Reviews of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - College Park-University Area 2 stars

9020 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, 20740, USA

#4 of 9 hotels in College Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 66 hotel reviews

7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Leisure King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction was going on in the hallway and room next door beginning at 8am. We had the room until 11am. I called the front desk to ask the loud noise to stop. Noise never stopped. Couldn't sleep or hear tv. Very unhappy.

    Not much. Breakfast was average.

  • 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I pulled into the hotel parking lot, I thought the building was being torn down. There was a dumpster taking space in the pot hole riddled parking lot & the front facade was totally removed. Debris was strewn in front of the building & along the grassy areas. You could see drooping and/or absent curtains from the windows above. I had to inquire at the desk if this was actually the hotel I had made reservations for. The clerk assured me the rooms were better than the public areas as the hotel was in the process of renovation & changing into a Holiday Inn Express. Renovations were not advertised on the Booking.com web site. Some reviewers made note of the remodeling. Painting & decorating is one thing. A hotel looking like it is abandoned is another. Unfortuantely, the rooms were as bad as the exterior. Old, damaged, stained, shabby and battered room furnishings, poor lighting, the only closet had jammed doors & could not be opened, ceiling tiles separating, curtains falling off the rods, moldy bathroom, warped bathtub base that was actually quite dangerous, "free" WiFi did not work in the rooms, lamps that were twisted with shades that no longer fit properly so the light bulbs were exposed, poor quality bedding. The public areas were filthy, stained and dirty carpeting in dire need of vacumming, dirty and battered walls, the elevator was filthy. It appeared the upper floors were not being used & the only other customers at the hotel were a large group of Asian tourists who took off for the day on a tour bus. The emptiness made the hotel even creepier. I immediately complained to Booking.com when I returned. I paid $150.00/night for a room that was only fit for drunken frat parties. I attempted to look for other lodging but everything in the area was sold out & quite frankly, all the hotels nearby looked just as disgusting. Booking.com has attempted to remediate with me & the hotel.

    Not much interaction with staff but they were pleasant enough. Needed to be near University of Maryland. This location was not walking distance but close. Difficult to access parking lot during rush hours.

  • 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is currently under going renovations, exterior appearance was shabby. Bathroom walls showed signs of water damage. Our room shared a wall with the exercise room, very noisy.

  • 14 March 2016

    • Family
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn work no water off for hours at a time I get your email telling me I cant be compensated because I left the property without speaking to the manger thats not true the nanger was well aware of the situation plus I was told I could ho cross the hall to take a shower I didn pay money to ho criss the hall

    The breskfast

  • 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worked inside of the room, poor privacy, very noisy from other rooms, lack of customer service, poor presentation of the hotel. Walls and doors were damaged, bathrooms could have been leaner and nicer. Personnel should have been more professional.

    Breakfast was ok

  • 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Facilities were quite old. No refrigerator in the room. But the building was under construction, so I guess it may improve later. The location itself is embarrassing, around 45 min walk from the metro. The hotel provides shuttle service but not on Sunday; you have to get a cab, which costs around 9 dollars (tips not included). It is close to the north part of UMD, but quite far from the south part. Yet the trails to the campus are really nice for walking in good weather.

    I stayed here for 8 days. Staffs here were really friendly; they treated me like friends. I love the coffee and fruited for the breakfast. Views are good from the restaurant. The queen size bed and the pillows were nice!

  • 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance was hard to get into during rush hour traffic. I hope they fix the entrance during their renovations.

    It was very convenient to the university.

  • 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed bugs and lady bugs crawling on the walls and ceiling, which is total unclean and ridiculous, especially when the general manager knows and confess to it and say that's nothing. I wouldn't recommend this location in College Park, MD to no one.

    Nothing!!!

  • 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet ran every 20 minutes keeping me awake. The room also had a funny smell, but not too bad

    The room was clean and fairly comfortable. A nice touch was the hot breakfast

  • 7 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet smells dirty, no fridge, no microwave, mattress uncomfortable, Check out at 11:00 while on my booking.com conformation says 12:00 pm!! Worst ever.

  • 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee pot in the room; coffee in the lobby/eating area not good; get a better machine.

    Great location; quiet; comfortable beds and nice sheets; great price; nice staff

  • 17 April 2015

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1) You or the inn lost our reservation, but we were given a room anyway. 2)party central on the 11th April (near UM), and bogus pizza delivery at 3:24 AM the 12th. Regular staff not on duty that night.

    Very comfortable and 5 minutes from where we needed to be. Staff very nice.

  • 26 April 2016

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working on inside n outside of building

    Close to college

  • 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets had stains.

    The hostess was amazing

  • 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Free breakfast

  • 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms small can't open window place looked like it was falling apart

    nothing

  • 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was great and very friendly and the location is perfect for UMD visitors.

  • 16 February 2016

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was awaken by my young child and when I had opened my eyes their was a bedbug. Smh. Manager did not do anything to accommodate my situation.

  • 9 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    February 2016 the place was under renovation.

  • 2 February 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm excited to return when renovations are over

    Great hotel breakfast Great mattress! Free use of safe!

  • 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do to the weather (snow storm) the parking area was not cleaned good, I fell on the ice.

    The location was 1/2 mile from where I had to go.

  • 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We needed to stay an extra night and the staff was very accommodating and the price was still fair.

  • 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I could not check in at 8:00am

    That my service was smooth

  • 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    double beds are small

    price and size of double bed room

  • 25 August 2015

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, easy, comfortable Very pleasant staff Great stay for the money Breakfast was good!

  • 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location, ang have shuttle bus to subway station, very convient.

  • 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel stay ever. Drunks with whiskey bottles outside front door during the day. Dirty towels. Terrible breakfast.

    Staff was pleasant.

  • 30 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding neighborhood is not appealing.

    Loved the fact that it was a non-smoking building!

  • 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, I stayed for one night, and I paid for 2 nights instead.

    The hospitality and the staff were fabulous.

  • 28 June 2015

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities could do with a bit of an upgrade. Not dirty, though.

    Staff

  • 20 June 2015

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was in poor condition. The air condition was too loud

    close to my home because I was displaced because of water damage to my house

  • 15 June 2015

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor and furniture also hallways very dated.

  • 15 May 2015

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no water pressure in the PM on upper floor

    Convenient to UMUC

  • 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The bathroom door was broken and the person who checked us out was rude.

    The pillows were soft

  • 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good, your people were very friendly and knowlegable.

  • 18 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bait and switch on price

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    television didnot work. I asked for a reduction in the room rate. The front desk agreed to refund 25.00. As best I can tell this never happened. Your help please. Jesse tayloe 252-345-1867

  • 28 October 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The towels looked like they had been already used by someone else.. There was no electricity for some 1 hour (no elevators, electronic keys not working..) At breakfast, there was no sugar-free yoghurt, no sugar-free muesli etc.

    Calm.

  • 14 October 2014

    • Family

    I actually don't have anything negative to comment on.

    I liked that it wasn't hard to get too. It was right in the middle of all the shops and walking distance from the university. Very convenient!

  • 22 September 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. Air conditioner did not work well- had to set it on high to make the room cool. Front desk staff allowed food delivery person to come to my room rather than call me to lobby even though they knew I was traveling alone. Wi-Fi did not work.

    Bed was fairly comfortable. Room was spacious.

  • 24 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Poor breakfast selection. Coffee was terrible! No hot cocoa, no Danishes, no flavored creamers. Room 422 was ok, but found someone's hair in the bathtub, bathtub walls, and sink, which is gross.

    Location was ideal.

  • 7 November 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom door

    food

  • 5 November 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    location Metro shuttle breakfast

  • 27 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelled of cigarettes. Furniture and rugs were old.

  • 3 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the noisy air conditioner

    The service

  • 18 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check out time should be at 1pm..

    The beds are very comfortable.

  • 30 June 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Just ok.

  • 27 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    mold on ceilings and the room smelled musty and moldy

  • 20 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpet was dirty and bed linen was not clean. We had to change rooms.

    Room with a nice view.

  • 1 April 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is so simple.

    Providing free shuttle service.

  • 16 January 2014

    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staffs. Shuttle van

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: