Reviews of Royale Beach and Tennis Club by VRI Resort 4 stars

400 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597, United States of America

#40 of 43 hotels in South Padre Island

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 34 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 24

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for an extra pillow and they said they had none! In all those rooms there were no extra pillows! Hard to believe, the check out time is much too early. You are barely getting up because it can be noisy late at night and you must rush to check out instead of enjoying morning coffee on your last day there, yet ck in time is not til 3pm! You have to wait to unwind in room til 3pm

    The pools and easy access to beach

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the small balcony but it was ok.

    I liked the cleaningness, the newly tiled shower, and the fact that the studio room had all the utensils and coffee machine in the room ready to go.

  • July 30, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My TV did not work. Contacted desk and they replied that maintenance was gone for the day. Door wouldn't shut without force. Parking was tight and congested. Not worthy of 4 stars. False advertising. At best, 2 Stars

    The air conditioner worked. And the toilet was sealed with proof of sanitation!

  • August 26, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not receive the room that we reserved/paid for on booking.com. We paid for a studio with a kitchenette and received only a standard room because there was apparently a misunderstanding between the hotel and the website.

    The view was awesome and the availability of umbrellas/chairs for rent was super convenient

  • August 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room, and hallways smelt like sewage. People at front desk were rude. They did not put us in the room we paid for. I will never go back. They made our experience of vacation a living nightmare.

    Nothing.

  • July 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff that takes care of reservation did not take care of our extension in our stay nor by phone or when we arrived. They tried to get us with the statement sorry we dont have room for tonight. I called two weeks in advance and spoke to a lady that quoted the new departure date. On arrieval the guy that register us also stated no problem. On the tbird day they call me to leave the room.

    Close to the beach. Rooms clean.

  • July 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need upgrading/remodeling. Can't obtain a new parking tag if lost or stolen (in our case) and had to park our car outside the property and risk vandalism or towing. It was stressful.

    Nice grounds and pool. Easy access to beach.

  • May 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about this place was great! From the staff to the room, location, 3 pools, bars, beach access;Everything about it was AMAZING! Definitely going back!

  • April 7, 2015

    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there was a couple of stuff we didn't like the parking lot was only for one vehicle one of my guests had to Park his vehicle far away from the hotel we had walk out to purchase some stuff by foot and in our way back into the security gates one of the guys didn't let us go in because we didn't have a bracelet that we weren't clearly aware of and the cost of the bracelets where insane $28 per person.the security don't let the taxi cars pick us up at the hotel we had to walk outside the gates to wait for themt. Another dislike was we had to pay $50.00 for the room to be picked up and we had only stayed one night.

    I liked the views of the room we started in

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Condo needs to be updated.

    Off season, no problem with noise, quite pools, no crowds, very friendly staff.

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very out dated building and outdated decor

    Location

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi didn't work very well

    Great place to stay with family or friends

  • July 28, 2016

    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool

  • July 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just needed comfortable pillows.

    The location was awesome and had access to washer, dryer and icemachine.

  • July 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to pools and on the beach

  • July 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff was rude. Facilities were very old, no amenities in the room at all. Zero microwave, zero fridge, zero hair dryer, no cleaning services.

    Nothing

  • June 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That they didn't have my name at security gate.

    The pool, the service. chkn in and out of hotel. very easy. Thanks Royal Beach and Tennis Club :)

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Enjoyed the beautiful room and excellent ocean view from room..

  • May 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FACILITIES

    PRICE!

  • April 29, 2015

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room itself, the staff was in lala land

    The pool

  • March 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lumpy pillows and beds, needed more towels

    We were there for spring break and over all the room was good for sleeping and bathing

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • May 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced, pool view (not as indicated on website), run down facility. Lobby area, entrance, stairs, elevator all minimally maintained. Does not have feel of higher priced hotel. I had a disappointed feeling as I thought I had upgraded to a pricier place. So disappointed that we cancelled our second night to look for a less expensive place. Booking.com was excellent in this regard.

    Access to beach, bed was comfortable. Gated access, nice pool.

  • March 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They do not tell you on the booking site that 1) you can only have ONE CAR (which resulted in one of ours getting towed due to poor communication from the guard who BARELY spoke English) and 2) that you have to pay an additional fee for WRISTBANDS so you can prove that you are staying in the hotel you ALREADY paid for!

    The fact that it had a kitchen.

  • June 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Absolutely loved it! Waking distance to the beach. Pool was great!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: