Reviews of Bukela Game Lodge 5 stars

Amakhala Game Reserve, 6139 Amakhala Game Reserve, South Africa

#3 of 9 hotels in Amakhala Game Reserve

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 28 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 14

  • December 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels have stains. After touching and smelling I can tell it was clean and has been washed, but still if they can provide a totally white towel it would be perfect. Washing basin has some accumulated dirt too.

    We stayed in the Luxury Safari Tent and it was awesome. Very open-spaced with great view of the reserve surrounded by African forest. Very comfy bed and cosy living area. We had very good sleep at night, and for afternoon nap there were birds singing making the nap even more relaxing. Love the outdoor shower and big bathtub. We saw numerous stars at night outside our own balcony. Food were nice and plenty. Dining area was country-luxurous and cosy made us feel home. Staff were friendly and helpful. Game drives were superb we saw everything we want to see including lions, cheetahs, rhinos, different kind of deers, elephants, jackals, warthogs, giraffes, zebras etc. It was an absolutely amazing experience.

  • December 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The game drives. Lack of animals when we stayed.

    Wonderful luxury tent and extremely comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom and sitting area. Friendly and helpful staff. Good food and wines.

  • November 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - really bad food: most expensive hotel of a two weeks journey through SA with the worst food of all our hotels or restaurants - very poorly cleaned lodge: a lot of stains and apparent filth - poor condition of our lodge and furniture, a lot of the furniture is old and looks really run down - everything looks run down and nobody cares about details - nobody of the "management" seems to care - mediocre service -> really bad price-performance ratio, not recommendable

    location

  • September 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved Bukela, it's a dream come true. So well looked after by all staff, lodges are beautiful and so comfortable, game drives are amazing. Such a special place

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    We loved everything - pure luxury! The bungalow is enormous and beautifully decorated....staff were incredible...they even set up a dining table in our room for a romantic honeymoon dinner. Our game driver Wonga was brilliant - extremely knowledgable & friendly...the manager Jonathan also joined for a few game drives which really added to the experience and our understanding of the wildlife. We saw cheetahs, lions and all of the other game in during our 3 days there....I actually preferred it to my previous safari in Kenya's famous Masai Mara park. Tyrone and all the guys in the main lodge & kitchen give a great energy too. The food was really tasty and plentiful (drinks too). They had thought of absolutely everything (incl hot water bottles on the game drives). Can't recommend highly enough.

  • June 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. Only 4 lodges so we got to know the other guests. Jantjie, our ranger, went out of his way to find all the animals. Luxurious accommodation and great food. Loved the all inclusive.

  • June 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the guestrooms need to be checked before guests arrive to make sure that all is in order and to be up to 5 star standard

    excellent food quality and service and friendly staff

  • March 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Think the food could be better for the price tag. It's not bad and there is plenty of it but it should be better. Also we found some of the staff were not very friendly to each other which was a bit uncomfortable

    Amazing place, rangers are excellent - we saw so much amazing wildlife and the rooms are great. Even though expensive, felt like it was good value

  • September 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening meal could have been more traditional African / game / brai type...

    Awesome reserve and you are 7.5km from civilisation.... very small with only 4 luxury lodges... lodges themselves are stunning. Game drives were very expert and everything thought of including hot waterbottles for the early am drive!

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was too firm for me

    The staff were excellent. Felt we had spoilt ourselves with the lodge we had.

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome game drives, the ranger makes everything possible to see all the animals.

  • January 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Game drives, meals and the wine

  • October 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was exciting and fun, the owner and staff where the best, and we couldn`t have wished for a better guide than Jean and his trainee Tye.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • April 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were great especially our Ranger Jack. Would definitely recommend this lodge

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: