Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Claridge Hotel 5 stars

Tucumán, 535, 1049 Buenos Aires, Argentina

#224 of 437 hotels in Buenos Aires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3703 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.3
    Location is excellent and hotel offers old world charm but is not 5 star, perhaps 3.5 stars at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When checking in, there was no empathy from the staff member when we mentioned our luggage was lost/delayed. No assistance was offered regarding where to go to obtain essential items. Free toiletries in the bathroom were sparse (the first time we've ever needed them). Bathroom was very small, the bidet taking up necessary space. Shower was over bath with an annoying shower curtain. Not enough vanity space/shelving to place our own toiletries etc. No fan in bathroom, making every surface wet each time we showered. Sheets over mattresses too small and bedding oddly made up, requiring me to re-make beds. Room showing signs of age/wear and tear with peeling wallpaper. More seating is required in the foyer. We were always left standing when waiting for our tour pick-ups.

    Location is fantastic. The main shopping mall and Galerias Pacifico is just around the corner. The hotel has a lot of old world charm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.9
    My room was enough for a short stay. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, it was not possible to send attachments to emails, only text emails. A bit dark in the restaurant at breakfast.

    Small room, but very comfortable bed, Great location next to the main strip.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The personal from the breakfast was always in a very bad mood. Very unfriendly!!! NO available keys because of a software problem...every time you go out someone has to open the door. WIFI was really but at all time.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the elevators was down, so if generated some problems.

    The hotel is perfectly located in the business center of the city. The breakfast is superb, much better than other hotels in the same range.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    The staff is good they try to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator always broken the other one you have to waiting few minutes because small just for four people,the hair dry no power,also the internet so slow in the room you can’t get internet

    I don’t like this hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    I would never recommend this hotel the way it is today.😢
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor air conditioning . It just didn’t exist. We asked ,and we were told that it wasn’t turned on yet. Our room was so hot and humid so we opened the window until the large tormenta went through BA. ( check the date 29/09/18). Had to close because of monsoon rains.Air should be on year round. You are dealing with the public. There’s different needs for whatever reasons for different people.Only one contact “ONE”that worked in our room for our cellphones and laptops)To add the WiFi was so intermittent and always had to sign on 4A,5A then back to 4B etc. terrible. The room phone didn't work to call the front desk only the operator could contact with hotel services . What else? You have personal that work there that can’t solve guests problems or answer questions. Anyway, The hotel has potential but when you have people who don’t care. You’ll get nothing.

    The front of the hotel on the website.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.4
    disappointed in booking.com, unreliable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False pretenses. Misleading photos, substandard, far cry from five-star. Not even a good three-star! Smelly bathroom, moldy smell of sheets (though clean) , empty antiquated pool, sound insulation inexistant eat plus essential, screws of toilet seat on the floor, curtain hooks missing, what else?

    Water pressure, reliable taxi, friendly staff, good croissants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    i would return to this hotel in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bar and restaurant is too dark-needs more light-

    the room was clean and roomy-the bathroom was adequate-location of hotel is perfect-smack downtown Buenos aires.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    3.3
    Way below the standards, we changed hotel after the first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This is a 5 stars hotel that sould be 3 stars, rooms are narrow, my room had forniture broken and cold water on the bidet was not running. Furthermore they made a mistake and charged me more than I had agree with booking. Booking took care of it and I had a refund. We planned to stay 8 nights but we moved away after the first night.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    This is a solid 3 star Hotel, passing itself off as a 5 star hotel. Decent, but not outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet speed was the worst we have experienced in South America, and was barely functional for practical purposes. The check out process (if you could describe it as a ‘process’) was disorganised and painful.

    The hotel was clean, staff were professional and the location was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    We had to go out in the rain to have dinner
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one chair to sit on in the room - so one of us sits on the bead! I would expect an arm chair and a chair in the room, and a carpet would be nice.

    The old -fashiondness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    The entrance Lobby was too outdated and dark, the front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance Lobby was too outdated and dark, the front desk it’s not according with the hotel and things looks from a chip hotel, lack of charming .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Bad breakfast, terrible wifi, shower spreads water all over. But, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Get out of here! We had problem with the hot water; the cable TV was not working; the breakfast was really poor! The shower spreads water all over the bathroom. The wifi is terrible!! The room service doesn't restore the minibar.

    The location is just perfect. The staff is great. But, it's not a five star hotel at all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym needs a bit of work and the pool was out of service when I stayed.

    Bedrooms where comfortable and the staff where very friendly. The gym needs a bit of work and the pool was out of service when I stayed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in need of substantial renovation and aspects were delapidated! Prehistoric gym with malfunctioning equipment and sadly outdoor swimming pool already empty even though not really into winter !

    Lovely period hotel with delightful old wood panelled bar area and stained glass windows. Super helpful staff on reception who definitely went the extra mile for me during my total of seven nights stay in Buenos Aires. Relaxed regarding long breakfast period - good buffet breakfast and also not rigorous on check out time - always a benefit when travelling long haul and arriving at anti social hours

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    V pleasant but glad I was on holiday and not under time pressure on business with little niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi and mobile phone connections not adequate but this is probably down to high rise neighbourhood. Gym facilities somewhat ‘prehistoric ‘ One of the electric sockets in my room didn’t work and it took me two trips around the corner to buy adaptors from UK plugs to establish that socket defunct! I was surprised reception couldn’t supply me the relevant one!

    Friendly staff and comfortable room with lovely service. Nice ambience in tasteful period building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Definitely not a pleasant experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building is very old and needs to be refurbished, definitely doesn't meet 5 star hotel standards as advertised. Entire hotel smelled like a swamp, I had to dry clean all my clothes afterwards. I had to change the room because air conditioner sounded like a hell. Wifi connection was very very very poor. Do not believe to the photos they have placed on the web to advertise this hotel. Most probably these photos were taken ages ago when this hotel was new. Certainly not what I expected, and certainly not what is advertised.

    Staff is very friendly and breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Location is both good and not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is both good and not so good. It is located next to the pedestrian Florida street in the heart of the center and near the Galería Pacifica shopping center, but the center is a bit grimey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    My fourth visit to Buenos Aires and this hotel. My go-to place in BA!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes.

    Location is perfect! A grand hotel in the 1940’s style with considerable character. Friendly staff, very nice breakfasts and great value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool area was closed and the swimming pool was empty, if we had of known this, we would have booked elsewhere.

    The hotel was clean and the staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Two stars (not five as they claim)Hotel well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom (very small) looked old and dirty. The spa and the pool were not open. The key door wasn’t working properly so I had to go to the front desk two times at night so they can fix it. Overall this is a two stars hotel.

    The people from the desk front were kind and helpful. Beautiful place but not well maintained

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK. Location is in the heart of business area. However for a tourist its doesn't seem to be suitable. There were written warning messages as to dangers when you go out. So for night outing/ walking its not good..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, can be loud at times.

    Karen checked us in. She was really helpful, told us about the hop on hop off bus and where to find it. We were given maps and staff helped us book restaurants and excursions. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Faded glory but still a good hotel and location. Happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation is good but could do a little more ie more modern lift

    A bit of faded glory but still a good hotel and great value for money . Tip : pay by card and they reduce your bill by 21% it’s a new law in Argentina

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool closes a little early. It is a nice pool area but shaded so not many sunny spots late in the day. Pool staff was friendly and drinks are available poolside.

    The location for us was great. The staff and breakfast were very good. Our room was large and comfortable but we are aware that all rooms at this hotel are not created equal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice ambience in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great. The staff could have been more helpful, but there was no problem. The decor and feeling of the hotel was pleasantly old world. All the amenities worked well. Internet was slow but that was no problem for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms are so old, and not convenient to use. There were a blanket in the room, I used it but it also seems so old and dirty.

    Breakfast was nice. Staff was so helpful and always smiling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    I highly recommended this hotel! Close to everything! Beautiful Galleries have big food court! 👏
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk gentlemen was very helpful and polite!! Make us feel very comfortable! They are the best!! 👏

    Excellent breakfast!! Have so many things to choose!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast and good location make this a recommended property for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi connection in the room was not good. We were offered another room but did not take it since we liked our room

    Our room was large and clean. We noticed that not all rooms are created equal so count ourselves as lucky

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not in the nicest place but, it is a good value and nice rooms!

    All of the receptionest spoke English! The parking is a secured underground location. The rooms were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well! Their restaurant was under renovation so they give you a voucher for a restaurant near by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old building. need more maintenance and renovation. the elevator was not stop in the precisely the height of the floor. the bathroom was very small and the faucet for the cold water didn't work

    excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff really friendly and happy to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water on arrival Only downside to the pool was it was very busy over a weekend!

    Staff really friendly and happy to help Beds very comfy Pool area really good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Regrettably nothing comes to mind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lifts very small and shabby Inadequate unpacking space, had to live out of suitcase. Overall ambience and condition a bit tired.

    Regrettably nothing comes to mind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location but hotel a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was adequate but poorly maintained. Shower over the bath had no way to prevent the water going onto the floor! Dining room floor was sticky. Many of the plates in the dining room were chipped. The internet was very very slow.

    Great location for the centre of the city, Florida street and good restaurant next door. Despite facing entrance, the room was quiet. Staff were friendly. Nice to have a pool. Plenty of good fresh fruit at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was a lot nicer than other places we stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was a bit dark and the bathroom didn't match the expectations of a 5 star hotel.

    Breakfast was a lot nicer than other places we stayed in Argentina.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    A super wonderful stay ,great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having internet in my bedroom

    There is a charm to the hotel inside and out . It seems like it's going through some renovation . The location is wonderful !Breakfast is very good .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.5
    Nice stay in central Buenos Aires
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air-conditioning wasn't working very well the last 2 days of our stay and couldn't cope with 95 degree temperatures. Hotel needs a bit of an update.

    Good location center of Buenos Aires, close to public transportation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    No fake news, but quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place had it's time. But it was quite a while ago. The pictures show the facility not as it is in reality, good Photoshop work done here.

    Location, clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    It is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are Not comfortable , not much facility . The hotel needs to be updated . No concierge , English speaking staff

    Walking distance to most attraction and shopping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hotel, Wonderful Reception Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls seemed quite thin and there was a gap under the door meaning we could hear next door and the hallway clearly, which did keep us awake 1 night. Whilst the room is a reasonable size, the bathroom was quite cramped! Restaurant and bar were both closed on Christmas day!

    The check in staff were extremely helpful. Whilst waiting in the lobby to be picked up for a tango show, they came to check which one and then called the company to make sure our lift was on its way! The pool area was an absolute bonus and the guy behind the pool bar was friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a good spread. Location was great for the aeroparque and overall for the price paid this was an excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Great swimmingpool, comfortable rooms with airconditioning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was not everywhere in the building

    Great swimmingpool, comfortable rooms with airconditioning, friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Perfect for a few days stat in BA

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    The hotel has 5 Stars but could not provide us with a meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has 5 Stars but could not provide us with a meal on the 24. 12. Only got a cheese and ham toast with one side burnt. We were not informed by the staff that X-mas dinner was to be pre-booked if we so wished to eat at the hotel. In room 608 the cupboard was smaller than my suitcase. A shirt or jacket could not hang freely as the Safe was in the way - leave alone hanging pants at their full length. The bathroom floor-tiles were broken, the carpets excessively worn. One has certain expectations from a hotel called Claridge. It is understaffed and it - at best - qualifies as a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.4
    At check out they have a very old system and blocked my 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out they have a very old system and blocked my 2 credit cards. Now I have no credit cards for the rest of my trip. I tried to pay with dollars and wont accept them as they say they were old. I had to go out and exchange them in a store for national currency which they did. It was an awful check out experience. Receptionist were not helpul at all. I will never go back to this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.0
    Helpful staff but hotel is poor, dirty, nothing works well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont believe the pictures: its a very poor hotel, rooms are not clean, gym is too old without AC and many broken machines, Wifi does not work, pool is dirty and the microcentro area is rubbish. Stay in Palermo or Recoleta!

    helpfull staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    I wanna come back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtain in the room needed to be fixed. There was a little water in the bathroom after taking a shower. 

    I loved the room, which was very quiet, big and comfortable. The staff was amazing and really helpful. They also gave me a discount for the restaurant in the corner. The location was excellent too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Love it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtain in the room needed to be fixed. There was a little water in the bathroom after taking a shower.

    I loved the room, which was very quiet, big and comfortable. The staff was amazing and really helpful. They also gave me a discount for the restaurant in the corner. The location was excellent too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Loved the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the stay in this hotel. It is conveniently located in central downtown BA; we walked everywhere (all the central city sites, Puerto Madero, Recoleta, San Telmo, etc.). With opulent décor, clean and spacious rooms, and lovely staff. Great value for money. The Claridge will be my first choice when I return to BA in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Strategic location to explore BAs as its best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brakfast could be improved strategic

    I have stayed many times I this classic hotel because the staff is extremely courteous and accommodating and the location is very good. Although this time was difficult with all the. Protest arround the center of the city !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location and good bed, but room and bathroom need upgrading. Not a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was a little dated and bathroom even more so. Could hear the conversation in the next room through a shared vent in the bathroom which meant you could hear everything they did in their bathroom.

    Location was excellent - very central but not noisy. Bed comfortable. Room clean. Breakfast good with plenty of seating and available items of food. Desk staff very helpful when asked a question.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.0
    The staff was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was unstable. I kept sliding off the mattress! The bathtub was not washed throughout my stay. The toilet roll holder was not working well and the toilet roll kept falling on to the floor.

    The staff was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    3.8
    Nowhere close to a 5 Star Hotel- Somewhere between a 2 and 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a 5 star hotel. The hotel falsely advertises it's room on this site. They show pictures for a suite and then give you a small stuffy, dumpy room with a ceiling that is peeling off. There are no doormen or bellhops, so therefore no one helped us with our luggage to our room upon check in. This place is the closest thing to a scam that I've seen on booking. There were only 3 people working there in the 1.5 nights we stayed. 1 man in the back, 1 man at the reception, and a bartender. That was it (for a self-described 5 star hotel). When I complained to the front desk about the room and asked to speak with a manager about not receiving a room as advertised on booking, I was told that there was no manager there and that I would receive a full refund. I never received a refund though I tried later- so I was lied to by the hotel. In addition, one of the two elevators was out of order while we were there forcing guests to use the stairs. The place has two things going for it: a nice facade for pictures and good location- if it weren't for the location, I believe it would have been shut down years ago.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    A real bargain in central Buenos Aires
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's wifi urgently needs an upgrade. The signal dropped too frequently and the speed was sometimes painfully slow.

    We enjoyed the faded elegance of this hotel, very good breakfasts and central location. The reasonable price made this a very good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay at the Claridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little too small.

    The staff was excellent. Alex, Luciano, and Thomas displayed excellent customer service. Hotel was nicer than I expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant but a little haphazard
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location Bedroom attractive - Bathroom toiletries sparing- no tissues or non-slip bathmat Would have liked a complimentary bottle of water in room. Few hangers No index for tv channels Hardwood flooring rather unwelcoming in the room Decor in public areas very darlk - could do with a facelift, and new lifts. No nibbles served with aperitifs Staff helpful but admin seemed less than rigorous - never got a bill for drinks in Hotel bar and concierge asked me what I had had to drink: had same drink both nights but price different. Pool out of action as undergoing renovation- didn’t see any workmen- surely this work could have been done in winter, not summer ?

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    2.5
    Hotel that needs a makeover, overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool empty, no wifi because of poor router, room with obsolete furniture, poor customer service, gym wrongly designed. Not worth the price. Maybe the location is not so wrong but very noisy and crowded. They do not deserve to be a 5 star hotel when they are not even able to answer emails in due time, excepted when harassed many times.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was broken, A/C didn’t really cool the room and would make it unbearable in summer. Pool was closed even though other hotels were open

    Good value for money. Spacious room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    3.8
    Definitely not 5 stars. Very old hotel, rooms old and look tired. Walls have wallpaper hanging off,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely disappointed with hotel. Definitely not what was portrayed on website images especially with being classified as 5 star hotel. Sheets not cleaned everyday!!!

    Location ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.4
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had ceiling leak stains and the most out dated A/C and hairdryer. They advertise a snack bar and pool. There is no snack bar and the pool had no water in it. They advertise room service. I asked for the menu and they said I could only get toast. When I tried to order a coffee at 8pm they said they can only offer me water. This is not a 5 star hotel. I resent paying a 5 star rate. When I wanted to complain a staff member cut me off and put the phone down in my ear. There are two hotels next to this one. I won't stay here again.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    2.9
    This hotel was expensive with 5 stars but it deserves only 3...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was expensive with 5 stars but it deserves only 3 ! I really regret my choice Do not go!!! You ll regret it everything in the hotel and the room is old and with no maintenance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    Good location and friendly staff but for sure not a 5 star Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel needs a renovation, the rooms are very dark, outdated and the bathroom was worn from age. The bed was comfy however the sheets were slightly stained and just worn from age. The breakfast was okazy, however from a "5 star" hotel (which this is not in my standards more like a 3 star hotel) I expect a lot more quality and selection. For what you are paying for, I would not go back to the hotel

    Staff were very friendly, location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.3
    Nothing nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms with carpets are super super dirty that you cannot even breath, its ok if its old but its not acceptable to provide a room in such conditions. It was my only night of relax after one week of travelling and couldnt enjoy anything. I was even afraid to find a mouse in such conditions. I will never ever will come back.

    Nothing nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location. Lovely people. Will stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi disappeared on the last day - from the internet provider.

    Very very helpful people. Because business center basically not operative , they printed from reception desk for me. Delicious breakfasts. Room clean and cleaning staff excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Bed was very comfortable, room was very clean, staff at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room walls are thin so noise was a bit bothersome. I put out my do not disturb sign so the housekeepers would not replace my soap and towels every day since I believe this is wasteful.

    Bed was very comfortable, room was very clean, staff at front desk was always helpful and courteous. Extensive breakfast spread that was included in room rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom is very small. The triplet room is VERY small.

    I booked a triplet room. The room is very different from the pictures. In the picture on the website, they have three twin beds, but in reality, it was a double twin room with a temp bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Days in Buenos Aires
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont have a charger device for other countries and didnt explain the places near of hotel like Pacifico shopping center, never asked what wanted to do in these days of vacation.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A shirt went missing from our room, the staff were very apologetic and we were given a free nights accommodation.

    Great location, lovely old building, facilities a little dated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Great beds but thin doors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door that connects with the other hotel room doesn't isolate the sound properly, so there is always a chance to be sided by party-timers (what we suffered).

    The beds are really great and the breakfast pretty diversified!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    Past grandeur, poor present!
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    See above

    1. The mattresses need replacement badly. Probably they are the same since day 1! 2. The fridge didn't work. After asking four times a person came to the room and assured us that was functioning properly. It didn't! We contacted reception several times. Finally one person told us that the refrigerator was not working at all. the Staff answering the phone said that they have numerous refrigerator in need of repairs. He suggested to change rooms. At that time I bitterly complained for the way we were treated and a miracle occurred, a new refrigerator was installed. 3. The room had only one chair. We asked for a second chair, it took four reminders to have it done. 4. The Hotel needs to be renovated, it is old splendor but in nobody imagination is a five stars hotel. The brochure claims that they have a restaurant and a sweeming pool. That was before: now they have non! 5. At breakfast one day were not containers for the cereal, the next day was not cold milk. The Staff is disorganized and unfriendly. If you believe it, one day there was not butter. The coffee was poor quality uniformly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Tired old hotel without a restaurant! Relic of the past, depressingly quiet, gloomy bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The description: to call this a 5-star hotel is a bad joke. It gives booking.com and Argentine tourism a bad name.

    The price, the quick attention to the room in the mornings (all done while I had my breakfast). If you are not interested in the hotel itself, the suites are good, spacious and cheap.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice architecture and location but needs upgrading beds, air conditioning, double glazing for noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning working. The room was very hot and I was told to open the window. Although I was on the 12th floor it was very noisy with a clank noise from a metal speed reducer on the street in front. No room service after 10pm. The rooms could do with a fresh coat of paint. The beds moved around too easily and the mattress was not very confortable, a little lumpy.

    Very good location and nice architecture (in need of refreshing)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.3
    It was a fine hotel in a good location for shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a faded lady. Although I am sure a classic in its day needs bringing up to date. Also, staff was somewhat dour.

    It was a fine hotel in a good location for shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Basic place with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to pay airport shuttle taxi in USD or EUR breakfast basic and not that great communication via email terrible

    The place was dated, reckon it looked fantastic when first built

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Old and chic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very nice and old with classic style. Need to change the hair dryers.

    The location is perfect when you travel without car . Excelent for shopping

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the cooling and heat were controlled centrally and not in the individual rooms. My room was unbelievable hot for the first three nights that I stayed at the Hotel. The next three nights were not too bad. Probably because the weather cooled down.

    The location was excellent. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Great location, great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really to complain about, especially because it was such a great location and a reasonable price. Don't expect the nicest hotel you've stayed in, but this suited our needs perfectly.

    Great location at a nice price. It is half a block off of Florida Street (Calle Florida), the main pedestrian way of downtown Buenos Aires, and a few minutes walk from the main plaza, the Plaza de Mayo. We also walked (10-15 minutes) to the BuqueBus dock when we took a day trip to Colonia, Uruguay. The staff was very courteous and helpful. A little bit of an older hotel, but it was clean, had good hot water, and the beds were comfortable. They have a place for you to store you bags at the hotel if you have to check out before actually leaving the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Claridge Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: