Reviews of Casa Do Populo

Rua Padre Domingos Silva Costa Nº 1015, 9500-614 Ponta Delgada, Portugal

#1 of 62 vacation rentals in Ponta Delgada

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 105 apartment reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 24

  • January 11, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't stay more because we had to get back to work! :)

    Paula and Joao are awesome people owning an awesome 200 years old house with a huge garden/yard. They explained to us the ins and outs of Sao Miguel the first night we arrived and were there to help by any means they could during our stay. The apartment is being cleaned everyday and the service is superb. The fireplace is amazing to have in the winter time when the temperature goes a bit lower than usual. If I ever go back to Azores (which is very likely), I would definitely look to reserve their place as my first choice.

  • October 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Its a perfect cottage, perfect host, perfect location, perfect island. You could not whish for more. Ein muss für alle, die nach Sao Miguel fliegen.

  • October 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I travel a lot and it's not too often that I leave a place feeling not only well treated as a guest but inspired. The owners of the property, Paula and Joao were delightful and the work they have done to create an inviting retreat is evident everywhere. They were helpful with suggestions for restaurants and outings and invited us and other guests to share wine with them in the evening. A welcome basket of Azores goodies was a pleasant surprise and included the best pineapple my husband and I have ever eaten! Even though the exterior is old, the apartment's interior design was modern and comfortable. It included everything we needed to feel at home. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The property was also amazing; a trail meanders around the property, like a little nature trail right outside your door. This was our favorite stay in the Azores and I would definitely stay again if I travel again to the Azores.

  • October 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the only flaw was the short (180cm) and somewhat uncomfortable bed and the minimalistic equipment of the kitchen (e.g. just one cooking plate)

    Very warm welcoming, outstanding friendliness of the owners, very helpful tips about the island, the nice welcome-basket with typical products, worderful garden with pool and ample space, good location for excursions to all parts of the island, quiet place. We would like to come back!

  • October 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect.

    Our stay at Casa do Populo was wonderful!! Paula is an amazing person, and went out of her way to make us feel welcome and at home. The place is gorgeous and peaceful, and fully equiped with much more than you can imagine- kitchen, pool, game room, travel equipment... We highly recommend Casa do Populo! Thank you for a great time, and we will definitely come back if we get the chance.

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was quit hard and small. There aren't much good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    Lovely hidden spot with very nice owners. It's handy to have a car so you can travel around the island.

  • September 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property and the apartment were amazing...the kids had a great time at the pool every evening! I just cannot say enough good things about our hosts, Paula and Joao, who provided us with lots of information about the various attractions, hikes, etc. getting us to a great start on our exploration of the island! We loved exploring the gardens and tasting the various fruits, some of which we've never seen before.

  • June 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only possibly negative thing about this wonderful place would be that the beds are quite short. It wouldn't be a problem if you're not very tall though.

    Beautiful garden and very nice and helpful staff. Nice welcome basket and very big apartment. Cute pool in the garden. this place is excellent if you like to spend some time in the hotel/apartment, because it is so nice. We barely had time to spend there though, since we were out exploring the island all day long. Children friendly place and parking spaces and a supermarket very close. Quiet area.

  • May 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The accommodation was beautifully and tastefully decorated. The hosts were great too! They helped us make reservation at a local restaurants and recommended other places to visit...

  • April 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Charming, kind and very helpful owners. Good location outside the city close to beach. Clean apartment, very pleasant garden and useful common room. Great extras like free bikes with helmets, welcome basket and lovely drinks with hosts. Loved it and would be glad to come back one day!

  • March 20, 2016

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen facility is basic, ok for simple meals, but if you plan to cook dinner, it might be not the best option.

    Casa do Populo is just a fantastic place to stay, even better than in the description and pictures! Hard to describe all the beautiful details it has and an excellent taste in decoration. It's also very clean, has huge garden and is separated perfectly from the street and noise. It is located a few km from Ponta Delgada, very easy to reach by car in 10min. There is also a bus stop around the corner. The owners are super friendly, interesting and helpful, putting a lot of heart into comfort of their guests. We had a fireplace prepared every day we came back in the evening. We hardly felt the urge to go out and discover the island! Thank you very much!

  • February 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our stay at Casa Do Populo was absolutely wonderful! We arrived quite early in the morning and our room would not be ready until the afternoon but our hosts Paula and Joao invited us in for coffee and biscuits and made us feel right at home, they allowed us to leave our bags, secured in their home while we toured a little bit of the island. We returned in the afternoon and were led to our apartment, it was beautiful, we were absolutely thrilled with not only the apartment but the beautiful grounds that surround the house, there were approximately 2 acres of gardens and fruit trees complete with trails to walk. We felt truly blessed to have been able to stay in such an amazing home with such lovely hosts. Paula and Joao went over and above to make us comfortable and make our stay so memorable. We would definitely return and would highly recommend Casa Do Populo to anyone looking for a little piece of heaven on earth :) Obrigado Paula and Joao

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really to mention, everything was good. The sitting room could maybe be more comfortable, perhaps improving the distribution of the furniture.

    Joao et Paula are really friendly, warm and kind. They cleaned the room every day. They helped us with everyhing we needed, they are really charming. The garden was really nice and the shared living room was full equiped and very curious because it was an old wine cellar. The appartment had everything we needed and there were some old furnitures very valuables as the wardrove. The bedroom is spacious with a very good views to the garden.

  • October 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave didn't seem right ;)

    Everything just great: from the wonderful property with all its hidden gems to the welcome basket to the wonderful owners/ hosts!

  • September 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Property owners Joao and Paula went out of their way to assist us, for starters Joao picked us up late at night at nearby location when light and maps were not sufficient and hard to see street names. They us recommendations on attractions and offered to make reservations for us, their descriptions and recommendations were of great assistance in planning our 5 day stay. On last night we stayed in and ordered a typical Portuguese dinner and we were pleasantly pleased with the meal Paula prepared of locally sourced foods, including an excellent home made banana cake (bananas from property)

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    None

    Nice and helpful owners.Very clean and tidy.Huge garden around to explore.

  • September 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wonderful garden very friendly and willing owners good location

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beauty of the property, kindness of the hosts

  • June 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect

  • June 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic property; extremely friendly and helpful owners. The welcome basket with traditional Azorean products is a nice touch.

  • May 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lit fireplace drew a smile on our faces every evening upon returning to the apartment. Paula and Joao thank you again for all the hospitality.

  • April 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have nothing to complain about

    Everyday cleaning, extra towels for bathing, maps and owners' recommendations what to visit and where to go.

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent at all levels! Very friendly hosts!

  • February 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hospitality, decor, property and gardens, quiet location (yet close to the main roads). We've spent 5 beautiful days there.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Casa Do Populo Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: