Reviews of Sete Cidades Lake Lodge

Rua das Lavadeiras 2, 9555-194 Sete Cidades, Portugal

#1 of 6 hotels in Sete Cidades

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 46

  • February 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I totally recommend this place. It was as in the pictures. Home atmosphere and very well located. I wish I could live there! Andre was great host, he gave us lot of information about the island. He was very friendly and helpful. Such a nice experience..

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture is good quality but the bubgalow need a bit of paint job done inside in the bathroom and living room. Also the lock on the front door was not working (door still closing safetly and unable to open from outside) For the price i would expect everything to be 100%.

    Set in the best location in Sao Miguel. literally 20m from the lake.Many things to see in the area. Bungalows are great overall. Bed is memory foam and very comfortable. Very quiet area. Although it says no breakfast there is plenty left for you to eat and drink including vine. Owners are very nice.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing location, great hosts. The bungalows are very neat, very comfortable and have everything you need for your stay. Great for recovering your energy after a day of exploring the island!

  • July 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice with an airconditioner, but everything else was great!

    Great location 100 meters from the blue lake, really friendly host and cozy bungalow.

  • June 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. I couldn't think of anything that could be improved in my opinion.

    Everything was fantastic. Andre the owner gave us lots of information, and we loved the design and comfort, and the treats that were left - I think everything was catered for. The location is amazing and the village was welcoming.I only wish we could have booked for longer but was no availability. Still I'm happy we managed to get 2 nights! I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • June 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This lodge is right on the 7 cities blue lake. Not directly facing the lake but it's as close as you can get. It was a pleasant surprise to find a fully equipped kitchen which we thoroughly enjoyed. There are 3 lodges on the property but very private. The landlord was extremely friendly and helpful showing us the different walk paths, restaurant and sites to visit on the map. The lodge is very comfortable with a very comfortable bed. We enjoyed lighting the fireplace and enjoying the complimentary wine and cheese. This place is magical.

  • May 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really good place to stay but If cold better have some skills to manage the fireplace.

    Perfect location, great design and very nice welcome details. The host was really helpful giving us tips of the area and the whole island.

  • April 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lodges are beautiful, clean, and comfortable. Andre, the owner, has thought of every detail to help make a great stay. He had lots of tips on what to do, and the welcome basket kept us well fed for several mornings. The location is perfect.

  • April 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful spot and bungalows - can't beat the location in Sete Cidades. The owner was so incredibly helpful getting us set up for our stay and providing recommendations. Highly recommend!

  • April 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    everything perfect! clean, comfy bed, great location (few steps away from the lake), well equipped kitchen utensils. very kind owner - Andre - gave good advices on where to eat where to go hiking and sightseeing. the cottage itself is very lovely, stylish decoration, cute and made us truly feel like home!

  • February 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I came in February and there was fog throughout my stay - something winter visitors should keep in mind. Also, there was low humming noise during the day from agricultural works around - not the owners' fault though and not serious to be disturbing.

    Superb and serene location, really a one-of-a-kind accommodation. Bungalows are with -very- high standard. Not to be missed!

  • December 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a great place to stay in Sete Cidades, close to the lake area, with parking space, and with an incredible lodge. The attention from Andre as you arrive, his tips for your planned visits, are in line with his attention to the details that will make your stay memorable.

  • December 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful accommodations in an ideal location. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly. Andre provides information only a local would know about the best places to visit, where to hike and good places to eat. The lodges are so beautiful they could be showcased in an architecture magazine. They are well equipped and nicely decorated. Staying at Sete Cidades Lake Lodges was the highlight of my trip to Lisbon & the Azores.

  • December 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived to the lodge later than expected in the day and with an 18 month old baby and were amazed at how well prepared our lodge was. There were many thoughtful touches- toys for the baby, a portable crib, local food and a bottle of wine. Highly recommended!

  • December 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very attractive and interesting property in a great location André was friendly, helpful and informative Good to have some provisions on arrival

  • November 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Everything was perfect.

    A very special place. Contemporary style but still remaining cosy and comfortable. Fantastic location. Andre gave us aome great recommendations.

  • November 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Andre is excellent and friendly! He gave us advices where to go, what to see... There were also some fruit, bread, wine... on the table on our arrival. Bungalow was perfect, clean, equiped by furniture made of materials of excellent quality..

  • November 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything about this place. There was great communication with the owner, he was out of town so we met with his father, who gave lots of information about the area. The accomodations was quiet, extremely comfortable and romantic. The view was spectacular and the hiking was wonderful. I would recommend everyone stay here!

  • October 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the accommodation is true to the pictures... a wonderfully friendly host who gave us good recommendations ... great hikes fresh bread from a home bakery

  • October 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not a single thing.

    Everything in this place was amazing and even better than we had imagined it to be! The quality and great taste of the space, materials and decoration, the incomparable view (wake up to an amazing view of Lagoa Azul in your backyard!), the super friendly and helpful host, and the nature surrounding the entire place. The host left some great local food and wine for us to try, and you can also rent bicycles and kayaks to enjoy the surrounding area as much as possible.

  • October 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps the property was a little more expensive than was necessary, especially when you consider other larger properties nearby with more extensive kitchen equipment and more bedrooms. Admittedly you are paying for a fantastic location, but perhaps the price could have been 20 or 30 euros less overall. Especially as the village itself is so remote and neglected by basic amenities that unless you plan ahead with food provisions you could end up spending quite a lot in restaurants over a few days (thankfully we brought adequate provisions, and were able to make the most of the kind gifts provided by the owner).

    The location of this wood-lined cabin was perfect: right by Lagoa Azul with views of the lake from inside the cabin itself. The grounds of the property were beautiful lush and green, and full of nature (small birds mainly). The bed was comfortable and the facilities were high quality and well maintained. The sofa was nice, the water pressure and shower were excellent and the internet was fine. The man that met us left quite a few supplies food wise: jam, bread, pineapples, bananas and cheese, this was a life-saver as there are basically no shops in Sete Cidades. The (two tiny) shops there are sell really poor quality processed stuff, not worth buying. We were also accompanied by a small friendly cat that welcomed us to Sete Cidades. We fed him every day. We recommend that others feed him too, as he is hungry.

  • October 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing location, and excellent bungalows, cozy well decorated space. Andre the owner and his wife were excellent hosts. Cant wait to come back again.

  • September 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Andre, the owner, was extremely helpful in providing information about the area, where to go, what to see, where to eat. The room was clean and quiet, and very comfortable.

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location by the lake. The houses are beautifully designed and comfortable. Great overall experience. Thank you Andre for the hospitality and helpful tips!

  • August 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no A/C and no mosquito screens in the windows, I believe one or the other should be present. But this is by far the only complaint I had. Staff readily provided electric repelents.

    We loved it all, the bungalows are splendid, beautiful to look at and great to live in. The owner is very helpful and nice, nothing was a problem. Pineapple, bread and a bottle of wine were a welcome gift for breakfast, how nice!

  • July 31, 2015

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing we did not like. If there were any suggestions to make it even more wonderful, they would be: Screens. You can choose between fresh air and bugs. To be fair, I don't know if they have heard of screens on the islands. Ceiling Fan. Be aware there is no A/C. This was only slightly uncomfortable on very warm days. Nothing that a ceiling fan would not have fixed.

    This was a premium experience. The cabin is obviously gorgeous. As nice as in the photos. Our host was more than gracious. Nice surprises that I won't spoil for you here. Felt very at home. Like living in a wealthy friend's bungalow for a few days. Stellar location. Please don't only stay in Punta Delgada. Treat yourself to a relaxing stay on this gorgeous lake. Tip: One bungalow is completely secluded. I wish I would have known. Would have asked for it for my honeymoon.

  • July 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly owner, gave a lot of tips for things to do and visit on Sao Miguel. The house was very new, well decorated and comfortable. Very close to the lake, we had the one house that has a view on the lake. Some fresh and local products were provided (cheese, wine, fruits, yoghurt, milk, ...) for free on arrival. Wish we stayed a little bit longer!

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything - the location is spectacular, the bungalow is beautifully designed, very comfortable and spacious and the owner, Andre is very helpful and thoughtful.

  • April 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely interior design, unique lodges, wonderful views, beautiful gardens, right by the lake. Lots of great recommendations from Andre and his wife - even how to find the tiny bakery for fresh loaves! A truly wonderful stay.

  • February 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, Andre was very helpfull

  • December 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real restaurants or supermarkets in a 10-km radius

    Nice and clean lodge

  • August 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Host is very helpful, clean spacious comfortable place.

  • August 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super friendly and helpful host. Great facilities in the house. Beautiful garden.

  • May 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fabulous properties and run by an incredibly helpful and friendly owner

  • May 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not many good places to eat around.

    Andre was great.

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Great Location, great host, great scenery. Thanks Andre!

  • February 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very well equipped and this made the stay great

  • January 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's one of the best places, we have ever visited.

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cool modern design, everything is handy and nice. Andre had food, firewood, and friendly suggestions.

  • November 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The leaving part was sad

    Everthing. Just loved it.

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic architecture and beautiful modern interior design Welcoming and helpful owner Peaceful location

  • July 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful cabin in a perfect location. Great host - super helpful and gave us tons of recommendations! Will definitely stay here again.

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very beautiful, nice location, and nice people...

  • June 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Beautiful location, by the lake, quiet, great Japanese wildflower garden, friendly manager who was very helpful.

  • June 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved it all!

    Everything!

  • April 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owner was really friendly, provide us everything we need plus very useful tips, like what to visit, where to eat, etc.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Sete Cidades Lake Lodge Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: