Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts - Adults Only 3 stars

Hawksbill Beach, Five Islands Village, Antigua & Barbuda

#1 of 2 hotels in Five Islands Village

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 46 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Bungalow King or Twin (Adult Only)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choice could have been better.

    Excellent get away from it all resort. Staff were friendly but it is a 3 star. There are no formal activities which was perfect for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The standard of our room in the main block was poor. It was outdated and in a poor state of maintenance. The sheets and bedding were clean but the room itself and some of the fittings desperately need re-furbishing. We spent little time in the room except to sleep, having come to sit on the beach, hence these comments should be balanced by the excellent location.

    The location was superb and just what we were looking for. Wonderful beaches and great setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room we were given needed some work; the door to the adjoining room did not have a lock on it and although we asked for this to be rectified it was not - we were there for a week and there was nothing to stop the guests from next door coming into our room at any time! The ceiling leaked water from the room above and the TV was not working. We could not programme in our own code to the safe. We noticed that other rooms had mosquito nets above the beds but our room did not. The food was adequate but not brilliant and most nights the evening meals consisted of stews of some description or another, stewed veg, some salads and cheese and biscuits. Our sense was that there was an expectation from some staff that you should tip them in order to receive good service rather than in return for good service. In addition there is already a 10% service charge on top of the rate so I would expect that service be covered within that? Although our stay was described as all inclusive we had to pay for drinking water to take to our rooms. However the location is fabulous and with a little TLC, some staff training and better overall management the hotel has the potential to be fabulous.

    The location and environment is fabulous, some of the staff are fabulous - friendly and efficient, the breakfast was very good, the other guests, although mainly retired and somewhat older than us, were great fun and many have been visiting the resort for many years and love it. The area the resort was in was lovely and the gardens were well kept. The beaches offered lots of space to stretch out and with three beaches to choose from within easy walking distance every day could be different.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a very poor standard and didn't not have air conditioning. No effort was made to clear the goods faeces all over the resort. The beach was not a good standard, the worst I visited on the island. The food was very poor, the worst I had on the island. Some staff were friendly but others were very rude. Especially the kitchen staff at dinner. Starring at the female guests and kissing their teeth when basic requests were made. The location is also poor with nowhere accessible locally, although that's common with all inclusive resorts. In addition, the price advertised was £150 per night, which was expensive. The price paid was £230 per night!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The resort is very dated and needs a LOT of TLC... Think 60s motel frozen in time with weather wear and tear! The room was fine but the bed was as hard as a rock and we lacked truly hot water. There were a lot of inconsistencies in things like breakfast, room cleaning, etc - some days excellent, others awful!

    Location and beaches are amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Bungalow King or Twin (Adult Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was remote so exploring anything else required a taxi.

    The resort is a little aged but my rooms was spotless and 12 feet away from the water with a beach cottage feel. The staff was extremely polite/helpful/sweet/funny. Although conpletely sold out during my stay, I really liked that the resort/beaches never felt crowded as you have 4 separate beaches to choose from! Food was good but nothing gourmet but the drinks were strong and yummy. Also there are plenty of spots with shade which are nice to have to cool off when you need to.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good overall but particularly at suppertime was rather unimaginative. Guess we didn't pay Sandals price though.

    Had heard the property was run down but obviously they have been updating the units. We were in a beachside chalet with air conditioning and newly remodeled bathroom. We were literally 10 steps from the beach! Also our 1st all inclusive. They definitely provided alcohol!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Bungalow King or Twin (Adult Only)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Our room could have been "cared" for a little more - i.e. the fly screens were not fixed properly

    This is a beautiful resort where people go back to for it's very laid back style. If you want a lively party place then there are those kind of resorts elsewhere on the island!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not know that our room was not airconditioned. The room was sweltering and we asked for another room and were quickly placed in another room. The staff was great. The lawn was overgrown and needs some attention. We were just on an overnight stay but it would be nice to have wi-fi in the room. Also there was no bottled water in the room. Small items and mild inconveniences.

    Dinner & Breeakfast were great. Locations was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Bungalow King or Twin (Adult Only)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally feels a bit run down, for example broken sun loungers left around. The food was a bit hit and miss, mostly ok but not exciting with occasional lapses such as forgetting ladles for the soup, running out of brown bread and fruit at breakfast.

    Pretty beaches, but sea can be difficult to enter. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room at honeymoon cove was comfortable. They did make efforts to get extra sun loungers when some had been damaged.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Bungalow King or Twin (Adult Only)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The average food quality and particularly the lack of variety would worry some guests. "Foodies" would hate this resort. Other problems include insect bites, water cut offs, many rocks preventing swimming from most beaches. Lack of entertainment. Dodgy WiFi.

    Great location, friendly staff, great beaches for sunbathing. Eden beach is a naturist treat. This resort is very laid back and uncomplicated. It has some old style charm which will appeal to people wanting to relax in peace and serenity.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini refrigerator in the room.

    The staff were very attentive and friendly. They seem to be always there whenever you want them. The beach and the view were breathtaking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel. Very dated and some rooms not very nice . The pool is tiny- basically a plunge pool or kids pool . Did not see anyone in there ever . Food not great .

    The beaches are beautiful .the staff and managers very friendly and trying their best.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't many guests staying and consequently everything died around about 9pm in the evening - some of the bar staff were clearly waiting for the last guest to finish their drink so they could go home. For an all inclusive resort, the evening meal was of very limited choice and of average quality.

    The proximity of our room to the beautiful beach. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and lovely staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have been charged twice for the same stay. No luck yet in obtaining a refund

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In serious need of investment.

    Excellent beach. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    overcrowding led to catering and service weakness

    location and room service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Towel service

    Great location very good staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Superb staff and location,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely needs upgrading - several guests moved to different rooms Ours was OK and on the beach

    Beautiful setting - lovely beaches - fabulous staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some tlc.

    It is a great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress in our bungalow was uncomfortable

    Fabulous views, good food, four beaches to choose from

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No television in the rooms

    I enjoyed the meal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation

    The beach and the people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Sea View Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The toaster was very slow and UHT Milk!!

    There was a good selection of food. Fresh fruit, porridge, cereals etc plus Traditional English Breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired facilities

    Great quiet beaches

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Bungalow King or Twin (Adult Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was spacious, clean with a lovely big bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no activities available. The pool is too small to swim in, and kayaks and sailing dinghy not available. It would be great to have some stand up paddle boards, dinghies or kayaks for guest use. Room was ok, but spoiled by being not quite finished (eg plug release in wrong place, badly finished tiling, sheets too small for the bed) . Coffee and water for tea served in the same pots, so it always tasted of a weird mixture. Staff could be very amateurish, although sometimes they were good, more training would help. Some of the sun loungers, especially those on Eden beach, were past their best and uncomfortable.

    Beautiful beaches, especially the remote Eden beach.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food quality was fair, like cafeteria food. Fried fish would have be better grilled. We slept on a mattress that was very uncomfortable to find out when we complained that it was upside down and no one noticed for 4 days.

    The location and beach were great. Plenty of alcohol. Some of the staff were great.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was broken, springs sticking out; bathroom sink drain did not drain throughout our entire stay; hot water knob in shower broke off twice with repair taking two-three days, drawers in bureau didn't close. Food was fairly difficult to navigate for heathy options, which were limited to only two items for the two week stay. A la carte items advertised were not even available. Staff were brusque and often rude without cause.

    Beautiful beaches! Few insects, and proximity of bungalows to beach was nice

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor infrastructure which dates back to when the resort was built in the 60s! Some rooms should really be pulled down, along with the main lobby/restaurant and start again! Most staff were good, except one who made life difficult on the last day!

    Location, beach, vantage point, some good and friendly staff. The food was average, not much change and selection. Friendly and supportive resort manager.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The resort really needs to update the facilities to be top rated. The swimming pool is very small and is not a great location. The resort is so spread out it needs more than one pool.

    This resort is not fancy but it is clean, beautiful location and wonderful staff. Many of the people we met have returned to this resort year after year for many years. I loved it and I will return next year! We went in January and it was mainly retired people there. Very quite but fun. Good entertainment every night.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Rex Hawskbill is in a stunning location - prefect beach, tropical gardens, green hills behind. The staff are without exception friendly and charming. It's got everything you could want but, to be honest, the rooms and buildings are a little dated. But that's what makes it great value for money. If you are looking for 5 star luxury and every latest mod con, go somewhere else and expect to pay double. If you want friendly service at a place with charm in a beautiful location, book The Hawksbill now.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor wifi signal in general, but ok in some communal areas. Rex resorts clearly need to invest in renovating some shabby buildings and tired facilities before they become a problem.

    Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. We arrived early and they accommodated us brilliantly. Rooms are clean and beaches are private, safe and close to rooms. This place is good value for money, it is not luxury, but it's calm and relaxed.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rundown, mediocre food, could be cleaner, no wifi or tv in room

    Location staff was very friendly and helpful, value for money

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Intermittent hot water No TV in the lobby

    Excellent Food Very friendly staff Beautiful views Clean beach

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were very tired

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities a little older.

    Location and beaches.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: