Reviews of Mercure Wellington 3.5 stars

345 The Terrace, 6001 Wellington, New Zealand

#49 of 54 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 598 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    5.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • October 4, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Original booking was for a superior room at the Mecure. Two double beds for each room were booked. On arrival the rooms were definitely on a standard quality and one room had two very small single beds. We mentioned it straight away but couldn't be changed. A discount was offered but would have preferred it to be more comfortable. There seemed to be multiple things that weren't quite right but we still managed to have a good time besides all that. Wouldn't stay again.

    Staff were all very helpful and tried to put things right but was fully booked and couldn't be done. Gemma in the restaurant was a standout staff member who turned things around when things weren't going well. We had our evening meal and it couldn't have been better. Very nice.

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were charged twice on our visa by incompetent staff at counter. This should never of happened if they had listened to me. Ears were painted on. Ruined what would of been a good weekend.

    Location

  • September 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lift stopped on every floor except the floor we wanted and this happened on more than one occasion. Also I didn't think it was well sign posted for bottom entrance.

    bed was comfy

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom very shabby. For the price we paid would have expected better. Location at top of a VERY steep hill.

    Dinner in restaurant was good. We stayed 2 nights at the end of a 5 week stay in NZ and before our flight home. Was ok-ish for that purpose (but expensive). Wouldn'the want to stay longer.

  • August 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably made aware that it might be better to get a taxi to Te Papa

    We were in Wellington for a well needed rest and we got it staff were great and we will be back just didn't no how far from Te Papa we were quite a way for a couple not used to walking a long distance.

  • August 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't open wardrobe without standing on unstuck laminate to hold it down so door could slide over it. Only 1 coat hanger. No hair conditioner supplied with the shampoo. Pool wasn't heated and the surrounds were cold and not that clean.

    The food was great and the staff were awesome. Everything (other than the pool area) was really clean. Would definitely stay here again😄

  • August 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much chlorine in the indoor pool. Staff did not offer any first aid (eyedrops) for my partners eyes which were extremely irritated from the mountain of chlorine.

  • August 18, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and particularly the bathroom needs updating. I could not get the shower to work at all. Bathroom looked old and in need of a freshen up. I could not get into the car park. I had to reverse twice, back up and out of the drive to go in and sort it. 3rd time worked!

    The food was very good. My steak was cooked to perfection. Lovely friendly Chef and Staff. Was shocked at having to pay for car parking.

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a little tight for space but clean and serviceable. The hotel is a little tired and could do with an overhaul of rooms but otherwise comfortable.

    Like the access to the hotel by the bottom car park but it would be great to be able to use it after midnight with your room card.

  • August 17, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was in the winter it was important to warm room and the possibilities of control . It was. Bonus for me-free Wi-Fi. Nice views from windows at Wellington

  • August 17, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    F&B offering a bit pricey, bit average. Had Steak first night, breakfast once and meatballs second night.

    Nice view. Good size room. Friendly staff. Awesome high pressure shower.

  • August 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was OK but seemed over priced for what we had. The hotel was further away from shopping facility than we thought.

    The staff at reception and the restaurant were great. They helped us with our heavy luggage and when one case was left behind they organised a taxi to deliver it to us at the train station. Comfortable beds. Warm room.

  • August 15, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being woken by a fire alarm @ 10.30(guess it beats a bomb), no floor lighting, no one checked our rooms, a burst water main and the bill , well it was just the same. Rooms showing their age, could do with some new Tvs, but the place was clean and tidy

    The staf A++++++++++

  • August 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though the location is quite handy, the hotel has a bit of a run down feel. The elevator for the parking level was not working at the time of my arrival, though was working later in the evening.The hot water in my room didn't work, due to some time constraints I was forced to have a freezing cold shower. The fire alarm went off at about 11pm, due to a hot water leek. (The staff were very nice). I understand this hotel has had its fair share of fire alarms. I was very surprised on checkout, that despite the lack of hot water in my room, and the fire alarm no discount or concession of any kind was made.

    The staff were very friendly, and helpful. Handy location.

  • August 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There seemed to be not enough staff to cope with demand. Bar staff came from restaurant so delay in being served is but one example. Heating was off in the public spaces, ie, foyer, floor corridors, bar

    Location

  • August 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid $20 for paking and booked there cause of a heated swimming pool for my boys aged 14 and 16. Went to have a swim and the swimming pool was out of order. If pool was out of order they should have said when l booked pn line.

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could do with some tlc, suffering from some wear and tear, shower curtain with rips, tissue box empty and not replaced and towels not replaced. Air con noisy during the night unless turned off but weather was very cold so needed it on for heat. Was reasonable price though.

    Convenience of the location. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room A/c heater was noisey. Restaurant food quality was average for the price.

    Rooms were a good size and clean. Modern fittings with good hot water pressure in the shower. Helpful and obliging staff. Very good value.

  • August 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Family members had severe eye reaction after swimming in the pool. Spoke to reception, said would follow up.

    Wide variety of choices for breakfast, suited coeliac and children.comfortable beds all had good sleep. A joining rooms was great for family.

  • August 2, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being up a hill and nowhere near any restaurants, we relied on the bistro which was awful - 1 hour to get a meal, offhand staff, poor menu and overpriced. Hotel was cold, lifts were scary and rooms in need of an upgrade.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and went above and beyond to help us.

  • August 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Information states 0.8 km from city, doesn't advise it's all up hill, this would be relevant for people with mobility considerations. Rooms are a bit run down but there is plans for refurbishment.

    Lovely staff, good indoor pool

  • August 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated , dirty rooms, strange mix of smells from raw sewage to cigarette smoke, clumps of black hair all over floor, draw fronts falling off . Not fit for families to stay comfortably in

    leaving

  • July 27, 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was too soft for my husband and I and the pillows were too lightweight (thin). The shower over bath could do with an update.

    Overall cleanliness was excellent, having a carpark each night. Able to get late drinks on Sunday night. Staff very helpful with email and fax and getting into the carpark our card played up. Love being able to watch Tv in room. Room was cosy.

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel a little tired, stayed in room 913 which had extract fan right in top of room on roof. Bathroom only had shower over a bath, which wasn't even a shower you could detach.

    Staff really friendly, close to town for walking (about 10 mins from cbd).

  • July 19, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated and needs renovating. Could see they had puttied up the door that really should be replaced. Felt like I was back in the 1980's.

    Smiley and friendly staff

  • July 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on the top floor and had window cleaners banging around on the roof rather loudly in the early hours of the morning. Also would be nice if the room service had some options for the less adventurous palate.

    Very nice cosy room with an awesome view. Great value for money.

  • July 12, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old, dilapidated building, room was stone cold even with air conditioning on completely full, lack of blankets.

    The dinner I ordered from room service arrived on time

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I would like to see improve was the access to the internet if you weren't in a premium room. Very small down load amount given. I got internet as I agreed to join the loyalty program.

    The location was suitable and the staff very helpful.

  • July 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool is very, very tired... something should be done about that. Brought our swimming gear but weren't tempted!

    The bed was really comfy and aircon was working perfectly. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff on the reception, miserable, couldn't even be bothered to greet us with a smile. I had arranged with my booking three single beds the room should have been ready therefore for three people no it wasn't had to ring down ....another cup...another towel etc another bed! Noisy the pool was bloody freezing the sauna a joke The reception ceiling what a mess .we organisedashuttle, they had my number did they even bother to ring to say that time was unavailable? Arranged my own and they had the cheek to say that's not yours well yeah, it was .bloody awful staff .

    The location this is the second time I had stayed here thought I wouldgive it another chance but that's that

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its pretty worn out hotel. Old and dated facilities. You have to pay extra for parking, and apparently our van is too big for the carpark.

    Its in a quiet street near a nice area with lots of food choices

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedding is not wide enough. Roll over loose the covers. Furnishings need updating as they are not clean. Rooms not serviced till late in the afternoons. Can hear the other guests. Not sufficient bathroom ventilation. Loud air-con.

    Walking distance to city. No street noise. Great views. Good size rooms

  • June 26, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TV wasn't working properly, no decaf coffee no fruit teas. No choice in pillows and decor was very tired. I found it rather noisy.

    The staff were always helpful and always cheerful. Good view and bed was comfortable

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had dirty or badly stained carpet. The roof has obviously had a leak and the paper and stipple was drooping plus there were water marks on the roof I felt the room was quite small for a double plus when I booked I had requested a 2 bedroom unit and got a double room. This was a bit awkward with me and my wife and then daughter and son. We got thorugh that tho.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were well made and comfortable.

  • June 19, 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell and appearance in some areas of the hotel (perhaps a leaky building?). Not in our hotel room itself though.

    The location and facilities available.

  • June 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower outdated. The tap system difficult to turn and in a funny place. The rest of the unit was fine. It was an extremely windy day and the whistling was quite loud in the room.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Beds were also very comfortable

  • June 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet didn't flush properly, shower kept going from hot to cold. We didn't know how to work the sauna properly. Pillows on bed felt like rocks.

    Easy to check in and out and that the reception was open 24/7. Staff were friendly when asking them questions. We enjoyed being able to turn the heat up and down in the room for our comfort.

  • June 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could hear absolutely everything from next door through the room. Also our bed shook extremely violently when they were engaging in amorous activities. Not a great experience at all hours of the day. Needed some decent sound proofing work done asap!

    Clean room, lovely toiletries

  • June 6, 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got there just after 2, limited choice in the restaurant for food.

    staff always so helpful and pleasant. One of the reasons I went back to stay again was due to the friendliness of the staff. 10/10

  • May 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet leaked, stains on our bedding, broken and dirty furniture, terrible to reception, monthly fire call out according to the fire man and very poor hygiene in the bath room including brown smelly water and mould in the shower.

  • May 31, 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The distance when it said it was close to town, pictures were definitely to online than personot it wasn't as clean as it should have been

    The staff werected friendly

  • May 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, staff were great housekeeping quick and very hospitable

    The faciilities sauna and pool for the kids Staff friendly, room clean and tidy and good value for money

  • May 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had no view. No plate to put food from bakery on, or knife to cut up to share with our cuppa before retiring to bed.

    The room was very clean and beds were comfy. Swimming pool is a good size and water was crystal clear.

  • May 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked two rooms. One was fine, tidy, clean and a great view. The other was dirty and very noisy next to the elevator and carpark door that kept us awake throughout the night. Had an issue checking in which delayed us approx. 15mins into our rooms, and when extra towels were needed we had to collect from reception ourselves. Pool was cold and but liked that it was sanitised with salt as opposed to chlorine.

  • May 14, 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too soft Building is run down/old looking. We looked out onto a roof, although beyond this the street view was nice.

    Found the room a good size. We were close to lifts. Liked having a bath. Bed was comfortable. Liked the pool & sauna.

  • May 12, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's just looking very dated and a bit sad. The lighting in the rooms isn't very good and you have to pay additional for WIFI.

    Nice staff but the place is very dated. Lovely breakfast and good view on a clear day.

  • May 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Greeting was average. Place was a bit dirty; staff tried to be friendly but they were so stretched (with very few guests) that you had to wait all the time. Room was acceptable but very tired. Wouldn't stay here again. For facilities better to stay in backpackers.

    Price was reasonable

  • May 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tap over bath ran for 4 nights. 5 days. Gross waste ppf water and very annoying Laughable that they suggested saving our towels to conserve environment Told staff - were told 'it cant be fixed'

    Good reataurant

  • May 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wall was a bit thin heard a rather loud lady next door talking around midnight

    Excellent service upgraded to a room with a fantastic view room was spacious and comfortable. Short walk down to middle of Cuba St for eateries

  • May 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a discrase! There was food and balls of human hair all overthe floor and shower was broken. It was also well over priced for the location and standard of the room.

    Wellington and your front desk staff were helpful and welooming.

  • April 28, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is small, the furniture is super old fashioned, the window curtains are terrible, but the wise of all is the wifi on the second level!

    Fine location, I did walk down to most of places.

  • April 25, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel desperately needs overhaul or at least better maintenance system. I'm fine with older hotels, but light in bathroom wasn't working, hot water tap in the bath was leaking...you get the idea.

    Good location, only short walk to CBD. Loved the sauna gym was good too. And staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • April 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apart from being clean, the room was in a very poor state. Aircon didn't work, manager came up and agreed so reset the entire system to no avail. Showed him the window we tried to open to get air in but had to shut as it was leaking internally. The handle had broken off so he put a towel on the ledge ... Tried to buy a drink in hotel bar at 9pm - one patron there but no staff ... could've helped ourselves I guess ... The room next door came home at 11pm and chatted until 4am - good on them and why shouldn't they - however there's no inter-tenancy soundproofing so we could've joined in their conversations. Suffice to say - worst night ever in a hotel room and at a cost of $269 expected a hell of a lot better!!

    The few staff we actually saw were great given what they had to deal with.

  • April 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    Helpful friendly staff. The only problem I encountered was when I was checking out, the system wasn't working properly and despite four attempts to pay using two different cards in the end I had to leave with my payment going through after I'd left. This delay was a nuance as I had to get to the airport for an early morning international flight.

  • April 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the room for what I paid was not that good, old wripped shower curtain, bathroom looked like it needed a do up, not as good as other places for same price.

    The morning staff especially the Japanese man from Christchurch was excellent, so helpful and unpretentious, made up for check in

  • April 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have had more channels on the tv.

    The lady that checked us in was extremely nice and very helpful. The room was large and had everything we needed. Great location and walkable into town.

  • April 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little dated and in need of some renovations, but great for the price.

    Japanese Manager was very friendly and welcoming. It was fantastic value for money and I would certainly stay again. It was good to discover a back door which made the walk to the city shorter and easier.

  • April 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Hair dryer in room was useless. - Tissues were in the bathroom right next to the toilet paper, it's almost pointless, tissues should have been in the bedroom part of the hotel. - Power ports are not in convenient locations. One was behind the tv and the other in the mini bar cupboard. - Previous customers must have smoked in the room and the hallway at the windows as there were cigarette buts outside on the ground & balcony sill and the smell was very distinct & strongly musty.

    Bed was extra comfy. Price was very good. Breakfast buffet was delicious.

  • April 10, 2016

    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool and sauna were cold. The sauna should be preheated for use daily.TV remotes need replacing, they didn't work properly. Not value for money. Not very happy on the price.

  • April 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a stale odor on one of the beds, breakfast had great choice but the eggs were tasteless. There was confusion about the floors & parking, suggest a hotel map when you check in with clear instructions. Many who stayed were lost. Great once you know though. I will definitely come back.

    Decor, it is comfortable & staff are friendly

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smelt smokey, was very dated. Pool and gym good but not well maintained. Cleaning staff spoke little or no English. bathroom was small and poorly designed water everywhere. was higher up than we would have liked decent walk

    Clean and tidy and quite a good location

  • April 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit of a shabby building,patches on the roof in reception,one lift working, place needs an upgrade, oh and young couple having sex in the stairwell at 7a.m

  • March 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated decor (I understand it is a large expense to keep wallpaper and carpet up to date however combine with holes in the wallpaper and stains on the carpet it is less than acceptable). There was a large sticky patch on the floor which we kept standing in. The bed sheets and towels had stains on them (so of which may have been blood). I also would not have advertised the room as a Superior Queen with a bath because, although the bed was large, the room felt small and the bath was barely big enough to sit down in for anyone over 5'. There was also no fan in the bathroom so it filled with steam and left everything in there (including the dry towels) wet. Possibly what I didn't like the most was that I had requested extra pillows for watching movies in bed (a fair request I thought, and simply done) however when I got to my room I found only two very thin pillows arranged in the most uncomfortable looking way possible. I also requested a late checkout at 12pm instead of 10am and was then disturbed by someone at our door at a 11am asking when we were going to check out. All in all, for the (high) price I paid for the room I was disappointed by the details.

    Very nice view of the city. Staff were friendly. Although I didn't get a chance to use them, the fact that there was a gym and pool available was good.

  • March 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    place looks tired and in need of a facelift inside. bathroom could do with a good tidy and proper clean, get the cleaner to go in and close the door then they will see the dirty marks etc

    handy to where we wanted to go. awesome staff

  • March 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place felt very run down. In need of renovation in bathroom and room itself. Staff in Restarant were very inexperienced, and meal was over priced for what it was. Meals did not arrive in a timely manner, we were contemplating on leaving due to the delay.

    It was clean, and Price and location were good.

  • March 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was beyond what i expected, and our sleep was amazing because of the comfort. Also the facilities (e.g) the pool was really lovely and we enjoyed our time.

  • March 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I've had a deduction for minibar usage from my credit card which I did not use and nobody can be bothered replying to my email requesting a refund. I am still awaiting this refund in full for something that is your staff's problem and not mine because I know we did not touch anything from this minibar.

  • March 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff Training. Also happy hour in bar it would be nice to have some atmosphere is music tea light candles in glass jars etc

    The staff need to ensure they check for the guest lists for the day and understand their requirements or read booking details.. Ie have they booked a parking spot. ...did they request Internet instead me having to follow up

  • March 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning needs to work better on the cooling side. Didnt get cold enough. Bathroom needs refurbishment, but it was clean.

    Great staff,very friendly and helpful. Good location. Comfortable bed and adequate bathroom.

  • March 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only problem I came across the pool. Having a young child it could be made safer and warmer for all to enjoy

    Staff were friendly and enthusiastic. Love how hotel tries to be environmentally friendly.

  • March 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Foyer ceiling around lights needed repairing, had duck tape around some lights. Curtains needed some new hooks in the room and some veneer broken off furniture. Just needed some general attention to details but it was very clean.

    Good value for money.

  • March 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I did not like was the fact that when I entered my room I found that the toilet was leaking. I reported it to Reception and was told it would be dealt with. When I came back to the room later I found that their method of 'dealing with it' was to simply throw a towel on top of the water and that was it. I went back to reception and complained and they gave me another room for which I was assured I would not be charged extra but when I examined my account on returning home I found they had charged my an extra $20-00. I rang them about it and they have agreed to refund me the extra $20-00. All in all I was not greatly impressed with Mercure. And especially not their parking charges - $20 overnight is exhorbitant especially when after leaving there I stayed at the Boulevard Lodge in Lower Hutt where there was no charge for parking!!

    The bed was comfortable. The evening meal was poor. The fish was tasteless.

  • February 29, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got charged extra for everything!, extra $20 to park my car, extra $5 to deliver my room service!, Noisy Air Con, Hard Bed, Unfriendly Staff, Very old Shower.

  • February 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked online. Secured room with my credit card. It was advertised that you pay on arrival and you could select method of payment. I was going to pay in cash. The day we were arriving money was taken out of my card I had booked with. When we arrived I told them what had happened. They said they would refund me. 3 days later, money still hasn't been refunded. Not happy

  • February 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no center ceiling light bulb which could have been helpful at night. This is minor though. The 24 hour room service had an answer phone and nobody called back after 30 mins went down stairs to order a snack which was dealt with immediately. When calling reception nobody answers. But on going down to reception I can see they are speaking to clients but it doesn't fulfill the service though does it? Apart from that everyone was most pleasant and helpful. Good job Mecure.

    Loved the location as was easy to get to anywhere you wanted to go. Hotel staff were so helpful. Very good service when asked.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: