Reviews of Watercolours House

466 Main Road, Murdoch Valley, Simon's Town, 7975 Simonʼs Town, South Africa

#4 of 22 B&Bs and inns in Simonʼs Town

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 142 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 67

  • February 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a hot breakfast.

    Friendly host. Good continental breakfast and plenty of it. Everything was replenished as plates were emptied. Comfy guest sitting area and balcony. Great views.

  • January 20, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heck of a wind but hardly the fault of our hostess!

    Sharon a great hostess. Also loved Baz and missed not meeting Jimmy the thug!! Seriously a great welcome and delightful and most welcoming 5 night stay.

  • January 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We received a very warm welcome by the hostess, who even prepared our breakfast early in the morning so we could leave on time. We had a wonderful sea view from our room!

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi could be better

    Lovely and welcoming host. The location is great, you can walk to Boulders beach to see the penguins. The breakfast is absolutely delicious. Comfortable beds.

  • January 6, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are used to a bigger bed but it was still very comfortable.

    Location, views, breakfast, our fabulous and very helpful host. You can beat the crowds to Table Mountain National Park (Cape Point) which is a short and beautiful drive away.

  • December 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn't like. It was perfect.

    The place was a real home away from home. Comfortable, modern, clean...beautiful views and a fantastic hostess in Sharon. I am telling all my friends and family. And will definitely be back any chance I get.

  • December 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was just perfect. The breakfast super special and so enjoyable chatting with Sharon, our host, who is serving it herself and has all needed information ready and helps with anything. We had problems with Lufthansa-strike and she was there for us with all assistance you could imagine. The view is just fantastic, the rooms so lovely decorated and everything just fits together. We could have stayed a month and more without any problem, feeling at home the first minute we arrived. Simon's town is cute as well and a good base for the whole cape-region. And coming back to the water colours was just such a great finnish for every day. Thank you so much Sharon for everything, making the final days of our trip so special to remember.

  • December 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving

    The owners of the property did everything they could to make our stay memorable. Spacious, comfortable accommodation with a superb view. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice of the freshest of ingredients. Home made scones and jam. Yum yum.

  • November 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only two words to describe our stay at Watercolours : too short and perfect ! We only spent one night there and it was amazing ! The house in itself is beautifully decorated with lots of (beautiful) details and taste ! The room and its terrace were spacious and comfy. From everywhere, you can see and ear the sea. Breakfast was also incredible with fresh bread and quiche, fruits and salmon ! Definitely recommended !

  • November 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very rich. Room was perfect, very clean and very well designed. The bed was very comfortable. The owner did the outmost in order to assist us...

  • November 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fridge is a bit noisy at night.

    The location is incredible , just in front of the beach. Sharon is so nice and everything is sooooooo great! The view of the house is marvellous! I wish I could stay forever, seriously miss it already!

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a jewel. Each room is nicely designed and has a beautiful view. Shanon is a lovely host who did everything to help us enjoy our stay. Plus the breakfast was awesome

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    just perfect....

    Fantastic place. Perfect hostess. Splendid bedrom in front of the sea, whales included. You feel at home, in a warm and peacefull atmosphere. Beautifull breakfast

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this space was wonderful, from the couple that run the place, to the view, to the rooms, to the grounds...it was simply excellent and beyond what we expected.

  • March 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharon is a great baker so lots of good things for breakfast such as quiche and muffins. I did hanker after an egg for breakfast though. Initial bed was uncomfortable but Sharon organised a better, albeit, shorter mattress.

    Sharon is lovely and could not have been more helpful. She takes great trouble to make guests as comfortable and welcome as possible. Little treats like mini Easter eggs on Easter Sunday. Stunning location. Sharon even bought decaf coffee for me because I can't take caffeine. So sweet. Nice pool and gardens. Very near penguins! ( so near, almost ran one over at night driving back from dinner- they cross the road to nest in gardens)

  • March 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi not available at all areas but not really an issue

    Everything was amazing! The bedroom was gorgeous and spacious. Really comfy bed. Great view of the sea and a lovely garden area out front. Pool was so nice and breakfast was delicious

  • March 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!!

    Lovely room, comfy bed, huge bathroom, great pool and excellent breakfast. It's very peaceful, the views are amazing and the shower was very powerful (most important in my opinion). Sharon couldn't do enough for us including booking restaurants, arranging taxis and giving valuable sightseeing advice. We stayed in several other B&Bs during our week in Cape Town and this one was easily the best!

  • March 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharon was a fantastic host, very accommodating with any requests or advice on what to do and where to visit. The breakfast was lovely - so much choice and the warm muffins were so Scrummy! It is a beautiful guest house with an amazing view. If I am lucky to come back to SA I would stay again.

  • March 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Watercolours House was our most favourite of guesthouses on our visit to Cape Town. Our welcome was like no other, we felt like we were truly looked after by our host and guesthouse owner. Our host stopped at nothing to make us feel welcome and spent time booking taxis, restaurant reservations, offering help, guidance and valued opinion; a true host. The room was fantastic, flawlessly clean, well maintained and well stocked. We felt very safe with secure parking offered as standard. Breakfast was fantastic, a real home-cooked experience offered around the family table. In summary, the accommodation was fantastic but our host was what made the stay so enjoyable. The penguins are just down the road so that gives Watercolours 10/10 from us.

  • March 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    No everything was beyond expectation

    The whole experience was excellent from start to finish. It's in a stunning location, 20 metres from the bay with open sea views. The hospitality was wonderful and the accommodation was superb, modern and fashionable. The breakfasts were delightful and delicious with lots of tasty homemade treats everyday. The other guests of all ages were interesting and good company at breakfast time. The garage facility for our hire car was easy, accessible and safe. The pool and its location was stunning. We stayed for 14 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Sharon was the perfect host. Watercolours House is absolutely beautiful, we loved every second of our stay, we wish we could have stayed for longer! Amazing decor, incredible pool with the most spectacular views, lovely bedroom, and don't even get me started on Sharon's AMAZING breakfast!!! Thank you so much for such an incredibly special stay. We will definitely be back!

  • January 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house is so beautiful. Perfect rooms with incredible views. The owners are amazingly hospitable and very friendly. Sharon really made our stay extra special and reccommended places to go and visit and eat. She even booked everything for us. Perfect location. Couldn't have been a better trip. Loved it.

  • January 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road next to the hotel can get busy during the day; no disturbance during the night though.

    Super staff, delicious breakfast. A magnificent sea view from the room. Comfortable bed. Parking available (you need a car to get here, a few kilometers from Simon's Town's center).

  • January 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would really have liked a fan or air conditioner as it is the height of summer and I struggled to sleep in the boiling night. Opening the windows invited way too many unwanted insects.

    Owner was super friendly and helpful. Very impressed with her. It was nice to meet couples from other parts of the world and share experiences. The property was very inviting and welcoming with it's gorgeous decorations.

  • December 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything about the watercolor house it was the greatest by far which means a lot as we did a lot of B&B during our road trip to SA. Since then every morning we still have the nostalgia of Sharon's quiches for breakfast :)

  • December 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really loved this place! Sharon was soo nice and helpful in every situation. I felt like at home :-). The house is very beautiful decorated and everything fits toghether. I would love to come back one day.

  • December 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharon, the owner, makes the stay. She's helpful, friendly and her breakfasts are awesome! It was my second stay there and it was just as amazing as the first time.

  • November 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed here for 3 days and the experience was unforgatable! A lovely and very hospitable place to stay. Rooms have a very nice and beautiful design. Amazing views to the ocean from room and kitchen! We were able to see a whale passing by during breakfast. Worth staying and worth comming back to! Many thanks to Sharon for hospitality and a perfect warm atmosphere!

  • October 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a pleasure to stay at watercolours house. Sharon made us feel home, had great tipps for the surrounding and made the best breakfast we had on our tour through Southafrica. We highly recommend this guesthouse and hopefully will be back soon. Thank you so much for the beautiful room and the stunning view onto the ocean.

  • October 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little noise from the street in Front of the Guesthouse, but not as much as in capetown

    We unfortunately stayed one night, but we would highly recommend to stay longer. Sharon is a wonderful host and wie really felt welcomed. The breakfast was great and so delicious... She also booked a table for dinner, really kind. Thank you so much for the wonderful stay.

  • October 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was great, wifi could improve but not really important when you can bask in the garden and take in the views

    Marvelous house, perfectly located with fantastic views. Sharon is a perfect host, and her breakfast was absolutely stunning! We definitely recommend it and will go back if in Simon's Town :-)

  • October 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hospitality, Sharon have been exceptionally resourceful and attentive, which made our stay fondly memorable. The best breakfast we had in SA :)

  • October 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a fantastic place to stay and only say a big thank you l can highly recommend nothing is too much trouble beautiful veiws of the sea lovely shops quite near any one visiting the cap e this place is a must from pam

  • September 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The Watercolours House is just wonderful. It is beautifully decorated, the host is so welcoming, the breakfast delicious. The rooms have sea view and waking up to the sound of the waves was just amazing. Would definitely come back.

  • September 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharon & Garry welcomed us to their house and we felt as if it was our home. you can see that they are doing this from their heart and with great love. excellent spot with great view and beautiful house.

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location overlooking the sea and beautifully decorated as well as with all comfort. The owners Sharon and Gary were very friendly and gave me a lot of useful information. Wonderful breakfast!

  • April 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside to staying at Watercolours is eventually having to leave!

    To start off with, Sharon and her husband Gary are genuine, warm people, they are true people people. Sharon was extremely generous with her time and efforts to ensure I had the best stay possible. Their 2 dogs Baz and Bebe are adorable and the gentlest of souls! The photos do not do the property justice—stunning views, lovely decor and also what you don't get from the photos is the feel of really what an incredible time you will have staying there. Highly recommended if you want a little respite, a bit of peace and quiet—a slice of heaven. From the bottom of my heart, thank you Sharon, Gary, Theo, Simon, Baz and Bebe for such a wonderful stay!

  • February 21, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely host Great design Beautiful room Quiet and peaceful

  • February 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole experience

  • January 26, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing breakfast and very friendly host.

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Such stunning hosts in a beautiful part of the Cape . Felt like home, can't wait to return.

  • November 21, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Communal breakfast

    The location is beautiful and the land lord exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • November 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hospitality and the most amazing breakfast1

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    To expensive .

    Very friendly, like the view

  • August 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Modern and clean facilities, great breakfast

  • August 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place - great location (saw whales from the deck!)

  • April 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brilliant ocean view to wake up to each morning. Brilliant breakfasts. Great location; close to Cape Point. Quiet area.

  • April 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff. Feels like at home. Beautiful rooms. Great location. Nice home made breakfast

  • March 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Amazing sea side view and a very cosy room.

  • March 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect

    The bath overlooking the sea

  • February 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had trouble with the safe

    Position and view

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location and lovely guesthouse.Sharon extremely welcoming, helpful with travel plans. Excellent breakfast.Highly recommended.

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving.

    Third time staying here and it's just fabulous. Sharon (owner) is lovely, room is stunning, pool is awesome, what more can I say!?

  • December 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast and especially the host was spectacular, great view and sound of the ocean was very relaxing.

  • December 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hospitality was the best.

  • December 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing swimming pool, view

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great view, sitting in the bath with a sea view,nice interior,excellent host, good breakfast and good coffee!

  • November 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    room, breakfast

  • November 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 3
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hospitality! Owners Sharon and gary are so friendly and helpful.

  • October 25, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was wonderful. Absolutely recommendable. The room was great, with a fantastic view. Thank you very much Sharon.

  • October 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loction and atmosphere

  • October 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place to stay! Was really a pleasant surprise.

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing views. Watercolours House is just beautiful inside. The rooms are stunning and the owners are incredibly warm and welcoming. Faultless.

  • September 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was absolutely stunning - from Sharon, the owner - to the rooms - to the breakfast - all fabulous

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was beautiful and clean. The view is amazing and Sharon is the perfect host, so friendly and accommodating.

  • May 25, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning location. Rooms decorated beautifully. Very kind hosts - thank you so much for lovely hospitality. Great breakfast. Secure parking.

  • May 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly people and homely feel! And great views on top of that.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: