Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Roc De Caldes & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Carretera D'engolasters, s/n Escaldes-Engordany, AD700 Andorra la Vella, Andorra

#6 of 66 hotels in Andorra la Vella

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 758 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.8
    Design of building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact you have to pay to use spa facilities in a 5* star venue. Sit in the bath to take a shower in a 5* venue?? The bathroom was so big you can easily fit a walk in shower. No one on main reception had a word of English (we had small amount of Spanish but not Catalan) which made it difficult to find out information. At check out I was being asked about numerous additional charges for facilities we had not used but thankfully figured it out eventually and correct bill charged.

    Design of building. Larger rooms and separate sections to the rooms very good. Special offer deal for two nights very good value. Unexpected chocolates, biscuits and bottle of Cava in our room was nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.8
    The king bed was made by joining two double beds so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast did not have much options and more so for vegetarian people.

    The king bed was made by joining two double beds so difficult to sleep at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed. Large room. Awesome globe in lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Light for magnifying mirror didn’t work.

    Very soft bedclothes. Good, large mattress. Easy, free parking. Impressive lobby. Nice big bathtub. Complementary champagne, cookies, and chocolates. Bath robes. Accommodating staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, extra gifts given by the hotel were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not advised that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment until after the booking. Should have been advised by Booking.com prior. The swimming pool does not open until 4pm and you have to wear a swimming hat!!!!

    Location is great, extra gifts given by the hotel were fantastic, WiFi was excellent, breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.8
    Súper grande habitación con buena paisaje.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don´t have a car, there is a small rock pane can be followed to arrive. Feels like climbing, that will cost some times and energy to arrive the hotel from the centre, especially with a heavy suitcase.

    Súper grande habitación con buena paisaje.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay it can be Excellent !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - It seems the hotel is working on low budget its written as a five star but >>> - No bell boy i had to take out the bags from the car by my self to the room. - And upon check out from the room to the car. - No valet service. - You have to pay 15 euro/person to get into the spa which should be included !!! - The receptionist is very help full but again his English is weak i had to describe to him what Im looking for, or using google translate - They defiantly can be better but i don't know the reason for this lack of service.

    -They gave us a welcome ( chocolates , cookies, and a bottle of wine which i didn't drink it) - Rooms are huge in size where you can enjoy sitting and have a drink happily - spectacular view of the mountains from the room balcony. - Baby cot free of charge and ( they gave my baby a stuffed toy to play with as a welcome) - Room facilities ( nespresso and so...) - Breakfast is good lot of things are missing but its fine ( eggs upon order and free of charge). - hotel is near to the downtown max 10 min. drive. - hotel is between the downtown and the main attraction areas for ski and so.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The recepcionist told me to use the pool i need to buy a pool touch no problem about that, the problem came when i checkout they want me to pay 30€ 15€ for person by using the pool. Miss information about that. When the recepcionist told me about 15€ he Just talk if i want to use the spa not the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    8.8
    Like a 50's Hollywood star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is like an old hotel where you can imagine Marilyn Monroe laying in bed, 50's style. I like modern and minimalist staff but if you want to feel like a pinup/lady/gentleman of the 50's that's your place :)

    The man at the reception desk was such a great support, kind and always there. He was also a smart and educated person.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.6
    Hotel under renovation and managed well thanks to management...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel under renovation and managed well thanks to management and front office for making our stay great will be back to stay a longer period in future

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    10
    a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely comfortable beds, quiet and large room with your private view on the mountains. The hotel manager Javier and its staff were super friendly in helping us during our stay. We recommend the spa & swimming pool after a hard day of shopping!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    9.6
    Best service ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone in the hotel is extraordinarily friendly and helpful. We found a present in our room on arrival, Armando, the manager, made sure that we had everything we could just imagine. All recommendations by the staff were great, rooms huge. You can see that the hotel is a bit aged (worn off carpets) but that's more than made up by the service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2016

    8.3
    Great bathrooms with nice bathtubs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the town The decor is a bit confused- but the hotel is still very comfortable

    Great bathrooms with nice bathtubs Complimentary cava, good coffee machine in the room Very comfortable beds Romantic, good for couples

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    10
    Warm welcome, large rooms, yummy breakfast and outstanding service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was outstanding, from the reception at check-in up to the end we fell in love about the warm welcome of Ana and all employees. I fel like home!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    9.2
    Relaxing and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The adjacent building being renovated but we were not disturbed by any noise. Spa was closed so we will return to test it out.

    The staff were all very friendly especially the Manager Armando, a real credit to this hotel. The room was enormous and the chocolates and champagne a special treat Thank you! We will definitely revisit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    10
    Perfect hotel in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just missed standing for a shower, but this did not detract in any way from our amazing stay at this great hotel.

    Staff went above and beyond to make our stay extra special, even gave us a surprise cake as we were celebrating our anniversary. Staff A plus, hotel A plus, huge comfortable room, with extra comfortable bed, and great amenities, better than your usual Hilton Hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    8.3
    Overall good impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one thing I disliked is the not finished building attached to the hotel. It ruins the impression.

    The location is good, not great but really good. The view is good from the room. The room is really big and soundproof.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    10
    Excellent stay near La Vella
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything. The staff was very friendly, the spa was good, the capital at a walking distance and the breakfast had all you could imagine. The room was very big. The hotel was even so friendly to treat us with a welcoming cold bottle of cava and Belgian chocolates.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    7.9
    A large luxurious hotel with helpful staff. Good location slightly out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many restrictions on using the pool: deposit on towels, deposit on key, and obliged to wear a swimming hat! I wanted to join my husband for breakfast but only wanted a coffee - this seemed to cause rather a problem which was resolved after a long phone call with the restaurant. No tea in the room, only coffee.

    Lovely large bathroom and bedroom and huge bed. Chocolates in the room too. Very grand reception area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    3.8
    Dissapointing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stench of old smoke in the corridors and room. Swimming pool was not available for kids

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    Everything was absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A perfect location - superb hotel - superb staff

    Everything was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Super Cool Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing...despite the "no smoking contract"...all good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    10
    Great welcoming, super hotel and very warm farewell from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great welcoming, super hotel and very warm farewell from the hotel owner himself!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.5
    Rooms are very big and calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No climate machine. No gym and spa for free. Old rooms

    Rooms are very big and calm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Fantastic experience on a castle with superb food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic experience on a castle with superb food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    6.3
    Just a night in 5***** hotel which must not be 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Balcony

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    amplias habitaciones y un trato agradable y servicial
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    amplias habitaciones y un trato agradable y servicial

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    10
    Good place to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool is too smaller

    the good location, service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect view from the window and a lot of gifts

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    9.6
    nice view
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2016

    9.2
    like a eagle nest you have a great view on the valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing bad.

    the view, the silence and easy access to the city. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2016

    10
    Exceptional quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was handheld..not wall mount.

    Service was exceptional. 5 star room and balcony. Coffe espresso maker and kettle. Large suite

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2016

    7.1
    A must for total relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    peaceful,quiet and extremely relaxing environment.Outstanding views outside our balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    10
    Fantastic view, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic view, helpful staff. Warm welcome with a Cava and a box of chocolate. Fantastic facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very nice and the receptionist was very friendly, very positive:)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was closed

    Very nice staff and superb room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    10
    the best hotel in 35 years of travelling via 55 countries
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing, its perfect

    this is the best hotel I have stayed in during 35 years of travelling 55 countries. fantastic staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    8.3
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bellman , bathtub needed a longer splash glass or a shower curtain

    The view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The management and staff made us feel very welcome and looked after us very well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Manager Armando goes the extra mile to make you feel at home , all an experience, best attention ever ! Thank you so much !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    8.3
    The staff specially Armando was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not understand the extra charge to use the pool, spa etc. Also the hotel is closer to shopping and city area and not close to the ski options which was not clear when I booked. Due to a lot of guests I had to check-in at 3pm and with the noon check-out the next day I stayed less than one day and paid the full price with no compensation.

    The staff specially Armando was extremely helpful. The hotel rooms are big and clean with all amenities.

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2016

    10
    Manager was extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble...
    • Family with older children

    Manager was extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble - even allowed us an extra hour in the room prior to departure. Everything in Andorra seems very good value and quality compared to France. Great views from balcony

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom gets flooded when you get a shower. Difficult to reach the town walking. Too expensive for an old at a time luxury hotel.

    Friendly staff. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    10
    The hotel was absolutely fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was absolutely fabulous. We often stay in four-star hotels. This one was purple. There was absolutely no construction going on. The indoor pool had a fabulous view of Andorra city.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    9.2
    Me encanto el sitio, las vistas desde la habitacion eran...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Me encanto el sitio, las vistas desde la habitacion eran espectaculares. Está cerca de la ciudad y se puede ir andando. Nos recibieron en la habitacion con una caja de bombones y cava, sinceramente fue un detallazo. El propietario del hotel nos saludo personalmente y se ofrecio a cambiarnos el cava por uno mas frio para la noche. El baño era enorme, con la zona del inodoro separada de la ducha y del lavabo. Bañera grande y ameties para cada uno. Ademas nos dejaron un albornoz con unas zapatillas. A la llegada nos proporcionaron una clave de wifi para cada dispositivo y daba una buena velocidad y sin cortes.

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2015

    8.3
    Large rooms, huge bathroom, free parking, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel feels rather like 4-star. Breakfast is OK but a bit scarce for the price.

    Large rooms, huge bathroom, free parking, very friendly and attentive personnel. Welcome pack of bottle of cava and chocolates was nice.

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2015

    7.1
    We got a bottle of cava and some chocolates when we checked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place had a strange, deserted feel to it. There is construction happening next door, so the entrance was obscured due to this. The "spa" only has a big warm pool and not much else, and the gym is quite small. Breakfast cost €16 per person and it was meagre, including some breads, croissants and coffee/tea. We opted out and ate elsewhere.

    We got a bottle of cava and some chocolates when we checked in, and this was a welcome gift. The room was huge and comfortable, however the decor was quite outdated. The bathroom was just as big with a deep bathtub that fit both of us. The bag of toiletries was quite cute and the robes thick and warm. Great location overlooking the mountains and city centre. When we woke up the following morning the entire city was covered in snow and we had a spectacular view from our balcony. Great stay overall

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    5.4
    Wifi is very slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is very slow

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    4.6
    the shaving mirror
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no room service!

    the shaving mirror

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly stuff. Huge room.

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dont like Andorra.... mostly shopping.

    Breakfast very good. Huge room. Very comfort bed. Larg terass. Free parking!!!!! Very good location

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    10
    Everything was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the construction of a new building outside the hotel's entrance

    Everything was amazing

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2015

    10
    Fantastic place to stay, the staff and management...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic place to stay, the staff and management couldn't be more helpful, food was amazing, will most definitely book again. Thanks you xx

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    10
    We were greeted with free sparkling wine and chocolates and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were greeted with free sparkling wine and chocolates and the kids were given toys and sweets - a lovely reception to go with a brilliant hotel.

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    7.5
    People at the hotel was really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The price for the Spa is quite expensive

    People at the hotel was really friendly

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2015

    8.8
    View was limited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View was limited. There was a separate charge for the pool.

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    10
    Warm welcome ,with chocolates and champaign
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Warm welcome ,with chocolates and champaign

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Roc De Caldes & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: