Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Babel Palermo 4 stars

Bompland, 1549, Palermo, 1414 Buenos Aires, Argentina

#209 of 368 Holiday rentals in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 324 apartment reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Loft
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there (Month of May), weather was very cold 15° daytime and about 5°~10° At Night! The HEAT IN UNIT DID NOT WORK AT ALL (was not working thruout property) For our first 4 days! Was Horrible, Very Cold and Uncomfortable! Finally after it was fixed, it turned to be Ungodly Hot! Even setting temp of Heater at lowest possible it was Extremely hot and Now instead of Being too Cold, was Too Hot! We Couldn't win! Cable TV When Working, and not often, but it Would only show in Black and White! Don't like Cold Showers, especially in cold weather, but that's all you Get there, NO Hot Water, Ever! Telephone Did Not work to be able to communicate with front desk...We needed to purchase (and then take home with us) Cooking utensils as they only had a couple forks and knives and spoons...nothing really to cook WITH, there was one pot, thats it...and we got this place so we could cook our own food as we were staying almost Nine Days! Very cheesy the lack of necessitys one uses in an apartment and horrible at how the items they did have didn't work and make life miserable, especially the Heat issue! If I Knew These Issues Were Fixed and Working, I would stay Again for the right price as the unit itself was very clean and big!

    Honest about good and bad things. Bed was very nice, extra large (a True King Size) and very comfortable with plenty of pillows! Room (we had a loft) was Very Big and very Bright with a patio. Small but ok fridge, small but ok stove to cook on. One and a half bath rooms was nice. The management was Nice and polite and spoke English very well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs some money spent on it , room is a good size , bathroom very small , bed be it comfortable needs replacing we had room 2

    This hotel is very handy for bars and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to wait more than 1 hour for receiving the keys in the hostel they send you if you come by after 6pm (which, even more, is far away from the property). The guys from the hostel tried to communicate with the Babel people but they couldn’t for 1 hour. I claimed to the guy in charge at Babel and he argued with me, although I told him that I’d sent emails but nobody answered. He never said sorry, nor offered a refund. Very bad service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly however we had to go to another hostel to pick up the keys after 6pm which was a bit of an inconvenience. The pool also looked very dirty so we didn't go in unfortunately. The bathroom looked a bit dirty

    Great large room with great facilities inside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner bed sheets would be nice. Nobody wants to sleep on blood stained sheets or other stains. Pool didn't look very appealing and avoided it. More of a kids pool than an adult pool so don't book it for that. Location however is good. Quiet property which is great to find in Palermo. Hotel staff is helpful but you definitely can't check in early. I had to wait 3hrs.

    Great design, king size bed, spacious and very good valur

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty and in poor repair in general. The pool you are in the pictures is not working. Old mattress and worn furniture. They tried to charge me the local taxes on check-in which non-Argentinian travelers are not required to pay.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terrible. If anyone else in hotel complex was using water then it would be cold.

    Angela the hotel receptionist was amazing. We arrived really early and she done everything to help us. Gave brilliant recommendations for food and drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is across the train tracks on a low lit street which felt uncomfortable for a woman traveling solo. Also there isn't a 24 hr desk so I had to go all the way across town to get my keys when I arrived at 9:30pm. All of the doors open to the outside and it's not a social place so I didn't feel particularly safe. Also due to my late arrival I wasn't told how to trip the circuit breaker so I had no electricity my first night.

    Balcony, wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was dirty. The shower without constant hot water. Poor wifi. The roof of the apartment with humidity

    Great location. Restaurants and bars around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    ABOUT THE BOOKING: Is not clear if VAT should be or not included for non-residents of Argentina. I live in Germany and have a german credit card. Even though, I had to push hard to make them not tax me. I have made other bookings here and this was clearly written, 21% VAT does not apply if paying with a foreign credit cards. In this booking, nothing was indicated..... IS ALL ABOUT THE DETAILS: In this case they were missing or were very poor: hair dryer is a traveler hair dryer from 1998, soap and shampoo were scarce and low quality, no hair conditioning, no space for placing personal cleaning items bathroom.... One light from light tables was not working. No drinking water in the room...

    Location, staff was handy and nice, big room, comfortable place, modern, nice decor and architecture.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast would have rounded up the experience.

    HUGE rooms with a surprise Jacuzzi, exceedingly helpful and patient staff, good location near bars and restaurants. Not a typical hotel room, but that much the better for it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. To little water from the shower. It doesn't look as nice as in the pictures. Location - not good. We thought it would be closer to the center.

    The staff. Helpful and nice. AC. Own kitchen, tv. A small supermarket very close.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay almost double the price I booked it for. Stupid expensive for very simple room. Kitchen equipment was limited. The TV was circa the 90s and every channel was spanish because it was so old you couldnt change the language. Bathroom is super small. Only 2 chairs on the balcony, no table. Lift was super slow as was the wifi. Stayed at 2 Babel properties and seriously dont know why they are so highly rated. You are not getting value for money! Its an absolute rip.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner did not work very well. Clearly, the fan was not working properly and it was very hot on the days we stayed at the hotel. The A/C unit leaked condensation water and when we informed the hotel staff, they did not seem surprised. We noticed water stains on the wall and under the bedside table from previous issues. The studio apartment we stayed in lacked shelf space in the bathroom. There was nowhere to put your bathroom items. The shower had no space to put the shampoo, etc. Overall, the hotel is very well designed (for lovers of modern spaces) but it is in serious need of some love and care.

    The location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We were lucky that we had a balcony facing the back of the building. Nice, large balcony.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What can I say, Babel was recommended by a friend, and it didn't disappoint! We went for the duplex for extra space, felt like home bed was like home too, huge and really comfy. Loved the industrial polished concrete decor, highly recommended this place, great location too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No daily housekeeping. No extra towels. Tiny bathroom.

    The high ceilings and spacious room. Great location. Great air conditioning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sistema de garantia de pago (formato papel)

    Ubicacion, estilo

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being overcharged local taxes which were not due

    Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was green and not swimmable

    Very friendly and helpful staff, really nice rooms, great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice modern room. Very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic room and location. Great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No check in after 6pm.

    Excellent location very close to bars and restaurants, excellent value for money and loved the design of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasnt big

    The duplex is beautiful, modern and very comfortable. The BIG bed was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Location, big kingsize bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (Liliana) was great and super available for everything that I needed! Ciao!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty

    Bed was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the nice cafes and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartment was niet very clean. Sheets with bloodstains and a very dirty bathroom with broken tiles and mold. The air conditioning made an annoying zooming notice during the night. It was not expensive to stay here but for 10 euro more we stayed at a much better place around the corner. Please note that the price you see on your confirmation with booking is without 20% vat

    Good location in Palermo close to great restaurants and shops

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great stay in Babel. The room was comfortable - especially the massive bed! We had a room that opened out onto the pool, which was really nice. The location is perfect and the staff were really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving the place

    Very warm welcome from Liliana and Marcelo (both speak perfect English aswell), great big rooms with everything needed, great location (quiet at night but only a few blocos away from Nice bars and restaurants)

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could have a few extra utensiles in the apartment and not a great pool

    Friendly staff who despite my lack of spanish helped everyway they possibly could, it's in a great location, spacious accommodation albeit basic. I had a 2 story duplex which was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was right on the ground floor in the street. Very noisy. The bathroom need cleaning and updates. Arriving late after hours of reception is an issue. Waited long time for someone arrive. While folks were having fist fight on the street. Not pleasant.

    There are probably better rooms with less noise but mine number 1 sucked.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen equipment was poor. Not a real kitchen Heater thermostat was broken. Pretty far away from public transportation

    Quiet apartment Helping staff

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was brilliant and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Really made us feel welcome. The apartment was very cool and we really enjoyed our stay here

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It didn't look like the pictures. Poor information from the staff about the hotel, location the city and what we could do. The hot water in the shower didn't work. Wifi didn't work the first day. It felt like it wasn't a good area during the nights with wired people just outside the hotel fence.

    The big bed was nice

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Once I arrived at the hotel the staff gave me a warm welcome and help me settle down and gave me directions to visit places.Liliana is very nice and help me with everything I ask for. The Hotel is located walking distance to bus stop,and to many cozy restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Couple

    We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. Our apartment was a very large studio room with a nice big balcony. Our balcony had a table and chairs so we could enjoy our meals out there. Overall a good experience and the staff were extremely welcoming. There is an ATM on site too.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms do need a bit of an upgrading but besides that, it was a perfect for a 2-night stay.

    Staff was very friendly and spoke amazing English which is definitely a plus. All are very accommodating to our travel schedule.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower was either scalding hot (evening) or ice cold (morning). The pool area seemed not really well kept.

    Very stylish loft apartment with AC, balcony and very good WiFi connectivity.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They do not serve breakfast. We booked the suite room but they sent an e-mail sending they had an overbooking issue and offered the duplex...finally, we got the suite when we got there because it was available

    The room was excellent! The location, in the middle of Palermo Holliwood, is really good too.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit tired and worn.

    Friendly, good location, nice bed, nice view.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was tons smaller than advertised. I hated that

    Javier at the front desk!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    needed a little tlc

    beds comfortable apartment well appointed staff Lilliana is a gem helps you in every way

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plumbing a bit dodgy.

    Big comfy bed and nice balcony.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no breakfast, you could only cook in your own room.

    The location, the staff, excellent wifi signal.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The uncomfortable position of the toilet

    The building

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent Location. Amazing Staff and a very comfortable apartment. My room was on the groung floor with access to a garden and the pool!!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In one of the day the the water flow was weak

    First thing the hospitality and willingness to help by the staff WIFI was OK

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Babel Palermo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: