Reviews of Econo Lodge - Burlington 2 stars

2133 West Hanford Road, Burlington, NC 27215, USA

#9 of 13 hotels in Burlington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • 3 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very, very unhappy with this stay. I think this may have been my first time here. There was a roach in the bathroom,i could not believe it. I was unable to be comfortable or feel relaxed. Total dissatisfaction.

  • 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place had not been renovated since 1960's the cost was inflated due to activities in the area - I would be embarrassed to tell anyone I paid $90 for such a horrible experience

    I was glad I brought my own linens! Shower/water pressure was only good thing

  • 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very odd odor throughout the facility. Bathroom was very outdated and shower drain was pretty disgusting.

    The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Room was a good value.

  • 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs in the mon smoking area smelled like weed was being smoked. Plus, my power beats (wireless ear buds) were taken out of the case and are missing.

    Nice staff.

  • 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall facility was tired needed upgrade felt sketchy bc of this. Room smelled bad. Not even worthy of 2 stars

    Bathroom was clean. Staff was mostly invisible but friendly.

  • 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the nastiest establishment i have ever encountered. The stench of cigarette smoke hit you as soon as you open the lobby door. The reservation that had been designated for me was not awaiting my arrival and was said to have been the fault of booking.com. The desk attendant said bookings.com did not transfer my reservation properly therefore my reservation of a king room and 2 double beds was downsized to twin rooms. Then i was offered 2 smoking rooms with double beds which was even worse. There was mold in my bathroom. Cigarette burns on the sheets and blankets and bed bugs on the sheets.

    Nothing

  • 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free hot breakfast was less than desirable. There were no eggs or bacon, only a few pieces of sausage left. Orange juice tasted watered down and this was at 8:30.

    Beds were quit clean and comfortable. Shower pressure was good (always something I appreciate ).

  • 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't feel very safe there at all and would not stay for more then one night. It was fairly clean but the hall and room stank like cigarettes.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast was a nice bonus

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was never open I was told at check out if I went to front desk they would have opened it a big sign closed was up I am not a mind reader the hair dryer did not work bugs dirty smelly

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool hours were unfortunate. I wanted to take my son swimming before checkout but it didnt open until 11am.and the breakfast was nothing but bread and cereal and the coffee machine wants working. The internet was only one bar and would not connect.

    The room was clean and was right off the highway.

  • 19 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could at least have more help or better room attendants.

    Could not find anyone to check us in! People were standing around waiting for their rooms to be cleaned. The lady at the desk was trying to clean rooms and take care of the desk.

  • 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    remodel the whole place for ppl to feel comfortable instead of have riff raff hanging at doors and horrible cleanliness

    This was a hole, would never have stayed if not so tired from driving and working, had to ask for another room, they both were dirty, not well kept, and maid does not clean floors

  • 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exterior doors not locking. Previous guest's things still in two drawers in the nightstand and dresser. The air conditioning made terrible noise throughout the night. There was a strong smell of pot in the hallways. No coffee in room. The big issue was when two syringes fell out of bath towel when taking a shower in the morning. While they did let us check out after only one night, without charging us, they did not initially want to refund us for the first night, quoting some "30 minute rule"... If guests find anything wrong with the room after 30 minutes, no refunds. The manager ended up refunding us for the one night that we did stay, after I tried calling a couple times, and then emailed him. I felt that I still had to write about our experience.

    Hotel manager gave us a refund for the one night that we stayed (scheduled for four).

  • 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had roaches,the bed was a full size;I reserved two queen size beds the bedding wasn't fresh the sheets were soiled & the room was smoky & HOT!!! STAYED FOR 15 MIND MAX

    Nothing!!!

  • 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion with online booking, had to pay for second room and couldnt get free third night even tho i paid for 2 rooms. Second rooms phone didnt work and had to have employee fix the tv. Also wifi wasnt working and it was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. Breakfast was also over too early. Arrived around 915 and it was being put away.

  • 20 March 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in poor repair, shower head squinted water all over floor from side of connector. The toilet made loud ungodly noise everytime you flushed. Some of the electric outlets were broken or unreachable. Laundry facility was out of order. Breakfast was all microwaved even meat. No fruit or juice very little choice. The room didn't contain all the website said it would.

    The front desk night staff excellent. Price was great but then room reflected that in lack of quality and upkeep.

  • 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer to stay in places that are 100% smoke free. It wasn't too bad though.

    This is a good value taking into account the cost and the location.

  • 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't told about the special stay 2 nights get the third one free i asked for extra pillows, never got it. telephone didn't work. Sunday morning 6am there were pizza crust and cookies all up and down the hallway. At 2pm it was still there. WiFi didn't work in the room

    Affordable, breakfast

  • 14 August 2015

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was to much noise going on upstairs at night and it made it difficult to sleep. I had trouble getting clean towels and wash cloths when they were needed and my room wasn't properly cleaned and sanitized like it should have been.

    It was relaxing

  • 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was in bad shape including the shower/tub being dirty with cracked surfaces and the broken toilet seat.

    The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

  • 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The agencyagency that made my reservation mess up my booking I was supposed to get a room with two queen size bed when we arrived they didn't have a room for two queen bed. They could accommodate me on the second floor. I am handicap and couldn't climb the stairs so I had to take a room with a double bed for 2 adults and 2 children's the staff did provide a cot for the children it was a bad experience. But it was not the staff fault they did what they could to help us.

    The staff was real professional nice pool which the children enjoyed.

  • 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There nothing that I didn't like.

    I love the location because I am 8 minutes from my job.

  • 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated

    Easy to find and a lot of things nearby. Friendly staff

  • 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You offer Internet services, we were not able to get on , our whole stay. You need better pillows.

  • 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a good place to stay.

  • 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had insects, TVs did not work, and hallway smelled

    staff was pleasant

  • 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom dirty carpet dirty smelled in hall way

    beds was nice

  • 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very outdated and not equipped with the basic amenities such as mini fridge or microwave.

  • 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the shower nob was hard to turn and the water drain slow

    they were good

  • 10 October 2016

    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prostitutes roaming the Halls and hanging outside

    Nothing

  • 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls and paint in poor shape .mold in bathroom.no Kleenex in room .hotel out of stock, bath fixtures aged and marked. .

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a terrible smell in the room and hotel. Smelled like cigarette smoke

  • 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ditto. Hallways desperately needs carpet cleaned. Filthy.

    Didn't like anything about it

  • 12 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work the whole time and the room was not very clean.

    Pleasant staff

  • 28 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the wifi it was really bad.

  • 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways smelled bad,wifi was terrible,had a hold on credit card even tho we paid with cash

    Eggs were good, bed comfy,price great,staff great,

  • 22 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was busted in the bottom

    Breakfast

  • 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was warm and the TV didn't work

    the price

  • 20 June 2016

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time to leave

    The comfort and cleanness of the hotel was perfect and the breakfast was awesome!!!!

  • 3 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking just outside the rear entrance where we park

    Price and location

  • 29 May 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything

    Goo clean room...good value

  • 3 May 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled like urine.

    Hot breakfast was nice!

  • 27 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sausage was tasteless. you should make your supplier eat it

    everything besides the sausage was fine

  • 27 April 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work properly. The refrigerator rattled. To name a few.

    The price. The location.

  • 19 April 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee maker in Room.

    Price and being pet friendly.

  • 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed the breakfast lol

    Everything

  • 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled bad

    Price and location

  • 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Love this spot! The staff are always accommodating and never give me a problem with early check in! ! Thank you so much! !!

  • 1 October 2015

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway was beyond filty. From the disgusting carpet to the awful smell.

    decent mattress

  • 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were attending an Antique show in Liberty. The location was very convenient and our stay was very good.

  • 8 August 2015

    • Family
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used better or more pillows

  • 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head wouldn't adjust and was too strong.

    Good value. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • 18 July 2015

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind to my family. The hotel was quiet. This hotel was a last min booking due to my father n law not doing so good.

  • 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not up to par

  • 20 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was infested with roaches. Complained to the manager and he gave me a new room with no roaches.

    Location to restaurants

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 13 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was dated and looked worn- bathroom tub looked dirty because of it's age. The halls smelled like smoke. The large sign out front was blown out, so it was not easy to locate. No coffee pot.

    Staff were very helpful and always cheerful. They were always eager to help when we needed it. It is so nice to get good service these days.

  • 17 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    It smelled bad

    Price was right

  • 26 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleanliness

    Easy to get to

  • 29 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pool was nice staff was great

  • 18 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot. Motel was old smelly cigarette butts all over the grounds

    not much though maintenance man was extremely helpful and deserves a raise

  • 28 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelly, dirty, chair in room looked like it came from a dump. We walked in and turned around and checked out. Staff was not all that nice.

    Nothing

  • 9 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tv

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Econo Lodge - Burlington traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: