Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montecarlo 2 stars

Joan Martí, 104, AD200 Encamp, Andorra

#7 of 24 hotels in Encamp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with great staff - would love to revisit in the winter!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor grumble was that the bedrooms aren't non-smoking and one of the two we had, had been used by smokers quick airing and it was fine.

    Only used the hotel as an overnight stopover but found it very comfortable and both rooms were really clean and in very good condition. The staff were really nice and extremely friendly and the measures in the bar were more than generous!! The surrounding area is very beautiful and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, clean hotel, convenient for the ski bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few more facilities would have been welcomed (a pool table / table football) particularly as I was travelling with my teenage son.

    The hotel is ideally located with the stop for the ski bus immediately outside the hotel. The hotel is meticulously clean. It offers a value for money stay with good standard fair food and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    We enjoyed a great week!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was quite small and sometimes it would be good to have a choice on evening meal and a few more veg.

    Very friendly owners, good food, comfortable clean room and handy for ski bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Employes of the hotel are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is part of apartment building, and during the night (early early morning) was sometimes very noisy.

    Employes of the hotel are very friendly. And the Encamp city is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    I would not stay here again and do not recommend that, especially if you are bringing your pet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It says it's pet friendly, but you cannot leave your pet at room and this is not written anywhere, they don't even tell you that during check in - if they would, I would not check in and go next door At room we were able to hear every sound from corridor and waste pipes. Juice on breakfast presented as fresh one is from box.

    Location is good for hiking, also it has parking, which is otherwise issue.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Beautifully clean and comfortable hotel - can't believe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully clean and comfortable hotel - can't believe it had such a low star rating. We had dinner and breakfast - absolutely lovely food served in an equally lovely dining room. The host and his son were very friendly and welcoming. Consider our stay superb value and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Recomendado
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi deficiente, por la noche horrible.

    Limpieza general

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    No repetire
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carteles de ideología política independentista

    Nada

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Four-course dinner with a bottle of wine was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Four-course dinner with a bottle of wine was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Friendly unpretentious family run hotel (with a dog!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bath was incredibly small, even for someone who is only 1.5m tall!

    The staff were all very friendly and kind - very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    Clean rooms, excellent value for money - we took the half...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One of our rooms was at the front of the hotel and the road noise was reasonably loud - buses (6.30am to 11.00pm), but we live in a rural location so might notice this more than others. We had requested quieter rooms but needed a triple - this probably restricted the choice of available rooms.

    Clean rooms, excellent value for money - we took the half board option. Bus stop for free access to the Funicamp (approx 7 minutes) was opposite the hotel. One of our rooms to the rear of the hotel was quiet. Breakfast - there was something for everyone - croissants, muffins, cereal, muesli, yogurt, fruit, ham and cheese, toast. Pleasant bar area where you can play games. Underground free parking (though with a roof box we were too tall - 1.95m max). Being a Sunday over the Easter weekend, we managed to park for free right outside the hotel (normally 60 cents per hour payable 9-13 and 15h-20h)

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything was perfect, comfortable and well organized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was perfect, comfortable and well organized. The location is very close to Funibus and intercity bus stops, 300 m to the nearest rather big supermarket, 15 min by bus to the capital and shopping zone. The hotel itself was good, the dinners were tasty, the owners and the staff - friendly and understanding.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    5.0
    Location is ok as it's right next to a bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1.There is a big dog living in this hotel and this dog is allowed everywhere - even in the kitchen and restaurant where it comes to the guests and starts checking their food. Not a very pleasant thing, besides, the dog got my wife and kids scared, although it was pretty friendly. Just too big! 2. After one of the housekeeping visit, I found a small half-finished bottle of vodka in the drawer. Is their housekeeping lady drinking vodka at work? Still haven't figured. 3. Breakfasts are the poorest I had ever seen. No eggs at all, only croissants/bread with cheese, butter and cheap sosages, muslis and tea/coffee/milk/cheap orange juice. 4. If you come to the hotel in ski boots, you will have to take them off and walk in your socks to the elevator (around 5 meters on a wet floor) as otherwise the old lady, hotel owner, will cook you for dinner (now I figured why the dinner is so cheap there compared to other places!). 5. We paid more for a family room but it turned out that the size is pretty much the same in an average room, the only difference is an additional bed! The rest I guess is ok for the price we paid but I'd rather pay more to stay in a decent hotel.

    Location is ok as it's right next to a bus stop. Dinners are also tasty and good quality for the cheap price you pay, they include starter, salad, main course and dessert + wine/soft drinks. Storage room (very tiny though) is available to store your skis/snowboards. Bathroom is pretty spacious.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    Staff is very great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food is great, but we missed some hot food on breakfast.

    Staff is very great. Whenever you had questions, they helped us. Rooms were cleaned everyday. Location is great. Hotel has free garage parking. And wine is included in dinner.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The reception was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant choice was limited but the food was superb, very tasty and excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.2
    Very good hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A miner thing shower head a little weak and parking could be a problem but would not stop us coming back to the hotel

    Very good hotel with excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    That was an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not possible to use Wifi in the room. We had to come down to reception area. We traveled around and booked our stays night before.

    That was an excellent stay. Plus side is to have free car parking, as we traveled by car. Very nice and helpful hosts and ladies in restaurant. they even did special menu for my wife who enjoys more vegetarian menu. Exceptional service!!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Comfortable spacious room, good bed and bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find hotel, but tricky to find your way around the parking, lifts, corridors, etc. guidance from the receptionist actually confused us. Had to gonack three times to ask various questions. Breakfast was ok, but a bit simple perhaps.

    Comfortable spacious room, good bed and bathroom!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    The family atmosphere around the hotel is nice, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only negative is the poorly organised breakfast - the buffet is basic, but more problematic is the wall of jostling people becoming bad-tempered, unable to reach anything - all they need to do is control how people pass thru the buffet, but as is, it's a bit of a scrum for breakfast.

    The family atmosphere around the hotel is nice, and the staff are generally very helpful and considerate. The place is wee run too - kept clean, and there's no noise issues.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    This hotel is exceptional value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    This hotel is exceptional value for money. It is conveniently located for the ski bus, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and cute dog! The food was lovely with complementary wine. Excellent all round, would highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked everything!! Really great hotel and Andorra in general.

    Location is perfect, very nice and friendly staff always ready to help even you don't ask. All staff speaks English very well and always smile! Really great people! The hotel is just in front of the ski bus and normal bus stop. So with Novatel bus to Barcelona it's very easy as you arrive and depart right from the hotel. Capital Andorra La Vella is at 7 mins from the hotel by bus. Taxi to Andorra la Vella is also not very expensive at 10-12 eur for a car.The food at the restaurant was really good, 5 courses during dinner, with almost unlimited wine during the dinner which was included into the halfboard price. We had the great New year dinner included into the standard price which is very rare in comparison with other hotels where it was for extra money. The room was cleaned every day!!! There was a storage room for the skiis+ small boxes close to the elevator for the shoes to leave when you ware the ski boots in lobby. There was a very nice dog Golden retriver at the hotel who made the time spent there even more pleasant:) Great value for money. In general Andorra is a great place for skiing with the great variety of slopes, sunny weather and long day as sun is shinning much longer than in Austria or at other Central EU countries.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    Very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    5.4
    Lot of traffic on the street.
    • Couple

    Lot of traffic on the street.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Just a lovely friendly place Great food good location would return

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.8
    The friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly staff. Free car parking. Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, good food.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Little room, poor breakfast

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent hotel! They give you 5% discount for the ski pass and 15% for the rent. Great staff, food with wine and water included.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: