Reviews of Fjordslottet Hotel 3 stars

Fotlandsvåg, 5283 Fotlandsvåg, Norway

#1 of 1 hotels in Fotlandsvåg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 38

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably this is how Norwegians function - but with a little bit less formal and less distant behaviour of the staff we would heve bought more services of the hotel like diner or renting a small boat. Room was a little bit too small and positioning of the bed not logical.

    Great location. Very complete breakfast. Excellent WIFI also in the rooms. Good showers. We appreciated how the early 20th century look and decoration is preserved well in the dining rooms (rest of hotel and rooms are modern).

  • August 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I had a problem with my reservation and I did not have a very good experience, but the staff (included manager) recognized their mystake and had the attitude I expected for a problem like this, so that´s why I gave a good evaluation about the hotel. We are free to make mystakes, but what matters, is the way you handle and solve the situation. - The hotel is a little bit far from Bergen, and if you don´t have a GPS will be tricky to get there and the road is very narrow in some points and down and up hill, but it´s beautiful. Worthed. Just about the distance because the place is nice.

    The place is very quite and beautiful. Quiet neighborhood and nice price for who is visiting Bergen and is by car. The building is very beautiful as well. The staff had good attitude to solve the problem that I had, so they deserved a nice review, and if someday I go back to Bergen I´d love to stay there again. Breakfast is not fancy, but it´s fine.

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - stayed in super-tiny Budget room, didn't know where to place a bag - no TV - no fridge - no comfort - wifi not permanently working - tiny bathroom -> be Aware when booking the Budget room! - breakfast with a handful selections was offered for two hours, in comparisson to Hotels with the same price rather limited choice and flexibility

    + Old building with character + Family run- give credit for that + super-friendly staff, always smiling + free coffee at reception

  • July 30, 2016

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    מלון מיושן. מסך הטלויזיה יותר קטן ממסך מחשב. אין כבלים ואין DVD. המקלחת קטנה ואחרי מקלחת השירותים נרטבים ולא ניתן להשתמש בהם. משרד קבלה נסגר ב- 20:00. look like old hotel. the TV is so small (14") you can't see. no DVD and no Cable TV ! Very small bathroom, after shower you can't use the toilet because it wet and there is no way to dry it. the office close early - 20:00. don't like the place

    ??

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is a Little bit small.

    We are tavel with 2 Kids.People from the reception is very very friendly and warm Heart ! The breakfast also very good! we all like there and it is absolutely recommendable to stay there!

  • July 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice little hotel, off the beaten track which we like. We had a lovely room with very comfortable bed; the welcome we received was excellent and breakfast was very good.

  • July 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor management and lack of basic treatment of hotel guest ettique. Lack of hiking information as had been promised on the website.

    Many staff were willing but needed better management

  • July 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is a bit dated, but ok overall. Rooms are a bit small with double bed side touching one of the walls. The hotel is on one of the islands with the normal access to it through the south bridge, so if you're planning a north trip, there's an additional 30 min drive out of the island.

    Very good value for money. Easy and available parking.

  • June 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is really very helpful. Complimentary breakfast was amazing. Best I had in my entire trip to Norway. Quaint and attractive place in a beautiful serene environment. It is a 45min to 1 hr drive from Bergen city centre. If you are fine with that, it is the best place to be.

  • June 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a bit small especially for a family of four Two real beds and a fold-out futon on the floor for the other two beds

    Breakfast was great Location by fjord was nice Outdoor patio was pleasant Availability of tea in the evening Could go right down to the water

  • June 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room ws ok - for dinner they only had a buffer (probably because there was also a big group of toutists) - but ....... the meat was cold - not much variety - they didn't told us the price and it was outrageous for a plate of cold meat and a bit of salad. I was deeply shocked that they dare to ask 400 NOK a person for this. Next morning the same - the included breakfast was gone - got a plate of tasty trout and cold cuts but not what you could or should expect from such a place.

  • June 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older property in need of updating. Had to ask for towels for two people.

    Very quiet, breakfast was good. This is a good spot for one night just an hour or less from Bergen.

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible beds and super small room.

    Wifi possible only in common areas. Bed was very uncomfortable. Sofa bed for teenage kids even worse. Room much too small for four but an economical choice. Hotel has lovely setting on a beautiful island. Would go back to island maybe hotel but only as a couple due to small room. Wonderful breakfast and very good dinner, even if the latter is pricey - typical in Norway. It is preferred to make arrangements a few hours before to order dinner.

  • August 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    upon arrival it was abig shock for us since the quad room was very small for four adults. space was limited in everything. i wantedto leave the hotel immediately but then i calmed down. we opted to stay at the reception before sleeping since wifi works only in reception. then the male receptionist wanted me to pay the full stay upon arrival and not on departure. when i went to pay he wanted to charge me more than my invoice issued from booking.com!! he argued that i booked for three persons and not four. i told him i paid for a room rate and not per person rate. he wouldnt listen. after i showed him booking.com confirmation he had to succumb.this never happened to me! the location to bergen is not convenient..too far away.bad experience indeed

    only the breakfast was good. this hotel caused us lots of discomfort.

  • August 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mostly surprised by the lack of a TV set. The Internet was working intermittently. The worst was the drive from oslo to the hotel. The road had some works going on and we had to take a detour that added about 20km....

    Fair experience overall. The staff was very helpful.

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to drive quite a ways to get to the destinations we wanted to see. It is an hour from Baragan, and one and a half hours from Voss

    The room was very comfortable, and cleaned every day. The staff went the extra mile to be accommodating to us, and even set aside breakfast for us on a day we were leaving early.

  • August 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More than 1 hour from Bergen

    The staff, the style and the surrounding environment.

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    It was very good value and close to Bergen for sights. Really good food!

  • July 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a remote part of the Bergen area. Nothing close by for food. The rooms are quite old and small. Access to parking is awkward.

  • July 18, 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was verru low

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very, very good everything!! Nice place, nice staff, exelent breakfest!

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi unstabile and slow

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were not good , room was so small

    The breakfast , the view

  • June 18, 2016

    • Family
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed..

    Breakfast,attitude,•••

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • September 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    There're some rooms very close to a compressor. The first night we couldn't sleep anything due to a nasty noise. Finally they change us the room into a quiet one and the second night was very confortable. The place is located a Little bit far from Bergen and the road to Access is in a very bad situation.

    Nice and lovely place. Friendly people. Confortable and big rooms. Very good kitchen: we enjoyed a buffet -dinner really spectacular, in a reasonable Price.

  • August 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price of Norwegian beer - and that's got nothing to do with the hotel!

    The service Antonus provided was above and beyond our expectations. Thank you. The food was excellent. The hotel provides excellent value to anyone visiting this part of Norway. The bridge toll that has to be paid (each way) will cease within the next 12 months so the hotel will become even better value for money. Located on an island close to Bergen and Arna station for "park and ride" into the city itself.

  • July 26, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV didn't work, though it was just for a night, so it was not of much importance. However, personally I think it's a bit overly expensive, as it's not near to the city of Bergen. If it was around €75 to €80, it would've been more appropriate.

    Nice and clean hotel. staff is very nice, very comfortable and excellent service

  • July 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Take in account +200 nok toll fees to access to this hotel either through the new bridge or through the ferry

    Very nice site , family hotel ambiance

  • July 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel has being great. Was a very nice and peaceful hotel. The room was big and confortable with a balcony. The staff was so kind with us also. They have a restaurant that we went for dinner and the food was so good and tasty, the Chicken Special was so delicious! Outside there's a patio where you can relax after a long day driving and visiting lots of nature. The breakfast in the morning was delightful actually.

  • July 3, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Floor of room not very clean. road to hotel is very narrow and windy but nothing they can do about that

    food was very good both breakfast and dinner. staff was friendly and accomodating. publis spaces were lovely. Beds were comfortable

  • June 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The rooms were TINY, the beds extremely uncomfortable and no support, the bathroom was a nightmare, and no shampoo, soap to name a few things. The first room had a wasp nest so we had to be moved. The cost of a meal was outrageous. Making it 'affordable' would get more people to eat thus more income. The quality of the food was poor considering we only had the appetizer. Breakfast was generous and good.

    The location was outstanding. Could not have asked for any better views of the Fjords.

  • July 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    In my oppinion the room was not cleaned at all. There were hairs on the floor and rubbish.

    The breakfast was good.

  • July 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Beautiful room with a peaceful outlook.

  • July 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay

  • July 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location.

  • July 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Bed size

    Small family like run hotel at a countryside setting

  • June 30, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    really friendly staff and great service! beauiful location

  • June 19, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    They accept only the credit card at the desk; in case of problem you are out of order!

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: