Reviews of Penguinden Accommodation and Apartments 4 stars

57 Dorries Drive, Froggy Farm, 7975 Simonʼs Town, South Africa

#6 of 22 B&Bs and inns in Simonʼs Town

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 281 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 18, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    John the host is very friendly, helpful and relaxed. He even made it possible that we could use the kitchen and a bathroom in the evening on the day of checkout - despite being fully booked. This made our last day in Cape Town before flying back in the night much easier and comfortable. The view from the apartment is great, the kitchen spacious and very well equipped. We enjoyed staying there a lot.

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice location with increadible views. Living room is very comforrable, kitchen wss very well equipped. Pinguins are very nearby and you can swim among them.

  • January 4, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The apartment is ready for freshening up.

    Overall size of the apartment and facilities. Comfortable bathrooms. Location has great views The apartment is serviced daily which was not clear at time of booking

  • January 3, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not waking distance to Simon's Town or Boulders Beach. Very windy location. No aircon and a bit dated furniture. higher price than other places because of location close to cape of good hope etc... It says there is a jacuzzi on site but we couldn't find one, nor were we informed about it. No swimming pool. Only way to go to town is by car.

    Great views over False Bay!! Spacious and 5 people had a real bed.

  • December 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I absolutely recommend it for anyone wanting a break, or even just a spot to relax between work commitments. Definitely one I would want to go back to for a longer stay! Service: We made the booking at the last minute (literally 30min before arrival) and when we got there it was empty so I called the owners. The lady apologised and explained that someone was on their way to prepare the room as it was such short notice. Within 5min a man arrived with some groceries and apologised again while taking us to the apartment (This is the downstairs unit) He was incredibly friendly and thoroughly checked that the room had everything it was supposed to (towels, coffee/tea supplies, etc) before leaving us to get settled. Facilities/location: The apartment has a separate entrance which includes a porch area with a tap for rinsing sandy feet, and a table and chairs to enjoy the afternoon sun and the view. Everything was clean, in good condition and comfortable. The lounge area has a massive glass window/wall facing a ravine coming down the mountainside and also showing the bay (apparently the upstairs units have better sea-views, but this was pretty gorgeous already) Our experience was fantastic, we can picture many happy holidays here

  • December 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean at all in comparison to our 10 other stays in SA. There was quiet big mould growing in the Sleeping room.

    Nice and quiet place with an amazing view. Checkin was quiet easy with open doors and explanation sheet with all informations

  • November 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get used to the seperate bathroom across the passage at first but it didn't really prove to be a problem A tv in the bedroom would be nice but not a serious issue

    The location and views The beautiful kitchen/lounge/diner Hospitable hosts and friendly welcome

  • October 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sister-in-law didn't like the decor of the downstairs apartment, but our South African friends thought it was great!

    Beautifully appointed apartments, very clean, stunning views. Owner made us feel welcome. Off road parking for the cars. Great balcony for late night get-togethers.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather ......... windy and rainny!!!

    Friendly wellcome and a superb view over Simons´ Town. Enourmous appartment and the modern kitchen fully equipped.

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe some biscuits in the kitchen and a little milk for coffee would be nice. I don't particularly like black coffee.

    The location was stunning and very peaceful and the facilities good. When we got there the owner was out but the keys were in the door and a note advising of that fact was tied to the front door. The towel rails were heated in the bathroom as well as it was a little chilly out.

  • September 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The spaciousness of the accommodation and wonderful view over the ocean. Our hosts were extremely helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The Simons Town area was a lovely place to stay.

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size, the space, the facilities, the views...it was pretty decent 👍 VERY HAPPY!

    The size, the space, the facilities, the views...it was pretty decent 👍 VERY HAPPY!

  • July 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to ensure that there is constant hot water for showers /baths for all guests. (The one group of guests had used up all the hot water ,the one night 😑)

    The View The friendliness of the staff The warm welcome The comfort The home away from home feeling

  • June 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment is a bit outside the town, but very quiet and safe.

    We got a free upgrade to the larger room! The view over the ocean is amazing! John, our host was very friendly and helpful!

  • June 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were quite lucky and had this wonderful and spacious apartment for our own. The apartment is very well equipped, nothing more we could have asked for. The view is stunning! The owner welcomed us very friendly and provided all informations we needed. Thanks a lot!

  • May 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By mistake instead of a deposit of 50% the full amount was charged a few weeks before arrival. In the final invoice this was not reflected but was quickly corrected after e-mail contact

    The view, appartment had a lot of space

  • March 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view, full shared kitchen, washer and dryer. We only stayed one night but I would have definitely used the kitchen and balconies if I had more time. Due to the steepness of the road a car is more convenient than walking, but the price you pay for the higher views.

  • March 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    uncomomfortable bed, not big enough for a couple. A little disappointing as 3 bedrooms sounded like a very big place and wasnt as big as ii thought.

    John very nice and hospitable.

  • February 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful apartment - spacious and airy. Short drive up from Boulders Beach - amazing views of the bay from extensive balconies, living area and bedrooms. Well equipped kitchen and fantastic shower / bathrooms. Wanted to stay longer. Will next time!

  • February 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows are in need of an update.

    Lovely views, very well equipped apartment and within walking distance of good restaurants (although the walk back up the hill was a good workout!) Great location for visiting Cape Point as you can get there before all the other tourists. I just loved the Penguins!

  • January 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not within walking distance to the beach, steep hills, difficult to park.one has to be aware of that being on the east coast you can't watch the sunset, and the sun disappears early.

    Big apartment, wonderful view, kitchen well equipped, comfortable beds, clean, quiet surroundings. Very friendly owner. Elegant furnishing.

  • December 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location, with a nice view on the bay. Close to the penguin area, but you need a car to get there, and more in general to access any restaurant. Big flat, with 5 comfortable beds

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful view of the Ocean, very good bed to sleep and common areas are spacy to make and have your breakfast. Very pleasant one night stay to see the penguines.

  • November 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaint.

    Only about 2 km from the Boulders Beach. Excellent view from the living room. Extremely nice owner offered helpful advice on where to go and what to do.

  • November 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    John, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and gives you good advice where to have dinner etc. The view from the spacious balcony is fantastic and is the perfect place enjoying a sundowner. Just a 5 min drive from Boulders beach.

  • November 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment was very cozy, tidy and decorated nicely. The seaview was fantastic as well. The newly renovated bathroom was very nice as well. John, the owner, was very helpful with getting our car started again after we have left the lights on all night...thank you again.

  • November 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. The view was spectacular. The accommodations very comfortable. We even got to do our laundry! A full very modern kitchen available to cook meals if you want.

  • October 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should stay a week in this place!! Peaceful and nice place!! People are really kind.

    highly recommended, the housekeep was a kind gentleman, who gave us a lot of useful suggestions. And the room is extremly clean and big. People are so nice here, not like other place in SA

  • October 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you don't like walking you'll need a car - steep hill but after our braai on the balcony we were glad of the exercise!

    Absolutely amazing views. Lovely rooms, great decor and not too far from the centre of Simon's Town (we walked, around 2 miles). Distant views of Seal Island, and overlooking False Bay.

  • October 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing accomodation with fantastic views from the balcony. I recommend the Suite with two bathrooms. Very friendly owner. Very much space in the Lounge/livingroom with well stuffed kitchen. I would come back for s second time. Joerg from Hamburg

  • October 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for visiting Penguin park and the Cape of Good hope. The owner is nice and considerate. The house is huge and well-equipped and decorated.

  • September 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative which is not the fault of this establishment is the road through Kalk Bay to Simonstown STILL under construction which makes driving (particularly in peak traffic) very frustrating.

    Everything that opens and shuts!! His and hers en suite bathrooms (not that we needed that) big comfortable lounge and view verandah - great big kitchen.

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road towards the property is a little steep but nothing that can't be handled by basic driving skills

    Splendid location with stunning view of the ocean.

  • August 9, 2015

    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    John, the owner is extremely friendly, warm and very pleasant. We had good advise from him about visiting SA. We had a chance to meet up with his rescued dog, a Collie. My husband and I really had a wonderful time staying with John though only 1 night. Highly recommended to those who are planning to visit SA.

  • August 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Loved everything about it. John was a great host - kind and thoughtful. Beautiful location, amazing view, squeaky clean, laundry facilities, fully equipped modern kitchen, living room, balcony.

  • August 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was very little not to like, the place was tidy views excellent etc, perhaps the light switches which baffled us were all that i can fault

    John our host was friendly and helpful, the accommodation is excellent, the bed comfortable and the views outstanding. We had enough equipment in the excellent kitchen to make cooking a pleasure. It was a lovely break

  • June 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't really say there was anything not to like!

    The view from the apartments is absolutely beautiful. Owner was very welcoming and friendly, apartment was clean and had just about everything one would need. Lovely, would definitely stay there again.

  • May 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly industrial pink hand soap- but if that's the only negative then it can't be too bad!

    Views are incredible John is warm and welcoming Very comfortable beds and great pillows!

  • April 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was a bit slow, but with views like that, who needs internet? Also, walls are a bit thin but nothing too troublesome.

    A lovely stay in a gorgeous guest house. The Royal Suite is really the best, the panoramic views and comfort are amazing. John, the host, also goes out of his way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. The shared kitchen is lovely and has all the facilities you need.

  • April 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor gripe would be the separate (albeit private) bathroom of the luxury suite.

    Fantastic views, looks as it does in the photos, friendly staff. Great stay.

  • April 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the view from our room and the living room. Host is friendly and helpful, room was very clean and comfortable. Enjoyed cooking in the spacious kitchen, everything was there including a dish washer.

  • April 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi was intermittent and mostly very slow. We gave up eventually and bought a local SA dongle.

    The views over the bay from the room and the balcony were fabulous. The owner was very helpful. Simon's Town is a good location provided you don't need to go into central Cape Town too often - it's over 40km.

  • March 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hadn't quite clocked that 'private bathroom' in the description didn't mean ensuite but rather exclusive use of the bathroom across the hallway. My mistake rather than anything wrong with the property but just flagging so others don't make the same mistake.

    Amazing views from the private balcony which is a great place to have a lazy breakfast watching the sunrise over the bay. Excellent facilities with shared use of a huge kitchen and living room area. Lovely welcoming owners. 5mins from penguins and very simpe to get to Cape Point.

  • March 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    view over the bay was fantastic very clean rooms near to Simons town for the beach and all the things to see and do, plus the penguins. We will be going back for longer next time. there is WiFi but did not use it so could not review. parking to the front lounge and fully fitted kitchen with bbq on the balcony if you want to stay in and relax

  • February 12, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - all good

    Fantastic views over the bay. Host John particularly helpful with advice on local amenities. Bonus of the hot tub!

  • February 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great views, very comfortable

  • January 17, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great sized and comfortable apartment for a family of 5. The owners were incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • January 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cell phone signal was poor

    The bed was very comfy

  • January 5, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred en suite bathroom

    Great stay. Will definitely be back and recommend to friends

  • January 3, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful views and very helpful owners

  • December 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View

  • December 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view, hospitality and fantastic facilities throughout the property.

  • November 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    great sea view

  • November 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hair dryer in the room!

    Excellent location with beautiful views. Very well equipped for self catering. Comfortable and very clean. Gracious host.

  • November 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Greatest welcome, owners are very nice and make you feel at home The views are stunning !!

  • November 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful views

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely views, access to The Cape.

  • September 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    John and Deborah wonderful hosts. Wonderful views from balcony. Everything we needed provided. Comfortable beds

  • September 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a great deal to do in Simons Town but the beaches are beautiful.

    Stunning views, very comfortable and homely.

  • August 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Fantastic views, will recommend it.

  • August 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place. The apartment is very confortable and has a remarcable view of the bay!

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dear John, We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you very much.

  • July 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just an amazing apartment with everything you will need. Lovely people that own the property. Amazing.

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a short but wonderful stay in this apartment, pity we couldn't stay longer.

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice view and spacious

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main room bed is a bit noisy.

    Privacy and excellent facilities.

  • May 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's nothing to dislike.

    Fantastic place with views to die for. The owners and staff were lovely. Excellent facilities.

  • May 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not on suite

    Very nice

  • May 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That l had to leave :(

    Eveything was prrfect; its location, the view, the owner

  • May 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful views, great facilities and super host. John was most helpful and couldn't do enough to help us settle in and explore the area.

  • May 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bed for family

    Good location, good view

  • May 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view is excellent! The owner is friendly and the guesthouse is beautiful.

  • May 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is not ensuite

    The view. Common room

  • April 26, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Family Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Family room is very good, but not luxury. Pictures that show the luxury sweet can be a bit missleading.

    Nice staff. The family room has all you need.

  • April 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Luxury Double Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Impeccably clean,extremely comfortable and well equipped. Fantastic views.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: