Reviews of Napthali Lodge 4 stars

61 Dorries Drive, 7995 Simonʼs Town, South Africa

#17 of 22 B&Bs and inns in Simonʼs Town

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • February 20, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed 1 night, wish we had more time!

    Really lovely location with a beautiful view of the ocean from our own balcony. The hosts were really friendly and informative about the area and made us feel really welcome. No hesitation to return the next time we in Simon's Town!

  • February 6, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't give a higher score for the images portraying the facilities because they don't do them justice at all. It's one of the best views I've experienced from a lodge ever! The overall decor is a bit old-fashioned but despite arriving quite late the staff/owner Rob was very obliging.

  • December 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    really no idea, it was a welcoming top location just outside Simonstown. Uphill, so you need a car.

    A home away from home. A real holiday location with a great and comfortable big balcony, nice architecture, friendly owners and a dedicated cleaning lady. Walks behind the house to the top of Swartkop mountain and only short easy drives on good roads to Cape Point, Houtbay, Chapman's Peak drive, Kirstenbosch gardens, Constantia Cape Town, Stellenbosch,etc

  • November 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The driveway was a bit too steep for our little hatchback to get up, but we were able to park on the street, so it was not a problem.

    We stayed in a spacious room with a balcony and a gorgeous view of the hill below and the ocean. The room was cozily decorated, very homey.

  • November 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    First we got an upgrade at arrival which was really nice. then : - Amazing view - Beautiful house - Good Wifi signal (rare in South africa) - Nice tenant

  • November 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner asking us to checkout at 10am though the advert says 11am. Him taking out sheets and pillow cases while we still in the room saying there are other guests checking in later. Meaning we not that important, the later guests are. He wanted to make sure everything is in order for them.

    The view. The cutlery. The space. The balcony. The braai place(though I didnt use it but I loved it)

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in procedure was very bad. Nobody was available in the guest house at 15.45 h afternoon. Had to call the owner (who was in Australia as we later learned). He guided us by phone to the house keys and a room which was occupied. A male couple was lying in the bed and was not amused to see us standing in the door. Other room but no TV as per booking. No cleaning service after the first night resp. fresh towels or t-paper. We were told when we checked out that we should have asked for cleaning !!!!!

    Nice room and view

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * The owner has a bit of a bad attitude - This was very offputting and I will never stay at this establishment again. * They did not provide clean towels. We arrived on Friday, showered before bed and had to re-use the same towels on Saturday morning.... we had to use those towels again Saturday evening and we opted to rather shower at the next place we stayed at on Sunday. * The driveway is very steep. We have a Amrok (big vehicle) and we struggled.

    The receptionist/cleaner/house keeper was very friendly and professional.

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very steep hills to get to property but that's what you get in order for views

    View amazing Comfy beds excellent quality bedding Owners were not going to be there for our arrival but left instructions on keys and entry etc Very close to boulders beach but need a Car to get to town

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nowhere on bookings.com did it say anything about the jaccuzzi being at an extra cost. We were very disappointed that we were unable to use the bath because there were no plugs and I was unable to shave, also no plug for the basin. When wanting to wash dishes, there was also no plug. We also found the toilet seat was broken.

    The view from the room and balcony was beautiful and the room looked to be clean and cozy.

  • August 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room little bit cold for my standards (we went there during August) and there was only a small radiator that wasn't enough to warm the room.. But we solved it in worming the room differently

    The villa is wonderful.. our room was very big with a big balcony overlooking the ocean. Few kms from Boulders beach and from Table Mountain's national park

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Omg what a terrible experience. No hosts to meet us. The poor maid openened the door. We were not shown the facilities except the room. She couldn't get the visa card to work so we had to drive all the way back to town and get cash. .twice! Then maid left and my daughter and I...two women were left alone in this huge building for entire night. We are not from s.a. so didn't know what to expect. Didn't know if we could use facilities as everything was locked. And by the way...it is NOt in boulders beach as advertised...it's way from there. What an awful experience.

    Clean

  • May 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a bit of a problem, especially if you drive a very low car, as the lodge is situated at a very steep incline.

    I loved the view of the room and the quietness it offered.

  • April 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First room in which we were placed did not have coffee station, but we could use main kitchen. It also didn't have a plug for hairdryer and cell phone charger which was easily accessible. No stool at dressing table, so it was very difficult to look in mirror which was placed too low for standing. Staff didn't have any information on restaurants and tourist attractions, but were very friendly and helpful in absence of owners. Later moved to another room which was excellent in all regards.

    View outstanding and atmosphere quite homey

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The name Naphtali Lodge is a bit misleading. My understanding of a lodge is more self catering.I actually wanted a self catering apartment. There was also no TV facility in the bedroom. Only one TV in lounge. (sad face).

  • March 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had the room by the front door and it was really noisy with people coming and going - slamming doors etc.

    The owners are really nice and the room beautiful and comfy.

  • March 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although cooking facilities available not allowed to cook due to cooking smells permeating the accommodation. No breakfast offered. The very steep drive to parking area and steps forever not conducive to mature guests.

    The view

  • March 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in the bath that was not securely fixed which made showering a bit of an ordeal No breakfast provided An incredibly steep drive

    Lovely views from our bedroom Friendly and helpful hosts The large and comfortable bed

  • February 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    EVERY European visitor commented on the warmest welcome in Africa received here. We did not receive that and neither was our stay welcoming either. From the forced early checkout, to doing favours for other guests on our holiday, to finding our clothes waiting outside in the rain... would not recommend this place to non-white travellers. #stopracism The view is spectacular! But the balcony is communal. So unfortunately people will be walking past your bedroom if you want to enjoy the view from your room.

    Beautiful view from the room ... communal balcony though... people are constantly walking past your bedroom... so you have to keep the curtains drawn for privacy

  • February 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharing the kitchen facilities with the owners and other guests. Would prefer a little kettle etc in the room.

    The views are phenomenal! Rob and Yvonne are very hospitable. No breakfast is offered,but the advantage is getting to try out different places in town.

  • February 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to drive to breakfast or dinner places, lodge is really up the hill.

    Beautiful view from the room over false bay. Own Terrace outside where you can drink a coffee or tea. The bed is extremely comfortable.

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drive was very, very steep. Then there were lots & lots of steps. We were then told we couldn't get the studio & kitchen we booked. We got what looked like the owners accommodation, kitchen full of food etc then we had to share with other guests. No privacy whatsoever.. on our day of departure the owner came at 8.50am and said could he take the sheets of the bed to wash for the next guests. We left rapidly and won't be going back....

    The view was terrific..

  • January 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom needing upgrade spa pool not available breakfast should be offered to overnighters who aren't travelling on a self catering basis.

    Spectacular views ginormous bed and crisp clean linen

  • January 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The entrance to the property is very steep.

    Has a fantastic, beautiful, awesome view. Lovely place to stay. Enjoyed Simon's town and surroundings very much.

  • December 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This level of accomodation should have modern tv and satellite service.Having a cup of coffee at night with kettle provided difficult as the plug forces you to put kettle on the floor.Last night was difficult as neighbour left verandah light on,bathing our room in light

    Rob and Yvonne very kind and helpfull, view to die for,room comfortable and neat

  • November 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom had been well scrubbed but the residue mildew was evident. It needs to be repainted. The coffee area was too small to work comfortably. The fridge wasn't cold enough.

    The view was amazing. Bed comfortable. Room large enough.

  • November 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far away from any restaurants cafes, everything in fact. 28 steep steps to climb to the front door with heavy cases. On entering the house the overpowering smell of damp and mildew is most unpleasant. The bathroom ceiling was black with mould.

    Being so high up the view from the property is amazing.

  • November 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was not working in the rooms. But the view was fantastic so it was easy to forget that

    Familiar ambience, friendly staff and warmly welcoming owners;amazing view;

  • October 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Privacy constraints as we had to share the same balcony. Also the bed linen (cover sheet) were unclean and not changed from previous guests. Shower also unclean. Also no proper hospitality offered during our stay.

    Seaview

  • October 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s a really nice house a huge comfy bed and you can see the ocean from the bed and living room! The maid was really nice and helped with all our questions. Would come back for sure!

  • October 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main reason why I chose Napthali lodge over other places in the area, was due to the hot tub (Jacuzzi) which was out of order during our stay (as per staff member who was looking after the place at the time). There were no SPA packages available during the time of our stay, which I was only informed of after confirming and paying for the booking. The parking area created a bit of a problem as the other guests parked us in, but this was resolved early the morning of our check-out.

    The view was amazing. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The place was clean and neat.

  • September 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The site showed a jacuzzi, but I presume it was locked. So we were not able to use it

    I felt right at home. We were able to use the whole house. Really an at home feeling. Perfect location and view. Very friendly and accommodating owner

  • April 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked the option of breakfast or perhaps tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    We had a great break away from the every day routine. The room was very comfortable and the views were amazing! Got up extra early to catch a most beautiful sunrise.

  • February 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    tea cups are just too tiny - would prefer nice size coffee mugs in the room too.

    Friendly atmosphere - amazing view - Value for Money, very comfortable. Will most certainly make use of the establishment again

  • February 21, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Private kitchen facility

  • February 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The steep driveway - far to steep

    Rob & Yvonne were great hosts, friendly and helpful - fab views from the terraces!

  • February 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in Room!

    Bed was super comfortable.

  • January 11, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are really big and comfortable and the view from the terrace ist fantastic!

  • December 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For me if breakfast was available would have been awesome

    Host was really good and help us alot

  • November 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    view fantastic and quiet

  • November 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One helluve a steep driveway - kept me on my driving toes!

    the views were awesome, though we didn't see any whales. Been and gone!

  • November 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if the rooms had a tv.

    it was homely

  • November 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Views great , and the host , Dr Rob McLean makes for very enjoyable stay. Will definitely go there again soon.

  • November 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs

    The vieuw

  • November 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sheets were dirty and there was no one on site. We didn't get the room we had booked.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful staff consider last minute check-in. Ideal views and comfort.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reading lights were inop. Room very nice but little bit small

    We liked the interior of the lodge.the kitchen was fully equiped.

  • October 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com advertises a jacuzzi onsite. The jacuzzi costs an extra R700 for use.

    Great view, quite & peaceful

  • October 11, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no staff to receive us the parking is not comfy bad wi-fi

    the view from the lodge spacious rooms it's quite

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi works only in the hall, not in the room

    Great location and view No problems about our late arrival

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that there was no Jacuzzi

    everything

  • June 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No DSTV

    The view, location, size of room

  • June 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Microwave in room would have neen better and better cell phone reception

    Bed and view

  • May 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    amazing room with huge bed, friendliest owners ever, penguin beach is right by

  • April 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad Bed room TV Bad Wi Fi

    Great view Hospitality

  • April 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    perhaps could have been clearer it was up very steep hill some distance from town ( I didn't have a car)

    Pleasant owners who were very helpful

  • March 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wind never stopped

    The place was good and easy to get to. The view was great

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view was awesome but not accessible unless one is mobile

    The view and tranquillity

  • February 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location and views are stunning and Rob & Yvonne made us feel very welcome and could have stayed much longer

  • February 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very relaxing with a wonderful view

  • February 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Views to die for, peaceful. Staff helpful and friendly but not intrusive. We felt like royalty.

  • February 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service , the place the hospitality am impressed will definitely come again and I will definitely refer people at any given time.

  • February 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size and location

  • February 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is a little old feeling... The dinner recommended was not good.

    The view is the best! Nice owners

  • February 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fantastic views Don't miss Salty Sea Dog fish shop in harbour

  • January 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful wonderful experience!! Beautiful room Professional service Friendly staff Extravacant awesome view

  • January 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A pleasant place, great owners. A good base for trips on Cape peninsula. Close to Boulders beach. Easily reachable by car, a stunning view.

  • January 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Very nice room with a superbe view. Charming hosts

  • January 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don't change bedroom till we left

    See view was the best

  • December 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    spectacular sea views!!! friendly hosts and well serviced,clean and tidy room!

  • November 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the quietness, peacefulness view over the balcony

  • November 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The View was amazing and the cleanliness was fantastic

  • November 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen - missing a few thngs

    The view of the bay

  • November 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast maybe it is because we r the only guests...

    The room is very big and view is good as it is located on the top of the mountain slope.

  • October 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Currently road works and traffic if travelling north.

    Great views, peaceful location, and next door to Boulders Bay and the penguin colony.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: