Reviews of Howard Johnson Plaza Madison 3 stars

3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704, USA

#40 of 52 hotels in Madison

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was very loud shouting and door banging, presumably by patrons. Room phone to front desk did not work so I couldn't report it. It was very frightening. Main purpose for staying there was for a safe, good night's sleep - Neither of which I felt I got.

    Proximity to airport. Price was moderate. Things were clean. Wasn't looking for fancy and it wasn't.

  • 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean. There were cobwebs in my room. It did not feel, look, or smell clean. You could tell the dirt has been there for ages because things are sticky and dingy.

    The breakfast was great. The room was big and comfortable bed

  • 12 January 2017

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bartender left for 20min was not happy huge bug in corner of room at the ceiling you to thought they would've checked this before we checked in

    Great breakfast and mike was great

  • 7 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front destination Staff was pretty robot-like, c/b more gregarious. Facility needs some touch up to the sheetrock & wallpaper in the hallways

    Great breakfast. Menu in the bar was good, Bar Staff was awesome.

  • 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not always able to find someone at the front desk.

    Forgot my toothbrush/toothpaste and picked them up at the front desk. Mike, in the restaurant, was charming and sang to the room. He is cheerful and upbeat. My mother always wants to stay at this hotel because of Mike.

  • 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No,

    The room is very clean and the warm system is power enough. The quality of TV is good. The most important thing, the service man of breakfast is awesome, he is singing Merry Christmas song with a great voice and he is full of enthusiasm. The breakfast is good. The price is very rational. I love here.

  • 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I got room service when told them that I didn't need it for the day. I work in the hotel business as a second job and when a guest says they don't want room service we listen.

    It was very close to my job.

  • 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-first was horrible. My 3 year old just wanted to use the iPad to watch train videos, however it was very slow.

    Game room was great, used the pool a lot.

  • 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little lumpy. I had to share with one of my kids and felt a little sore the next day

    Chose this hotel for the pool. The pool is huge. Water temp a little cool but once we were in it was fine. Didnt realize breakfast was included. That was an added bonus. Hot foods (eggs, potatoes, French toast and sausage). Cold cereal and some bread. Not a great variety but fed our hungry stomachs without having to spend more money. Wifi worked in hotel room. Shower was good. Room was clean.

  • 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot, musty hallways. Dirty stairways. Loud guests after 10pm (kids running down hall). Breakfast was very poor even if it was free. Bananas were almost rotten.

    Price

  • 22 July 2015

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After getting into the bed wife realized it was awfully damp. Got out of bed and looked under blanket , then under sheet, then under mattress pad and one whole side of the mattress was SOAKED. Not a water bottle full of water, but a bucket full of water. ALSO carpet outside of pool area SOAKED. Most people have shoes on, but i was barefoot and it was like a sponge.

    a/c was good on a hot night. staff was helpful and friendly. should have gotten a free night for having to move room after gone to bed, but didn't happen. they thought it was only worth $10 off room!

  • 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to switch rooms due to a clogged sink and maintenence being unavailable at night but the staff quickly and easily gave us a new room with no hassle.

    Employees were kind, fun, & very helpful. A/C worked great and tv had many channels including free movie channels like hbo and free wifi!

  • 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood was a little rough. Not well lit in the back parking area. Room keys were difficult to get to work.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable, no outside noise from other guests.

  • 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in desperate need of some upgrades. The carpet and curtains are old and the bed squeaked.

    The hotel was in a great location and the breakfast was great!

  • 13 June 2015

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the front desk was young and condescending. They had a pool, etc. but did not look very clean.

    The man in the breakfast dining room was very friendly, helpful, and cheerful.

  • 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drained very slow. Noisey could hear the conversation of the people next door. Our room was not cleaned, clean towels were just thrown in the bathroom.

    Was less expensive then most of the hotels in the area.

  • 20 April 2015

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very, very shabby. Under the bathroom sink, there was paper filling in the hole by the pipe. The outer door was very old, and didn't seem to fit. Light came in all around the door. In the morning starting at 6:30 we were awakended everytime someone else shut thier door. The bathroom floor seemed dirty to me, and the bathroom door was falling apart.

    I liked the breakfast - and the pool area. The lobby area was very nice. The staff in the breakfast area won me over from not liking the hotel, to thinking it was okay.

  • 31 March 2015

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only received a $12 discount after having to call the front desk for partying going on from a group of motorcyclist. It wasn't until we threaten to call the cops at 1:00 did they have the group quiet down and go to their rooms verses the hall. Did not do very good customer service on that.

    Breakfast and the pool were awesome.

  • 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot tub was out of order. Most of the vending machines were out of order. The temperature outside was extremely cold and the heat in the room was off, so freezing in the room. The floors and furniture were too cold to touch. Bathroom floor never did warm up. Cold breeze coming through windows, so very cold in room even though we had heat blowing almost constantly.

    The breakfast in the morning and the breakfast staff were great. Girl at the front desk in the morning for check out was very friendly.

  • 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many things that were out of order, the hot tub and multiple vending machines. The food at the restaurant was horrible, the rooms walls seeming like they were made of paper, you could hear everything! And my room was not cleaned up to par.

    My room was next to the door to my car.

  • 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I was looking for a hotel room I wanted a minifridge and microwave in the room. I thought the website said we would have that, but we didn't.

    The bed was comfortable and the whole facility was clean.

  • 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was certain that it stated a mini fridge was in the room but there was not. Also, there was no fan in the bathroom so it was very steamy after a shower.

    The staff was friendly. There was a great complimentary breakfast with eggs, french toast and sausage which I find rare for a hotel!

  • 25 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway and exterior of the doors seemed outdated, but once inside the room, all that is forgotten. Overall, we'll worth the price.

    Clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staff.

  • 16 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast and the server. He was very frrindly and entertaining. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. I don't see how it could be better.

    Extremely clean, staff was the friendliest I have EVER experienced.

  • 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have been cleaner. Stains in hallway. Beds not very comfortable.

    Proximity to airport. Friendly breakfast server who sang to us.

  • 4 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    25 dollars for a pet fee was a surprise. Pool should have been checked on and cleaned.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly.

  • 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ended to early. Missed it at 9:20

  • 15 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaned better.

    Bed was nice and comfy. Shower had the right amount of pressure

  • 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed before 1030 on a Saturday night???? Sign says that it closes at 1130.

    Mike, the breakfast man, was amazing!

  • 29 August 2015

    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    halls and rooms were a little outdated and tired looking

    Excellent breakfast, nice lobby

  • 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast attendant , Mike really made our stay special and enjoyable. He is a breath of fresh air, would come back just to see him.

  • 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great continental breakfast. Room was fine. No issues - better than expected. Every bit as good as the higher priced local hotels.

  • 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big swimming pool and breakfast

  • 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice pool area! Great for kids.

  • 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not as comfortable

  • 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in and out pretty quickly. Needed to make an early flight. Good access to roads.

  • 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!

  • 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was not working. Was drained err didn't know till after we checked in.

    Bed was super comfortable.

  • 7 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was nice, room was clean, beds were comfortable, no complaints!

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40