Reviews of Okura River Estate B&B

155 Okura River Road, RD2 Albany, 0792 Auckland, New Zealand

#1 of 64 B&Bs and inns in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 275 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • February 20, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drive from Okura River to Auckland Airport took 1 hour 30 mins (instead of 40 mins) because of rain and traffic congestion on the motorway, so leave with plenty of time to get to the airport. I would have liked to stay longer, in the sunshine and explore the area more.

    The hosts Don and Deb were delightful, welcoming, friendly and helpful. There was ample information about surrounding restaurants, places of interest, & services. The room size was generous and prepared with great attention to detail. There are in addition two lounge rooms for guests and only 4 guest bedrooms, so the feeling is more like a sprawling country house than a B&B. We ate our evening meal at a Teppanyaki restaurant in nearby Brown's Bay. Delicious.

  • February 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The river-view was fantastic. There was an extra kitchen for the guest, you could use it the whole day. Their was a large area around the property. The bathroom in the suite has an famous outlook.

  • January 25, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is only a observation not a criticism, but you were unable to lock bedroom door from the outside, although the host never entered your room unless asked, who knows about other guest!

    Everything was as described, the scenery is breathtaking. It was home from home, full use of guest kitchen, a bush walk about 10 mins away. No set time for breakfast and help yourself, to cerial,cheese, ham, bread and 24 hour coffee and tea, good choice of the latter.

  • January 21, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really - the washing machine was quite intrusive and might have kept someone awake, but not me.

    The property was in the most beautiful setting, right on the river. Add to that the good breakfast and comfortable bed and you have a winner.

  • January 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Deb and Don are fantastic hosts of this wonderful B&B. Easy to find, close to nature as well as all your necessary amenities. Comfortable bed and a spa bath to die for with a fantastic view. A good breakfast selection and the Okura Bush Walkway is only 10 mins away by car. My wife and I loved our one night get away.

  • January 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful location, breathtaking views. Worth the while to travel a while to get to the location as it is in Albany. Deb and Don are genuinely very nice hosts and we enjoyed our conversations with them very much. They were helpful to give us tips for the rest of our trip. Made us feel at home from the get go... highly recommended.

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. The only little disadvantage is the distance to Auckland downtown. If you do not need to be often there, then it is the perfect place.

    Don and Debbie are really kind, helpful and friendly. Large continental breakfast, very quiet location, wonderful landscape, close to north Auckland beaches as Mission Bay.

  • December 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This B&B for us was just Perfect.

    Very friendly hosts. Lovely B&B. in fact I would say that for a relaxing vacation this couldn't be bettered. Fantastic area, Fantastic Hosts and the house is just lovely. Views unbelievable.

  • December 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really that we did not like. Instructions around the shared areas can be better.

    The views of the Okura Reserve were very nice. The location is perfect and the hosts were lovely. Breakfast was great as well.

  • December 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold only breakfast was a little below average, though a nice selection of fresh fruit.

    Large, well furnished room and bath. Beautiful setting. It was nice to have full kitchen available.

  • December 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They said I could check in at 12pm, ended up being 2:40 so we had to wait for a while.

    That it was out in the country so it was very beautiful and peaceful.

  • November 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a retreat from everything so you need personal transport or a taxi to get there.

    I couldn't believe how flash the venue was. Incredible views of the river going out to sea. Very private location. Facilities were just incredible and continental breakfast was superb

  • November 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful outlook from the property. Clean comfortable rooms Very warm and welcoming hosts 40 minute drive into central Auckland yet the setting was beautifully rural

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about our stay was wonderful. The hosts were friendly and attentive. And the view! The place is on the edge of a wildlife refuge and the chance to sit in the garden and watch the many types of birds was incredible. The bedroom and bathroom were elegantly appointed. We cooked our dinner in the common kitchen and found everything we needed for a very comfortable and special stay. We hope to stay again before we return to the US.

  • October 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit difficult to find even with a GPS, but worth it, as the location is stunning and reasonably close to amenities in Brown's Bay. Very substantial continental breakfast but no cooked breakfast.

  • October 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All goods. Just a little bit far from city centre. If you drive, maybe around 40 mins. But the view is definitely worth it.

    Don and Deb's place locates in a scenic community. Every morning you can hear the sound of birds, and Okura river is just outside your window. There are two lounges for guests, and both are tasty decor. The room has heaters and you will never feel cold. Queen bed is comfortable.

  • October 24, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I actually don't think there was anything I didn't like.

    The Couple who own the bed and breakfast made me feel very much at home - I loved that they provided natural products to use in the room & bathroom, and that they recycled everything. The room was very comfortable and clean. The house had wonderful facilities available, even for use outside of 'business' hours. I didn't have time for breakfast but they insisted I take some fruit for my journey - love the thoughtfulness. I only wish I had stayed longer. I would definitely return!!

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was lovely, the shared kitchen was well equipped, the bed was comfy and it was great to help yourself to continental breakfast whenever you got up. The hosts were really lovely. The location was so tranquil. We stayed 3 days and could have stayed longer! Thanx deb and don

  • September 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In a hurry to head up north, couldn't stay longer but would have loved to!

    Hosts were very polite and had excellent customer service. Room was perfection. Loved the peacefulness of location . Beautiful room and scenery, overall amazing.

  • September 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all, beautiful property and location.

    Great selection of food for the continental breakfast and the hosts were really friendly.....but not in your way :-)

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Deb and Don are fantastic hosts and it was a pleasure to share their beautiful home. Room and bathroom modern and luxurious. Tasteful lounge with wonderful views. Breakfast is self service and with tea and coffee making facilities available anytime, it makes for a relaxing stay. There is also a fully fitted kitchen available making it an ideal location for a families to get together. Didn't want to leave!

  • July 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hospital hosts, serene and very peaceful location where you have a sense of being close to and being one with the environment. Very clean. I asked and was provided with a desk for my writing.

  • June 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners are lovely. The views, the place, the spa... completely recommendable. I will definitely come back. It has become my new piece of heaven in New Zealand. Perfect to relax and enjoy.

  • May 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls could be slightly thicker, but I'm really reaching here.

    Incredible B&B in a very relaxing and beautiful area with gorgeous views. Lovely hosts and we felt very welcome from the first moment. In fact, it feels like you're staying with friends.

  • May 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a pity that only a modest continental breakfast is on offer. Otherwise it would be a 10!

    Location is superb if you like to be away from the hustle and bustle yet within 25 minutes of the city. Also having kitchen facilities available for guests to use is a big plus ( although we didn't use them). Otherwise very comfortable and everything provided.

  • May 16, 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    The hosts were extremely welcoming with loads of suggestions on what we could do in the area and surrounds. We booked the room with a spa bath which looks out onto a stunning view. The kitchen was wonderful and spacious and gave us the freedom to prepare our own meals. When other guests joined us later there was ample space for us all to get together and have a chat. The breakfast was fresh and we could help ourselves to a variety of items. Would love to go back on my next stay in New Zealand.

  • May 13, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the host welcomed me at the door as I got out of the car. They left some information about dining options in the main lounge for me, apparently after finding out that I had made plans but not mentioned food. Everything is spotlessly clean, and I got a really restful night's sleep in the large comfortable bed. There is a wide variety of healthy and yummy food and drink options at the free breakfast. And I enjoyed chatting with the other guests as well as the views of the estuary and hills. The free wifi is high speed and high quality. There is probably more good things to say. So far this was my second stay this year.

  • April 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    Location is close to Auckland City, just 20min drive, but so unbelievable quite. The scenery with the Inlet and the Nature Reserve directly in front of the house is stunning. The host were extremly friendly, helpful and provided us useful information about the surroundings. Use of spacious kitchen and laundry included, which was very helpful preparing the return flight.

  • April 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved the location, close to the city. The perfect base for heading further north on our day trip. The friendly hosts and relaxing environment made for a great stay.

  • March 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have booked last room available and it happened to be the smallest one. It was pretty hot inside and some renovation going right outside of our room. They don't have many rooms but couple of them were gourgeous, unfortunately we didn't get one.

    The owners- sweet sweet people; hospitable, friendly, helpful The location- beautiful, with river at arm length, with stanning view of mist in a morning and a dew on the lash grass. Although continental but very generous breakfast, available all day; fruit in abundance, etc

  • March 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location, atrocious weather! Very comfortable place, lovely hosts and a very casual breakfast arrangement. We loved helping ourselves to the provisions at a time to suit us, in the breakfast room. Excellent full kitchen, complete with dishwasher, for guests to use at other times. Very clean throughout with a beautiful lounge and dining room giving fabulous views over the river and bush.

  • March 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfection! Stunning location, outstanding hosts, out of this world accommodation and everything was just out of this world! Highly recommend this great B&B.

  • March 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We shared a bathroom which we didn't mind but the owners are in the process of having an ensuite for each room.

    A really homely and comfortable atmosphere in a well presented home. The view from the property is stunning and very peaceful. The owner/hosts Don and Deb are very welcoming. The lounge and dining area are nice, open and very inviting. There is a second large lounge with kitchen at the other end of the house.

  • March 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is absolutely perfect - great views to river and forest reserve. Building is in perfect condition, nothing less - offers use of huge kitchen for guests, if they please. The hosts, Deb and Don, are very friendly and extremely helpful. This is really a gem!!

  • March 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic hosts. Amazing facilities - we used the kitchen, both lounges and outside eating area. The breakfast selection was superb. The whole set up allowed us to completely relax and catch our breath before we commenced our travels again. The location is beautiful with great views. Would highly recommend to all!

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected to have continental breakfast (as it was advertised), but instead it was just a bread and butter with cheese.

    very good view. Remote and very quite.

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need a car to get there.

    Spectacular views of the river, high quality natural shampoo and shower gel, very quiet, very clean, extremely kind and helpful hosts.

  • March 3, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best accommodation I've stayed at in Albany and will highly recommend to all. It's an eloquent home with splendid views and the tranquility is impressive. I particularly enjoyed having a cup of tea on the patio overlooking the scenic reserve when I returned from Albany in the late afternoon. Loved the sights of nature, peace, and quiet. The room was spacious with elegant furnishings and quality bedding.

  • March 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything. The property, views, facilities were excellent. The owners were friendly but not intrusive. The views over the river were stunning. We stayed at several places for our 3 weeks in the North Island and this was definitely the best

  • February 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some building work going on at the moment but this is temporary and will improve the facilities in other rooms

    Great room with en suite (#1) fantastic facilities and views to die for Great hosts who put their guests first

  • February 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee!

    The setting was to die for, our room was fabulous, every little detail had been thought of. One of the best B and B's we have ever stayed in! The couple were so friendly and helpful. A lovely start to our trip.

  • February 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room shared a bathroom, but these rooms are in process of being made ensuite.

    Fantastic views. Very comfortable clean facilities with huge lounge areas for guests to use.

  • February 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The very friendly, welcoming owners. Don and Debbie. The location was unbelievable. It would make the perfect wedding location. Next time I will bring my husband. Absolutely loved it.

  • February 22, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It might have been nice to have actually met the owners but odd hours of my arrival and departure prevented that.

    Lovely surroundings, cleanliness, peaceful and quiet.

  • February 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing could be better

    This had to be the nicest B&B I have ever stayed at. When we first went in I thought we had entered the family living area it was stunning. We stayed in the spa room and the view from the spa tub was awesome. Plenty of things to do in the area. Food available at all times. If I didn't live half the world away I would be back there in a heartbeat.

  • February 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Loved it all.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Quiet, clean and comfortable accommodations with a private bathroom. Excellent breakfast on an outside patio with a great view. Good location within a reasonable distance to dining. Would loved to have stayed longer.

  • February 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared toilet & bathroom, although this wasn't a big issue.

    Great, healthy breakfast in a beautiful setting. Hospitality. Facility (lounge & kitchen at our disposal). Tidiness.

  • February 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a room with a separate toilet but that is a very minor quibble for a great B & B.

    Lovely hosts who even came looking for us when our GPS was not being helpful. Beautiful setting by the river and very convenient for Auckland.

  • February 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our first night's stay in New Zealand. Okura B&B may have set the bar too high for the rest of our trip. :)

    The environment, both inside and out helped put us completely at ease after 24 hours of travel from Canada. The owners were so welcoming and extra helpful when we needed immediate contact with home re: travel documentation. Extra time spent helping us with the rest of our travel plans was greatly appreciated.

  • February 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view! The location was fantastic with an outlook to the Okura river and estuary. The view from the hous is onto the scenic reserve - a few kms by road to get to the start of a beautiful walk. Beautiful beaches are nearby also. The owners are wonderfully unobtrusive so you are left to enjoy the property. Definitely consider using the BBQ and enjoy dinner with a view to die for!

  • February 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a perfect stay in this beautiful bed and breakfast. After travelling for weeks through NZ this was the ideal last stop on our tour: to relax, to do some hard needed laundry, to work out in the beautiful garden, to cook in the kitchen and eat dinner while watching tv :-). Don't forget to go horse riding. It was one of our favourite memories of NZ.

  • January 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It can be a little tricky to find, especially in the evening hours, so using coordinates in the GPS is definitely advisable.

    Deb and Don are lovely, welcoming, knowledgeable hosts offering a warm welcome and plenty of recommendations regarding the area. Their estate offer a lot (such as horse riding activities) so make a point of allowing extra time if you wish to as the location is truly magnificent. In case you are heading south of Auckland this is definitely a perfect spot to stop before moving to another area.

  • January 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mozzi nets infront of the windows. Did the mistake to leave the windows open

    Great hosts. Lovely people. Highly recommemd the place. Get in on this deal before they realise how much they could charge. The location has wedding location potential.

  • January 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not have hoped for a better place to land after a long flight from Switzerland. Wonderful welcoming and helpful hosts, spotlessly clean and so, so peaceful, you could not possibly ask for more.

  • January 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived mid afternoon and were made very welcome by the owners Don & Debbie. Our room was very comfortable and together with the shared bathroom was of a very high standard. The shared kitchen had great facilities and the views were fabulous. Some great walks nearby and if you liked horse riding, then Don could soon fix you up. If you have the time, well worth staying a few nights. Very relaxing and good value

  • January 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly? Nothing.

    This is a perfect location with very nice hosts. Spacious room with a whirlpool tub and a great view, exactly like on the pictures. You can go kayaking and several beaches are just a 10 minute ride away.

  • January 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fresh flowers in our room. Sweet rest at night. Breakfast at anytime. Best Oolong tea in the evenings. Beautiful setting. Drying our laundry on a clothesline outside. Most of all, the wonderful couple who own the place made us feel very welcome. We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • January 13, 2016

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room with the privat bathroom is. Wonderful. The owners. are very friendly and helpful. The view and the environment were a perfect opening to our New Zealnd visit.

  • January 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful and we had a very relaxing time. Amazing area, so much to do. Hoping we can come back one day and stay much longer!

  • January 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don & Debbie were wonderful, awesome location, we went kayaking in the evening and horse riding for 3 hours with Don as our guide. Breakfast was great. What a place!

  • January 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like about our visit. We did forget about the drop to the private cooking area (a few cm), so a written or visual reminder might be helpful. Also, the wooden mat outside the front door will "flip" upwards if one stands on the edge of it. These are observations that I mention only as they may pertain to a tripping hazard.

    Beautiful views over Okura Inlet from a very comfortable ground-level home. There was a large comfortable lounge area, two outside seating areas, and a private cooking and lounge area with TV at the end of the house. If one wants to ride horses, Don and Debbie can arrange this. If one wants to paddle a kayak in the inlet - they can help out there as well. Breakfast can be had at any time as it is always set up in a fine dining room. The home is beautiful, clean, private and well furnished. The hosts know the hospitality industry well and do a fantastic job.

  • December 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is a gem - a comfortable place in the country with superb hosts who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Beautiful spot on the Okura River estuary with sweeping views out the windows and lots of bird life, pastures with horses. A little out of the way north of the city which was a plus for us, but a bit of a drive if you're intent on seeing city sights. On the other hand there are lots of country sights to see!

  • December 19, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not EVERY room has an ensuite, but then again it is a B and B and not a hotel. Yes a scratching for negatives.

    The staff and location is excellent. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Deb and Don can't help you enough. I'll be back!

  • December 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow this place is just amazing! Would have loved to stay here for a week or two. Its just so peaceful and quiet, just what we needed after a long travel. And the staff is just so friendly and nice!

  • December 14, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We finished our hollidays in this place and could not extend our stay. Pitty that we could stay only one night.

    We like everything in this B&B. It was perfect. The owners are very nice , you feel immediately at home. We planned to visite Auckland, but the B&B was so nice and quiet, the nature around the house so beautiful that we decided not to visit Auckland.. You can use for free the kayaks and kayak on the rivers .(its fantastic), still if i did it in the rain.

  • December 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little tricky to find from the map information on Booking.com

    Nice rural / river location The owners were very friendly Enjoyed sharing breakfast with the other guests

  • November 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What didn't we like? Having to leave!

    We had a lovely room overlooking the tidal inlet. The facilities were excellent and spotlessly clean. Everything we might have needed (Hair dryer, curling tongs, toiletries etc) was provided. The hosts were absolutely great.

  • November 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walked through the door of the bedroom and wow! The panoramic view of the river and hills was stunning. This is a very comfortable house run well with an easy help yourself attitude. Very welcoming.

  • November 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Deb and Don are a very welcoming and delightful couple who make you feel very welcome. The beautiful outlook and position on their property soothes your sole after being in Auckland . We would definitely stay again

  • November 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a beautiful place. The views from our room across the river to the ocean. We did not want to leave. I would recommend this B & B to anybody who wants great service in a great place.

  • November 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly, helpful hosts, beautiful surroundings in a serene location overlooking the estuary. Loved the communal living areas and the full fridge and cooking facilities.

  • November 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little details such as candles, shampoo and conditioner, even cotton tips available making us feel at home! Amazing views from bedroom and bathroom! Super friendly staff!

  • July 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the location is stunning. Right on the edge of the river with an amazing view of the Okura bush. Lots of activities to do from horse riding to hiking or just walking up to edge of the river. The fireplace was a very nice and warm surprise too!

  • February 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the end of a private road on the boarder to a national park, this property offers an excellent view over the Okura area.

  • February 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything Perfect! Thanks Deb and Don! The great impressed of the first sight of New Zealand!

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Okura River Estate B&B Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: