Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4 stars

Al Muteena Street, Deira District, Old Dubai, Dubai Creek, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

#235 of 384 hotels in Dubai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1497 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Anther great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Laundry service is quite expensive, but they offer same-day service without extra charge.

    The staff and management at this property are consistently excellent. While the hotel is no longer a Sheraton, if anything, the service has improved since the transition. On this stay, I arrived very early, but the management were flexible and able to arrange an early check-in, despite the hotel being quite full. The duty manager, Tamer, who has helped me in the past, again went well out of his way to make sure that my stay was extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Road facing is quite good
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amount blocked in credit card is not refunded. while check-in the front desk told it is for blocking purpose only but while check-out it was told that within 7 days it will be refunded. I didn't understand this concept!!!

    Road facing is quite good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    its well placed and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    its too noisy. the music from club is too high till 3 am and on other end of property they have ball rooms, which are too noisy with loud music.

    its well placed and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    It was a great and experience. Facilities are excellen for a 4-start hotel. Will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping shouldn't enter the room if they knocked and no one answers, unless the "Make My Room" tag is hanged by the door knob. When people are sleeping and couldn't hear the knock, I find it disturbing and unethical to just go in without being acknowledged. FnB items are pricey

    Joyce of the Reception team was very accommodating and went the extra mile to upgrade us and give us a late checkout. Syed was fast and smooth checking us in. Rudra of the pool area also was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    It was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far from the Marina and Dubai mall. But close to the City Centre Deira which is also great. So, win win.

    The entire experience was very good. The staff were amazing. Getting the breakfast deal was by far the best decision. We had some problems with our room and got switched to another in less than 4 hours. I really like the amenities. It’s a good hotel. Will recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    I would like to thank all Grand Excelsior hotel team for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to thank all Grand Excelsior hotel team for accommodating me very well specially Ms. Joyce from reception for her welcoming and for upgrading my room as usual, Ms. Hind The lovely Guest relation Manager And the Beat manger ever Mr. Tamer Thank you the lovely team

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    When I do the booking I have booked a business suite which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I do the booking I have booked a business suite which supposedly to be bedroom and sitting room. Same as per the photos but when I checked in the hotel reception told me sorry we don't have this kind of suite room. So you have only to accept the available standard room I believe that booking.com. Should be more precise in description of the rooms they offer something to me but I get something totally different

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Great time.. We had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Alot of human-traffic especially those going to the party-halls and night club. Hotel is located in the flight path so depending on your room location, it can be abit noisy esp when out in the open

    The Receptionist - Monika did a phenomenal job making us feel comfortable and attending to our every need. Other than the night-club that has alot of human- traffic Hotel it is conveniently located near Diara shopping area and fairly priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    I am a frequent visitor to this hotel but I don't get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am a frequent visitor to this hotel but I don't get any discount on my regular bookings, so I feel there is no difference between new visitor and regular visitor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    face towels were not replenished

    Bath room was excellent in size ,full bath and shower, staff was very professional , breakfast and dinner special was very good . room had lots of light, lounge and lobby area was made for business and a cold beer if you desired, my kind of Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Very poor maintained, previously when it was Sheraton it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor maintained, previously when it was Sheraton it was best now no maintenance bathroom were not working properly and so many things which make ur stay uncomfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Everything was deep below my expectation , i will certainly never go back again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    no music at most of the facilities - very small pool and without music ( you rarely could find someone ask you if you need a drink at the pool - if you are looking for full board take care they will offer you a set menu with only five Main Dishes option at launch & Dinner however breakfast you will get a poor open buffet . ( I stayed 10 days - one of my worst choices is to get my meals at the hotel restaurant )

    the room , location , only one ethiopia lady from the stuff sitting at Terrace restaurant is really helpful and do her utmost to get everyone happy - she really knows the concept of customer service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    More than expected as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    I would like to thank each and everyone for accommodating me well in them hotel special thanks for Ms. Hend and all front desk team and room service as well Big Thank you and i will be back soon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    2.5
    WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    worst experience ever. rooms were filthy ( front desk changed to a worse one after first night), moulds in the bathroom and to top it off AC decided to disco party at 3 am and they did not fix it until i changed rooms around 6 am! and the icing on the cake they wanted to charge me the full stay when i decided it was enough! luckily booking.com staffer forced them to reimburse the remaining nights after i shared with him video/photos of the conditions in the two rooms.

    housekeeping staff were the only good thing about this place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is good, close to the airport and lots of shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many English speaking tv stations

    Location is good, close to the airport and lots of shops and departmental stores around. Hotel has free pickup and drop off to various and popular malls. Room was clean and comfy. The pillows were . . . .you just want to keep on sleeping. Breakfast was buffet style with a big variety. Change your dollars across the hotel at lulus exchange better than any rate at the airport. The staff were awesome especially Monika and Joyce at the reception. If you need to move around, uber and careem are a better choice than normal taxi, but i believe careem is the cheapest. Just download the app at the airport with free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower doesnt work at first then they come to fix it, totally the bathroom is not proper clean.there is no sleepers in room then i ask to bring.there is some dirty dots on bed then they conmm and change .

    good staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Location close to airport and Indian, Arabic and Pak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change in management has affected the quality. This is now a normal hotel with normal facilities. Nothing special. Will not stay any more.......

    Location close to airport and Indian, Arabic and Pak restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    5 star "Grand" luxury, Excellent service; my new home when I'm in the UAE❣
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Grand Excelsior is grand indeed!! It is a beautiful hotel and they have excellent staff. From the minute I stepped out of the cab it became a 5 star experience with valets rushing to open doors and assist with bags! Not only were they polite and extremely professional, they were very friendly! Jaylord and Monika especially stood out for their exceptional dedication towards keeping us comfortable! My family and l will definitely visit the Grand Excelsior hotel again❣

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    very comfortable room , nice & happy staff easy and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfortable room , nice & happy staff easy and smoothly check in & out , special thanks for reception team for their full cooperation and kind support , appreciated , speed internet , good money value , late check out as request

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    We found the staff to be extremely helpful and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the staff to be extremely helpful and very accommodating. In particular, their guest incharge Ms Monika made sure that our check in was smooth and we were happy with everything. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Dubai.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rates are high compare to the hotel infrastructure.

    The hotel location is in the heart of Diera Dubai, many of the restaurants are easily available on walking distance. Lulu shopping center is in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Average
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had taken a long time waiting for parking our car as there was no valet / bellboy/ security to come & assist us. these things shouldn't take much long. Room Service had charged for empty plates & cutlery which was never ordered, it was just an enquiry which was made & the excuse they gave was they already made the bill so they had to charge us. booking was made for 2 but they provided refreshment only for 1 in the room 1 sachet of coffee/tea even in the washroom the toiletries was for 1.

    the receptionist having put a Dubai Way batch & still not welcoming without smile was kind of rude. check -in & check - out both was quick which saved time. appreciate the welcome drinks as per the standard. the room was quite, spacious , comfortable & cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    3.8
    It was a bad experience in the hotel as I reached out there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bad experience in the hotel as I reached out there was no one to take my luggage and park my car when I asked one inside the hotel he said there is no i e available then i went for check in but the receptionist was rude and her body language wes so bed then we went to the room the room was smiley and AC not working and the room lights not working as well and upon the check out I informed the receptionist about what’s not working inside the room but there was no answer from his end even he didn’t apologize for that It wasn’t the first time but surely it will be the last time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not that great, it’s far from metro station, no good restaurant near by, I mean other than Asian restaurants! Shower has issue not only in one room but other rooms also, management need to care a bit more about room cleaning!

    Value for money! Rooms are spacious, lots of option for late night drink within hotel, staff are corporative!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    I had fun staying at your hotel and will definitely recommend you to anyone who needs your services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repeating the same breakfast most of the time.

    I like the fact that the location was good,comfortable bed and your stuffs are extremely nice..very very approachable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music from 11pm till 3pm everyday. It should be writing on internet that they have club. Then it will be choice to people. No quiet moment . I had food poisoning when l came back. Cleaning is not enough

    Beautiful in the picture

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Won’t ever recommend this hotel. Staff judges you in horribly wrong ways.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was horrible. Except one who was courteous and he was an Egyptian security guard there in the front reception/entryway area. They judged my secretary as a prostitute and had the police involved even. The police officer asked her a few questions and cleared her and so did the on duty manager. She was horrified and embarrassed, that obviously we couldn’t conduct any business at the hotel. I had to tell her that we will do our business elsewhere, so she left embarrassed and me ashamed with the whole situation. I felt weird walking around the hotel thinking, how these people must think, that all I do is hire prostitutes and bring them to my hotel room! In addition, the sad part is none of the staff members apologized! I guess a lot of their guests bring girls to their rooms, but they messed up with me and will never go there again nor recommend this hotel for their unprofessional service and incompetent staff. Absolutely horid and low class hotel.

    Great price for what you get.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    spacious room with good facilities and amenities, Ms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    spacious room with good facilities and amenities, Ms.Jenny from reception very courteous once she knew that it's my birthday she send me a BD cake it was a wonderful gesture and free late check out, rest everything was absolutely perfect

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    Upgarding to business suite treat from the receptionist was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, old facilities, no staff available at the reception but one for four customers!

    Upgarding to business suite treat from the receptionist was the only adv

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    I think most officials are from India and I felt that they...
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think most officials are from India and I felt that they have purposely removed the Pakistani news channels from the tv. I have stayed in this hotel before but it was never like this. As soon as the staff from India finds out that the guest is from Pakistan their whole body language change very fast. Very racist and unpleasant atmosphere which was not like this before. I made a request to bring the Pakistani channels back so let’s see if they do it or not.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    enjoyed my stay and staff were very co-operative ..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel guest should get special rates on clubs inhouse as it was found expensive

    Good location and nice hotel with most facilities ...except the metro walk is about 15 minutes ...the hotel has good areas for entertainment and leisure with good pool .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Holiday full of rest & relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the room didn't have bathroom slippers......

    Friendly and helpful staff at the reception/concierge and restaurant The breakfast was fantastic,the bed was very comfortable & the sauna experience relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant, I will stay here again when I pass through in June for a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    please improve the sauna / steam room facilities

    I love the Deira area and this hotel was perfect, close to everything. Staff were excellent. also which was the main thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    2.9
    A long way to acheive 4 stars
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby & registration staff were ok but the hallways & the rooms felt like you were traveling in a time capsule. No hand or face towels, no fridge & no bidet system by the toilet (the washing hose common standard in Dubai & other Muslim countries). The bathtub was so high & the drain didn't work. Had to wait about 10mins or so for it to drain after each couple minutes. There was a lot of dust & stains on the tables, dressers and even the ironing board. The bathroom was really dirty & below standard. Everything was dark & dingy. The Windows changed to a mirror reflection at night & no matter how much I tried to look out, couldn't see anything except my own reflection. Made it feel like a time capsule prison in an old scary movie. Felt like I should be expecting a ghost to appear any second when in the room or walking in the hallways. Very scary at night. Walking in the area to look for a restaurant in early evening (8pm) was another weird experience. A lot of youngsters in non-traditional costumes sitting in groups by the curb, gave me uncomfortable stares. Unlike the rest of Dubai which seemed to be spotless, this area was Not very clean. The non-traditional costumes of people made you feel like you were in a South Asian country more than in Dubai. Not a lot of stores were open & the choice of restaurants were very limited on the hotel side. A barrier in the middle of the street kept you from crossing the street. The staff were courteous but pretty much told you this is it! in apolite way. The only comfortable thing was the bed but the pillow smelled kind of sweaty. Not sure if it was mine. All in all this hotel needs a lot of renovations to get any stars, let alone 4 of them. Really disappointed in booking.com to put this hotel in the 4 star category alongside other hotels in the area or closer to airport & shopping centers with better amenities & comparable or cheaper prices!

    The beds were comfy but the pillow smelled like sweat. Not sure if it was mine 😐

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Check in check out was fast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given inter connected room noise was coming from another room I was disturbed In the room Tv channels was not working I hv to call technician In the room der was no sleepers No tissues All I hv to called n get it If housekeeping is so much lazy to set the room better stop selling the rooms In room service no one is der to speak English The guy who picked up he is asking me do u know Tamil or any other language after a mins one guy attended he speak English Very poor Hospitality Food was Good

    Check in check out was fast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    overall it was worth the price tag as per dubai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was on going construction around the hotel which wasn’t very nice, Rooms could have been better prepared, staff was cooperative though..

    The hotel lobby was very decent, staff was cooperative,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    In my opinion room sum sounds like a good caret I completely it three times in but I no respond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On reception a Indian girl is very unprofessional. Roof top pool is very derby so no body or use it. Its just like formality. My expression is is so so bad

    House ceping is good for me working

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Good wonderful place. So homely. So nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disco noise is too much had to request for changing my room.

    Your staff like Mr Gamal at the concerge front desk and his other colleagues whose names I cannot remember are just good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    We have been staying at the Grand Excelsior/Sheraton for quite some time. Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area is over-crowded with furniture making the area look untidy. Also the plastic flowers should be removed and possibly replaced by artificial greenery.

    The very friendly, helpful and informative staff. We visited the hotel 3 times in 6 weeks. All 3 rooms especially the beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Good, but ensure housekeeping properly refills all toiletries.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They did not delivery moisturizer to my room despite several requests.

    The variety of supermarkets and restaurants on the same street and malls close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Awesome stay at Grand Exelsior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool area need to be kept tidy

    Tamer and Machana or Machanga, the sweet lady at Reception were very accommodating, they went out of their way to ensure our unforgettable stay , Thank you both

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Doing well n keep going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night of my stay wasn't great as there's night club with a loud music not able to sleep till 3 am..nevertheless it's was simply great place with a great sense..

    The staff were very friendly helpful and great service..it's great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    good and ugly
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lobby smelly filled of cigarate smoke while first floor going to the guest room was noisy of unwarranted voices

    location located in reasonably priced shopping items

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, near to Dubai international airport,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location, near to Dubai international airport, easy to find, staff is very friendly and professional. Thanks to Rizwan haider and Jenny. Room was clean and tidy. I prefer to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    Everything was okay when i reached the hotel check in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This arabic superman who’s working as a CID, PRO and Duty manger he told me that he is working in hospitality since 20 years but actually he doesn’t have any idea about hospitality he was shouting at me over the phone like a hell and he pangs the phone while I am talking to him I don’t know which kind of hospitality he has and which kind of management thay are and the issue was with him that he doesn’t know the law of the country Please educate him how to talk to the customers and respecting them

    Everything was okay when i reached the hotel check in was okay room was good facilities were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    3.8
    Disastrous hotel, better call it a nightclub
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a complete disaster. You better call it the Grand Excelsior nightclub instead the Grand Excelsior Hotel. The pictures of the rooms on internet do not correspond with reality. As we were going to sleep the first night we were unable to sleep because of the noise coming from two nightclubs in the hotel. We moved to another room that night. Initially it was better but the second night we couldn’t sleep do to the nightclub and a poolparty until 0700 am. Apart from this the hotelfloors are in quite bad condition and the pool area also looks like a mix of club and pool.

    The only positive thing about this hotel is the Staff. They are very friendly and helpfull and understanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room was just under the bar, lot of late night noise from music in bar and loud people coming back to their rooms at 2 and 3am in the mornings.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful, especially Jenny on reception. Staff in the restaurant and at the pool were superb. Hotel is close to Metro and airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    2.5
    Inconvenience at all levels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, dirtiness, bad smells in the rooms. Noisy due to the several night clubs on the top floor, breakfast menu and quality of food.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Our visit was really successful and we really enjoyed the trip and stay at your hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We enjoyed our trip there and we were very satisfied with your services. We visited last year also and we are really wish to visit again next year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    would not do it again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk was friendly, restaurant service was bad. Service in pool restaurant was terrible..waitress on phone... never paying attention to customers. Talking with other staff.. had to go look for extra dressing.

    not much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall stay was good but I felt robbed in the hotel’s failure to credit for the dinner not taken
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was booked for three nights and paid 3 dinners in advance. I did not take my first dinner since I arrived just after midnight. On checking out I expected the hotel to reconcile my account in terms of what I paid and what I spent. They said they can’t the dinner I paid for, the money is forfeited. Hotels I have stayed in would normally credit my credit card if there is a balance. The question is what does international Peactice say? on such matters.

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    It was good experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am non-smoker and my room was on second floor for this reason, still you can feel smoke while walking through corridor

    It was good experience. Welcoming staff members give you solution if you have some issues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    My favorite hotel in Deira
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    lots of restaurants and supermarkets along the hotel road. - The staff are very friendly and helpful, would always check you had everything you needed, guest relation manager (Ms. Hind) was extremely careful as she asked the reception to inform her before my check-out to check my satisfaction with the accommodation. - Good size & Tidy Rooms . - Fast free internet. - Very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    A Nice Hotel in Deira Dubai
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could use a renovation. The elevator is old and hallways smells past ita glorious days.

    I like its location, the valet parking guys are very nice including the reception people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    For the price of the room I found the hotel quite disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna and the hammam were not really working as the temperature was low. The pool on the top was nice except the planes which keep passing quite close. The employees are quite pushy for a tip for any occasion which is a bit annoying.

    The room was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    It was fantastic and great 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, hotel location , services , room size , meals

    I like the location of hotel , and everything I wanted was in the hotel including tour guide and transportation car rent I lived happily

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    3.3
    Not comfortable
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall ist too bad experience this time the staff is like unaducated people if you want one plates for room it cost five AED for one time use very dirtyness in the hotel not cleaning WC everyday it's smelling towels sauna is very very dirty in hotel they Start lot of business like private parties out sider come for parties too much loud this is not like 4 Star like 2 star hotel in room bed is damage and clean is on floor damage and too much dirty i don't want more in this hotel stay over there no European no English people's only Indian and Pakistani peoples because of hotel

    I like only location is very gud near airport and shopping center food street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.5
    Bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping staff took my sun glass and reading glasses which was kept inside my bag without my knowledge. Unfortunately I don’t have proof for this. But im sure its them who took it away as I didnt take it anywere and was always kept inside my bag. It was only them who had access to my room when I wasn’t around

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Would not use booking.com again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The payment process

    There was an issue with the price, i had paid at the hotel and been give a receipt for £292 Great British Pounds, however £308 Great British Pounds were taken from my account. I am unsure if i will use booking.com again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    Highly not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is poorly maintained. There are by far many hotels in the same area offering better service in terms of hospitality and cleanliness Had given my suit for steam press. They ruined it so make sure you are not using their laundry service. Before even the staff delivered me the suit after the so called steam press he insisted me on paying for the charges instantly. I didnt have cash on me and i wanted to pay using my credit card, the staff was unreasonably asking me to go downstairs and pay the bill of the laundry before he could deliver it to my room. Terrible !!

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.3
    staffs are good and very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI is not fully reliable . all the bathroom drainages are blocked and don't drain properly

    staffs are good and very helpful. getting taxi is easy and staff helps for the taxi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent service with a lovely smile.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.. thanks..

    Excellent service with a lovely smile.. location was excellent near a lot of shops and restaurants. Also near the Dubai Tram station Abu Bakr Alseqique.... only few stations from the Dubai Airport terminal 1. So, thanks everyone..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    We would definitely stay at the hotel again next time we are in Dubai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways leading up the room smelt musty.

    The staff were very accommodating and helpful when we needed them. We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning (1 am) and the staff were more than willing to do whatever we asked for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.4
    Dubai was dreamy on the other hand, hotel had just good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price doesn't mach the quality, I have seen better hotels with same price, and the photos on your page is a bit unrealistic about the hotel,

    The chef sadiq was very nice man who made my son a special soup every day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    i booked a room for 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i booked a room for 2.i left the name of a sharer joning later. they still called in the room later not allowing him to go up.no communication has been done

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water coming from the taps was filthy and brown Very scary to have a shower in Manager did not do very much when I reported it

    It's located close to the airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit disorganized, nothing in mini bar, had to pay each time I ordered for something, stating there was no credit, found this strange. Breakfast was not upto the mark.

    Good location, large rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    I would stay at The Grand Excelsior again, and will recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little ‘rough around the edges’, in need of some updating, but I didn’t find that a problem for the price. Our room was quite noisy as we had an adjoining door and we could hear our neighbours in their bathroom, and a very noisy child! I did tell reception and we could have been moved, but I didn’t want to have to pack all our stuff up. The hotel is directly under the flight path so if you’re on the terrace by the pool it is very noisy, you don’t hear the planes in your room though.

    The hotel is within walking distance of the Al Baker metro, so easy to get around. There is a supermarket next door if you need supplies. We used the gym which was adequate for our needs, with staff on hand to help. Small pool but again adequate to cool off, also a billiard table which we used a few times. Food was buffet style, we had breakfast every morning with a good selection of food. It was also my birthday whilst there and a cake was left in my room which was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Stay if you love been kept awake all night!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very loud till 4am with bands playing everyday. Rooftop pool has vey low take off planes every 30 seconds over your head. Booking.com says room has jaquizzi, its just a corner bath lol

    Staff are very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    A great deal in Deira
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff here are consistently excellent. On this visit, I needed to extend my stay, but there was some confusion at the front desk as to what rate I should pay. However, Mr. Tamer, the night manager, was able to resolve the issue quickly and in both a friendly and professional manner. All hotels occasionally have minor problems, but the difference between a good experience and a poor one is how the staff and management handle the situation. Fortunately, at the Grand Excelsior, the staff consistently go well out of their way to take care of their guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    if I want to stay again in this hotel I stay because of reception staff (JEANNIE) from Philippines
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is not good especially the tea and coffee very cold and not fresh

    like the reception stuff specially Jeannie really she's very good Always smiling she's helping me too much

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Nil
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The employees are very helpful. - 10min from Dubai airport, except the heavy traffic in the evening could takes about 20min. - Hotel price is reasonable. - free Wi-Fi. - Supermarket beside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.6
    Poor , wouldn't recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff looked miserable and not happy to work there , very loud music until 3:30 am couldn't sleep, although my fare includes breakfast our room number was not on the list and we waited 15 mins to get breakfast, room windows are dirty from outside, the staff have no understanding of privacy; the guy who brought the ice to the room literally pushed the door and entered the room without permission, the shower head is faulty.

    The bed was comfortable and the location was suitable for my business.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Hotel staff told me that I had to rebook again , because i...
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff told me that I had to rebook again , because i booked through booking.com and pay more money. I had to choose another room different than i excepected because they don't have soomking room available and that room was very close to the nightclub in the first floor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Nowhere is perfect but here the staff come very close
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, pleasent professional, efficient, prepared to go the extra mile to please. A special thanks to Rahul Untawale,

    Nothing was overlooked, you felt as if you were the only client.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: