Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Babel 3 stars

Balcarce 946, San Telmo, 1064 Buenos Aires, Argentina

#222 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is looking a little tired.

    Great location in the heart of San Telmo, with many great bars and restaurants all within walking distance. Centrally based for walking to all the major attractions. The hotel is small and in a quiet street with not much traffic. Felt safe and secure staying in the hotel. Staff were friendly and supportive and special mention to Felipe and Consuela who were excellent hosts and made our stay memorable and enjoyable; they were very helpful in answering all our questions and provided good recommendations of what to see and do. They showed genuine interest in us as tourists and not just visitors passing through.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great choice in San Telmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at the front can have street noise at night. Best rooms are on the second floor at the back.

    The staff in this small hotel are extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly. We felt at home here for the 10 days we stayed. They gave us great tourist information especially in the San Telmo area such as El Zanjon Museum which was a real highlight. Breakfast included cooked eggs. Location was great: close to markets, parks, shops, restaurants and only 20 minute walk to Plaza de Mayo. They repaired the hot water system very quickly. I would definitely stay here again. Gracias Miguel!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Maybe a room with a window and hot water and electricity, and then it would be worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the shower for the first 2 days. Electricity went out twice for extended periods Room had no window and people sat out side our room smoking

    The staff was friendly enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    This hotel is the best hotel value I have stayed in anywhere in the world. I love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is perfect. A little noisy at times because the common area is right outside the rooms, but not a big deal.

    Enormous room, well-appointed. Huge shower. Great climate control. Well-lit. Very nicely decorated. Superb location. Fantqstic staff. Thank you Miguel! And besos a la Tica!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel needs to improve its description in booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a HUGE communication failure in the booking process. In this hotel, ALL THURSDAYS (which happened to be the day we stayed there), there is a party in the lobby with high DJ music, drinks (and other types of substances) and non-guests. The party ends at 11pm but before that time it is not possible to rest or enjoy the hotel, as it is very small (only 8 or 9 rooms) and the music is loud inside the room. If there was a warning about this in the booking process, there would be no problem, since only people who want to enjoy this fellowship would go to the hotel. It was not our case. We had a flight at 6a.m. and just wanted to rest in a quiet hotel. SO IT IS MANDATORY that there should be a warning about this in the description of the hotel and in the booking process. The staff argued that they warned us the moment we got there, but we were already there with our bags and had no time to look for another hotel.

    They were very helpful in offering us a breakfast at special time (3a.m., since we had an early morning flight). The location is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel to stay in San Telmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location, everything is in walking distance a lot of bars and iconic places arround the hotel. The staff is super friendly and will try to help you in any way.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Small hotel at great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning could be very much improved (clearing the dustbins etc). Breakfast is very simple and basic. Service of personnel at breakfast is moderate and re-active

    The hotel is small and quiet. Rooms are spacious enough, facilities fine. Location is great in the middle of San Telmo very close to the main street and Sunday market fair. San Telmo is great in terms of shops, restaurants and bars and walking distance from the BA centre. Price-Quality is good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very limited.

    Great location one block from the sunday fair in San telmo. Nice rooms with ample space. With Access to small patio. Owners are bert friemelt and helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.3
    bad, not boutique, liars,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not recomend this place.! Not boutique at all!.The room was ver y small. There was not windows! So no air comming.Just a door. The bed was like old..The walls were bad painted,but really bad painted.!..into the wall of the toilet and the room there were two black moistures of big sizes. At last the bin of the toilet was old and rusty.Ive got pics.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Extremely helpful and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not really too near any special sights or activities nor a subway station. And when we checked out the staff were not aware of the 21% tax that we should bedre exempt from due to paying with a foreign Credit card so ended up paying a lot more than we had too.

    Dan at the reception was extremely helpful in guiding us to activities in the city and also helping us with our trip down south to Patagonia. He also lent us a card for the subway, which we actually forgot to return. Sorry, Dan!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Small, charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their wi-fi was inconsistent. Because it's so small, people coming in and out of the hotel in the early hours of the morning will disturb your sleep.

    Very nice little boutique hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    Great location in San Telmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The court yard is inside the hotel and people talk and smoke in that area which is right next to the rooms. This makes it difficult to sleep.

    The location was perfect. Close to restaurants. Don't miss Sunday in San Telmo with 12 blocks of arts and crafts, free tango and musicians to enjoy. The new manager is excellent and pays attention to your every need.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Modern hip hotel in good location in San Telmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved my short stay in this modern and comfortable hotel. The staff were lovely, and the location is great. It's right next store to an amazing vegetarian restaurant and close to all the hip bars in San Telmo. The AC worked like a charm and the staff was so kind to give me fruit to go when I left for an early morning flight. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    miguel at the desk was very helpful and spoke wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole room needed more lighting, especially the bathroom. taking a shower was interesting - first, there was only a drip of hot water and since there was no light, it was like taking a shower in the dark. the bedside "tables" - more like shelves, were falling off the wall and i was afraid to put anything on them. didn't get a chance to taste breakfast since i was only there one night and i left early in the morning. i was offered tea or juice while i waited for my taxi.

    miguel at the desk was very helpful and spoke wonderful english.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.9
    For 1-2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no windows in the room. The shower is rather weak and there is no a place (a table zone) to put even a glass with toothbrush etc.

    The stuff is attentive. Confortable bed, spacious bathroom. Very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Superb small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report here!

    Excellent small hotel in a very good location. Staff superb, very helpful and keen to advise on local sights, restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.1
    Good value for money at great location, very helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Internet very slow and not very stable. Room could be cleaned a bit more thoroughly and towels replaced more often. My room was very basic and a comfortable sitting option (apart from the bed) as well as a small refrigerator (mini-bar?) would have been nice.

    VERY friendly and helpful staff, good price, great location. Free internet and breakfast included in my rate. Very safe as main entrance locked 24/7 and any guest/visitor is personally greeted at the door.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Great place, great location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and supportive staff that gave detailed recommendations on restraurants and shows which we liked very much. Location in the heart of San Telmo with many bars and in walking distance to all major sights. Further it was very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.9
    The staff are excellent and the location is too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed overall 10 nights at the hotel and upon my first stay the room was somewhat problematic: both bedside lamps were broken, the room was cold and very dark (since I had to work on the room for several days this was not so pleasant), the water did not rinse from the handbasin, one day there was no warm water for the shower, and the towel was not changed despite being deliberately put on the floor, a clear sign for a change (it was folded again and hung up again - brrr). Upon booking a taxi to the airport I was massively overcharged by the hotel: the cab should cost around AR$150, I was asked for AR$350. I saw the SMS myself: AR$130 for the driver, the rest as provision to the hotel (almost 2/3!) which is not fair IMHO.

    The staff are excellent and the location is too. Breakfast is good, though quite repetitive after a few days. The superior rooms are spatious and good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Old House with good conservation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all information about 24h reception included in the site and in Booking page is correct.

    Old House with good conservation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    A cute, cosy hotel with a friendly manager. I was travelling alone and felt safe and welcome there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit more light in the room.

    Breakfast was a bit paltry and the coffee was cold.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Excelente atención de Consuelo y Miguel !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location y staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Staff friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At times the road outside was a bit noisy (bin collection!)

    Staff friendly and attentive. Great location in San Telmo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Handy spot to catch the boat to Uruguay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs.

    Proximity to the port. Good restaurants nearby. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.0
    Nice old building, clean and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar fridge to mantain cold drinks and / or some medication.

    Good feeling to have a window/door to allow natural light & fresh air.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Very slow wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable in a great area and walking distance from the main sites and close to Sunday market
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, quiet, comfortable, good breakfast, great location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was too poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was too poor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Good mid range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV signal poor. Shower needed better vantilation

    Good mid range. Reasonable value Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Very spacious rooms, nice hotel in downtown of Buenos Aires.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious rooms, nice hotel in downtown of Buenos Aires.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and supportive staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and supportive staff...felt like home

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very noisy.

    Beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable room and very friendly staff who were all fluent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable room and very friendly staff who were all fluent in english and helpfull to provide information. We would come back without hesitation!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of the rooms, too small for the money

    location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lacks of windows other than the entry door. Towels have stains

    Good location. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    No minibar in room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar in room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small. Fine for 1 person, but would be tight for 2.

    Cute decor. Comfortable room. Cool lights in bathroom. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Great small and charming hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very charming interior design, good breakfast and most of all friendly staff that satisfy all of your interests about Buenos Aires

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    5.8
    Stuff was very friendly, some even spoke German.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When we arrived we were told that we should pay cash, otherwise we will be charged 10% extra on our Visa payment. The stuff told us it was due to high inflation rates. But still these changes should be calculated by the hotel or at least be outlined before.

    Stuff was very friendly, some even spoke German. The Hotel was located in San Telmo a very nice and calm region of BA. On the whole we enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    The staff was very, very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all good.

    The staff was very, very helpful and friendly. The location is a block from Defensa, close enough to enjoy the late night bars and restaurants but far enough away for a good nights sleep!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location in San Telmo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think it's time they invested in some new towels!

    Great location in San Telmo. Wonderful staff, who went out of their way to sort any problems.- lending us maps for our drive to Mendoza.The staff help with all on-going travel arrangements, even ringing our hotel in Santiago to check if there were repercussions from the earthquake. Lovely , friendly atmosphere at the Babel hotel!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    10
    Staff were exceptional so friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were exceptional so friendly and informative. Location was excellent, rooms comfortable well set out couldn't ask for more we had one night booked and went back for another two

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    8.8
    - Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - We might have looked for a cheaper hotel option if we didn't receive the Booking.com discount

    - Location - Staff - Food - Hotel set-up - Within walking distance of many historic sites - Free luggage storage - Later breakfast hours than other places we stayed at

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    7.1
    Cute small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absence of cleaning. During our 4-night stay, no change of linens or towels. In some days, not even the bed was made. The towel for the bathroom floor was taken away after the first night, and never brought back. Curious. No warm water the first 2 nights, after which we complained at the reception - it seems that someone had forgotten to turn on the water heater for our room. Worked very well after that.

    Cute small hotel. No windows in the rooms, but didn't bother us. Breakfast included fresh fruits, eggs in different ways and other extras. Very helpful staff, good English spoken. Front door locked all the time, some one at the reception always. Good location for San Telmo and Puerto Madero; a bit further away from city center and metro. Wifi probably the best we had during our Argentina trip.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    4.6
    The bed was really nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked two nights and left after the first night. The guy of the reception was not friendly, not helpful with the checkin because I had to pay directly at checkin and I stayed there for two days. I want to pay the room in pesos and they charge me the blue rate, that means I pay 600 pesos more for two nights!

    The bed was really nice and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    10
    Lovely helpful staff, great location, clean and tidy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely helpful staff, great location, clean and tidy room

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    10
    Miguel was most welcoming, so helpful in recommending things...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Miguel was most welcoming, so helpful in recommending things to see and a great local restaurant. Would highly recommend the Babel.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff. Very relaxed.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.6
    Love the genuine helpfulness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Love the genuine helpfulness of the staff. They truly went out of their way. Location in San Telmo is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    6.7
    Superior rooms is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Standard rooms towards the street could be noisy.

    Superior rooms is good.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    Excelente atención del personal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excelente atención del personal. Escritorio en la habitación.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    7.9
    The reception
    • Solo traveller

    The reception The clean of the room The Staff Safety box in the room

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    8.8
    very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very nice place

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Hotel Babel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: