Reviews of Caloura Hotel Resort 4 stars

Rua do Jubileu 27, Lagoa, 9560-260 Caloura, Portugal

#2 of 3 hotels in Caloura

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 120 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 19

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other guests that smoked on their balcony... Cigarette smoke drifted into our room and we often had to close our door-such a shame as we enjoyed the sound and breezes of the ocean. Maybe the room was a little outdated but nothing to worry about.

    Amazing location with beautiful oceanfront view. Lovely pool. Pretty good breakfast buffet. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We would go back again and recommend to family and friends.

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked to make tea in our room in the morning but this is not usually offered on the island so not really a great problem

    Beautiful location and complete relaxation. Excellent staff and the food was very good. We loved the peace and quiet.

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our flight was late arriving and it would have been nice to have been able to get a hot drink on arrival. I understand that some flights are regularly late so this must be an issue for many people. I don.t know if this is something that is mentioned to you

    the choice of foods for breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and had a lovely sea view.

  • July 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The prices are quite higher than expected. I've had much better food on the island for a fraction of the cost so made sure to eat out the other times. The room having 2 single beds rather than 1 large.

    The view from our room was the best.

  • July 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was ok, I wouldn't want to eat there more than once though due to lack of atmosphere - yes you get a beautiful view, but not much substance (although you have to expect that from a hotel, to a point). Bar Caloura was great, but not much else around for choice. Maybe Booking.com should add an Atmosphere rating?

    Beautiful location. Lovely views and pool!

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was wonderful and helped with everything we asked for. The location is amazing atop a cliff at the edge of Caloura overlooking the ocean with private paths down directly to the water. The food situation could be improved a bit - free breakfast was very good but the only option for dinner is buffet dinner for 27 EU/person and the choices were often some type of fried fish. There is a snack bar which is good but limited - and I would have liked to see more local cuisine offered. They definitely cater more towards a British-style clientele. You can get a great meal on this island easily for around 15-20 EU/person but you will need a car as the village is very quaint. The pool was wonderful. Wish the gym had a bit more to it but I imagine the average person staying here probably doesn't use it too much.

  • May 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing as such apart from outdoor pool being very cold. The mattresses on the beds could do with upgrading, preferably without a plastic mattress cover. Having said that we hope to be back next year.

    Virtually everything and tennis court was a bonus but bring your own racquets

  • April 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Psuedo remote location between Ponta Delgado and Furnas. I loved that it sat on the beach and every view was amazing. The staff was super helpful and genuinely friendly. I would stay again and recommend it to all my friends

  • February 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked tea / coffee making facilities in the room and free safe.

    Beautiful location, excellent breakfast, large room with stunning views. Lovely public areas.

  • December 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some strangers dark hair pieces in the bathroom when we arrived and throughout the hole stay

    The view was to die for :) Staff was super smiling and polite.

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little not to like but the coffee and orange juice at breakfast rather poor. Nitpicking, but waterproof sheet on bed uncomfortable and hot. Great introduction to the Azores for us - we will be back!

    Position, friendliness of staff, cleanliness and general aura of the hotel. Plenty of parking and a peaceful location.

  • November 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My brother and I wanted to use the fitness room but the equipment was broken and there wasn't even weights for a proper workout. Another thing is that there is no cosy feeling in the evening whatsoever, because they lack lamps in the garden and the existing lamps in the facilities are very cold and ugly. So when you look out through the windows you'll only see blackness.

    The location on the cliffs was perfect and the rooms were big enough. The food was good and the service as well.

  • October 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room we were given was a very big disappointment, it was in a very poor location, on ground floor and no view, although we paid for a sea view room all we could see was a wall!

    Location,garden,pool

  • September 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very lovely hotel at a location with an amazing view. Access to a great beach. Good if you want to get away from it all. Will need a rental car as there is nothing around.

  • November 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location, good breakfast, big rooms with wonderful ocean views

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No net curtains on windows!

    Stunning location and views. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast.

  • April 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location , view is magnificent, staff, highly recommended

  • January 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Menu could get a little boring after a week.

    Location!

  • June 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old furniture

    One of the best hotels on sao miguel. Perfect location for enjoying azores nature. Reasonably close to main attractions. Fair quality

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Caloura Hotel Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: