Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropolis 4 stars

Avinguda de les Escoles, 25. Escaldes-Engordany, AD700 Andorra la Vella, Andorra

#27 of 66 hotels in Andorra la Vella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1117 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    good position and comfort of the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff not so empathic, very hard to smile for them. the air in the room was very dry, and there were hair on the floor after the cleanings.

    good position and comfort of the bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, a good night sleep and a large clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired looking. Could do with a little modernisation. Nethertheless, is was clean and comfortable.

    The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very large and very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Great overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety box rental at Eur 3 per day.

    Great breakfast and great location. Very convinent to walk around and take the bus as there’s a bus stop right in front of the hotel. Shopping distance is not too far. Very clean hotel. I love their Spanish breakfast. A lot of varieties.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    4.2
    I don´t usually complain or write negative reviews however...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don´t usually complain or write negative reviews however on this instance I was quite disappointed with the whole experience. Unfortunately the price does not reflect the rooms. The 4 previous nights I stayed at the Centric Hotel in Andorra la Vella and their service and room comfort is greater with lower prices. The room I was staying at the Metropolis needs update and the beds are not very comfortable. On the night I stayed I had to call the reception as I woke up in the night with my room full of smoke. The smoke came from another room in the same floor because one of the guest spend the whole night smoking joints. I am fully aware that the smoking experience isn´t something that usually happens however I had to sleep all night with my windows open (in December).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Excellent for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridor of my floor had a constant and unpleasant smell of cigarettes. The access to the excellent Wi-fi service provided was limited to two devices per room. These could jeopardize our very good impression of the hotel, should our stay exceed the two nights we've been there.

    We've been in a two-bedroom apartment, above a charming small river facing a mountain landscape. The main room is spacious, with a very comfortable king-size bed, TV, table and wardrobe. The other room is smaller, but accommodates two siblings comfortably in two single beds. Both rooms are carpeted and have individual air conditioning controls that were working very well. The Metropolis Hotel is in a very safe, friendly and quiet area of the Escaldes-Engordany district. However, it is only a two minutes-walk away from one of the two main shopping streets of Andorra la Vella, the Principate's capital. Parking is available in three different buildings, less than 150 ft away from the hotel entrance. The photos published in Booking.com are not a 100% accurate, but are very similar to the accommodations. The bathroom is spacious enough, very clean, with soft towels for shower or bathtub options. We need to highlight the kindness and willingness to help of the hotel's reception team, ready to give information and support in no less than five languages! They are the fifth star of this accommodation!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to complain about - the only thing I can think of is that the coffee from the machine wasn't very good.

    Very good location, comfortable bed, very well equipped bathroom, great breakfast buffet, very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in Andorra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went out of their way to be helpful , the Buffett was fantastic, the triple glazed windows were fabulous , great central location wonderful value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable, safe stay, really friendly and warm staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was a little patchy most evenings.

    Really comfy pillows, comfy bed, good airconditioning system. It leaked on my first night, but I mentioned this to staff, and it was fixed...they also told me they would move me if it couldn't be mended, which was reassuring. Great breakfast selection, hot food. Only improvements could be better coffee, and better juice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike here.

    Location fantastic. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast very enjoyable with hot breakfast available. Best yet on our journey through Europe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    5.8
    Dated hotel and expensive for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor value for money. Very poor wi-fi. 1980s decor. No kettle (for tea/coffee making) even when requested at reception. Paid 24 euros per night for parking although this is probably par for the course in Andorra for secure parking.

    Location pretty good and room overall reasonably comfortable and quiet. Staff were efficient and personable. Appreciated being able to leave our car in the hotel's car park for a few hours beyond our checkout time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Great location ... could do a bit more to be ski-friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was from 8am to 10am - although the selection was good this was too late for the majority of the guests at the hotel who wanted to be at the slopes before 9am to start skiing as soon as it opened. Opening as from 7am would have been much more convenient. The parking is expensive at 63 euros for 3 nights but worth the convenience. The property was very warm so we left the window open a crack every time we went for dinner to cool it down so it wasn't too hot to sleep

    The location was great - there is lots to do in Escaldes. The property is next to a river with a great restaurant across the road, Caldea is a 5 minute walk away and there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the city. It's about a 20 min drive to the ski slopes at El Tarter so was perfect for us. Check in and check out was very efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.1
    Great location in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside temperature of the hotel was too high. Breakfast can improve with bottled water and fresh orange juice.

    Location. They left us keep the car in the parking till the afternoon even if we checked out in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    5.0
    Some service details more typical of 3 or less stars hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Chemical orange juice (not natural) - Old and uncomfortable mattress (my worst ever) - Check-in 2h later than official time (14h instead of 12h)

    Location and people

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice short visit in Andorra. Keep your visit short
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception personnel was not helpful, but personnel at restaurant was continuously looking to help the clients.

    The breakfast had a large variety. But the product quality was excellent for some of them, such as olive oil, ham and sausages, and quiet poor for others, such as coffee. Good experience was testing goat milk!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was poor (not a lot of joices, coffee was horrible), WLAN-only two devices at the same time, bathroom looked old/run down

    location was good (close to shopping-street),

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Matrass was very soft and when it was time to check out,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matrass was very soft and when it was time to check out, receptionist was a bit impolite pushing us out, through a phonecall. She was not proactive to call us a bit earlier and she said in five minutes we have to be downstairs. Unprofessional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    Good little hotel for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed early, the shower-curtain was strange as water flowed everywhere.

    The room was okay, the hotel is at a nice location next to a small stream. The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable price if it be a real 4 star Hotel as anounced, but's more 3 *
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV channels, shower protection.

    Old rooms, few TV channels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    park place for cars OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its perfect

    park place for cars OK. nice hotel,friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Complete breakfast, very nice room, kind staff and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi allowed just two devices per room but no big deal about that.

    Complete breakfast, very nice room, kind staff and good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Geen info over de menu's in het restaurant op de kamer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geen info over de menu's in het restaurant op de kamer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    good hotel, I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Very good comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Very good comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is rather appart from the center of Andorra

    Very good facility. Great food. Parking at the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    The best in all aspects
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel at the riverside, beautiful views, rich breakfast, easy access to transports, Caldea spa in a 3 min walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Great price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great price and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Shopping heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value and superb location to see all andorra has to offer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    2.5
    Disaster Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible staff behavior, extremely expensive extras. Highly NOT RECOMMENDED

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location good service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi. About 20-30 mins walk from autobus station.

    well equipped. Nice staff. Very close to Caldea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.1
    Decor a little decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a little decor. No kettle in room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.1
    The room was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom outdated, would have been good for a 2 stars hotel not a 4 stars.

    The room was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Clean! Old rooms! Broken furniture!

    Confortable bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    IF you prefer strong coffee then order it at the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IF you prefer strong coffee then order it at the bar. The machine made coffee is extremely bleak...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.3
    Very good location and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price for parking is very high!

    Very good location and facilities!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night receptionist was a bit of a misery.

    Enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Metropolis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: