Reviews of Stewart Hotel 4 stars

371 Seventh Avenue, Chelsea, New York City, NY 10001, United States of America

#313 of 411 hotels in New York City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2019 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 19, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything!

    I chose the Stewart Hotel basically because of the close proximity to the train station. I have made several trips to NYC, and the last time I was there, I "checked it out" a bit- walked in the foyer & restaurant- it suited my needs all the way around so I decided that on my next visit, I would look into staying there. We could not have been more pleased all the way around! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The check in & check out process was quick & efficient, we even got to check in early, and received a complimentary upgrade. Our room was spacious, clean and even included a kitchenette. I plan to stay there again next time!

  • January 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pretty noisy but can't help that being in the midst of all the action

    Great location, really friendly staff, helpful having a laundry and gym. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • January 12, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel does show its age. Some things are are broken but okay

    Great check in staff when I was there. Hotel is old but is improving in its upgrades. Really love the room.

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 1313-Plumbing issue in bathroom- toilet leaked when flushing and it did not flush thoroughly. I reported it immediately at the desk; person said she would inform the maintenance, and it would be taken care of while we were out for the evening. The toilet leak was not corrected.

  • January 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heating in the rooms was excessive. We kept turning them all off and the cleaners kept turning them back on.

    2nd time we have stayed. Location is fantastic and staff are outstanding. Andrew on reception ensured that anything we needed, we got.

  • January 4, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got to check in early at no extra charge. They held our bags because check out was earlier than our flight back home. Very nice staff and awesome location!

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn't very clean. Bathroom was dirty in corners. Staff was not very friendly or personable. Didn't even care that we were on our honeymoon.

    Bed was comfy

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for a view of the city and they window was to small. Another couple got checked into the same room and walked in while I was naked

    Absolutely nothing

  • December 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room keys that get magnetised all the time and you have to keep getting them recharged - waiting in queues to get room key recharged is very frustrating.

    Good location & good facilities for us - we were with a group of friends. GREAT BAR . If you want to see something at Madison Square Garden this hotel is perfect location. Local to Penn station too

  • December 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got in at 3am. The room was 90 degrees and the heat wouldn't turn off. No A/C and window would not open. The hotel did not refund any money nor fix the problem. Aweful experience.

    Good location... that's it.

  • December 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no bedding for the sofa bed when we arrived in the evening Si had to call down. The furnishings were tired; the reception staff were lack lustre and kept blaming delays etc on the name change from Affinia to Stewart Hotel (we had not been told that this was happening prior to arrival). Concierge was very unhelpful and unapproachable. We asked if there were any detergent tablets as the machine was out and were told simply "no" by the reception staff. Our party noted that the Reception staff seemed very disillusioned most days and the reception always seemed chaotic. Even and we were collecting our luggage from the storage area, one of the reception staff asked us to move out of the way as he was taking a maintenance person through the very confined area. I was struggling to get my bag on my back and out of the way quick enough; very rude. All in all New York was a great place to visit but the Stewart Hotel needs a makeover; it is tired and rough round the edges.

    The location was the best thing about the hotel. The cleaning staff were good.

  • December 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy hotel. You expect NY to be noisy, it part of the fun, but having a police station on one side and fire station the other side carpets were dirty freyed with nails sticking out. No where to eat room service. not good value for money. We felt we paid over the odds for this hotel.

  • December 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy at front of hotel, but it is New York. Not enough space to hang your clothes, especially for 4 people in a suite.

    Location and staff brilliant 😊 nice bar 🍻 Close to Penn station, so easy to get around. Clean towels and beds made every day.

  • December 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Night Staff wernt very welcomeing after you have arrived hours late after a 30 hour journey. Our room was opposite..the railway station and that plus sirens going off and so much noise we got very little sleep .

    The bed was very comphy. Day staff were charming.

  • December 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to pay for wifi in room, could t check in until 4pm

    Great location, very spacious and comfy room, easy to travel to Newark airport by subway, would definitely return

  • December 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is little that we did not like. The bathroom is quite small but the space is cleverly used. I'm not fond of the mandatory "facilities charge" gimmick to make the room rate look smaller than it is. There are better meal options in the neighborhood.

    Large, nicely appointed room with office nook. Very helpful and cheerful staff. Perfect base location for train travelers--adjacent to Penn Station.

  • December 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was very small.

    The service was excellent. Staff were all friendly and helpful. We were given a room upgrade at no extra cost with a kitchenette.

  • December 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a draft through the window which created quite an annoying whistling noise, the bathroom door in particular could have been a little cleaner. The hotel did end up working out more expensive then we originally thought and hoped with all the taxes added on but know this is a New York thing. Just a few improvements but overall would recommend this hotel, really enjoyed our stay!

    The location of this hotel is great, really central and easy to get to main attractions. The staff were really friendly and the exterior and lobby were impressive and festive.

  • December 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room we were offered was on 17th floor, when we entered it was freezing cold and extremely small with a tiny bed! Couldn't stay in that for 5 days and was advised they couldn't move us to a similar room until the following day, therefore we had to pay for an upgrade to a larger room!

    Staff extremely helpful, good location....near 34th Penn station. coffee machine in room, well stocked.

  • December 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom walls not the greatest, marked in several places with what looked like lipstick. Windows not airtight, quite drafty. Mattres had noisy sheets that rustled with the slightest of movement. Coffee machine was useless

    Good location, friendly staff, especially nana. Room bigger than expected having read other reviews before travelling. Amazing food in niles restaurant next door.

  • December 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WI-FI was too expensive, When I chose the hotel I thought it was included, my family was very disappointed about this, particularly if you are traveling with a teenager.

    The location was excellent. Front desk people did not care much about customers but they were efficient.

  • December 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedrooms were not as we expected and we ended up being moved three times to find a room that best suited our needs

    The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful

  • December 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows too hard. Carpets in hallways worn makes place look shabby.

    Liked been offered an upgrade free of charge without requesting one. Staff on reception very friendly and efficient daughter loved the wifi in room which we were also offered free. Concierge very helpful.

  • December 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Street traffic noise

    Hotel is dated - but rooms comfortable. BUT Be aware if room is on main road - the traffic noise is horrendous- New Yorkers just love blasting their car horned 24 /. 7

  • December 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were terrible !

    Location was fantastic! Checking out the man was really rude! Was in a room on the left of the building there was construction all night outside got no sleep a disaster !!

  • November 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, my only criticism was that the room was cold, but that was sorted within 30 mins after making a call to reception.

    Hotel located beside Maceys, Empire State Building and Madison Sq Garden, and close to Penn Station and Port Authority. Times Square approx 5/7 mins walk. Rooms were clean and modern with our room having kitchen and 2 Flat Screen TVs. Ideal to use as a base to shop with nice restaurants nearby. Harringtons, accross the street was excellent. Would have no hesitation in going back to the Affinia or recommending it to anybody.

  • November 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room to hot - air con didn't cool room down - extremely noisy at night - not hotels fault it was fire engines from fire station next door and the insistence of New Yorkers to honk horns at ungodly hour of the day/night

    Great welcome from Kevin who treated us to bottle of wine and free wifi as a thanksgiving gift - Comfy bed - great location

  • November 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That i had to leave

    Greatlocation, rooms werent huge but veryefficiently used the space and had a desk and seating area, very comfy. Service was great. I had an issue with a window (couldnt close it) at 4am, they had someone up to fix it within minutes!! I was very impressed

  • November 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the room decor was getting a bit tired.

    The location is brilliant and the rooms are large and good value. The 1 bedroom suite suited our family of 4 perfectly.

  • November 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has a serious lack of custom room temperature. There are both an AC and a Heater in the room, both on at the same time, neither fully functioning. The AC barely cools off the room, while the heaters kicks off on full blast. Neither temperature adjustments were working, we even tried to unplug the units, but outside air would still come in. We were also unable to get rooms not facing the street, so street noise was an issue, but nothing mayor. It is NYC after all.

    Location for this hotel is fantastic. Short distance to Time Square and directly across Madison Square Garden. Very centrally located to most tourist attractions. Subway access to Penn Station and many other connecting trains. The rooms are clean and well maintained even though the building is rather aged. Amenities are readily available, such as in room fridge, good drinkable coffee in the room, emergency bathroom supplies, extra towel requests etc. The beds are very comfortable also, but the pillows are too small for the beds and rather thin.

  • November 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed in! I'm not one for plush 5 star breaks, all I ask for is a comfy bed in a clean environment. This hotel was filthy throughout! Located opposite Maddison square garden with a busy fire station a few doors down the noise is relentless, even with the windows closed its non stop noise. The heat in the room was unbearable and made worse by the fact the rooms are tiny!The noise was obviously worse if you opened the window to let in some air. There was air con in the way of a noisy electrical unit attached to the window that whirred all night. On a more positive note, the staff were very helpful, polite and had extensive knowledge of New York, they really couldn't do enough... shame about the rooms but I'm thankful to them. Definitely going to return to New York but the next visit will be out of the hustle and bustle away from Times Square, probably further down town? I hope the next place knows that cleaning a room involves more than just a quick change of sheets and a spay of air freshener! In all honesty the photos look lovely, in reality there is a lot to be desired.

    Staff we're very helpful and friendly.

  • November 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms have an old feel to them. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired. We asked for towels 4 times and still didn't get them. Neither AC not heating thermostats work so room would get too hot or too cold. There was a draft coming from the window which they couldn't fix and we had to put towels to prevent it. All in all not a great experience

    the location was very convenient. close to the station and also walking distance from times square as well as empire state building. we also liked that we got 2 double beds so sleeping for 4 of us was comfortable.

  • November 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room needed a deep clean, skirting very dusty & hairs in the bath.

    We booked a studio & the size was perfect. Staff were all excellent. Room could be a bit cleaner but overall a lovely hotel to stay in.

  • November 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's easiest to say what we didn't like, we expected an awful lot more for the money we paid, we paid $1000 for two nights , as the room we were originally allocated on the 9th floor was terrible, therefore we were immediately moved to the 20th floor to a suite and charged 60 dollars a night extra, room the same but bigger and traffic noise horrendous, earplugs provided by hotel says it all. The air conditioning/heating unit were attached to the windows with cables plugged in full view. There was no bedside tables either side of the bed, there was 9 inches on one side of bed to get out. The blinds couldn't be opened as we were overlooked. The decor was grey and depressing, I cried at the thought of staying here for 2 nights. We only remained in the hotel as the New York marathon was on an would've been difficult to relocate. The bedding was worn and had a rip in it , the duvet had no cover it was wrapped in a sheet. I've been to New York 4 times in 2 years, and was recommended this hotel by a friend as they always stay here due to the location, close to Macy's, Times Square and Empire State building.

    The mattress was comfortable Staff helpful

  • November 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt it was overpriced considering room size. Then again the prices could've been jacked up because of the UFC fight.

    Location was perfect, rooms were comfortable and cozy...

  • November 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little dated, not quite the same as the photos! Carpets frayed in places, table had stains on it however overall it was clean & comfortable.

    Beds very comfortable, kitchen was a great bonus. 3 of us stayed in the room & we had more than enough room. Location was great - Extremely close to subway stations and opposite Madison square gardens.

  • November 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Heating system in room was old-fashioned and hard to control. Standard price of WiFi at US$ 15 per day is shocking in a mid-price hotel.

    Good transport connections incl to JFK, large room for the price category, very nice receptionist (Nana) who gave us free WiFi when he heard we were visiting for the NYC Marathon.

  • November 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room would have benefited from a lick of paint and the shower cubicle was rather small. There were no dressing gowns provided.

    We were given a large room with a large comfortable bed. The hotel is practically across the street from Penn Station providing easy commute to/from JFK by train. It is a great location in many other respects - short walk away from the main attractions in Midtown with a few subway lines within easy reach and two Citi bike stations minutes away.

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff heard it was our anniversary so they upgraded our room and sent a bottle of wine. Great location, awesome views of the city, exactly what we wanted.

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The seating structure (or artistic statement) in center of lobby - a bit cold and unfriendly; doesn't harmonize with the otherwise friendly and inviting ambience

    Completely satisfied all of our expectations. (We also appreciated availability of chilled water in reception area.)

  • November 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    $200 dearer than price quoted at time of booking

    Very friendly welcome from Charlie. Upgraded our room & checked with us that everything was ok after we settled in

  • November 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Almost 4 weeks after check out the pre-authorisation on my mastercard has not been released even after I rang them.

    The downtown location, the studio is comfy (though too small for 4 adults), the staff are very helpful

  • November 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arriving with 3 children at 3am to find the booking I made with you was cancelled. No other rooms available and stood for over an hour while they tried to resolve it. The solution? paying an extortionate charge for a small room where we all had to sleep together the first night till it was sorted. Everything is extra and expensive. Rooms very dated and prove does not reflect this.

    Nice lobby. Most staff were pleasant.

  • November 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sliding doors between the bedrooms and bathroom did not work. They were unhinged and very heavy to move. They were hazardous. Maintenance came to fix the problem but they kept falling off and were never really fixed throughout our 3 night stay. It created a lack of privacy.

    The view was excellent. Housekeeping did a great job.

  • November 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was in need of painting. There was obvious blood on shower curtain and sofa bed. Could not close bathroom door fixtures were coming off. I made a complaint and staff were questioning my complaint. They didn't take the initiative to take a look at the room to confirm statement. I was given one price and at check out was charged an additional $300.00. It being my first time in NY I was highly disappointed

    Location

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a little tired but still comfortable. Like all NYC hotels the bathroom was tiny but adequate.

    Charlie on front desk was extremely friendly. Upgraded us to a suite as it was our wedding anniversary. Great location. Guest laundry was handy. Would stay here again.

  • October 30, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It wasn't obvious as to how to use the espresso coffee maker and there were no directions

    Room was luxurious with new extra touches - robes for after bath, a desk to work at, multiple tv's.

  • October 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom should have enough shelving for toiletries. Bathroom is on the small size for a family. Carpets, wardrobe furniture were dated and the double bedroom was on a smaller size for a 4* hotel. Service is inadequate

    The double bed was comfortable. Bathroom was small but just manageable. Nice bath & hand towels. Breakfast was adequate but very limited choices on offer.

  • October 30, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was miserable, overcooked, not really food, but fill. I assume it´s a tight budget, and this is a problem they have to fix.

    Very clean room, first class. Cleaning staff in this hotel are the stars of the hotel. Front desk staff really good, as also the bell boy and the guards.

  • October 29, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at the cafeteria was a disappointment. Food was not food, but stomach fill. One could believe it was made by old fashioned cooks, food greasy, overcooked. Reason is probably severe budget control, where price and bottom line is the most important thing, rather than quality. Staff tried to do what they could with their material, but it doesn´t leave them much to do. I think Affinia NYC could with benefit reshape the whole breakfast concept and check out how they could make it more attractive and healthier.

    The front desk and the bell boy, very attentive, ensuring and welcoming. Rooms are very clean, and cleaning staff are the stars of this hotel. Many hotels in New York are often not up to great standards, but this hotel certainly is.

  • October 27, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hmm, where do I start. Bear in mind this hotel was rated a 4 star plus. 1. The staff - rude, and really didn't care less if you were here or not. If you were on fire in front of them they wouldn't care less. 2. The room. We has a 1 bed suite, with a sofabed in the living room. The decor is very dated; there was a large round table in the living room with multiple chips out of the surface of it - it looked like it was taken from the dump. Cracked tiles in the bathroom added to the pleasure. The room had an almight draft where the aircon unit was in the window. We had to stuff this hole so with didn't freeze. Incidently, we went in the end of October and it's very cold already! We stayed on the 15th floor and holy cow is it noisy. There is a firestation located in the next building to this hotel on the street and at any time of night or day the fire engines will pull out with the loudest whaling noise ever. Constant car horns (and I mean constant) will keep you awake all night. The hotel gives you complimentary ear plugs for the room - thats how bad it is. 3. WIFI is not free, infact its $14.95 per night! Yes, this is 2016 and not 2001. If you're lucky you can hook up to Macy's free wifi (we did, with intermitent results). WIFI is only free in the lobby, where there is limited seating. 4. Humidity - the room, in fact the whole place, has very dry air. We didn't have the aircon running but we all felt lousy after sleeping in the hotel every night (we stayed for 4 nights) 5 - Dont forget to add the City tax and some other tax - whacks your bill up a lot! Overall, I was highly disappointed with this hotel, given the pictures we saw before hand the rating it is given. Yes, the pictures might be of the rooms when they were first decorated, but they are not a reflection of what the rooms look like now. I was very disappointed having stayed in many different places around the world, and in America.

    The hotel was about 10 blocks away from Time Square (10 mins walk) and about 3 blocks away from the Empire State Building. It was right opposite Madison Square Gardens

  • October 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms are small and tired and in need of refurbishment. A strong draft and street noise come through the air conditioning unit fitted below the window. There is only free wifi in the lobby.

    The location is good

  • October 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room you get does not look like the one in Booking.com. Bathroom in poor condition and not clean.

    The location is great! You get clean bedsheets every day. The hotel is located just opposite Madison Square Garden.

  • October 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite dirty. We're not fussy travellers but we had to get the staff back twice to clean it. Not great when you've got kids with you.

  • October 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two double beds in room rather than one double and two singles. What children like to share a bed! Decor is dated. Three towels each day for four guests in room. Bathroom ridiculously small and toiletries were basically so watered down as to be unusable. Care with free wifi - only free in lobby.

    Location

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Credit for the bar snacks didn't include tax and was a trap for non Americans as you end up paying quite a bit :( Glass could be more sound proofed! The constant sirens could still be heard loudly even 11 floors up.

    Location was great. Staff were accommodating with our early checkin.

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only hotel in our six week holiday through USA and Europe that did not provide free wifi. Only free wifi available in foyer of hotel.

    Very spacious 1 bedroom apartment located near Penn Station and Time Square. Hotel restaurant served a delicious meal and the staff were very polite and courteous.

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A microwave in room would be helpful if you simply just want to warm up foods or beverages.

    The location was great, in the center of everything. The hotel was beautiful, with a bit of old charm.

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Make sure to check the additional resort fee - if it is already included in your Price or Not. It was quite loud during the night because of the street, police sounds,... They were always audible.

    The location of the hotel is really great. Price/Service was good compared to other offers we had checked

  • October 18, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is dark, with poor lighting throughout; the water took a long time to get hot (waste of water), when it did get hot (didn't always); the street noise is loud and relentless, even in the middle of the night; it's an old converted apartment building that feels like the Twilight Zone.

    The staff at the check-in and maintenance is very friendly and sincere. They are really making the effort, and you can tell it matters to them that you are happy.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from street level loud right through the night & room got quite warm in the evening

    Great location right next to Penn station. Rooms were resonably sized & clean

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How friendly and helpfull the staff were at all times, the great location, everywhere is with a short walking distance.We were given a free room upgrade as it was our 25th wedding Anniversary

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The conseriege! Both conserieges that we dealt with were unenthusiastic and unable to give accurate information... depending on your room no the noise level at night might keep u awake or u can use the ear plugs provided

    Location excellent and comfy beds

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sink in our bathroom didn't drain very well.

    The location was awesome. it is noisy, but you are in the heart of the city and can easily walk to the different neighborhoods.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You need yo pay for wifi in the room

    Perfect location as a base for 5 days in NYC. Dont expect luxury but everything is very comfortable and in great order. Fast check in and out, staff friendly, comfy beds.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a room on the 3 floor where all the windows were glazed so we didn't know if it was sun or rain outside.

    Friendly staff, spacious rooms, good closet space and perfectly sized bathrooms.Great location if you want o be close to all the tourist attractions.

  • October 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was very roomy and beds great the bathroom could have been a little cleaner over all nice. good products but could not get the shampoo bottle to work they have to refill.

    the hotel staff was very nice, friendly !The front clerk Diesel was the best thank him for us.

  • October 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy.. but well, it's Manhattan..

    Right in front of Penn Station, close to the Empire State Building, Time Square and the High Line: location is great! Comfortable room, well equipped, with good beds. Nice lobby!

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was really nice, central and the staff were lovely. On the surface it looks immaculate but, in our room 1521, the cleanliness let it down, the edge of the bath was thick with dust, the floor wasn't too clean, between the beds hadn't seen a vacuum in a while and the plug sockets were loose

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was adequate but a little on the small side. It was at the front of the hotel, overlooking 7th Avenue and therefore noisy at times with the Subway trains running all night below - but nevertheless audible - and also it cannot have been far from the local fire station since there were several 'noisy' call-outs also during the night hours. An 'inside room' would probably not have had this problem.

    The hotel's location was splendid for our purposes, almost directly opposite Penn Station and therefore we didn't need to transport our cases very far. The restaurant was excellent and provided very good service both for breakfast and also for evening meals.

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free Wi Fi, cheaper valet!

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, room was very clean, bright, and comfortable. Location is excellent for seeing the sights of NYC.

  • October 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have a family of 5 and the sofa bed was not very comfortable. A set of bunk beds would have been better as no one wanted to sleep on the sofa bed.

    We caught the Amtrak to New York and were very pleased with how close we were to the station. We could see all the way to Time Square from our window.

  • October 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel corridoors reminded me of the Overlook hotel in The Shining LOL, but dont be put off.

    room was very large with very comfy, clean beds. Bathroom was lovely. Great location, opposite Penn Station. Made it easy for transfer to JFK

  • October 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom! Tiny! Not a great location within suite when there were 4 using it, plus the only mirror was on the door so awkward for dressing etc… Sofa bed not the comfiest but for a short stay was bareable

    Great location, right opposite Penn and Madison Square gardens. Fantastic view on 23rd floor, looking right down lower Manhattan. Spacious accommodation for four (Queen Suite) and better value than 2 separate rooms. Plenty of fast, roomy lifts, never had to wait long. Pleasant accommodation without breaking the bank, would use again.

  • October 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Luggages have to be carried on the stairs to the hotel lobby and not so user friendly, wished you have a small ramp when the escalator is on different directions. No toiletries amenities such as tooth brush and paste. Small coffee/water heating instead of an electric water jug for more hot water drinking.

    Location to Stations. Laundry area is good.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: