Reviews of Avila Lighthouse Suites 3 stars

550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424, United States of America

#4 of 6 hotels in Avila Beach

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot think of anything requiring improvement!

    Great service, friendly efficient staff, wonderful view, good breakfast, enjoyable fellow guests, important off street parking, well decorated rooms, everything just as advertised.

  • December 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing with the motel, a grocery store was not close by and we needed some things we couldn't find in town. Next time I will be a little more prepared for that.

    I loved the location being right by the beach. Having a sitting room was nicer than just having a bedroom which is what we usually have at other places.

  • December 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heater was sporadic. We ended up being cold. Main complaint was continual squeal coming from water pipes!! Ocean view room promised was on side of complex with a tiny view of ocean. I complained at check-out but no staff offer for partial refund to alleviate disappointment. Never again!

    Breakfast was fine. Took bagels etc., back to our room .

  • October 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like leaving.

    This stay was by far the best I've had. I usually miss the mark when planning anniversary trips this one exceeded expectations. The staff were attentive and went out of their way to make sure our weekend went well. I will be making this an annual stay

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of our room and the fact that they checked in 3 different couples early and made us wait until 15 minutes before check in.

    Proximity to the ocean

  • September 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast left something to be desired. For the money spent I would have expected a little more selection on the breakfast and some for of protein IE sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs.

    The location was great, it was very clean.

  • July 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Gallery for breakfast does get a bit crowed, wish it was roomier.

    Amazing location right in front of Avila Beach. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, and complimentary wine! Good wifi throughout the hotel and on the beach!!! Great place for family, my kids loved the place. Friendly staff. Will come back again.

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress of sofa was good quality, however the mattress cover was probably made if some sort of plastic which kind of made the sleep less comfortable. But great hotel and comfort overall

    Quiet, family friendly

  • April 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do like fresh eggs and did not find that as an option. The cost of a couple nights on quiet weekday seems pricy like Carmel, which is half the distance.

    Great pool and superb buildings. All have that very new feeling. The breakfast was fine.

  • April 17, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little pricey, which would limit the number of visits to off-season getaways!

    The location of the hotel is fabulous with great restaurants, shops and beach within walking distance.

  • March 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent room, beds,pool,hot tub, breakfast....what's not to like? The staff is always helpful and the cookies to greet us on arrival were most appreciated!

  • March 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking garage was a long way to our room. Ice machines were few and far between.

    Great location. The room was really nice and had all the amenities.

  • March 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one thing, can hear your neighbors to a tee, but nothing that we couldn't handle

    Everything was fabulous beds comfortable room decor nice loved our patio, pool was great! Hop skip n a jump to everything, we definitely will be back, staff so nice n helpful. People who previously complained about being too pricey, I don't agree it was worth every dollar spent

  • January 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price and the mattress was too firm.

    We enjoyed the location in the heart of Avila Beach and the view from our room. It felt like a private cozy apartment even though the rooms are close in proximity. They're nicely situated and somewhat affordable.

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price for one room was a little steep... $385 with view of parking lot and park. One could say the location is worth it, but still seems a little spendy... $400+ at checkout!

    Location is amazing! Bed was super comfy, room was clean, nice and quiet!

  • October 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No INFORMATION! There was no telephone directory in the room. There was no information book about the facility in the room. There was no information book about the area. Asked front desk and they explained Management decided it wasn't necessary. Management is Wrong.

    Avila Beach is a premier location and facility was excellent

  • September 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would like to see some outdoor seating other than the pool. Pretty place, but not many outside places to sit to enjoy the ambiance.

    beautiful hotel, great location on the beach

  • August 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Workout facility is small. The one elliptical trainer was out of order. No movie rentals. No restaurant on site, but nearby restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Location to the beach was great and size of the room was very nice.

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have done with more utensils in the little kitchen but we made do! Breakfast is sugar overload - sugary cereal and yoghurts, waffles, muffins or sugary spreads to put on bread - we ended up supplementing with our own (less sugary) options!

    Avila beach is a hidden gem with a lovely vibe. Lighthouse was worth every penny - fabulous location, nice staff, free wifi, the pool is great if you can't be bothered walking to the beach, the rooms (well almost apartments) are spacious with fridge and microwave so you can have the odd meal in/prepare picnics etc. Would love to go back.

  • July 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were roomed on the north end of property closest to the public restrooms at beach. We were awoken on a couple occasions by trash trucks and maintenance crews literally dropping and carelessly moving steel cans that were incredibly loud. Also, this is a very kid friendly place. If you are a couple looking for peace and quiet, maybe reconsider.

    It was well kept. The grounds were nice and the rooms were in good shape.

  • July 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable, sheets were scratchy and pillows were terrible. Honestly what drops this down to a 3 star resort instead of a 5 was the bed and linens.

    We loved the location, staff and heated pool.

  • June 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought price was way over -we went May 28th for a few days paid over $400 per night with booking 6 months in advance. No restaurant onsite so no room service.

    Loved the location, on beach with children's playground, life sized checker set, next door and easy access to restaurants. Rooms were so cute beachy theme super cozy! Nice in room amenities. Staff were very helpful. They'd be you cookies at check-in super nice touch.

  • May 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping showed up at 8AM, then didn't clean room until end of day, after 4:30PM when we got back, despite hanging the 'make up room' sign. Housekeeping seemed intent on cleaning while we were in the room. Kitchenette is a bar sink in a tiny counter with a microwave and mini-fridge. Soundproofing didn't extend to the bathroom - the vent tunnels all of the other rooms sounds and conversations. Car parking must be separately reserved in advance.

    Across the street from the beach. Faux nautical decor. Garden view room has a partial ocean view. Robes are included for visits to the pool. Good soundproofing, mostly.

  • April 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was clean, very well adorned and amenities. Great ocean views. Very quiet even with the midnight exodus from the bar up the street. Would like to see more of an adult breakfast vs kids sugar heavy. We live in the county, in a tourist town, this is where we come to escape

  • April 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need more staff to answer phones and a computer accessing the web in the lobby available to clients. They could be referred to a ready web page to research the room prices and amenities. The staff was bogged-down answering questions with non registered guests shopping for a room. Thus, registered guests waiting on phones and in the lobby were delayed or had to be called back.

    No charge for parking and the room I got was exactly what I wanted.

  • April 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are thin. Hear baby crying and people talking. Doesn't lend to a good night sleep. Breakfast almost ALL CARBS Hard boiled egg only other choose. More protein please

    Location, parking friendly staff

  • March 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Someone decided to stand at exit to property to smoke, didn't notice since it was dark, then my hair was smelly all night, otherwise, ALL great!

    Quaint town, beautiful places to eat and shop.

  • March 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The ocean view comes with a price. It gets very noisy late at night with people on the street. Especially on weekends.

    View of ocean. Free breakfast. Spacious room. Balcony. Nice staff.

  • February 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible Sunday breakfast. Noisy room, baked goods were awful, layout of room was bad, juice was really watery. Horrible experience.

    Loved the room and pool

  • January 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waited about 20 minutes just to check out at the desk (and there was only one person ahead of me checking in). I realized it was a difficult customer in front of me, but the clerk didn't acknowledge my waiting or the people behind me.

    Location was awesome, and convenient to restaurants and other activities. The next morning, I walked to the beach across the street to stand up paddleboard. Cool and spacious rooms.

  • January 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The jacuzzi wasn't open late. We got back to room after dinner and drinks ready for the hot tub and it was closed by 10 pm.

    Everything close by within walking distance. Great courtyard with games, pool, jacuzzi. Restaurant and bar only one block away!!

  • January 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bright street light outside our room.

    Bed was awesome, great view

  • January 5, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful location

  • December 19, 2016

    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful property and view

  • December 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was wonderful and we plan on coming back!

  • November 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

  • October 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little more variety on bfast for price

    VIEW

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction began at Sunrise on Sunday morning on the wall outside of my room. Awful!

    Beautiful location

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View but ok

    Location

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very helpful and courteous

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very uncomfortable!!

    View from balcony was beautiful!! Loved hearing the waves all night! Room was nicely decorated!

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There might have been eggs at breakfast.

    The location and view of ocean.

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was unbelievable. Over the top nice and respectful...they helped make our trip.

  • October 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The scenery was the bonus for us! Every morning we woke up to the ocean shores, looking at us, meeting and greeting us, with every step we took!

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative thing is we could hear the footsteps of the people above us. Next time we will request second floor.

    Loved the location on the beach.

  • August 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff

    Ocean view Room Style

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and caring staff, beautiful location, clean rooms

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen, just small fridge, microwave and sink

  • June 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price

    Great time, nice people, great location, little expensive, but was a holiday weekend. Would consider staying again.

  • May 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too soft, I have a bad back and need a firm mattress for support.

    Beautiful location, clean, nice staff.

  • May 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dislikes

    Everything.

  • May 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

  • May 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That I could only stay one night! Did not want to leave!

    Location, size of room, patio view of the pool. Beach acess.

  • April 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    No need to drive your car town and beach were right there

  • March 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low toliet

    Complaminty wine

  • March 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room the great. Plenty of space and the location and staff were all very understanding and helpful.

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There should be a small stove or cooking plate in the room. We like hot breakfast, the hotel did not provide that.

    Altogether a good set-up!

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise

    Location, cleanliness

  • January 29, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from room above - music and footsteps

    Pleasant location, good breakfast

  • January 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spacious room with all facilities required for a great stay. Right on the beach with access to restaurants and cafes.

  • December 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price for an ocean view

    View was awesome.

  • October 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice resort across from the beach.

  • October 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unable to get late checkout

  • October 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasant. We hope to stay here again.

  • September 26, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite wtih Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check out time is to soon

    The location & front desk receptionist

  • September 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was very accommodating!!! We will be back!! Room 220 is the best!!!!

  • August 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No clear view of the ocean. Next to the main ac unit. Requested a top floor room. Spent a lot of $ !

    Clean , very nice place Close to the beach

  • July 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    location. clean and comfortable suite

  • June 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in time of 4 PM Not good

    Great Location and nice area

  • June 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, location, location, out the door to beach and stores

  • June 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have used more glassware and a little silverware in the kitchen area.

    We never had to get in the car for food or recreation!

  • June 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    The ambiance and the happy families enjoying themselves.

  • May 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful grounds and rooms, great view, staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved everything about it !

  • May 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was courteous and friendly! Location was perfect for the tequila festival going on Memorial Day weekend.

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beach is right across the street. free parking and breakfast included.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: