Reviews of Casa Paula Apartments

Rua Miguel Bombarda, n.º23, 8600-608 Lagos, Portugal

#14 of 111 Holiday rentals in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 apartment reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom facilities need updated as showing signs of age / wear & tear. (Very clean but a bit tired looking)

    Clean, friendly well run apartments close to town centre.

  • 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description & pictures on booking.com only apply to one of the studios.Two of the studios & one of the apartments are on the ground floor. They are dark, have no view & no sun. They open onto the pool area which is tiny, the pool is only in the sun for a couple of hours at midday. Two apartments are on the first floor & are a little brighter, but apart from studio no 6, none of the other five have any private outdoor space for dining. If you are unlucky, as we were, and have very inconsiderate guests who sat on the sun beds , drinking, smoking & talking very loudly at 2 am, they are right outside your bedroom window. The communal roof terrace is lovely & sunny with great views, but if you want to eat a meal up there, it means carrying your food up two flights of stairs. The owners should market the units individually & price them accordingly.

    The ease of walking into town

  • 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was terrible in our room, which was a real pain since we needed it. Also, the owner was nowhere to be found during the three days. Also, being low season, the price could have been a bit lower

    Excellent location and really nice apartment. The terrace, with excellent views is a plus.

  • 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction work next door was load in the evenings when we were trying to enjoy the rooftop terrace

    Really nice looking Casa. The pool area and rooftop terrace were very charming. Could see the sea from the terrace. The room was very spacious and the location in the old town was great

  • 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The guests before us were smokers. The appartment smelled really bad the first day. Our garbage bin was only emptied once in the 6 nights we stayed, which forced us to place the garbage bags in front our appartment to get rid of the smell.

    We had a big appartment with private roof terrace, which was very pleasant. The location of the appartment is really good. Just a short walk downhill and you're in the center of Lagos.

  • 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining space too small for self catered dinner. Laundry facility would have been fantastic. Was only apartment in whole holiday without this

    Lovely quiet location, close to beaches, old city sights and restaurants. Comfy beds too.

  • 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were a bit springy and small windows meant the rooms were a little dark in the daytime.

    Great spaces for chilling out - whether on a poolside recliner or the roof terrace with a view of the sea. Apartment itself is well laid out with all the equipment you need including hairdryer, iron etc.

  • 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think the owners need to consider whether the apartments are for adult holidayers or families. The small 'dip' pool could not accommodate children jumping in, splashing around and shouting as well as the adults that want to cool down. I felt pushed out of the pool area because of this reason and because of the lack of sun loungers. Other than this, the apartments were fantastic.

    The location was fantastic. If you're debating whether spending the extra cash is worth it, trust me, it really is! You can roll out of bed and get to a beach/all the shops, as well as going out for drinks and roll back into bed! The air conditioning in the room is a saviour, as well as the dual head shower. Rooms were cleaned every two days with fresh towels, such a treat to come home to! Lastly, the pool area and roof terrance made up for the lack of a balcony as there are tables to eat at.

  • 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool is lovely for a refreshing dip but not big enough for a proper swim.

    Great location, close to town and a small but pretty beach , yet quiet at night. Lovely terrace with great views . Great value for money. Boutique sized which I personally much prefer.

  • 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is a little noisy at night due to the youths. But I think that's everywhere in Lagos.

    The location and the view from the terrasse was breathtaking. Perfect

  • 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find a parking spot nearby since it is really in the city center.

    Location was excellent, really silent apartment, beds were big and comfy.

  • 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall experience was great, we just thought that the fixtures and facilities would be a little more modern/premium considering the high price.

    Really close to the town centre without the noise. The apartments are clean with everything you need. There's a tiny pool and a separate rooftop terrace which we hung out on for a little while in the afternoon after visiting the beach (which was also close by).

  • 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    parking is a sometimes a challenge for all local residents and guests, so you may need a 5 min walk to your car.

    clean, with all the self catering equipment needed for a family, plus use of a small pool. roof terrace is excellent. really nice to eat outside.

  • 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of 135eur per night and high score review, I expected a bit more for the price. It's basic accommodation with minimal design.

    It has nice location but quiet surrounding for good night rest.

  • 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was cleaned on every two days...definitely it will be appreciated if this could happen every day!

    The location is very good, in the old town, near to the beach; it has a beautiful terrace with a nice sea view.

  • 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi - what wifi? There was one spot we found oitside on the stairs where it actually worked well enough to send an email or load a page. It didn't work at all in our apartment. Disappointing as we had stuff we needed to organise for the rest of our trip and had to go elsewhere for decent wifi.

    Location was great. Quiet and close enough to everything.

  • 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was inconsistent.

    Location - just outside edge of old quarter so quiet and easy to get to the centre. Close to beaches. They had a pool but even though the weather was warm the pool was not yet warm enough for swimming! But lounging beside it was great. And you could soak your travel weary feet in the water! They have a roof top terrace which was lovely! The unit was immaculately tidy and spotlessly clean!!

  • 2 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt of cigarettes, there was a cigarette butt on the bathroom floor.The apartment is in desperate need of renovation, looked like it hadn't been renovated since the 1960s. Everything felt dirty, didn't want to use the kitchen. I couldn't wait to get out of there, I moved to Tivoli Lagos Hotel which for the exact same price was 100 times better.

    The location was good, staff provided helpful advice on which beaches to visit.

  • 1 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit old fashioned interior

    Great value for money and perfect location to explore the town and beaches. A lovely studio flat with everything needed for a nice stay

  • 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is spotty.

    Clean, comfortable apartment. Well outfitted kitchen. Comfortable bed. Nice pool and terrace. Easy walking to the beach and to central part of town. Quiet, residential section of town.

  • 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were great! Loved the fact there were clothes drying racks built in! The upper terrace was wonderful for breakfast and dinner overlooking the beaches! Great staff! Such cleanliness!

  • 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing, totally nothing.

    Lovely apartment in the historic centre. Very friendly welcome on arrival. The quite small but nice pool was cold (off course). Perfect to get awake in the morning or to cool down on a hot day. We had apartment nr 6, with a sunny private roof terrace... Nice small roads, we parked our rental car outside the historic centre about 500 mtr from the apartment.

  • 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing.

    Casa Paula was perfect for us. We loved the paint scheme and the total cleanliness of the property. The proprietor and his assistant were both wonderfully friendly and helpful. They made us feel completely welcome and made great suggestions for day trips on our bicycles and wonderful restaurants. We were even able to get our room a day early on one hour's notice :)

  • 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charming cheerful decor. Kitchen provided with all necessary amenities. Lovely pool and patio area even though too cold to swim. Nice terrace with view. Location excellent for walks along the cliffs or access to downtown.

  • 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite distinctive. So some more desirable than others. Might be worthwhile to ask to see several before settling on one. However place is small and units vary in size. Our unit was less than perfect.

    Location is very good. Bit of a walk uphill.Nice outdoor decks.Quiet.

  • 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Équipes witz main necessities, Easy location close to all amenities, lovely staff, helpfull and available for hints. And don't forget to pop upstairs and check out the terrace

  • 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Proprietor happily accommodated our requests and the apartment had very good facilities + proved to be in an excellent location for the town, the river and the beach.

  • 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    Very clean well equipped one bedroom apartment -on the ground floor but bright and quiet-. Walking distance to the old city and the beaches. No sea view from our apartment but easy access to the communal terrace which offers a very large panoramic view..

  • 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner/manager doesn't live on site so it is extremely quiet. We like meeting other people so it was too quiet for us. We didn't even catch a glance of the other guests!

    Good, clean and comfortable, well equipped en suite rooms, in a house a short walk up the hill away from the town, (which can be very noisy). Lovely pool (very small) in little garden terrace, with umbrellas and loungers, very pleasant roof terrace with views. .

  • 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon arrival, the property's representative messed up the credit card charge process and we were double charged on 2 separate credit cards. The property's representative has acknowledged the problem but seems incapable of fixing it. So it looks like we'll have to protest one of the charges and get it reversed that way.

    Great location.

  • 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the equipment is a little 'the worse for wear', and the pool is only big enough for cooling off, not swimming.

    Facilities perfect for our needs. Just far enough from town not to be affected by nightlife noise, but close enough for easy access to shops and restaurants. On a quiet street with virtually no traffic.

  • 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was the single beds but no big deal really, probably slept better anyway.

    Loved the homely feel, like an oasis when returning home after being out all day in Lagos. The pool and rooftop were lovely.

  • 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little bit hard and the seagulls screams a lot during nighttime.

    Very nice and clean apartment, It was a wonderful view fr.o.m. the roof terrace. A very short walk to the center of the town. Good Wi-Fi...

  • 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Spacious studio, with lots of light, big kitchen and bathroom. Best part was the private terrace and the view. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. We found parking right next to the apt.

  • 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the beds. Having said that, however, I still slept well.

    Location was great! Just a short and easy walk to restaurants, beach and shops. Owners were fantastic.. friendly and helpful. Apartment was very clean, equipped with everything. Great place to relax by the pool or on the terrace; especially at dusk, where you can watch the sky change into soft colours as the sun sets. However, it's also close to all the action! Loads of bars and restaurants to chose from; all open till late.

  • 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds could have been a bit better, especially a fixation of the wheels would have been nice, but also the springs are slightly perceptible. The shower bath is difficult to step in and out (door opens over bidet).

    The location is very good: quiet and still close to restaurants, bars and beaches. The kitchen is fully equipped. The studio is so large that is feels like an apartment. Staff is friendly though not very often present. The (small) swimming pool and rooftop terrace are real assets in a densely populated town center.

  • 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lower apartment could use a dehumidifier; our towels never dried and bed linens and clothes hanging in wardrobe were very damp. There was a musty smell in the apartment.

    Lovely property well located to old town. Large lower apartment with well equipped kitchen.

  • 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    owners were very nice and did not interfere once we were booked in. very clean place and convenient to the main centre of lagos. It is up on a hill and this would not be comfortable for people with disability or too many young kids

  • 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our own roof terrace, with free wifi, safe and airconditioning. Very clean and fresh towels supplied often. Every appliance supplied including hairdryer, iron and iron board.

  • 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent first night on twin beds before we realised there was a double sofa bed!

    Plenty of hot water, clean towels, comfortable settee and spectacular terrace with colourful sunbathing, eating and sitting facilities. Well equipped kitchen with nearby supermarket and restaurants. Parking opposite the building.

  • 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was weak.

    Loved the location. the staff was very welcoming and explained everything. The unit felt completely secure. The pool and rooftop terrace were great. The bed was very comfortable.

  • 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi signal in the rooms wasn't that good.

    Great location - easy access to the town, harbour and beaches.

  • 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely, private and super clean home, located in a wonderful area.The host was very nice and relaxed!Thank you for that!

  • 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really

    Very good location, very comfortable and good facilities

  • 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication about what to do at check out could be better.

    We loved the roof top terrace

  • 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked everything.

    Location was excellent. Staff were wonderful. Very clean.

  • 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Quiet, peaceful, relaxing, good location.

  • 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    comfortable bed and location

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too small.

    It was a quiet place with an excelent view to the sea.

  • 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little apartments, right near the beach

  • 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location and nice staff.

  • 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited parking

    Fantastic location, excellent rooftop

  • 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is great, staff have little problems with English, but is great, the pool in own teritory is great!

  • 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for in and out of all the bars!

  • 7 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location as it wasn't too far from anything and not too noisy.

  • 6 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I liked everything.

    It was a very well equipped apartment, very clean and in a great position.

  • 31 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location but quiet, friendly staff good value

  • 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was superb. Outdoor space was especially fantastic. Very quaint and comfortable - perfect for a beach vacation!

  • 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    everything

  • 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Home from home. Our 4th stay. We keep coming back because it is perfect!!!

  • 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Like it's name, our apartment had charm, was well cared for and the location was excellent.

  • 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep walk up hill in old town. Old fridge and beds on wheels but comfortable.

    Close to a couple of beaches but steep climb.

  • 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    everithing

  • 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some mold on grout in bathroom.

    Great location, spacious apartment.

  • 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mistake about car park space on advertisement...

    Price and location of Apartment.

  • 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice, cosy apartment.

  • 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Location, friendly staff, cleanliness

  • 14 September 2015

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Leaving

    Once again loved it staff cant do enough forn you excellent location so near town yet so quiet small plunge pool love it here

  • 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi signal is not strong enough

    swimming pool is great the room is clean

  • 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    awful wifi connection.

    really nice apartment. Just few minutes walking from the city center and from the first beach.

  • 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, clean room. Friendly staff. Small but nice pool.

  • 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is up a steap hill. Would need some updating and better cleaning.

    The staff was great. Nice with a pool.

  • 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    Location, security and staff were wonderful.

  • 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds on wheels

    Great location and terrace

  • 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seagulls nesting on derelict building nearby a bit noisy if your a light sleeper.

    Location, Clean and well kept apartment, views from terrace.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Casa Paula Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: