Reviews of Asticou Inn 3 stars

15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, ME 04662, USA

#2 of 3 hotels in Northeast Harbor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 49 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am afraid we are so used to having tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a TV that it was a disappointment not to have them and would have liked them as an option. Bathroom was tiny!

    Beautiful view, nice bar with views over the gardens and water, good informal food at the bar. comfy room and bed, very quaint.

  • 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It cost a bit more than we wanted to spend but that was to be expected, I guess, for the area.

    We loved the overall experience staying at this beautiful historic inn! We literally found it by accident traveling from NH to Bar Harbor and so pleased that we did! The staff was top notch and so helpful with the little things we needed! The view from our room and balcony was just breathtaking as we are from Florida and haven't seen the leaves change in several years. Loved it!

  • 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The budget room was small, uncomfortable, noisy and cold. Staff was not particularly nice and when we asked for suggestions for hiking they were not helpful, and rather they tried to sell us a 10$ map of the park. Maine has a lot of nice places to stay. This one is not recommended

    The restaurant was really really good, based on international standards. Recommended for dinner!

  • 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 4th floor. The tub shower head was barely spraying and difficult to wash hair and get soap off with.

    The view was very nice. Staff was very helpful. Having hiking just minutes away was great.

  • 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would go for larger room next time. #132 was cramped and very noisy...from service entrance.

    Love the charm..for an historic place it is in good condition. Can't beat location

  • 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was awoken in the middle of the night by by a terrible cooking smell that likely came from kitchen below. Thankfully the window fan helped.

    Loved the balcony and historic charm of the room and hotel. Restaurant had great outdoor seating with a water view.

  • 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was very antiquated. Stuck in paste era. That may be part of the charm for some, but we found it a bit difficult especially for the price.

    Great view from the deck of the restaurant. Food was delicious. Very nice to have dinner and drinks at same place where we were staying. No need to drive. Gardens near by were beautiful. Lovely welcoming iced drinks and coffee and tea available all day in lobby. Romantic spot.

  • 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the street noise, had to keep windows open with no AC! Lack of sleep because of it! Wallpaper was literally falling off the wall in bathroom (which was tiny!) Way way overpriced! I love charm but this was rundown needs updating! Note: we were in a "cottage" which was unexpected from what we booked for.

    The breakfast buffet was fine, a nice view from the deck. Most of the staff was friendly.

  • 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but romantic. No air conditioning. The bathroom shower was horrible. Weak water pressure and it was a 4 footed tub so when you stood in the tub the yucky shower curtain touched you. There was a locked door to the next room but light came through the keyhole and under the door so it didn't feel completely private.

    Breakfast the first day was to die for......Maine blueberry pancakes.... Great view and private small deck.

  • 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise outside our room early in the morning. Delivery trucks I think. Also we wanted to have dinner in the restaurant the first night we were there and they could not accommodate us. I think if we were paying guests at the inn, we should have been taken care of.

    Loved the view of the harbor, the breakfast was excellent. Our suite was lovely!

  • 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a challenge, no cell coverage. Need assistance To use the elevator....on the pisitive side, you'll get lots of exercise.

    Lovely rooms across from their exquisite garden. Excellent breakfasts with a view to die for.

  • 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impossible to get from inn to town! no service available. a free shuttle from town but very limited hours, and we were practically hitchhiking all the time and stressed. the inn should figure this out and provide a shuttle or rides!! Way too far to walk with suitcases and bags from the harbor where we arrived by boat. No A/C surprised us on the hottest days of the year. not comfortable at all.

    Liked food and wine on porch

  • 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need updating - paint and wallpaper, more substantial furniture.

    This is an older, historic property in need of some cosmetic updating. The wallpaper was applied slap dash and is badly peeling, the paint is chipping, the window screens are ill-fitting and/or have holes, the furnishings are old, but not "period." With some effort this place would be excellent. As is, I loved it for its location, the old bathroom appliances (small wall sink, claw foot tub), it's nostalgic atmosphere and its excellent service. The staff were terrific. We'll be back.

  • 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was cold each morning. Not sure why they never lit the buffet burners.

    Loved the linens and the view is amazing. Also the beautiful botanical garden across the road. Very close to Acadia National Park where we kept our horses.

  • 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is very old, thus bathrooms too small, not functional; bathroom could not use mirrors, etc; no tv or internet; considering the building, very over priced, better values in Bar Harbor.

    Location and staff; however the area is very isolated, with little activity.

  • 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    elevator primitive, wife, who has suffered a stroke had difficulty with the staris. I don't believe the inn is in compliance with the ADM act. The bed was ok, except that, the heavy quilt was too hot and without it, the sheets were too cold.

    location and tennis with Mr.Granholm food,, view. nearby gardens

  • 5 June 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a suite for my family and small dog, but when we arrived the suite was not available.

    Staff was accommodating after it made a mistake on our reservation. We were there at the beginning of the Inn's season and it felt as though there were kinks to work out.

  • 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a dump!! My husband says he Iwill highly recommend to his ex-wife.

    We liked the location - that was it!

  • 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor rooms could be redone. Wallpaper dated. It's in need of refreshment in decor.

  • 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast should've been much better given the price of my stay. I thought facility was very overpriced.

    Location

  • 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was awesome. The staff was helpful, polite and gracious.

  • 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was very small and dated.

    on site restaurant was very good.

  • 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too busy

    Location location easy access to the rest of the island. Sitting on the patio for meals -- breathtaking

  • 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Breakfast is OK dinner was excellent. Our room and bathroom were small and old fashioned with no TV. View was terrific.

  • 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is overpriced. Not much sound isolation in the room.

    Beautiful old building, very close to Acadia.

  • 5 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had to leave to go home

    The breakfast and all other meals were terrific. Staff was superb. `

  • 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ghosts

    The food and the bartenders were excellent!

  • 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for very average hotel

    The view

  • 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value Excellent food with stunning views

  • 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great for mom and dad who wanted to chill. Young adult children found it too isolated.

  • 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    The staff was excellent and attentive. The rooms were very clean. \

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: