Reviews of Bay Club of Sandestin, a VRI resort 3 stars

120 North Sandestin Boulevard, Destin, FL 32550, USA

#4 of 57 hotels in Destin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 105 hotel reviews

9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • 3 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not to recommend for a short stay, as there isn't a bar or restaurant. Not being allowed to ride to the location with the motorbike

    Very nice room or better flat! Lots of space and ideal for a week vacation or so

  • 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was in a gated community which I did not realize when booking. So if you like that sanitized approach to holidays then you will like this resort. Not my preference however.

    Staff were very friendly and responsive to any requests. Property was lovely.

  • 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -You must bring your own supplies if you are staying for a few days (toilet paper, soap, shampoo...) -Interior was a little dates and could use an update. -Didn't realize this was a timeshare until we checked in.

    -Very easy late check in. -Located in a great community that is within walking distance.

  • 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get lost on the property. Had to cross the main highway to get to the beach. No signs telling you where to park for beach access.

    Great value for the money. We had a beautiful bay view. Very clean. Nice staff. Very friendly. Unit was very clean and nicer than we expected.

  • 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any hot water on Thursday to take a shower after being at beach for 5 hrs. Asked for a little discount for that day and they refused. Still charged us 183.78 for having no hot water for 12 hrs

    The overall stay was excellent. Views were beautiful and environment was awesome. Everywhere we ate was excellent except for golden corral but was edible

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com did not have my reservation confirmed with Bay Club Sandestin and it took more than an hour to do the check in process.

    Sara did my check in , and she was excellent.

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were unaware that there was no place to park a boat at this resort. We read that there was public parking available at the resort so we didn't think there would be any problems considering your near the ocean. The resort does not allow boat trailers, golf carts, etc. They did assist us in finding a storage place within the resort however this info would have been nice to have ahead of time.

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not find access to the beach, like it says at the description! Pool was in another building...🙄

    The location was beautiful ! Clean rooms,free laundry, Ice machine. Kitchen was supplied with a lot of things...

  • 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the balcony with the nice view and how close it was to the beautiful beach. Great gated community,and landscape. Good place to stay for vacation.

  • 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That check out was at 10am. No free breakfast.

    Everything. Down the street from the beach, pool with a beautiful view. The staff was really friendly. The room was perfect. And the complementary washer and dryer was so helpful.

  • 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways and elevators are not air conditioned. Towels are only replaced twice a week. The housekeeper was rude when leaving new towels because we neglected to leave them in the laundry basket.

    Nice size room for family of four. The room was extremely clean. Very convenient to activities and restaurants.

  • 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was hard to find. Even though the room was clean, but there was cockroaches on the kitchen counter (Yikes), you can see them come out at night.

    Plenty of towels for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 young children). Kitchen has enough kitchenware for cooking, if needed.

  • 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! Everything! From the daily activities, friendly staff, convience of customer service, close to everything,beautiful view and room. We will definitely be back.

  • 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we were far from the beach and from many restaurants and other activities.

    The price of the room was great compared to other hotels on the Sandestin property. The room and pool were both clean.

  • 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed on Bayside and the Beach was across the street on Beachside! That still wasn't a problem because of tram or vehicle. First time so I'm informed now. No dislikes!

    Excellent resort with plenty to do. Very friendly front desk staff. Fully supplied rooms with free washers and dryers available!

  • 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the front desk closes at 5pm is an inconvenience for guests and should be available at least until 10pm 12mn. The baloney view was the dumpster. The parking deck is very, very narrow which could put guests at risk for an accident. One guest we meet got stuck on the elevator so we took the stairs the remaining of the trip. Ourban refrigerator went out, leavingredients water all over the floor the we had to mop up. Maintenence was called and he reset it by unplugging it for a little while and that seemed to fix the issue.

    Comfortable, spacious room.

  • 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    I like that it was a great price, in a beautiful area with good amenities. I was able to wash clothes which was a big help. The room was comfortable and roomy. Kids loved it and it had a balcony.

  • 10 May 2016

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to walk to "another building area" (about a block's walk) to get to the swimming pool --- they had an entire Spa/gym building once you got there.

    The "Value" --- what was provided for the dollar-charged was WAY-MORE than the Grand Sandestin and other "resort" options within a 5-mile radius (probably more likely in a 10-mile radius).

  • 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower water temperature fluctuated significantly in our unit - we recommend increasing the hot water level gradually, with pauses in between.

    Bay Club is a very enjoyable place to stay. Close to the beach and next door to a great bay side pool. We'll definitely plan another stay here!

  • 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was friendly and room was clean. Liked having the ability to use the resort bus to get to Baytown Warf- no need to worry about having a few drinks and driving. Location is perfect for relaxation, shopping and eating out.

  • 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was horrible. Also, we were on the second floor and were awaken each night to people talking loudly outside.

    The resort was beautiful. Very nice location. I'd definitely stay at Bay Club of Sandestin again.

  • 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like how early the tram stopped and the prices at bayside wharf were high. It felt very much like a retirement community. I am guessing it is a busier younger crowd in the summer but I am wiping Destin off my future vacation places. Once is enough.

    Really liked the fact that the resort had a bay side and a gulf side. The tram is great, all the drivers were friendly. Bonus was the great room set up and free laundry.

  • 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool location was a bit farther then we thought it would be. This was not a problem on this trip because we knew weather was going to be on the cool side but future trips will be in warmer weather. The one day we were able to sit by pool they were working on repairs to the pool deck.

    The entire complex was much more than we we expected. This was our first visit and the variety of housing and amenities on the site surprised us. Bay Harbor area was a nice treat. We also appreciated that our room was exceptionally clean.

  • 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Every thing about resort was great. Will visit again. Desk clerk was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast in cafe was very good. Love large bathroom, bed and kitchen. Patio was nice and large.

  • 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony was only 18 inches deep. View was terrible. Location was bad. Staff was nonexistent. Room was less than average. Price was way too high for this room. I did not even stay the second night.

    Nothing

  • 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like the staff to be more responsive regarding preference of floor given that it is off season. We wanted a higher floor for a better view. We requested it online ahead if time but were told to request it upon arrival, but by then they said there was nothing else available. However, overall, this was a 10!

    The rate for this time of year was unbeatable $232.00 for 3 nights.

  • 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything

    The staff was really friendly, helpful and informative during check-in.....thanks Nick ! The condo was beautifully decorated, clean and was the perfect size for our family of five. . We will be back !

  • 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer.

    We had to transfer our second day to the 2 bedroom 2 bath and the staff had it ready by 10am just after our breakfast. It was perfect timing.

  • 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in and found our master bath shower was leaking and the floor was covered with water and caused me to slip. This did hurt my knee a little bit. We also had a stopped up toilet that we had with no plunger on the premises.

    The location was excellent. The beache accessibility was wonderful and the cleanliness and appearance of the beach and pools was outstanding.

  • 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family of 4 with 2 teen boys, room was nice and comfortable and roomy. The Warf area within the resort was wonderful. Prices were a little high for me, but reasonable for the area

  • 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not facing parking lot had large delivery trucks driving in and out from 7am on and was very loud. Also rooms near community grill should expect their rooms to smell like whatever is being cooked below them along with a smokey balcony. No views from any rooms. Also construction surrounding the pool by the beach was quite loud and annoying

    Staff was super friendly and resort was beautiful

  • 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasn't heated and no hot tub were only complaints

  • 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sofa was hard and uncomfortable.

    The staff and grounds were wonderful.

  • 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the parking lot lol

    Staff, team, hotel, room, cleanliness, loved the extra bathrooms and patio

  • 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the bay was excellent.

  • 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to beach Tram turnaround time

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spending too much money for breakfast and not able to use the larger workout without paying $15.00.

    The condo was excellent...

  • 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the front was not kind.

    Beach and swimming pool were amazing.

  • 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was awfull

    Room was nice

  • 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my balcony was of a row of pines and an alleyway complete with smelly dumpster.

    Great staff and nice rooms.

  • 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water when trying to take a bath

    Amenities

  • 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress wasn't so comfortable other then that everything was great..

    Loved that they had a shuttle that will take you @ the resort..

  • 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of bugs in the room.

    Everything

  • 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything but the resort as a whole needs better signs to where we were going,kept getting lost.

  • 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the options and activities. Access to beach.

  • 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WE LIKED EVERYTHING!!

    LOVED OUR VIEW OF THE BAY AND SEEING THE SUN SET WAS AMAZING!

  • 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds!

  • 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was by the laundry area and the elevators, was noisy at times.

    It was nice to walk around without worrying about my safety.

  • 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything,the staff was so friendly and the room was exceptional and very clean

  • 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Friendly staff and location.

  • 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decore was great and property was beautiful!

  • 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they didn't provide late check out

    The room was awesome for the price and I loved the jacuzzi tub.

  • 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite and Peaceful

  • 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was horrible. Only complaint

    Everything went perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better vacay thanks to you guys.

  • 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ac in our first room did not work. We were moved to another unit and all was fine

  • 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and entertainment was great

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 19 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    They were unable to locate our reservation and took a long time to check in because of this. I was thankful that I had printed off our paid reservation confirmation, which helped a lot.

    Our room was large, clean and a good value.

  • 22 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The bang for your buck! Our one bedroom condo was very clean! A bit small if you have older children, but it was perfect for a 4 & 7 yr old. Everything we needed was located on the resort. We never lefted. Outdoor concerts, kid friendly activities, and a shuttle to the beach! We will return!!

  • 29 November 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hall way but I believe it is going to be replace

    I liked the kitchen it was well equipted

  • 2 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    they beds hurt your back and pullout bed is awful.

    The jetted tub offset the pain in my back from the beds.

  • 17 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My reservation was mixed up.

    Staff worked quickly and efficiently to correct the error.

  • 29 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great customer service. Really nice resort to stay for the money. Plan on bringing the whole family back.

  • 23 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was hard

    Jacuzzi tub and the kitchen

  • 19 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing layout and activities. Any-age appropriate

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: