to the many similarly priced places. Nice clean rooms and comfortable sturdy bunk beds.

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good-sized beds and a very central location. Bedrooms were very quiet at night, despite the lively atmosphere in the bar and smoking areas. Staff were very friendly and ready to help with whatever we needed. Overall a very pleasant and fun stay in Amsterdam!

  • October 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hmmm...not a thing comes to mind

    Everything and everyone are always great there. Always. Upset about the breakfast changing to upstairs and no more meat. :( keep up the good work

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guy in the next room was woken by someone who had to share his double bed. They were both shocked but I guess it is a hostel! a mouse got into some cheese hidden in my bag! the place was very run-down and could do with a major renovation.

    Private room was quiet with comfy doonas

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 14 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It is the atmosphere that makes it so appealing. The staff are very friendly and down to earth. The smoking room everyone chats to each other and you meet interesting people! Best smoking room in Amsterdam including coffee shops!!

  • October 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be great if there were more bathroom facilitties, like soap, fan etc.. :)

    Location was great, staff very friendly. Atmosphere was amazing, introduced with some cool people.. Played teniss.. Wifi was working very well. Would stay again..

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very noisy, not just the other people walking and talking in the corridor, the floor is uneven so even when someone walks lightly on the floor it is very noisy. Door doesn't do much to block the noise outside, people talking in the corridor could be heard very clearly and they are often talking at 3am. people in the same room are usually really respectful but it's the doors that didn't block the noise from the outside that really was disturbing. Toilets outside the rooms were quite dirty. I guess the pub and place is good for meeting people but if sleeping is something that you need as well then this isn't the right place. I only managed to get about 2-3 hours sleep as it was impossible to sleep with the noise.

    The location was good - very close to the train station and everything.

  • September 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great!

    The location was excellent and the bed was super comfy. The smoking room was the best, atmosphere was so chilled! We will definitely stay here again.

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was really hot and this meant there was some horrid smell coming through the toilet system. As there was no extractor fans in the bathroom this meant the entire bedroom stank. We had to buy an air freshener to leave in the room.

  • September 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The closest thing I have to a dislike was the breakfast bread basically evaporated if you toasted it. But hey, free breakfast!

    My partner and I can happily say we loved absolutely everything about The Flying Pig and I'd more than happily come back 😊

  • September 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel was such a friendly place with a great atmosphere and great people, that just made the entire stay more enjoyable for me and my friends. The open mic night was great, and presented a great opportunity to have fun and make friends. The facilities were all clean, comfortable and well kept by the staff.

  • September 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 16 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sweating but that was the weather not the pig.

    I stayed on a wednesday so it wasn't too busy. But everything was in waaay better condition than i expected. I know the rep of the flying pig and it exceeded expectations by far. Clean room, quietish night of sleep, friendly people, EGGS for brekkie

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know it's a hostel, so you have to take your chances with noise, roommates leaving at 3am, and people gossiping outside in the hall. It was still a great experience. There were 1 or 2 guys who said racist and sexist comments, but the other 20 people you meet there are friendly, fun, with great stories of their travels and different backgrounds. That far outweighed those few moments. The staff are helpful and chill. There's also a cat named Sanchez.

    Love the downstairs bar, pool table, and smoking area. Place for everybody, and a great place to socialize with really awesome people.

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got told we would have a king size bed but once arriving at the property we realized it was more like a big single which was disappointing. Also make sure that if you are traveling with friends who are at different accommodation they know they can have no access to the property as only guests can go in, even for a drink at the bar.

    The property was in a really good location. It had a good atmosphere and was super clean.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 14 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It goes without saying seeing as it's a hostel, but when staying in a dormitory people are really inconsiderate by turning on lights, letting the door slam and having loud conversations no matter what time of the morning it is.

    The location is great. The staff are friendly and the check in/out times were good. As a young couple who travelled internationally, it was really nice to have extra room to store our massive suitcases at a low cost.

  • June 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you like to party, get drunk and/or high, this is the place for you. The reception/front of the hostel is a bar with lots of drinking and commotion. As a result, roommates can be very raucous and rude. Didn't get very much sleep at the hostel. Although the bar noise doesn't reach the rooms, the rooms themselves are noisy: creaking lockers, squeaky floors.

    Location, location, location. The staff was very friendly and the manager was able to refund us for a sleepless night, which we very much appreciated. The queen size bunk beds were also a trip!

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 32-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff. Good beds. Very comfy. Bar downstairs was a great spot to start your night with cheap reasonable drinks. Showers and toilets in good condition and dorms surprisingly quiet for a place with a bar open until 3am every night.

  • June 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The private rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade, tv didn't work, fan didn't work and shower didn't work in the morning. The rooms were very very warm. P

    The atmosphere was very good, very reasonable prices for drinks and a smoking room

  • June 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had the room right above the hostel bar where the music was banging every night till 3 am!! Even with ear plugs i could hear it! This is the only reason i reduce confort rate! One shower per floor= not enough

    Breakfast was good, simple, but i was happy with it. Great location, litterally 3-4 min from central station!! Bed was alright

  • June 4, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 16 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not as clean as promised. I stepped in someone's pee and ruined my pajamas. Hair always in the shower. Bathroom often covered in menstrual blood and often out of hand soap. Our four nights here, the wi fi didn't work for two of the nights.

    The location

  • May 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queensize bed in 6 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    My 1st hostel experience, very clean, breakfast is very good including all basics and backpack travelers won't ask for more, location is excellent, and the most important cheerful and helpful staff, will return back definitely next time visiting amsterdam.

  • May 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 18 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy. Stoned people in & out of dorm all night, giggling, falling over, hard to sleep. Sheets were not clean.

    Nice staff. Very nice breakfast. Clean toilets. Good location. good security.

  • May 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were a bit squeaky when someone climbed into the bunk above or below you, but this is to be expected with metal framed bunk beds.

    Free breakfast Downstairs pub & smoking room Tons of info available on various tours and activities Free earplugs at the front desk!

  • May 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was super cold in the room because the window was left open for hours after when it was cleaned. When we checked in we had to wait for the beds to be made for a long time, which was a bummer after travelling almost the whole night. Also I was made hurry up when I was taking a shower because the cleaners didn't want to wait for 10 more minutes and let me finish in peace.

    We stayed there for kings day so the hostel was full, but despite that everything worked out great. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, nice and clean bathrooms, better breakfast than I expected which is inclueded to the price. The bar was also nice. Good over all experience.

  • April 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked for 4 nights. However they changed our room after 3 day gone. We waited 20 minutes to our new room beceasu staff told us, you can move your new rooms then we arrived the front of room but the rooms wasnt avalible for checkin.

    Breakfast is nice. Location is useful to visit city by walking. Rooms are not small for 4 person.

  • April 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed from the 8th till 12th of April, 2016. Absolutely brilliant staff who are super helpful and friendly and a kickass smoking room to meet people from all over. Facilities are perfect as well. Will definitely stay here again!

  • April 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 16-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little dirty and people would come back drunk during the night, so it was noisy and pretty awkward at times. Felt a bit unsafe as a solo female traveller but then again it was a 16-person dorm.

    Staff were very friendly and willing to answer any queries. Facilities were great (especially the kitchen) and the resident cat was adorable. :)

  • April 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 32-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Halls and bathrooms were terribly dirty, would not accept a card to pay in the front desk, no secure area to leave luggage or any kind of stuff... They give a locker with no lock. Terribly noisy all the time. For what it is its incredibly expensive!!

    The location is great

  • April 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were a lot of people working and living at the hostel which made engaging with people a lot harder as there was a bit of a click with the people who worked there. Being a solo traveler this was my only issue.

    The facilities were excellent everything you needed, perfect spot just a minute walk from Dam Square.

  • April 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure you get to breakfast early enough to enjoy the food!

    Most of the staff were really lovely. The facilities were clean and kept tidy. Plus the bar gave the whole hostel a really nice atmosphere. Its also in the centre of town near Centraal station!

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    6-bed dorm is very small without table or chair, had to pack luggage on the floor and sleeping people get wake up easily. Height of bottom bunk is too short, couldn't sit straight on the bed. Ventilation was not good, so smell from bathroom kept circulating in the room. 45 Euro is too high for a bed in 6 bunk bed dorm of hostel. Not very clean when compared with other dorms. Have to pay 2 euros to keep luggage in locker after check out. Quite noise at night due to steps in the building.

    Nice staff. Located in the centre of Amsterdam. Free breakfast with eggs. Good wifi connection.

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 10-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to say :) would 100% stay here again. Thank you everyone at the downtown flying pig!

    Amazing location, right in the centre of Amsterdam! Staff are so lovely and eager to help with any problems. Lots of fun things to do / cheap food and alcohol prices! No curfew & cool happy vibes. Friendly people, smoking room was useful! Beds relatively comfy and always clean!

  • March 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirtier than I would have liked, old facilities, no laundry services, you have to pay to store your luggage after checkout, no place to sit and relax (i.e. lounge), there are always drunk people everywhere. There was even puke outside my room one morning. (yuck)

    Great central location, yummy free breakfast, fast wifi.

  • March 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 6 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every morning I've seen someone's puke on the floor in public areas. But I guess it is OK state for a hostel. Some cheese for breakfast would be nice :)

    Nice staff. Fantastic location. Good breakfast. Quite cheap bar in the lobby. The bed was comfortable and clean. Even though they have a party at the reception every night it was not noisy at all.

  • March 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pleople, place, the personal is what i like less

    the staf dont care about the guest, just response sily cuestions, all of them have the same speach for all the cuestions. They just are there. So i like nothing about it. I will not come back and i will not recomended it

  • March 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff couldn't control the rude, loud, immature, annoying guests in my dorm. threw up multiple times due to stress and lack of sleep. you can't get a good night's sleep if you stay at this hostel. spend a few more bucks and get a place of your own. i had to change my flight and fly home earlier b/c i was so sick of amst. never coming back to amsterdam again.

  • March 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didnt like to pay for keeping lugagge at the hostel. It is frequently people need to keep lugagge because difference check out and leaving time the place and we had never paid for it

    We liked the happy ambient.

  • March 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A hostel as cool and amazing as Amsterdam.I stayed in a four beds room. Very well located, close to the central station and the center of the city. Incredible staff, always there for u, 24/7. Cool pub and the hostel has some nice parties too. Certainly the right place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • March 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 32-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar doesn't accept credit card. In the last day I was there, in the morning the showers didn't have hot water.

    Great location. The bar of the hostel is pretty nice.

  • February 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was way way overpriced for what it is, which is basically a youth hostel with a few double rooms. The price was what I'd expect to pay at a 4 star hotel

    Its pleasant, friendly and super location.

  • February 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was so nice and helpful. Atmosphere so laid-back and fun. Located close to the train so you don't miss your flight when it's time to go.

  • February 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 32-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night was quite loud- there is a bar in the reception and I could hear people quite a lot- but hey, AWESOME staff offered me ear plugs for free! :)

    The hostel is big, clean and cheap, breakfast is included in a price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. It is a great hostel to stay with a group of friends.

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, very social hostel. Made friends very easily as it was full of solo travellers. The staff were friendly and full of good recommendations and advice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • January 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was asked to swap rooms for my last night. I was then told if I wanted to store my suitcase, I would have to pay for it! She expected me to either come back to the hostel at 11, or stay there until 11 if I didn't want to pay. And I thought I was doing them a favour by switching rooms. My mistake!

    Great location. Staff friendly.

  • January 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very pleasantly surprised with the room! We booked a private room and it came with towels, shampoo, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities! Bed was very comfortable. Staff were amazing! Great vibe in the bar downstairs. Breakfast was perfect for what you need before you head out for the day! A stones throw from central station and all the major tram stops you need to get around ... Walking distance for the big exhibits and shopping centres

  • January 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing that really needs improvement is the locker under the bed. So noisy every time the locker cage came in or out so people leaving in the morning would wake the room up.

  • December 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The flying Pig isn't Hostel, it is a wonderfull and big family. There isn't another place where we'll house when we will be again in Amsterdam !!! Thank you guys

  • November 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 16-Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable and please be aware that this is a hostel that parties hard! Wouldn't advise it to a more home-body type like myself. Quite noisy.

    Really loved the free breakfast in the mornings (good hours too). The hostel itself is in a super cool building with good spaces for recreation. The cages under the beds were huge as well.

  • November 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As soon as you walk in the door your met with a great atmosphere with people playing pool listening to music and having a drink or two. Staff is so great and will sit down and talk to you if they get a chance very genuine! Smoking room in the flying pig is one of my favourite spots in the city!

  • November 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 32 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just keep in mind it's a young adult hostel. Rooms aren't private and you're on bunks, but honestly you get used to it really fast. Maybe reconsider if you're not a fan of smoking or alcohol.

    Fantastic location, extremely friendly staff and the bedsheets were changed daily. Bar had good selection of drinks, made smoothies and pizza! Bar also had a really nice pool table! Lots of vending machines full of salty and sweet snacks, as well as bottles of water. Huge selection of DVDs in their leisure room. The smoking room was covered in soft blankets and pillows. On a bustling street with tons of shops, next door to the red light district. A bit of a walk to certain landmarks, but only a 5 minute walk away from the Central Station so metro access is very easy. Fantastic place to relax or have fun, and it definitely recommends getting a little crazy sometimes.

  • October 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room for 4 people is extremely small, so are the beds. The light in the room is too dark that make people sad and tired.

    Stuff crew is nice and helpful. Location is definitely really good for carry lauggage. Breakfast is fine include toast, egg and cafe maker.

  • October 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queensize bed in 18 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Nice large shower rooms with place to put your belongings, showers were the best of all hostels, lockers provided in your room (bring own lock), after checking out luggage storage for just two euros per day. Nice free breakfast!

  • October 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queensize bed in 16 Person Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little too expencive for the quality of dorm and sometimes too noisy at night (if you want to sleep).

    Location was perfect! Also, the place is great for making friends.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: