Reviews of Shangri-la's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei 5 stars

No. 201, Section 2, Dunhua South Road, Da'an District, 106 Taipei, Taiwan

#104 of 488 hotels in Taipei

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • February 15, 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were perfect and accommodating to all requests, offered me a discount on lunch as I missed breakfast two days and they also sent me a gift to apologise for a delay I incurred on one occasion. Everything about the hotel is luxury and convenience and they treat you as if VIP at all times. Lovely people.

  • January 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Premier King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel has excellent facilities and wonderful views, the location is perfect surrounded by night markets and walking distance to 4 metro stops and the breakfast buffet is incredible, but it is the amazing warm, friendly and helpful staff that lift this hotel to the highest level. A great hotel experience!

  • January 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Twin Room (Fun Taipei!)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to go to the bar on upper level floor, but there was a private party when we went up and couldn't get in. Nothing to complain, too bad we haven't have chance to go. Maybe next time!

  • September 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Horizon Premier Room (Your Premier Bleisure in Taipei)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Located in town but still a 1 mile walk to Taipei 101 area

    Service was excellent in the Horizon Club room that we stayed. They address us by names in the lounge.

  • August 16, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room (Fun Taipei!)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is far from public trains and sights

    Shang always lived up to its standards of a premium hotel- comfy beds, exceptional service, good ambience

  • June 6, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop swimming pool was closed for 'maintenance' while they organized private receptions there ... We have not been able to use it for our 3 nights stay.

  • January 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too high price (even after all the good things below considered), distance from the nearest metro station (but, it's quite near to a bus stop)

    Quiet room, wide dressing room, large bathroom, very comportable bed, loof-top bar (reasonable price, chic atmostphere, good taste), increadible staff

  • June 7, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Building is old. Swimming is small. Lunch and dinner ad more eastern food whihc looks strange and not testy for me as I came from middle east. there is no HALLAL food for muslim (ANIMALS are not slautered as per islam instuction to all for blood going out. instead i swa chikens with completed neck and heads !!!. also they extensively use pork (Prohibited for muslims) in many of their disches !!. many muslims are come to this hotl. I strongly recommend this hotel to prepair his food list to be simliar to other neibour muslim country such as Malysia and Indonesia.

    Cleannes of beds on daily basis . good smell bed blanket and sheet. good breakfast.

  • March 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every member of staff put themselves out to help us, and always with a smile. Additionally, the hotel is stylish and the rooms extremely comfortable. Horizon Club facilities make this the perfect hotel to come back to after sightseeing. Views over the city from rooms and lounge are excellent. The MRT station nearby enabled us to travel to sites around the city cheaply and easily.

  • February 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chaos on 31 Dec

    The bed and room in general

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Horizon Premier King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything was consistently excellent, especially the great staff.

  • December 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Premier King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location not so convenient, metro 10 min walk away, laundry very expensive

    Luxurious room, great views, excellent breakfast buffet

  • December 7, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent facility and staff

  • November 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great hotel - the bed is amazing and the rooms are great size.

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room (Fun Taipei!)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location not so convenient

    Everything!

  • October 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great breakfast and very friendly

  • October 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fabulous service

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Horizon Premier King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Highly recommend the horizon club! Loved it!

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    I like all, especially the free drinks and snacks at Horizon Club Lounge!

  • June 21, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This year they had authentic Indian chef with good Indian food.

  • May 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Horizon Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff got the billing mixed up and caused a double charge on my account which took days to clear up

    Horizon Club is the best value for your money.

  • May 24, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Variety of food.

    Checking in inside the room.

  • April 25, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed tranquility helpfulness of staff breakfast

  • March 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was fantastic, in one of the best area taipai. The staff was very attentive.

  • February 19, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Superior King or Twin Room (A Trip to Success)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    The pool on the roof top

  • January 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Horizon Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hospitality in “Horizon Club” is Great !!!

  • January 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (A Trip to Success)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So far so good

    Staffs very efficient and polite.overall my stay was nice.

  • December 5, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room (A Trip to Success)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too short stay

    Big room

  • November 24, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So great ! Love everything❤️❤️Best service

  • September 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Horizon Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    I loved the whole experience. Easy to travel to and from, using taxi or the metro.

  • July 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    The efficiency of te staff

  • June 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff did not listen

    Location

  • June 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor staff in reservations and reception

    Location

  • June 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad staff

    Location

  • June 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad staff

    Location

  • June 14, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very nice and efficient in every way throughout my stay.

  • May 24, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi is top class, rooftop pool is excellent buffet food is delicious

  • April 10, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a little dark

    Excellent staff

  • March 14, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room (With Taipei 101 View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Superb service, superb breakfast.

  • March 12, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Horizon Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room service (specially toilet cleaning) was not good.

    Almost everything

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • May 22, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    There is very strong sound during the whole day in 23rd floor. All staff know about it it's like traine sound they put me in 22 nd floor. Next day when I complain they offer to change the room , but why you put me there in there ?????????????

  • December 24, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too expensive and location was not good. The room was so-so. I was so surprised what water of the bathroom was yellow. So disappointed about this hotel.

    The welcome tea and cookie were good. The stuff was also gentle and kind.

  • November 18, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The price was very expensive but somehow understandable.

    Excellent hotel and very good staff. Very helpfull in letting me check-in already at 7:00am. Very good breakfast.

  • October 27, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The potential problem for a guest of this luxurious hotel is that an equally tall commercial tower is in proximity. The window of my room is face-to-face with numbers of office windows. As a result I had to close the curtains for the whole 5 days of stay. That makes me feel like staying in a very uncomfortable, sealed cell though the room is of good size & the interior is luxurious. Unless you want to take a 25% chance ( the other three sides of the hotel are not facing the commercial tower), or you don't mind being behind the curtains at all time, it will not be a good decision to pick this hotel.

    Overall services is fine. Room cleanliness is in good details.

  • September 21, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we did not like was the Horizon Club, people hold meetings in the Club itself instead of booking a meeting room which we found very annoying. Not worth paying extra to have access to the Horizon Club - definitely needs improvement

    Everything excellent, helpful staff, the breakfast was fantastic, we also tried evening buffet and we enjoyed that as well, we would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • June 25, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have appreciated an outdoor area for smoking - the pavement side area is not very relaxing .

    Very efficient , great choice of in house dining, safe location (true of Taipei in general), great view, afternoon tea served on floor 36, helpful gym attendants.

  • June 9, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If they can provide in-room coffee maker, it would be perfect.

    Excellent service, extremely friendly staff team, in particular, outstanding service managers.

  • May 29, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough plugs in the room,I paid for a landmark view but I did not get it.

    Rooms were spacious,bathroom size excellent ,staff were amazing and friendly ,luxurious hotel.

  • May 13, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The beds were a tad uncomfirtable. Pillows too soft. BUt apart from that the hotel itself was very good.

    Great staff, good clean rooms, nice views, great breakfast buffet.

  • April 2, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was rather far from the city centre where the shops are.

    The staff were really friendly towards us and the room were made perfectly everyday. The hotel was situated in a nice quiet area and the walk to train station was good.

  • March 30, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no top sheet on the bed.

    the staff was great and very helpful. the room was clean and cozy. the food was very good and many options for restaurants right inside of the hotel.

  • January 2, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Nothing to complain about. staff is well trained. room is clean and rather huge. there is a food court and a small mall beside the hotel. cinemas 10 minutes walk. 101 bldg 15 minutes by taxi around

  • June 30, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Nothing

    The Concierge Frank was most helpful. He helped us with various reservations efficiently and in a timely fashion.

  • June 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI can be faster

    Quality of the room, common area and services.

  • June 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Everything,

  • May 31, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Side view of some rooms faced an office complex so you will need to keep shades down.

    The rooms with landmark views of Taipei 101 were incredible.

  • May 30, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The concierge service is excellent

  • April 21, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    There was a very rude housekeeping lady, but that's just us.

    The overall ambience of the hotel and the great facilities and service.

  • March 30, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very unhappy to pay for an exec room and find it did not give acess to exec level. Not happy at all.

  • March 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff made it. Travelling with elderly parents. Could not have been more helpful

  • January 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Feel relax & comfort Nice view at the sky pool

  • January 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Great hotel, Great service, excellent rooms with beautiful views and excellent food.

  • December 24, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the weather

    the staffs, food and the people

  • November 24, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Charging 5 star rates but only a 4 star operation.

    Location OK but not convenient to heart of city.

  • October 31, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all.

    Sleek,modern rooms; huge bathrooms; good food choices; location; delightful staff.

  • September 16, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restuarents

  • April 15, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing bad .. For my stay every thing was just perfect

    Perfect hotel for business travelers .. Service was amazing

  • April 15, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Group

    None

    They can accomodate our business groups very well.The breakfast very good.

  • April 10, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    This is the only hotel i will stay in whenever i visit Taipei .. everything is just great and staff are super friendly ...

  • April 3, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and comfortable

  • April 2, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    everything was perfect

  • February 13, 2013

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Excellent service Horizon lounge for business use Clean & well appointed room Upscale

  • January 7, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    This Shangri-la staff's mind is way behind from other Shangri-la hotels, I do not want to stay there again!!!

  • January 5, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is not easily accessible by foot to shopping areas.

    The spacious room and good view of Taipei 101.

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: